You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/The Toidi

Explainer: Why has a controversy blown up around political party members posing as pollsters?

Some parties have said they never engaged in this practice, while others used it up until a few years ago.

LAST UPDATE | 10 Jun 2021

IT WAS FIRST reported yesterday that Sinn Féin party members had pretended to be pollsters to conduct election surveys. 

Information continued to trickle out during the day until Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and the Green Party all admitted they had conducted similar practice at one point or another. 

The practice appears to have been relatively well-known within political circles before now, being described as “widespread and common” by Sinn Féin TD Eoin Ó Broin.

Speaking to The Journal, professor of politics at Dublin City University Gary Murphy described the practice of party members pretending to be from a fake polling company as “outrageous” and “dubious”. 

“Obviously parties have been engaging in polling in constituencies for years without using polling companies, I kind of knew that practice was in place. But I had assumed, maybe naively, that when a party was seeking data from voters on constituency opinions they were upfront about who they were,” Murphy said. 

He said the narrative that most parties engaged in the act doesn’t “excuse the duplicitous” nature of the practice. 

Data protection 

If the data was kept anonymous and doesn’t contain any personal details, it shouldn’t raise issues in terms of data protection. 

It is understood the Data Protection Commission will be dealing with the matter through its ongoing audit of each political party.

Any potential personal data gathered and processed by the parties through these polls will be examined as part of this audit.

The data protection audit announced last month will “inquire into the processing of personal data since 25 May, 2018″ by each party acting as a data controller.

Here’s what some parties had to say about the practice since the news first broke yesterday. 

Sinn Féin

The Irish Independent first reported that Sinn Féin provided party members with instructions on how to present as pollsters in order to conduct election surveys as part of a 2015 “election toolkit”.  

TD Eoin Ó Broin defended what he termed “informal polling”, saying it was “widespread and common practice”.  

Ó Broin said he didn’t accept an accusation that the practice was deceptive, instead saying it was a way for “small” parties to conduct anonymised polls without paying for professional companies. 

“Informal polling by political parties, particularly larger political parties, has been going on for years and when we started doing this back in 2010, we would have been a very small party, limited resources,” he said on Newstalk’s The Pat Kenny Show.

Speaking to RTÉ radio’s News at One in the afternoon, Ó Broin said members would have been supplied with badges featuring their real names, a picture and “the name of a marketing research company” when conducting the polls.

Fianna Fáil

Micheál Martin said party members “were used to supplement polling companies who oversaw polling exercises before 2007″.

Martin said his party didn’t use fake identity badges, as was the case with Sinn Féin.

He said Fianna Fáil now uses professional polling companies.

“I don’t know if it broke the law, no data was record, I’ve been assured no personal data in relation to the people at the door, you know, was taken or recorded,” Martin said.

Before the news broke that other parties had engaged in the practice, Fianna Fáil TD Marc MacSharry tweeted that “an examination of these matters must be carried out by Gardai into the legality of misrepresentation”.

“If it is not against the law it should be,” he said. 

Fine Gael

Leo Varadkar said yesterday afternoon that his party had not undertaken this practice since 2016, but said he couldn’t “swear blind about local arrangements that may have been done in the past”. 

Speaking on RTÉ radio’s Drivetime that evening, he said acklowdged that members from his party had previously engaged in the practices described. 

“Quite frankly yes, this isn’t something that we’ve done since 2016 or even before that, but certainly prior to that, we would have done something similar,” he said.

Either volunteers would have been asked to do surveys door to door or students would have been paid to do it and it would have been done on a similar basis, anonymised, for the purposes of polling. But like I say that practice has been discontinued.

Varadkar said he has been “trying to check” when the practice stopped and that it hasn’t happened “in the last 5,6,7 years”.

Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney said today that people would have worked while “not representing themselves as being from Fine Gael” in his constituency. 

The TD said there is “nothing sinister here”.

Coveney said that the practice hasn’t been carried out in his party in the past “six or seven years” and it was discontinued because “it became clear it wasn’t the professional way to do things”. 

He said he personally hadn’t participated in the practice but that “I don’t think it would have been uncommon.”

Yesterday, Minister for Higher Education Simon Harris described the practice as “a bit sinister”.

He said party politicians pretending to be from a fake polling company raised “genuinely legitimate” issues about the data gathered. 

Green Party

In a statement the Green Party confirmed it had engaged in the practice but that it has since been discontinued. 

