You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Entrance to Cathal Brugha Barracks Google Maps

Investigation underway after alleged sexual assault at Cathal Brugha army barracks

The incident is alleged to have occurred at 2am this morning.

GARDAÍ IN RATHMINES have begun a criminal investigation after a woman was allegedly sexually assaulted at Cathal Brugha army barracks in Dublin last night.

The incident is alleged to have occurred at 2am last night at the barracks in Rathmines, just south of the city centre.

Gardaí were called to the scene where the sexual assault allegations were made, where it is understood that a forensic examination would take place.

No arrests have been made in connection with the incident.

A spokesperson for the Defence Forces confirmed that it was made aware of the allegation in the early hours of the morning and said that the military police are cooperating fully with An Garda Síochana during its investigation.

The spokesperson added that it would be inappropriate to comment further on the matter at this time.

Cathal Brugha Barracks is the headquarters of the army’s 2 Brigade,  and houses the 7th Infantry Battalion and other units. Around 900 soldiers are attached to the barracks.

Read: ‘I can have one joint, right?’ Everything you need to know about roadside drug testing

Read: Closing pubs on Good Friday ‘part of our national identity’, says Fine Gael senator

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:27 PM

Many people could have their summer holidays ruined now. I hope not.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:41 PM

@Sean Money: A summer holiday is not an entitlement, you’d swear it was these days the way folks go on about them. I’ve had my share don’t get me wrong from 5* down. Waste of money mostly and tremendously polluting action to take that takes money out of our economy. I refuse to fly now and regret my additions to the environmental catastrophe that pollution brings about. The benefit is not worth the cost!

Mute Billy Hayes
    Favourite Billy Hayes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Chutes: I’d say you’re great craic at the Christmas party.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:51 PM

@Chutes: No it isn’t and entitlement, most people work hard to save up and go on them. Especially hard on the back of the cost of living and being taxed as if there wasn’t just 20% inflation over a few years.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:55 PM

@Billy Hayes: Would depend on the crowd.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:56 PM

@Chutes: people save all year for a few nice days in the sun. If the pilots ruin this chasing the money shame on them.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:56 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: That doesn’t really address the point other than to question the worth of a holiday even more.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:58 PM

@Sean Money: People save all year for a ruined holiday, that’s nothing more than a bad investment. Life is tough!

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:02 PM

@Chutes: people are entitled to use the flights they paid for and that AL marketed.

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:04 PM

@Sean Money: here we go. Blaming the pilots. How about the company ingesting massive profits and not paying their workers fairly? Aer Lingus could stop any strike tomorrow. Solidarity with the pilots and I say that as someone whose holiday could be affected

Jun 14th 2024, 1:11 PM

@Sean Money: I’d argue shame on their management. There’s probably been alot of negotiations leading up to this point. These lads took a huge hit for the company during COVID. Things are booming again, huge profits, future growth and management are offering less than 10%…. I’ve been laughing at the lines they’re coming out with on the news interviews to try to push blame onto the pilots and try to get the public on their side. All IR games. Aerlingus management have got themselves to this point. Best of luck to the pilots!

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Sandra Molloy: That’s a reasonable argument ignoring the larger point but yes in theory then they should side with the pilots imo. Peoples pay needs to reflect the cost of living, companies and corporations make massive shareholder profits for the rich which goes largely untaxed at a fair rate convincing people like you that they work hard and therefor deserve a break. Fk the environment right, because ur worth it!

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:20 PM

@Chutes: It is an entitlement. But an earned one. And what is wrong with that? Nothing. A simple summer holiday, lovely stuff. Maybe you should try a ‘holiday’ in North Korea. Re: the plane; it’s gonna take off anyways.

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:26 PM

@Chutes: Yep… You do your bit for the environment and stay home while we fly away for two or more weeks living it up. The environment and the plane taking off are going to happen regardless. Ireland’s naive contribution affects not a jot the planets environment.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:35 PM

@Keth Tgi: Ah yes, the old ‘why bother’ chestnut. In my time I have ‘lived it up’ more than the average bear, it no longer excites. Some get sense as they age, some do not.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:37 PM

@Keth Tgi: “It is an entitlement. But an earned one.” Indeed, always earned on someone else’s back!

