You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
ENTERPRISE MINISTER SIMON Coveney has said that the government parties are not the same just because they are in coalition.
His comments come after an Irish Independent column in which Fine Gael junior ministers Jennifer Carroll MacNeill, Martin Heydon and Peter Burke jointly called for a “well-earned” tax break for workers in the next budget.
Tánaiste and Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin labelled the suggestion “unhelpful”.
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Coveney said that the intention wasn’t to upset his coalition colleagues, but rather to share his party’s point of view.
“There are a lot of senior mature politicians in government and, you know, because we’re in a coalition, doesn’t mean we’re the same,” he said.
“Different parties have different priorities in government, and at different times, those priorities appear in newspapers and opinion pieces.
“This is no different to that.”
Coveney played down perceived tensions in government, saying that the parties “have worked well together” so far.
“Let’s be clear. Nobody’s bullying anybody,” he said.
“This is a good coalition government.
“That doesn’t mean that the parties have the same views all the time when it comes to policy and what we’re seeing now is different parties in the coalition outlining different views as to how we can use a growing strong economy to ensure that we support families across the country.”
In spite of differing views within government, Coveney said it’s time to help the “squeezed middle” – “people who are working, who are paying for everything through their taxes”.
Increased pension and welfare rates, as well as reduced childcare costs would “allow them to hold on to a little bit more of the income that they earn”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
31 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
FF fg greens out with lot of them.
When you work a full time job and still can only barely pay the bills and can’t afford to save a few euros. There’s something wrong bigtime. And yes iam up skilled. My wife also works. .
Full-time employment means nothing.
@The boot: Spot on. I know many in the same boat. You will get the shills on here this morning staying the stats are saying you are lying. Or you should go and look for a better job.
They have’nt a bloody clue what they are talking about. Pumping out the same rubbish day in, day out.
@The boot: feel your pain mate ,I’m self employed doing well partner works , what we used to be able to save for a house has just vanished , getting tighter and tighter every month , strange times
I don’t think FF FG Greens will survive next election. It’s gonna change. And if that makes things worse for a small period. Maybe it’s the only way to wake them up. We won’t vote for them if the people are not first priority.
I’d rather see things get even worse under new leadership than continue on this shambolic situation at the moment.
@Paul Gorry: such an unfortunately accurate comment. I’m afraid the days of large scale immigration of young Irish to England, Canada and Australia is returning. Owning a home is now an unrealistic ideal and good luck to anyone trying to even rent.
@The boot: very good point,same here working full time and nothing moving forward just bills paid at best,no holidays or nights out,very unfair, in most countries you work to have a better life here you just work to pay the bills mortgage or high rent and as opposed to social welfare you have enough for an extra curry chips at the end of the week and an odd latte or something not much else,very little benefit as you’re entitlements go straight out the window and absorb you’re income,it’s fair to say generations coming up are really screwed very disheartening shame on our government and fatcats with they’re greed developer’s and landlords,hotels getting state money and increasing they’re prices bled the country dry in the end
I did chuckle at the prospect of a Fianna Fáil split at the prospect of a coalition with Sinn Fein, yet they didn’t split at a coalition with Fine Gael.
Talk of European jobs is offensive. Do what is right for your countrymen and govern for the Irish people without an eye over your shoulder.
This article actually states that Fianna Fail will be a safe pair of hands and will win the economic argument..Ha ha h ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haha.( forPause breath)ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…
FF big issue is identity
Same polices and outlook as FG …
So, SF will reap.the benefits of this lack difference .
As for MMs sense of duty to go into government with SF
Pity he didn’t have a sense of duty when he sold his soul to be Taoiseach.
And hopefully that FF T.D keeps his promise and resigns when FFand SF are in government
You will vote them in. After you see what SF are like in government. And before you say “they can’t be worse than the current shower” …you don’t understand politics and finance.
@Hugh De Payans: can you elaborate on that statement , and please don’t use Northern Ireland as a source for your argument as it’s a completely different cesspool up there . There has been much more damage done in this country by the sitting three parties in every single department of governance and there is no current statistical analysis available for Sinn Fein in power here on the south but yet you speculate about a parties performance in office that’s none existent , I can’t say for certain if Sinn Fein are the answer but I/we will find out after the next GE and I believe they deserve a chance to govern, I would imagine they along with FF will lead the next government.
@Hugh De Payans: FF didn’t understand finance when they facilated the gangsterism of the banks and developers who were bailed out by the taxpayers. The same taxpayers who were then forced into austerity to repay for the gangsterism of the above. FF certainly understood finance when the brown envelopes came their way in the Galway tent. The same developers who again have been given a free pass by Darragh O’Brien when he quietly dropped legislation concerning Developers hording land….Haughty Ahern they certainly understood the finance of corruption that still exists in FF.
