TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Doctors’ pay must be cut in order to limit working times: Reilly

The Minister for Health says Ireland can only follow EU rules on working hours for doctors if they’re paid less.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE MINISTER FOR HEALTH has said Ireland remains firmly committed to following EU rules limiting the working hours for junior doctors – but says new entrants to the health system will have to take pay cuts as a result.

James Reilly says the HSE’s national plan for 2013 is particularly focussed on bringing Ireland into line with the European Working Time Directive, which limits the hours and nights that an individual person can be forced to work – but says trying to do so at current pay rates is “not sustainable”.

The minister has argued that the only way to hire enough non-consultant (or ‘junior’) hospital doctors is to cut pay – outlining that the staff budget cannot be increased in Ireland’s efforts to limit staff to 48 hours per week, as outlined in the Directive.

In written responses to Dáil questions from a number of back-benchers, Reilly said responsibility for bringing junior doctors’ working hours into line with the law lay with senior consultants who were tasked with ensuring ward-based rostering, and replacing junior doctors with advanced nurses and midwives where appropriate.

“The Government is committed to achieving compliance with the European Working Time Directive in respect of non-consultant hospital doctors (NCHDs) by 2014. I have emphasised to the Health Service Executive the high priority the Government and I attach to this issue,” Reilly said.

“I want to ensure that NCHDs can progress to consultant level. However, it is not sustainable, in the light of the State’s serious financial difficulties, to continue to recruit at the previous rates,” he said.

“If we are to continue to provide consultant-level career opportunities for doctors and, subject to the limitations on available resources, to replace consultants who retire and where possible expand overall capacity, this can only happen on the basis of a lower-cost model.”

Read: “It’s a killer” – Junior doctors still forced to work 36-hour shifts

Column: ‘I once worked an 80-hour shift’ – a junior doctor’s story

Read next:

Comments (136 Comments)

• Daft crazy idea Doc, how’s about hiring a nurse directly instead of through an agency saving yourself 25% on the cost in the process, or instead of paying NCHD’s overtime rates for their inhumane hours that you make the system bearable for those “privileged” enough to work in it, or instead of having 10 office staff sitting around in payroll, medical manpower, salaries (you know, the collective term for which is HR) in every hospital, you centralise the whole damn lot and put the office clerks on the wards to remove the admin workload from those of us who aren’t employed to do admin, or instead of having those of us who are over qualified taking blood you employ a few phlebotomists whom you can train in a matter of weeks to do the job, or instead of having those of us you employ to nurse or doctor stand around queuing to get to the only working PC on the entire floor that you buy in a few, or instead of having us fill in forms by paper that all we have to do is logon and click a few boxes or two, you’d even save yourself the cost of paper and paper recycling…
    Just a few daft, crazy ideas doc…!

• Well said James.

• James connolly I must state.

• How is it a “crazy idea” ? Competitiveness issues were highlighted by the Troika previously.

• Slight correction there James, I work in a hospital, admin on a very busy daycare, not one ‘medical’ person would ever answer a phone, sent a fax, ring for a porter, phone IT about a problem with THEIR PC …in fact they would walk to another admin area to get these things done, they would have done same in half the time!!!!

• Joan, due respect, their job is not to answer phones or send faxes or call for porters, their job is to be an NCHD.
      It is far easier to gain access to another computer than it is to call someone who may or may not fix the thing.

• Joan, have you ever called IT in SVUH?

• Wow Joan. Don’t know where you work but I’ve called IT, porters and answered the ward phone on a daily basis. I was shown how to use a fax machine in my first week as an intern (wasn’t shown how to take blood or make up antibiotics for a lot longer but that’s a different story). I’ve never had a problem with my “own PC” but then I’m just an NCHD we rarely get our own computers.
      Not our job but we still do it.

• James, in the immortal words of Talking Heads ” Stop making sense”.

• I know that James, but in your previous post you said why not get enough admin staff in to do the jobs we end up doing…all I’m saying is no medical staff where I work do any admin work of any discription.

• Maybe! Though I don’t work in SVUH as such.

• Don’t dispute that for a moment Cathy and fair play to u..,only saying where I work it’s very different.