Jun 14th 2024, 2:04 PM

@Chutes: Trolling hard today Chutes!!! What’s the story with your avatar pic?!?! Were you/are you a pilot?

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 2:11 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Nah, aircraft mechanic, flight simulator nerd.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 2:15 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: These are my genuinely held beliefs. I’m not into bllsht in general, I don’t see it as constructive. I tend to break arguments down to their most basic truths as I see them. I ignore the rest. There’s a time and a place, it’s just not here imo.

Jun 14th 2024, 2:45 PM

@Chutes: “There’s a time and a place”?!?!…. Coming in all high and mighty saying holidays are not an entitlement when people are facing their hard earned holidays being cancelled isn’t really the time or the place, just so you can go on with an eco warrior stance….. You’re better than us holiday goers chutes, you care more about the planet, your views are gospel sage one, good man….. We get it….. You’re more into bllsht than you think!

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 14th 2024, 2:57 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: That’s the nature of disagreement, I judge your commentary, you judge mine.
    Your judgement is flawed imo, mine flawed in yours.
    What is the opposite of the ‘eco-warrior’ you adjudge me to be?

Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Jun 14th 2024, 5:01 PM

@M To The B: not paying their workers fairly, are you on drugs,check out how much the pilots earn and get back to me

Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG
    Jun 14th 2024, 10:28 PM

@Chutes: please stay where you are like a good lad will ya ! You’d ruin anyone’s holiday God forbid if they were crammed in beside ya on a flight

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jun 15th 2024, 11:07 AM

@John McG: Enjoy ur hols!

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:41 PM

Sounds like Air Lingus are trying to find a technicality to delay a strike rather than just sitting down and discussing in the hope of averting it altogether. I can’t see this move going down well with the union. I suspect once the ballot results are in that notice will be served nearly immediately. If it’s true that they haven’t had any pay increase in 5 years then I don’t think their ask is unreasonable given that most public sector employees have seen their wages rise by over 20% in the last 5 years albeit in smaller doses, but it’s the same result.

Jun 14th 2024, 12:48 PM

@Unridden Ana: yeah, at 98% for strike it’s a just delay tactic for the inevitable. I find it funny on the news their management stating that conducting a ballot during talks isn’t welcome….. Sure they’ve gotten to the point of balloting after being at the Labour courts…. I’d assume there has been plenty of talks to date on it going back many months if not years….. All a media game now. Fair play to the pilots!

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Jun 14th 2024, 4:19 PM

@Unridden Ana: plenty of low to middle income earners both public and private sectors have NOT got 20% over 5yrs

AL pilots are just greedy feckers, most already earn €150k

Jun 14th 2024, 5:06 PM

@Brian Guilfoyle: Incorrect, Public sector have gotten a lot of increases since 2019, close to 20 percent under the current agreements! I’d say many private sector have too, you just don’t hear about it….. I wouldn’t fancy landing a 70 tonne aircraft in crap Irish weather and being responsible for hundreds of lives daily. High wages for a big job at the airport….. Nothing wrong with them trying to protect their wages during massive inflation while their company is very profitable and expanding. Greedy Aerlingus management in my view! (I’m not a pilot)

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Jun 14th 2024, 8:18 PM

@Brian Guilfoyle: not correct. Look up CSO figures. The average wage increase since 2019 across all employees in Ireland is 24%. Aer lingus have given their pilots 0% in that timeframe. So what if they are already well paid? Does that mean they shouldn’t get the same wage increases as the average worker?

Mute Ian Ó Broin
    Favourite Ian Ó Broin
    Jun 15th 2024, 8:25 AM

@Unridden Ana: As you yourself note, average doesn’t mean that everyone gets a raise. I wouldn’t go as far as to argue that everyone deserves a raise, but looking at increasing numbers of homeless *families*, there is something seriously wrong with the distribution of income and those raises.

