We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Monaghan Count via YouTube
Election 14

That's all, folks: The six remaining local election seats have been filled

Three Fine Gael, two Sinn Féin, and one Fianna Fáil councillors have been elected to Monaghan County Councils.

Updated 8.19pm

THE SIX REMAINING local election seats has been filled.

Counting has now concluded in the Ballybay-Clones election for Monaghan County Council, which had been postponed following the death of a candidate.

Owen Bannigan, a father-of-five who had represented the Castleblayney area since 1999, died while canvassing on the day of the election last month.

Votes already cast were destroyed and the election rescheduled, with two more candidates entering the race – one of which was Bannigan’s son.

From a total of 8,891 votes, the six councillors elected are:

  • Seamus Coyle (Fianna Fáil)
  • Ciara McPhillips (Fine Gael)
  • Cathy Bennett (Sinn Féin)
  • Eugene Bannigan (Fine Gael)
  • Hugh McElvaney (Fine Gael)
  • Pat Treanor (Sinn Féin)

That leaves the final make-up of Monaghan County Council looking like this:

Monaghan Chart

Originally published 7.22pm

Read: Who is your new local councillor? Here’s a list of everyone elected >

More: Monaghan councillor dies while canvassing on election day >

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.