“When we initially asked around internally yesterday it appeared that no-one in the party had ever engaged in using volunteers to carry out polling using a false company name,” a party statement said.

“However, it later emerged that there may have been some isolated incidences of this taking place in some constituencies over a decade ago. To be clear, this is not something that the present day party approves of or would ever engage in.”

Labour Party

Party leader Alan Kelly said yesterday that the practice is “absolutely not” something that has occurred in his party. 

The party has been contacted for a statement.

Aontú

Aontú has been contacted for comment. 

People Before Profit

When asked if party members had ever engaged in anonymous polling in a similar manner to other political parties, a spokesperson said: “PBP party members have never done that.”

Social Democrats

A spokesperson said: “The Social Democrats have never engaged in posing as independent market researchers or opinion poll companies to survey voters.”

Renua 

Fine Gael Dublin Bay South by-election candidate James Geoghegan said he surveyed “perhaps 50 people” on behalf of then-Renua TD Lucinda Creighton in 2016. He said people at their doors “didn’t ask” who he was representing. 

He told reporters today: “We would have carried out a poll as volunteers, we would have knocked at the doors, it was just a head to head poll about the standing in the race. You ask people, nobody ever asked me personally when I did it who are you representing, if anyone had asked I would not have misrepresented my position but nobody ever asked.” 

Our Explainer articles bring context and explanations in plain language to help make sense of complex issues. We're asking readers like you to support us so we can continue to provide helpful context to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay.

48 Comments
    Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jun 10th 2021, 1:34 PM

““I don’t know if it broke the law”. This is the answer from the Leader of the country. Maybe you could ask one of your many advisors or the AG.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:41 PM

@Jack Cass: They spend millions on consultancy/PR, experts even, yet this whole fiasco which initially arose to make an opposition party look bad has only magnified how inept FFG are.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:33 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: SF do look bad as they added an extra layer of deception to the whole sorry practise by inventiong a fictitious company, printing false ids etc etc.
    To be honest the whole business is shoddy in the extreme and only reinforces the public view that politicians and political parties are all the same and not to be trusted an inch.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:52 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Nonsense, you’re merely adding an extra layer of whataboutery.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:57 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: No whataboutery involved at all Frank. All the parties admit to polling, only SF went out of their way to deceive people by inventing a PR company, printing false Ids and worst of all printing up a list of lies to tell voters if they were queried.
    New politics my backside.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:09 PM

@Justin Gillespie: The whole political system needs to be rebuilt from the ground. FF and FG have the system so corrupt and twisted from 100 years of swapping positions in power that its completely seized up.

Mute merely ed
    Favourite merely ed
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:11 PM

@Justin Gillespie: sure thats just another thing SF do better than FF/FG then. A superior party in every way;-)

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:47 PM

@merely ed: I have to grant you that one!!!

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:48 PM

@David Corrigan: I agree 100% David, how to do it though……

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:30 PM

@Justin Gillespie: That is a million dollar question in fairness. I know one thing for certain. We can’t keep going with the system we have.

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:10 PM

“OMG scandalous”! Not really, what is more worrying is the amount of people talking about the breach of trust. Anybody that trusts a politician be they SF/FG/FF/LAB/GP/IND and others should consider professional help.

Mute Cookie
    Favourite Cookie
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:32 PM

The Irish Independent’s Philip Ryan wrote a biography of Leo Varadkar called ‘Leo: A very modern Taoiseach’.
    The Independent is very pro-Fine Gael – having previously been owned by FG sponsor Denis O’Brien.
    Philip Ryan broke that story yesterday to damage Sinn Fein. Simon Harris immediately called SF’s behaviour ‘sinister’.

What a pity Philip Ryan didn’t do due diligence on his hit piece.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:17 PM

@Cookie: Sinister is Harris’s favourite word. He turns my stomach listening to him.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 6:20 PM

@David Corrigan: Sinister Simon lol

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:22 PM

why did this occur ? Philip Ryan spindo editor, co author of Leos book, doing his usual trying to fling mud at SF. But for 2nd time caused blowback on his hero and other parties. His bias is there for all to see, its a pity he dosent spend even half the time actually investigating those that are actually in power as those that are not. And when he might even do some he approaches it from defending those in power. He is a hypo crite and a presstitute.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Jun 10th 2021, 1:46 PM

Its SF masquerading as political party thats the main concern to those with a perspective on reality.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:25 PM

@Bain triail aisti: You can’t take a dig at one party though, all the parties did it

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:30 PM

@Bain triail aisti: It appears you have lost your grip on reality.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:02 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Wasnt related to the polling “crisis”, was a general observation. Look at their TDs here or MPs in the north.
    They’ve no skillsets to fulfill their positions.
    The Brazilian cl8wn getting elected was similar, turned out to be a farce and a drain on resources.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:37 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Only SF took it to the level of inventing a makey up polling company, printing false ids, and then having the gall to say that they couldn’t afford a real polling company to do it for them. Northern Bank money finally. gone then?