• Joan, I can categorically guarantee you that that is an outright lie (whether intentional or otherwise).
      There is no NCHD in the country who does no admin work whatsoever, as the system relies on NCHD’s doing admin work, very often at the expense of their own work.
      Whether admin work means following up on test results (which in every hospital I’ve worked in bar Irish ones has been done by a clerk), or arranging consults (which in every hospital I’ve worked in bar Irish ones is done by pressing a few buttons), or following up on patient notes from other hospitals (which in every other hospital I’ve worked in Irish ones are computerised).
      I don’t know where you work Joan, but it sounds like JoR should pay a visit there to see how it is ye work, because an NCHD should not, but does end up, doing admin work all of the time.
      As do I, (as am I right at this moment) for that matter. We are not trained for this. It’s an incredible waste of expensive and valuable resources.

• @Joan, admittedly I can only comment on the places I’ve worked so that’s The Mater, Limerick, Temple Street, Crumlin, Tallaght and The Rotunda. I should probably have worked where you work as I’ve spent a LOT of my “training” making endless non-clinical phone calls, hassling IT, faxing… Not to mention portering samples, searching for X-Rays, typing clinic letters…

• Joan what do you call the mountains of paperwork we NCHDs fill in every day? I spend about a third of my time with the patient as I do writing about the patient. That’s my admin work, it’s not something anyone else is going to do or should have to do because it’s part of my job. If the ward phone is ringing and I’m sitting by it I’ll answer it gladly even though I probably don’t know the majority of patients on that ward because my patients are spread out over the hospital. If I need the computer and something small and simple is broken on it, I’ll fix it so I can use and and not have to waste ITs time coming to do so. If I need to fax something to a GP or a nursing home I’ll do it because I know then that’s it’s been done. So please don’t tell me that we ‘medical people’ don’t do admin work because that’s what I spend the majority of my time doing every day. It’s just different admin work to what you are employed and paid to do.

• Joan, as you yourself say you work ‘on a very busy daycare’ unit. That in it’s self implies that the medics are already very busy, admitting, discharging, reviewing the patients, you can hardly expect them to start answering random phonecalls to the ward/unit? I have seen plenty of docs answering phones. To say It is a complete waste of their time is an understatement and they usually end up having to direct the call to admin or nursing staff anyway.

• Joan if the Junior doctors were to do all of that on top of what they are actually employed to do then what would be the point of your job be.

• James
      Caught out at last. Methinks your talking through your orifice.
      In all the times I have been on the wards I never ever saw a nurse queuing for a computer.

• Richard, then you work in better funded hospitals than I have!

• Wow guys must be a very state of the art hospital… Fax machine on the ward?? Most hospitals that I’m familiar with have a fax machine at main reception, radiology and medical records. Ward clerks to do admin on wards including sending faxes! Admin staff to work on Payroll in Finance dept., Admin in HR to advertise interview NCHDs, who are usually 6 months at each hospital and of course other hospital personnel. Admin staff in the Lab to type results and send to GPs and other hospitals. Admin staff to retrieve old X-rays to compare with new films (not all X-rays are on computers yet). Admin staff to organise admissions, clinical appts, physio appts, blood tests, equipment needs. I.T. staff in most hospitals carry a bleep and are on call during weekends too. Totally agree with you if a NCHD has to do so much admin. Obviously there will be some admin duties eg treatment plans and clinical notes, consent form so patient is aware and understands reason god operation. Nurses too do admin duties, some of which by law admin staff are not allowed to do e.g. Nursing clinical notes, observations , prescribing medications etc. Some hospitals can’t even get phone line to get a fax machine in needy departments and that’s even in Celtic Tigers time!! Is there no ward clerk allocated in your hospital? Most hospitals have one ward clerk on each ward and on surgical and medical day units those clerks are lucky to get a quick lunch by 3 pm and don’t know what a tea break is!!

• Richard, I spend 60hours a week average in a hospital, all due respect, I’m not the one talking out of the rear.
      Good day to you.

• Aurilton, not sure if you’re being deliberately provocative here, but just to remind you that very few admin staff work 24/7 and yet the “admin” work piles up. Phones still ring at 2am. Patients are transferred with typed letters on Sunday mornings. Consults are faxed to specialists in tertiary units on bank holidays. etc etc etc

• As an intern last year I was practically a clerical worker, apart from my on call shifts. Endless discharge letters, referrals, faxes, etc. My SHO was constantly at it as well

• I would agree. O’reilly is a fat thug and has no humanity.

• Totally agree with you Cathy.