@Hugh De Payans: but you see so many that don’t are so frustrated with the cabbages we have in power that they’ll vote jack the ripper in at this stage this is how perhaps the wrong party will get into power from a hopeless thinkless no forward planning ignoring the obvious ffg who have had countless years to try improve things and have failed,failed,failed and they’re legacy will be homeless at record levels younger generations emigrating absolute disgrace
@Hugh De Payans: LOL.. the stench you.. FF are dead in the eyes of anyone under 50.. a useless shower of gombeens who only ever were good for ripping off their voters. The drink drivers party.. the throw up a few sheds to make a killing off of refugees kinda party. They are cooked for anyone who doesn’t do purple rinse.
@Hugh De Payans: so you’re saying sf are definitely going to be worse even though they have never been in power so you’re basing this on what? The North? Very different situation but if you knew anything about politics you’d surely know that
@Hugh De Payans: so if we vote SF we’re dumb and don’t understand politics and finance.
Your wrong
When families have 2 full time jobs and are still struggling it’s FF that don’t understand Finance and politics .
They’re learn soon enough after the next election.
MM will be gone and hopefully a more progressive leader will emerge .
@John Mcmahon: Your grammar and spelling is atrocious. You’re a typical Sinn Fein pleb. I’m not much of a FF/FG fan but SF can’t even keep their own councillors (Dowdall) in check. I can’t imagine them governing a country. It would be laughable, if it wasn’t such a serious function.
@Hugh De Payans: Damien English, Niall Collins , just two among FFG TDs who had to resign since Martin and FF went cap in hand to Varadkar to form a government. Bertie Ahern..A proven liar attended his first Ard Fheis since he was allowed to rejoin the FF mafia family. He is giving financial advice to TDs at the Ard Fheis ….Cash only as he has no bank account for cards… Will Niall Collins explain to the Ard Fheis why he refused to appear before the ethics Committee concerning his travel expenses? … or Damien English to explain why he was let off the hook without further explanation??
@Donal Desmond: bertie ahern the chief architect of the liquidation of our country has been invited to tonight’s ard fheis by Micheal Martin. Nothing has changed in Cosa Nostra FF
Question 1: how can they look in the mirror knowing the state of the health service in this country? Fianna fail minister in charge of it. Question 2: how can they look in the mirror knowing the state of the housing crisis in this country? Record homelessness figures. Young people with zero chance of buying a home. Fianna fail minister in charge of it. Question 3: how can we really look people in the eye and ask for votes?
How much of the party funds and private donations were ‘resting’ in Mrs Martin’s swollen accounts and who will succeed him soon after they get lambasted in the next election!?
The party that bankrupted the country, a finance minister with no bank account, a justice minister that went to jail, a fat drunken fool minister for health, yet they are voted in time and time again, the Irish, gluttons for punishment
@David Glynn: When you consider A crumbling Health service, Housing crisis, Homelessness, A make it up as you go along refugee crisis,Scandal after scandal Billions taken from the Irish economy and Billions more to be repaid for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilated by the same politicians who are again in power… Think their is an alternative there..
@John Manahan: Wonder will Niall Collins explain to the FF grassroots why he refused to appear before the ethics Committee concerning his travel expenses. Collins could take his place behind Damien English who rode off into the sunset without a full explanation.. Ahern giving financial advice to FF TDs …for a small cash fee …No cards or cheques please .
FF would go into government with the Tories if it meant getting their hands on the ministerial cars and bumper pensions. They will stand at your front door and lie to your face….believe nothing any politician says.
Fianna Fail are slowly grinding to oblivion. When DeValera founded it he had ideals and principles, not to the liking of all of course but they fulfilled a need in the Ireland of the 20s, 30s and 40s with Lemass taking them into a new place in the 60s and 70s buy boy has it gone wrong since then.
They no longer fulfil a need in Irish politics, they are just FG light, a party of the Professions and the those of inherited wealth and Sinn Fein have taken the mantle of the party of the people who pay their own way in life.
Whay do we still exist?
Where do we go from here?
Should we just merge with FG?
How we we keep our snouts in the trough?
When can we get back to the good old days of tents at the Galway races and fat brown envelopes?
Is there any othe way we can ruin or bankrupt the country?
All the FF members have the blinkers on they totally don’t see or feel the mood of the people, there won’t be many of them in jobs after the next election,
Here’s a couple of big questions that should be facing them. “Why have we been a part of this allience of the GREEDY for so long and what can we do to change our ways for the good of all society and not just those within our circle?”
On a good day coming soon Michael Martin will get thrown out along with Leo the vengeful arrogant delusional leader who thrives on his disgraceful mantra towards sine Fein. Big electorate boots coming and that will be the good day.
The expensive chaotic mess these two parties are leaving behind needs sorting out.
Young people can’t afford to rent or buy a property in this country because FF/FG sold out to multinationals who use young educated people to increase their profits but won’t pay enough tax to fund basic social needs such as housing.
I cannot wait for the next election. I am sick and tired of FF, FG and the Greens gaslighting the whole country. They are a disgrace to the men and women who went before them. This is not the Ireland they fought and died for. Michael Martin recently answered a legitimate question about the amount of refugees coming to Ireland with the response “where’s your humanity”. I ask him where is his humanity towards people in this country who have spent years in homelessness. Sick children waiting for years on necessary spinal surgery to name but a few.