Mute JB
    Favourite JB
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:03 PM

@Bain triail aisti: We’ve had Taoisigh whose only experience is a couple years teaching decades ago and you’re going on about SF lack of skillset? We get it you don’t like them but don’t act like other parties are particularly brilliant. Every horrendous act that the state has ever done or allowed to happen was done by either a Fianna Fail or Fine Gael led government.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:12 PM

@Bain triail aisti: You are claiming that when we had a FG college dropout parading around the place as a health minister for the last few years?

Read that to yourself a few times. He didn’t have the ability to finish college and he gets put in charge of the largest budget in the state? It’s actually very alarming to think that this could happen in this day and age.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:50 PM

@David Corrigan: What worse is they made dept of Higher Education to give him a seat at the table and he no higher education qualifications, minister of children, no children. Minister of Transport, hates transport. Minister of Rural affairs from Dublin, minister for fisheries from offaly, minister of health an engineer, leader of Seanad fought to abolish the Seanad…

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:35 PM

@Da Dell: Richard Pryor would have got two years comedy material out of the state of our political system. It’s extremely funny if it wasn’t so bloody serious!

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:37 PM

@David Corrigan: He removed himself from his college spot to focus on the the 2011 election, had he failed to get elected at the young age of 20, he would have returned and completed his qualification.
    He didnt lack the capacity to complete his course.
    Those are the facts of why he is one of the only member of An Rialtas without some formal qualification, which I assume he will address in due course. He still is young so has plenty of time to address this short falling in his CV.

To put some context on short fallings on CVs, imagine had Brady been our representative during the Brexit discussions, can you image how he would have been lampooned by the UK tabloids, luckily for him and his family SF were not in power at the time.

I can look through some of your other posts and correct your other inaccuracies if you wish.
    Let me know.
    Always here to help.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:39 PM

@JB: Qualifying ones self to attain a degree shows motivation and the ability to complete tasks.
    Those skillsets are interchangeable to suit politics.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:49 PM

@Bain triail aisti: Harris is a weasel, wrote a speech for Kenny and got his due rewards for kissing the right rears. The irony of you correcting inaccuracies in others posts is hilarious. Think somewhere today, or maybe it was yesterday you were claiming that SF were promising eclipses ffs lol. Thanks for all the giggles though, hope you stay as funny when ya grow up lol.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jun 10th 2021, 6:10 PM

@Da Dell: You mean you didnt get the humour in the eclipse reference to populist nonsense promises!!
    Really ?
    Its called sarcasm.

For future reference
    Sarcasm
    /ˈsɑːkaz(ə)m/
    noun
    the use of irony to mock or convey contempt

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 6:32 PM

@Bain triail aisti: whatever ya do dont try it with FG populist nonsense promises over the last decade or so, not enough time in the world to cover that, an the fact we have historical evidence of the failure of those, from political reform & accountability, sacking the wasters of taxpayer monies, not another cent to the banks, reducing and reforming the public service, capping public sector salaries at 200k, fixing the Health Service, no more people on trolleys, thousands more beds and nurses, building 10s of thousands of house’s, fast broadband for all, abolishing the USC, 5% tax on income over 100k etc etc etc. But we did get a property tax, sugar tax, massive overspending on likes of NCH, a worse HSE, health crisis, housing crisis, homeless crisis, etc etc etc. yeah FG are great.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 8:17 PM

@Justin Gillespie: You’ll be delighted to know, that FG payed people, who used business cards from non-existent polling companies lol.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 11th 2021, 5:21 AM

@Bain triail aisti: So you still see nothing wrong with a young fella with no formal education being put in charge of an organisation with the largest budget in the country?