I do also wonder if CSO statistics (you didn’t mention which report you’re quoting) include gig economy and agency workers which, among other things, can’t even take an industrial action lest they’d have their contracts summarily and unfortunately legally terminated.

Now, I don’t agree with Brian’s assertion of pilots being greedy for sake of asking for a raise on account of earning more than your local unemployed-but-working Deliveroo driver. I’d rather see Deliveroo drivers employed and with an effective right of taking industrial action than blaming those who have and are taking advantage of the right to withdraw work.

Yeah … I’m a leftie liberal who believes that withdrawing or threatening to withdraw work to bargain for better conditions is a right of every employee. Be it payed 10k or 100k. Now, if they’re stupid enough to sink the company they work for and ending up unemployed as a result, that’s on them. But commonly, if they’re treated as equal partners at the bargaining table, strikes rarely happen. It’s just that some owners of the means of production don’t seem to appreciate that those means also need staff. Marx wrote about it and last time I checked, pizzas and burgers aren’t being delivered by drones and planes are not flying themselves.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:21 PM

In all the media coverage on the radio, TV and online regarding this issue of pilots pay at Aer Lingus – I haven’t seen one piece of decent journalism as to how the current pilots pay at Aer Lingus compares to how pilots with other airlines like Ryanair or other European Airlines.

Mute Dermot McFintan
    Favourite Dermot McFintan
    Jun 14th 2024, 8:31 PM

@Chaotic State: Their main competitors to the US out of Dublin: Delta, American and United are on about double what Aer Lingus are on.

Mute Tanya Burke
    Favourite Tanya Burke
    Jun 16th 2024, 11:59 AM

@Chaotic State: I totally agree. Aer Lingus pilots are compairing themselves with the earnings of pilots in other European airlines, such as Air France, BA etc 5 years ago BA, (another AIG group member) gave it’s pilots a 24% payrise. They were already paid more than the Aer Lingus pilots before their pay rise. Now the AL pilots are paid substantialy less than their contemporaries in the other AIG airlines.
    Most of the reporting has been focused on the very top earners within the pilot body, instead of the 85% of pilots who are not being paid competitively.
    Aer Lingus often has to cancel flights it has sold because it doesn’t have enough pilots to operate them, and then complains that pilots don’t volunteer to work on their days off!

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:43 PM

Increased profits, dividends and management “compensation” but increased pay for pilots only if they agree to “productivity” changes.
    Then they look for 15 days notice to avoid having to pay compensation to passengers.
    A right shower.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jun 14th 2024, 1:21 PM

No better way to get bumped up a few incriment scales and more allowances than to threaten to down tools just before the busiest time of the year. Fair play to them. Can’t fly planes without them. Wish I had power like that in my job. Some of my Coworkers are too lazy to scratch themselves.

Mute Billy Hayes
    Favourite Billy Hayes
    Jun 14th 2024, 12:44 PM

Aer Lingus changed their livery to an all white fuselage with green tail & logo to match their sister airlines Vueling, Iberia & Level. All 4 airlines have the same livery with different coloured tail sections. Switching an aircraft from 1 livery to another is cheaper & faster now if the need arises so one company could ‘lease’ aircraft from one to another if needed. Aer Lingus are also requesting 15 days notice instead of the agreed 7 if a vote in favour of a stike goes ahead. You can be sure Aer Lingus have a card up their sleeve – this could go wrong for the pilots. But I’m just spitballing – I could be wrong too.

Jun 14th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Billy Hayes: Around 100 daily departures from Dublin will be a tough one for their management to get around. Heard it’s all to do with offering refund as opposed to compensation to passengers with 2 weeks notice.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 14th 2024, 5:36 PM

Did the pilots agree to terms of employment when accepting their jobs?

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jun 14th 2024, 6:40 PM

@Sun Rise: A bit like how the government agreed that USC was only temporary but then also changed their minds when it suited. That’s the way things go.