• Alan, do you mean dictating a discharge summary with reason for referral, treatment and follow-up plan or do you actually mean typing a discharge summary? Obviously as Cathy mentioned if a patient requires transfer during the weekend/evening a transfer summary has to be done but in most hospitals routine discharges have their letter dictated after the medical record is processed by HIPE and discharge office and when the dictation is completed by either NCHD/consultant the medical secretary assigned to that specific medical dept types the letter.

• Hi James,
      You make very good points (as always) and I agree with what you are saying. Can you clarify though, what you mean by centralising HR? I am working as a physiotherapist. In the HSE, we are employed through a centralised recruitment based in Leitrim and it is a complete disaster. Physiotherapists (as well as occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, dieticians etc) are employed off a panel, which means you get interviewed and then get put on a waiting list for a job. This was supposed to be held every year put the present panel has been in place since March 2008. That’s 5 years of graduates (including me), who are excluded from seeking permanent employment in the HSE. Physiotherapy managers have no power over who they are employing and physiotherapists have no choice but to take jobs they are being offered. The power to refill posts has been taken from managers and this has added to huge staff shortages with physiotherapists. Furthermore, as the contracts are from this central recruitment division, it has often occurred that jobs have been offered to people and then pulled repeatedly by some pencil pusher who doesn’t realise the effect this has on staff and patients. This has occurred to many physiotherapists I know, who had been offered a permanent job, given notice on the job they were in, only for the contract to be pulled. I agree that there are too many managers and office staff in place of frontline workers but centralising areas such as recruitment could only worsen the staffing numbers in my opinion.

• Patrick, so true that’s a complete mess – not unlike the teachers panel.

• Sadly in uchg and lgh where I worked, actually typing up discharge summaries was my job. That is standard in those hospitals for interns and even SHOs in some departments. I’d say about 20-30 each week, easily

• aurilton 21/02/13 #

That’s crazy Alan

• Patrick, hiring capabilities should be given to each hospital (with the exception of a few positions), what I was referring to was the fact that you have payroll, salaries, contracts, medical manpower and any other number of functions that in any private company are covered by one department: Human Resource.
      All of these offices can be centralised to Head Office (which was the point of HSE, lets not forget) with a rep or two of the department in each hospital for queries, and communication purposes.

• Aurilton, what Alan has outlined is typical in most hospitals here, not mad at all, more normal!

• Thanks for clarifying that James. With the workers in payroll, medical manpower etc. I still wouldn’t be fully convinced that centralising them to head office is the full solution. The reason being, that they would have to cover wages for the whole service and one slip up could see a large proportion of the staff not get paid. As I said, I agree that there are too many of these in each hospital but maybe centralising them to one office for a region would make more sense to save costs but ensure that there are still enough to carry out their duties fully.

• No matter where you work, whether your a Doctor, Nurse or Midwife you have to accept that you will have a certain amount of admin, clerical and telephonic, portering and domestic duties. It’s a fact of life and James before you say anything I’ve worked in the UK Australia and New Zealand it’s the same everywhere, I’ve worked in Dublin and Limerick and visited hospitals in Cork and Galway they all operate the same.

• Patrick
      I agree 100% with you the centralised recruitment has failed on many levels. Also mistakes have been made at local level where payroll are looking after just one hospital god help us if they centralised it. What is required is a business manager to head up the HSE not a Doctor and run it like a business with each unit responsible for their own budget and answerable to one company director like the multinational’s.

• Hi Cliodhna, hope you’re well!
      I absolutely agree, there will always be a component of admin, it goes with the job, in most cases the admin that nurses and doctors must do has to stand to legal scrutiny (and rightly so). I was referring to work that just shouldn’t exist. I do agree though that admin will always exist, it’s when the admin tends to 1, and the clinical tends to 0 is when we become little more than glorified office workers (no offence to office workers!).

• Patric and Cliodhna, again I agree, the centralised recruitment system has failed, and I should add to the above, they’re obviously not the only changes to be made, there’s bazillions more that need to be made.
      Also agree with the business leader – doctors doctor, nurses nurse, leaders lead.
      I don’t think the problems with the health service are as simple as I’m portraying here, it’s an organisation that has been built up by different people with different points if views, with different goals. Everything changes all if the time, continuity! I’m not sure though how you go about that though!

• I’m well James and hope you are too. Point taken and I do agree with you but I do think some people get bogged down by job description’s and not working outside them.
      When I worked in NZ the public hospitals were run by companies and we were accountable for everything right down to waste management in our theatres. I was flabbergasted by the amount they saved on a daily basis and how much we wasted in Ireland when I came home I suggested we do the same and was laughed at.
      We need the nuns back lol.