Don’t bother trying to correct my true statements mate. Put that time into getting your own head in order.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Jun 11th 2021, 8:37 AM

@David Corrigan: You have failed to absorb the information I’ve shared, or not read it correctly.
    Its a major short falling on his CV to not have a proper qualification, however there were stenuating circumstances 10 years ago that created this void, however this should be addressed soon.
    Its a very poor image internationally of our An Rialtas to have a member with a CV like Harris’s.

Its good that we both now see how important CVs are for TDs, and how unfit the majority of SF TDs are to be in their roles.
    I have this recurring nightmare of being on a zoom or teams call, and an American saying to me, “Hey Bob, I see the IRA are running your country now”
    And i would have no retort.
    If SF were a fully qualified professional party I would have some defence by saying these are well suited politicians and SF have long moved on from being a party of ex-cons and radicals with nothing of substance behind them..
    Alas tis not the case.

Mute White Chapel
    Favourite White Chapel
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:41 PM

This is as Irish as it gets, the once outrageous situation becomes increasingly acceptable once all parties have admitted, or have been caught out doing similar?!

This also has a bizarre level of similarity to the Dáil voting scandal which was also swiftly swept out of view once it became known that the practice was widespread.
    This is deception and is unjustifiable

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:27 PM

Yet another hatchet job that backfired on a hack that is in the pocket of one of the biggest parties…
    We have another generation now being drove away and thats the drivel they feed us…
    Where is the real criticism of the governance thats driving young people to leave to to the rope…
    Its a disgrace

Mute DeShawn Jersey
    Favourite DeShawn Jersey
    Jun 10th 2021, 1:57 PM

It seems this isn’t as big an issue as it was initially portrayed when the story broke as all parties seem to do some form of this polling. However SF’s approach seems to be the most deceptive – providing members with fake IDs and arming them with prepared lies.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jun 10th 2021, 1:58 PM

@DeShawn Jersey: Exactly. What I’m I missing here. Sure its party members or supporters that always go on the canvass

Mute frank_66
    Favourite frank_66
    Jun 10th 2021, 2:14 PM

@DeShawn Jersey: yawn yawn yawn

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 10th 2021, 4:14 PM

@DeShawn Jersey: Deceptive? Read the report below.

“Fine Gael is asking candidates applying for positions in their research team to draft attacks on Sinn Féin as part of their application process.” How messed up is that?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/fine-gael-research-candidates-asked-how-to-attack-sinn-fein-39736985.html

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jun 10th 2021, 1:56 PM

Telling someone you represent a non existant company is lieing.
    Asking questions, knowing you have lied, betrays trust placed in you.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jun 10th 2021, 7:28 PM

@Philip Howlin: Trust?… This is a ‘deep south’ redneck republic, trust no one, take what you can.

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Jun 10th 2021, 6:31 PM

Trying to nail sinn fein when they were doing it for years.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 10th 2021, 7:05 PM

@Thomas Linehan: SF pretended to be from a market research company and used fake IDs. That is the MEGA difference

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jun 10th 2021, 8:14 PM

@Craic_a_tower: New MEGA news that FG payed people who used business cards from non-existent polling companies.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:39 PM

I worked for a market research company about 20 years ago. It is a lot more complicated than people think. We used a linguist service to check the scripts to make sure they were not leading questions. For example you could never ask this “ there are 4 options one to four which would you pick?” 75% of people will answer 3 as you mention 1,2 and 4 in the question. Then there is sample size and making sure you get an accurate spread. There was also a code of ethics and lying about the company name was certainly there. Without professional analysis and design the information is worse than useless as it can be misleading

Mute Davey Ohanlon
    Favourite Davey Ohanlon
    Jun 10th 2021, 3:25 PM

Probably afraid of getting some well deserved criticising rather than party associations affecting the poll results.

More reason to verify the identity of people calling to your door with badges around their necks as the Gardai advise.

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Jun 10th 2021, 5:21 PM

Difficult to believe the parties’ claims thst they didn’t collect personal data.

These “polls” were apparently conducted by amateurs, without the ability to exercise the quality controls and adjustments implemented by professional polling companies, so no reliable conclusions could be drawn from the aggregate results.

Information on the political leanings of identifiable individuals would be useful, however.

I reckon the shredders will be overhearing at party hq

Mute Carl Hale
    Favourite Carl Hale
    Jun 10th 2021, 11:30 PM

Not a SF fan but FG and FF tried to hang SF before finding out everyone else was doing it