More smoke and mirrors. They will be anhilalated in the GE. Even more so FG and Greens. They will be all begging to be a mudflap to SF to feed at the trough. Mehole is a sychophant to anyone who will tolerate him. Hopefully the few FF stragglers left will not be needed to form the next Government. None of them will be resigning the cosy cartel anyway. Not like FF to tell porkies….
@Jimmy Wallace: They are different you’re attempts at Gaslighting aside. Change is needed. SF have costed and offered it. They know if they don’t deliver they will pay harshly. A lesson FFG will soon learn.
I am sorry. The lot of them should be got rid of. No good to this country in me holes case and a few more of them. It’s cork cork cork and dublin dublin dublin. That is the country to them. This gombeen politics of I’ll look after this place when I’m a minster I thought was finished. Surely Mary lou has to be given a chance. Can’t be any worse can she. Must get rid of eamonn me hole and Leo.
FF and FG are the exact same party, only thing that separated them was obviously name, and were historical views on past leadership regarding the treaty. When they’re told at the door Mícheál is respected as leader you just know it’s a FG voter. The gap has been bridged since this government formed and unfortunately will more than likely stay for the foreseeable, especially with older voters consistently voting the same lines forever no matter what the cost to their children and grandchildren.
Big questions? Probably who can we take from to give ourselves a fat bonus for all our hard work? The mental health sector doesn’t need resources so we’ll cut their funds and we’ll all meet in the Seychelles, we’ll take separate private jets, as the environment isn’t really important. It just get us votes. Grrrrrrr…….
@Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh): the private jet is well kitted out and Leo and the lads went to south Korea during the week to promote Irish beef with full expenses money well spent indeed never mind the average person, they never did proven that for long enough
@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Certain types of old-timers like Sean will vote for them no matter what due to traditional loyalty.. but they are less in number with each day that passes. Anybody else only sees incompetence and corruption when they look at FF.
@Padraic O’ Sullivan: I think FF have other things to worry about than asking ridiculous conspiracy theory questions affecting countries 1000s of miles away
@Hugh De Payans: firstly, not a conspiracy theory.
Second, dont think this doesnt affect us all in Ireland between the awful images on the news and the ever increasing energy bills.
The civilian sacrifice on both sides for this Project is just worth the price according to Benni
@Hugh De Payans: FF certainly have other things on their mind…The likes of Martin going to the Ukraine for a photo opp…Didn’t see him rushing to Palestine for the same photo opp. Suppose his memory is fading when as a Minister in the FF/ Green government that facilated the gangsterism of the banks and developers Martin claimed he he did not know or was not told about the economic crash that was on the way..That makes him a fool or a liar …Both would be apt to him..Especially when he publicly stated there was NO Bank Bailout…A hypocrite of the highest order.
Michael Martin you lost THREE gen elections as FF leader. You are the Taoiseach because of a narcissistic, cost deal you got yourself. Get out of political office, get off the media, get off this island you are manure
I never voted FF but there always there, they brought the people of Ireland to our knees and we are still playing for it, and we will be playing for it next year when they jump into bed with SF who all they won’t to do is get us all to speak Irish and become part of the north.
@Philip Slevin: They won’t be getting anywhere near SF’s bed. People are going to SF because they are not FF. If SF bring FF into government, they will lose at least half of their support. Not. Happening.
Sick of people saying sf will wreck the country. Who told you that? Oh ya the good old ffg shur they’d know all about wrecking it. I mean come on people, it’s time to wake the f##k up
Anyone who voted for this party in the past decade, particularly the narcissists who could casually / softly put them down in 2011,16 (cos it shows during the cruel austerity they couldnt be bothered being distracted from their warped lives to get informed and then vote) Is a total enemy of the Irish people. You are hated, not pitied by most with common sense.
Most of the comments on this issue are simply wishful thinking for Sinn Fein supporters and their deluded fellow travellers. FG and FF will not be wiped out after the next election on the contrary they will probably have enough seats between them to match the total Sinn Fein hope to achieve. FG will not go into coalition with Sinn Fein thats a given, will FF be happy to be a mudguard for Sinn Fein? time will tell. In any case there is no chance that Sinn Fein can form a government with about 30% of the vote. And always remember FF always preform better than the polls suggest and the FG vote will hold up well. I would suggest there will be more independent TD’s in the next Dail that means more confusion. To conclude if people think that we are heading to nirvana under a majority Sinn Fein government (with ministers who gave a standing ovation to the murderers of Garda Jerry McCabe at their Ard Fheis) they are in for a shock.
Uber will give women in US a choice to only travel with other women - but no plans to do it in Ireland
8 mins ago
Dáil newbies
Being a first-time TD: 'People are much nicer in the Dáil bar than they are in the chamber'
10 mins ago
RIP
Wrestling star Hulk Hogan has died aged 71
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 210 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 148 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 191 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 154 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 117 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 117 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 50 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 47 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 173 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 77 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 108 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 113 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 64 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 119 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 123 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 92 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 113 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say