• Well said James an Cliodhna, I do agree that it needs to be approached as a business with a business manager but with assistance from frontline staff (eg head of medicine, head of nursing, head of allied health etc) to ensure cuts are made in the right areas which minimises the effects on patient care and doesn’t overwork staff.

• This makes absolutely no sense. If we all worked for just 48 hours per week that would be a significant reduction in overtime (assuming it was paid work). And, as overtime is more expensive per hour, it would clearly REDUCE expenditure to be EWTD compliant. I’m no economist or mathematician but that’s blatantly obvious. The only way for James Reilly’s statement to make sense is if he admits that a significant number of hours worked are unpaid, essentially slave labour. Which is the current situation. I want to work for 48 hours a week or less as it is better for patients and for doctors, frankly the money is an irrelevant side note to us doctors. We want better care for our patients and better lives for ourselves. Working EWTD compliant rosters would reduce our earnings! We need to emphasise this vitally important fact.

From the above it is clear that Reilly just wants to find another target for pay cuts! Lower pay, same hours, the status quo remains, conditions continue to be inhumane, patient care stays suboptimal, nobody happy except Reilly and the HSE.

Also another important point is that it is not consultants who decide rosters. A medical degree does not qualify one to create rosters. This is HR’s domain. However I suspect Reilly would be most delighted if consultants got the blame for all of this when it is James Reilly and the HSE that are actively working towards destroying the Irish health care service.

So to reiterate: EWTD COMPLIANT ROSTERS WILL REDUCE HEALTHCARE EXPENDITURE JUST BY VIRTUE OF BEING EWTD COMPLIANT

• Lead from the front Dr Reilly, cut your own extortionate pay first. & get your grubby hands of WRH.

• If the current docs do less overtime so less t+1/2 or double as they are campaigning for, then that overtime can be used to pay more doctors so no cut necessary. He is a liar and just using the appalling circumstances to sneak in another front line paycut that was already in the plans anyway but now he can blame the NCHDs for their own pay cut.

• Cut pay to stop people doing over time? If anything that will force people to do more overtime to try and counteract these cuts, if a doctor is unfortunate enough to have to work upwards of 48 hours a week he/she has well earned any overtime in my opinion, stop cutting the front line and start cutting from the top!

• mart_n 20/02/13 #

Is Reilly still claiming state-subsidies and availing of tax-breaks for the upkeep of his mansion in Moneygall… even though he makes a pretty penny on it by opening it up for weddings etc? I can’t take that man seriously when he talks about savings for the state.

• Regonald, you seem preoccupied with competitiveness. How do you propose this works in your local hospital? If another NCHD wants to offer to work for less then me they can gladly have my hours in excess of my contracted 39 hours! Perhaps the 113 hours that I have done in a week could be divided between 2 people. They can also have the urine, blood, spit and faeces that go with it. They can even trade my hours for the friends I no longer get to see or a place I can live in for longer than six months.
    I get to sleep in my own bed for 3 or 4 nights a week. I walk to work so I can get some exercise and I fear driving home.

As has been mentioned previously single time pay is cheaper than time and a half or double pay. That didn’t even take a calculator. By employing more people the fixed number of hours in a week (168 hours) could be more easily covered by healthier, happier doctors! This equates to a financial saving that minister Reilly fails to recognise.

• Serious question, why is this man still
    in charge of one of the most important portfolios in government?

• How about facing the fact there aren’t enough doctors to work a roster and NCHDs are leaving the country in droves
    One insult after another, why would people bother staying around!

• I’m sure there are plenty of non-EU doctors to replace them?

• There are not plenty of non-EU doctors to replace them.
      NCHD’s from all over the world are now realising that they can pretty much work anywhere they choose and be treated like valued members of the organisation.
      Ireland is not a place where an NCHD would like to work in a bazillion years.

• Do you mean the hours or the pay?

• Hours or pay? Sorry?

• James. Stop entertaining Regonald. He is only trying to clock the most number of red thumbs in one post.

• To be honest Regonold, you don’t sound qualified to be “sure” of anything on this issue. Reiterating a political soundbyte incessantly is not contributing to the discussion. The fact that you are “sure” there are many non-EU doctors to replace them demonstrates a real poverty of factual data, considering that this country spent hundreds of thousands of euro 18 months ago, trawling India and Pakistan to try to convince doctors to take up posts here-incidentally, many of these posts remained unfilled, those which were, were remunerated at a higher pay scale than the equivalent grade of resident NCHD, and travel and temporary housing arrangements for those who travelled here for assessment (not necessarily to take up the positions), was bank-rolled by the HSE. Add to this the fact that these doctors have English as a second language, are less culturally and socially aware, have never worked within the warren of bureaucracy that is the Irish healthcare system, and you need to ask yourself :are you “sure” that this is an appropriate solution?

• So unbelievably well said

• huzar 20/02/13 #

Reg as the great Shakespeare himself said “shut your hole” and stop your shit talk….oh maybe that wasn’t Shakespeare.

• Clearly trolling. That’s not even how you spell Reginald.

• Congratulations Fine Gael and Labour, you have slowly and surely turned once respectable and sought after careers into vocations that should be avoided at all costs. Gardai who put their lives at risk everyday can barely afford to feed their families and pay their bills; teachers are being forced abroad because there are no jobs for them here; ambulance teams are being slowly replaced by private firms who are not regulated and who are staffed by god knows who?; nurses, who were continually told during the Tiger years that they were angels that didn’t get paid enough are now being castigated as greedy and selfish for earning double time on a Sunday, and their wages have barely changed in twenty years. Now it’s the doctors turn. Juniors are being victimised for having the temerity to work long hours and expect a wage at the end of it. The Health Service in the last few years has been so starved of resources that the only thing keeping it afloat has been the excellent staff. Now Reilly wants to replace them with cheaper alternatives. It sort of makes you nostalgic for Mary Harney.

• John unfortunately the health services has been starved of resources for decades. Hospitals had to fund fifty percent of essential medical equipment and almost plea with the then Dept of Health to pay for the remainder. Patient support groups had to fund for clinical liaison nurses in life threatening specialities and then again practically beg for these posts be funded by the then Dept of Health.

• Don’t talk to me. I have a daughter waiting three years for occupational therapy. The last girl left a year ago and now the HSE won’t fill the vacancy because of the embargo. Fine Gael and Labour promised to change things but it has actually got worse since they came into power. It’s no wonder Gerry Adams went abroad for treatment but we don’t all have that option.

• aurilton 21/02/13 #

Check out the AOTI website John and they may be able to advise you.

• Let’s start by only paying the s’TD’s for the hours the actually sit in the Dail chamber… And lets see how many empty arse spaces there are in there then….

• Regonald who exactly are we trying to compete with? How many junior doctors from the USA, Canada, New Zealand, Australia or the UK do you see coming to work in Ireland? Very few. Surely we should be competing to have the best doctors to provide the best health service to the Irish people? Your solution appears to be pilfering doctors trained by 3rd world countries who aren’t in a position to spare them. This is unethical and selfish. I need hardly mention the overseas doctors caught up in the HSE’s most recent recruitment fiasco- lured to Ireland under false pretences to find themselves working inhumane hours for less pay than promised in a system where respect for doctors is much lower than in their home countries. Ireland has a BAD reputation internationally for working conditions and training now as a result of these measures by the HSE. Of course we could always pay peanuts and get monkeys, I for one think the people of Ireland deserve better.

• I have no faith whatsoever in Reilly. Already the HSE have filled 103 positions through JobBridge with jobs such as physiotherapists, psychologists, nurses, and speech and language therapists on the scheme.

The HSE plans to recruit a further 192 through the scheme this year. These people will earn any social welfare they receive (max 188e per person) + a weekly allowance of 50e which equals around €8,500 for 9 months (max length of JobBridge internship with some being for 6 months).

Reilly’s statement above and the recent decision to significantly cut new nursing gradauates’ wages are further indications that he is undermining the pay and conditions of health service professionals. With better paying jobs available in sunnier climates why would any of them choose to stay here?

• Hi Eoin,
      I agree with you but for different reasons. Firstly, jobbridge completely undermines and undervalues these professions. JobBridge is suppoesed to allow the person to gain more experience and improve their skills in their area of work. However, due to staff shortages in the HSE, JobBridge staff are simply put to work with little supervision and training as there are no staff to aid them with this. This is dangerous for patients and also stops the person from gaining adequate experience and skills to aid them in finding future employment in their profession. Finally, and most importantly, the purpose of JobBridge is to potentially allow the person to be offered a permanent job the the end of the 6 months. However, due to the present recruitment strategy within the HSE (physios, OTs, SLTs etc are employed from a central panel only), it will be impossible for the person to get a permanent job at the end of the scheme, completely defeating the supposed purpose of the scheme in the first place. While the scheme may work in some sectors, both public and private, it is nothing more than a quick source of cheap labour for the HSE. To move away from agency staff and give even short term (3-6 month contracts) would save alot of money as they wouldnt have to pay agency fees and would allow the HSE to fill much needed posts,. Furthermore, alot of the recruitment has been centralised to Leitrim and this has created huge inefficiencies and unfairness with recruitment. Department managers (frontline managers to clarify) should have more power of who they can recruit to ensure the right staff get the right jobs and that people arent thrown into jobs they arent adequately skilled for.

• So they are being punished over their choice of career, because of you and previous ministers of health ineptitudes minister?

• Pity the fool who became a doctor for the wrong reasons, like money or their pushy mother had to have a doctor as a son or daughter.

Like being a pilot, many of the top paid jobs of yesteryear are becoming commoditized.
      A real vocation is truly necessary as the cash and prestige are fading fast.

• I am so impressed. Impose long, unendurable, depressing and unhealthy hours on NCHDs. Exploit them. Them when they seek legal hours, tell them that you have to pay them proportionately less!

Dr Reilly has the cure!

The important thing is that Dr Reilly continues to receive his magnificent Ministerial salary and in due course his munificent Ministerial pension for these feats of pure genius.

Tell me that this is just Dr Reilly pretending to be on aIrish Pictorial Weekly or one of these satires.

Dr Reilly needs to make love to someone he truly loves, that is, himself.

• I’d like to limit Reilly’s “working” time.

• O Reilly- you are a langer.. driving the health system and the underpaid junior doctors into the ground.

• So hiring enough NCHDs at SINGLE TIME to do the exact same number of hours that are being worked now at TIME AND A HALF OR DOUBLE TIME, and hence SAVING A METRIC S**T TONNE OF MONEY is somehow going to necessitate a PAYCUT????

Did someone give me a lobotomy last night while I slept? Am I missing something incredibly obvious?

If O’ Reilly hires more single time medical staff and saves a lot of money on overtime and agency, this is then supposed to result in a paycut for existing medical staff, because, because????? of all the money saved???

WHAT? HUH? I DON’T GEDDIT.

Calculators are like, really really cheap. Most ohones have them also. These guys would do well to consult one.

• YES DOCTOR how about starting with YOUR OWN

• Barry 21/02/13 #

The starting salary for a doctor (intern) is 30,000e which works out at 14e an hour before tax; I mean after 5 years in in university can you cut this any more?

• James-no shortage of doctors. There is a shortage of hospital doctor jobs. These are funded by the Dept of Health. We already train more medical graduates than we can accommodate with intern places-and it is vitally important to understand that without securing an intern spot and completing the intern year here, your medical degree is essentially worthless as you cannot be on the Medical Register.

Irish doctors leave the system because of the poor working conditions and pay. Literally no other reason. It is worth noting though, if they all came back for whatever reason, there are still not enough NCHD posts in most Irish hospitals to staff them adequately-by adequately I mean without a clinical need to breach the EWTD on a pretty much unprecedented, some might say, epic scale.

• It’s saddening that when you ask to be paid for the hours you work, you get called “greedy”. All of the other health disciplines work to their contract. NCHDs fill the gaps.
    Porter gone home on time? Get the intern to do it.
    Phlebotomist gone home on time? Get the intern to do it.

I regularly meet nurses who ask me why I didn’t go home after handover. Noone truly understand our working conditions.

And to be honest, if you wont pay us a decent wage proportionate to our skills, responsibilites and hours worked, we’ll just go somewhere who can. We won’t fight you, we won’t throw down our stethoscopes and walk out on our patients, we will just slip away quietly, in handfuls, until you get the health service you want to pay for.

• Why not cut Minister Reilly’s pay instead and the pay of the other government bandits that ruined this country’s economy!

• Just a note on his proposal to replace doctors with ANPs.

Year 1 Advanced nurse practitioners are paid more than NCHDs with 6 years experience. (This info is freely available) Long before the ‘junior’ doctor reaches this pay scale they will have become exceptionally skilled and capable of delivering a wide range of services. ANPs will be well trained but they will be unable to complete all the duties carried out by the doctor they are trying to replace. ANPs appear to have more autonomy but this isnt the case, there will still be consultant led support. I don’t understand the ministers logic.

• You should f.off James Reilly.

• A comparison of consultants pay in Ireland vs consultants pay in the NHS would lift the lid on where a lot of the money is going. it is a 2 to 3 times ratio.
    Furthermore NHS consultants aren’t allowed double dip and spend most of their time lining their pockets with private clients and doing the odd spin around a hospital for their public contract.

Correct me if I am wrong and this is an urban myth.

• Yep you’re wrong. Pay in the NHS is equivalent to here. NHS consultants work less hours for the same their salary and have protected time built into their contracts for research and further education. There are more consultants and NCHDS than here to do the same jobs and a better organised and structured health care system. They get top ups on their salary for all committees they sit on and can do do any private work they want after 2 yrs. The days of the fat cat consultants are long gone here. Most jobs awarded in the last 5-6 years are jobs requiring 80-100% public practice and only private work if there is a co-located private hospital (ie no dashing off to other hospitals). All new consultant contracts are 100% public with no private rights and at 60% of the salary of the previous public contracts.
      In other words, the UK is much more attractive to work in than here.

• Last year I asked a English doctor working in St. James hospital has he been in Ireland long and how does the pay compare. He said the pay is better in Ireland. I got the impression he moved to Ireland for better pay.

• Yes you are wrong and this is an urban myth.

There was an excellent piece in last week’s Sunday Business Post by Ronan O’ Sullivan who has worked in both health systems clarifying this myth.

• Jack, either you or the doctor is talking bull. Sheer bull.

• The pay appears better in the sense that you work many more hours here, usually in excess of 65hrs per week compared to less than 48 in the UK. The overall pay will therefore appear better. The pay for working 48 hours here will be equivalent or less.

• Yes Jack, our entire health system is on its knees because of those feckin greedy English doctors. Grow up bud.

• I”ve worked in the UK and in Ireland (at NCHD level not consultant) and my take home pay in the UK was better. And in the UK I was working a 48 hour week!

• I had heard it first hand, being acknowledged by consultants coming from the UK, that the Irish system is not primarily about Healthcare from a consultant’s perspective, it is first and foremost a money machine designed to be so by consultants, for consultants. The NHS is about healthcare and not as well paid.

• Boildyeggs – relax man. I didn’t say anyone was greedy. It’s a good thing that people are coming to Ireland to work. I wish we had more doctors.

• Been in UK myself and many of my colleagues here on the blog, we all know how NHS works. NHS consultants on average work 4 days a week. Their roster is entirely different with better life style. Here if you go to any peripheral hospital like Mullingar, Port Laoise, Tralee etc, consultants are working 10 on calls a month in many specialities!! Which means that you are on call every third day and every third weekend. That equals to around 120 days in a year plus 27 weekends plus not to forget to work on Christmas, stevens day etc. In the same hospital settings in UK , there are usually 7 consultants. Yes their salary will be slightly less but they have better quality of life and any one who lived in both countries know that 1 pound is equal to 1.2 euro but on buying power its like 2 euros.

Now by reducing trainee hours, we are expanding longer training time too. Classical example is US and Canada, where trainees clock above 70 hours a week for first few hours so that they can achieve their tasks in a shorter span of time. They are producing safe efficient specialists in three to four years time on attending level. We should not bog down on the debate of Troika , Non EU doctors etc. At the end, the priority should be.. can we run a safe satisfying service or not with the help of doctors who know the system well. By the way reducing hours means more locum as there are not many junior doctors available. So at the end HSE are paying on the locum rate coz of non availability of doctors. Talk about saving ehhh.

Changing doctors and bringing them from all over the world is not the solution. We need to look at the best models of health care and in those models there is no such thing what many people are talking esp the pro govt ones. Keep the talk evidence based not opinion based esp folks who have no idea what 36 hours on calls are like plus sleeping on a bench in a changing room for half an hour before running to labour ward for another delivery!! Not to forget missing your kids, loved ones birthdays, weddings etc etc as hospitals do not close after 5 pm on Friday. Yes we choose this profession our selves coz we are passionate about it and continue to do that with out a drop of regret but we are humans too.

• Yeah, you’re wrong.

• Here’s an idea, Minister Reilly. Introduce Magdalene Hospitals!

• of course its not possible to replace doctors on overtime rates with doctors not on overtime rates without spending more …. oh wait!

• Perhaps I’m misunderstanding, red thumb if im wrong:

I don’t think the minister is talking about a cut in hourly rate? The phrase pay rates was used I believe?

NCHDs are now used to getting paid a lot of overtime for the last 10-15 years (they didnt used to get paid for overtime, amazingly! And that trend is creeping in again). NCHDs generally do longer weeks than any other frontline worker, 100 hours plus routinely – no disrespect to Nurses Firemen, gardaí etc

As a result, many NCHDs’ fixed outgoings like mortgages have adjusted to this level of overtime dependant income.

Cutting hours to fit EWTD will cut pay by a lot because of the reduced overtime and proportion of income that is overtime for NCHDs

I think he is saying that the hourly rate won’t go up to compensate for this. Ie that they will get paid the same hourly rate and just have to take another big drop in earnings.

On top of this they would lose out on Sunday double time etc with the proposals.

• Paul, of that is the case (which I doubt), then there is no problem, as NCHD’s have been fighting for that exact thing for generations.
      I do think though that it is a Paycut. Which is wrong.

• Hopefully this article will infuriate people and drive them to join the IMO. Unionisation seems to be the only thing these people understand.

• You would hope more would join the IMO but its scandalously expensive when compared to other unions (upwards of €500 for interns alone). A gesture would be to drop this to something in line with the UK medical union fees of £120, particularly for new doctors, build support and take the fight to the HSE.

Also, I’d love to know exactly what Reilly means by pay cut? An intern is on €15 per hour but if you’re on a 60 hour week with no overtime you’ll be pulling a mighty tenner per hour. Just what you’d want after 8 years of undergrad training and a €100,000 medial school loan.

• IMO needs to disclose its finances. Where is the 20 to 30 million a year it collects going? What are the top brass paying themselves?

Who audits their accounts? Why does Union leadership stay the same for decades?

• I understand what you’re saying, but as long as people continue to just bicker about the IMO on message boards this sorr of stuff from the hse is going to keep on happening. Join as I have recently done and try to effect change!!

• “be replaced with advanced nurses and midwives” ok so now you want us to not only work for 80% but take on extra work previously undertaken by nchd’s?!

• Would this apply to consultants, university professors, and lecturers also?

• Granted that in this case he actually has a point, it’s baffling how this government is hell bound to lower everyone’s wages, except their own.
    Moral standing a microscopic levels!

• Reilly’s proposal makes sense insofar as EWTD must be implemented.

It is a very bad reflection in the HSE that EWTD has been exceeded for so long.

• Is it true that half the medicine places in colleges in Ireland go to non-Irish people? Maybe that’s why they are leaving? I know students from outside the EU pay for themselves and it’s about funding. I think if there is a shortage of doctors then more should be trained. Maybe if we flood Ireland we trained qualified doctors and relax rules about GP numbers then costs will come down. Loads of people would love to study medicine.

• God I can’t even be bothered to entertain the amount of inaccuracies in that post.
      I need a lie down.

• Lol. I really don’t know. I’ll shut up now.

• James, sometimes there really is no point in trying! (I do love your posts though!)

• Jack until recently there was a government cap on the number of Irish medical graduates per year – as in they would only pay the universities to train a certain number under the free fees idea. I *think* around 380 divided among the six medical schools. Of course what the government actually paid the universities in no way covered the cost of a five/six year medical education so the universities attracted foreign students to pay fees and overcome the deficit. These foreign students for years paid for us Irish guys to be trained, and we owe them a lot because I certainly could never have gone to medical school if I’d had to pay the fees. Now the problem was that most of them also went home once they graduated and we were left short of Irish-trained medical graduates willing to work here in Ireland. That was what brought graduate entry medicine and a lifting of the cap into play a few years ago, UL being the first course in existence. But the problem with that is that it still takes four years to complete so it’s not exactly a quick fix solution. That said, we’re a few years down the line now and we have more doctors qualifying. The problem today is that the job, its conditions and its prospects are so poor that most of them are leaving for better education, lifestyle and working conditions abroad. The money we earn is not insubstantial and we’re thankful for that, but it’s not what drives the majority of us. Sorry for the essay, I hope I explained some things for you.

• What Catriona said.
      Thanks Catriona.

• I probably shouldn’t encourage him really…

• You tried, more than what I did…! :-P

• aurilton 20/02/13 #

Well said Catriona

Add New Comment