You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of Bertie Ahern at the Ard Fheis in 1998 Eamonn Farrell

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern rejoins Fianna Fáil after more than 10 years

Ahern resigned from Fianna Fáil in 2012 after the Mahon Tribunal.

FORMER TAOISEACH BERTIE Ahern has rejoined Fianna Fáil more than 10 years after he quit the party. 

A spokesperson for Fianna Fáil said: “We received a membership application and it was accepted by the Party.”

It’s understood Ahern has rejoined the party as an ordinary member. 

Members are considered provisional during their first year and they do not have voting rights. 

Ahern resigned from Fianna Fáil in 2012 after the Mahon Tribunal. He stepped down as Taoiseach in 2008 and as a TD in 2011. He made the move before party leader Micheál Martin sought to expel him from the party.

The tribunal (officially the Tribunal of Inquiry into Certain Planning Matters and Payments) found that he did not truthfully account for payments of IR£165,000 made to accounts connected to him.

It was scathing in its treatment of the former Taoiseach, rejecting much of the evidence he provided in connection to a substantial number of lodgements made in the 1990s.

Although the tribunal did not make findings of corruption against Ahern, it proved hugely damaging to his reputation. He has disputed the findings.

In September, Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin indicated he would be open to allowing Ahern back into Fianna Fáil.

Martin said that he had been engaging with the former taoiseach in recent times, particularly about issues around the Northern Ireland Protocol.

He said: “In terms of Bertie Ahern, I have been engaging with Bertie Ahern actually over the last year and a bit, since the rows on the protocol, and he’s very involved in Northern Ireland issues, he maintains contacts with different groups.

“From my perspective, like that level of consultation will continue because I think he has invaluable insights to all of that.”

Martin said that his former colleague has experience with a range of groups in Northern Ireland.

“He has reached out to communities in the north and is sort of picking up perspectives in different communities and that’s been valuable in terms of engaging and discussions on that,” the Fianna Fail leader added.

“No one can take from the contribution he made to peace in Ireland and to the peace process, so the fullness of time certainly we will give him that consideration.

“It’s very relaxed when we meet.”

When reminded that he sought to expel his predecessor from the party, Martin said that he resigned in the wake of the tribunal.

“As far as I am concerned, it’s 10 years on, I’m conscious of the contribution he has made to peace in the country.

“He made a very significant contribution,” Martin added.

With reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

101 Comments
    Mute Pj Quinn
    Favourite Pj Quinn
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:07 PM

Getting ready to run for President.

Mute Conor McNamara
    Favourite Conor McNamara
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:41 PM

@Pj Quinn: I hope he does. I would get great pleasure in not voting for him, and seeing him come last.

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:21 PM

@Pj Quinn: imagine him on the world stage, Memory like a sieve

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Feb 9th 2023, 1:56 AM

@Pj Quinn: And the many subservient fools and lackeys will ensure that he wins by a landslide..What is it with Irish people who have a severe lack of self esteem,self respect and underclass behavior when they put certain individuals in society on a pedestal and worship them..? I’m convinced it’s a hangover from our colonial occupation and we feel we need a master to obey and serve.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Feb 9th 2023, 7:39 AM

@Redseat92: I think when you remind people of his remark about economists predicting the crash would be better off committing suicide it males them realise what a creep he is.

Mute Pat Duggan
    Favourite Pat Duggan
    Feb 9th 2023, 8:33 AM

@Conor McNamara: In order to get your wish somebody needs to put up another candidate. The risk here is that FF and FG might agree on Bertie and he could get in without you or I getting the opportunity to express our opinion.

Mute Valerie
    Favourite Valerie
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:06 PM

Check his pockets!!

Mute John Devine
    Favourite John Devine

Final nail in the coffin

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:19 PM

@John Devine: Which coffin?

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Feb 8th 2023, 11:03 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: Fianna Fáils coffin.

Mute Bernard A Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard A Kavanagh
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:13 PM

Has he opened a bank account

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:58 PM

@Bernard A Kavanagh: my thoughts exactly!!

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:18 PM

@Bernard A Kavanagh: He’s cute enough now to know he wouldn’t get away with that these days, so I’d say he’s got his millions safely tucked away in the Cayman Island!!

Mute Ferg Redmond
    Favourite Ferg Redmond

If things in the world could not be bad enough!

Mute Shane Dempsey
    Favourite Shane Dempsey

The clocks have went forward 7 weeks.. Happy April 1st.

Mute Tony Delaney
    Favourite Tony Delaney
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:26 PM

Getting ready to run for president counting on people not remembering the damage he done to the country that our children and grandchildren will be still paying for

Mute Trisha McCormack
    Favourite Trisha McCormack

Shouldn’t be allowed he’s retired on a full pension and now he get to earn more unless he doesn’t get paid and no expenses

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:22 PM

@Trisha McCormack: It’s just party membership

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:48 PM

@Veronica: Are you being serious? Even your wit is sad.

Mute Lads you cant do that
    Favourite Lads you cant do that
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:45 PM

@Trisha McCormack: is that pension cashed in the pub or would he have a bank account by now I wonder..

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:08 PM

What a shocker FF have been building him up to be the next president for years. They couldn’t find anyone better?

Mute Patrick Malone
    Favourite Patrick Malone
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:51 PM

@Matthew Donoghue: bertie v Jerry

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:51 PM

@Patrick Malone: both couldn’t tell the truth

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:14 PM

As if FF didn’t have enough problems with the next general election already

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:16 PM

10 years wasn’t enough to wipe the memory, Albert.

Mute Kenneth Long
    Favourite Kenneth Long
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:23 PM

Fianna Fail mustn’t have any other direction to go in other than backwards!

This will finish them surely?

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:08 PM

Excellent, that’ll kill them at election time.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:08 PM

@Jason Walsh: good

Mute Graham Ahern
    Favourite Graham Ahern
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:39 PM

Should be in jail

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡

Roll on GiftGrub tomorrow

Mute Fuji Hakayito
    Favourite Fuji Hakayito
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:48 PM

Fianna Finnished

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:13 PM

Sure if you forget all he did

He did nothing wrong

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:21 PM

With lot of banks closing down, he won’t have any questions to answer as why he hasn’t a bank account

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:47 PM

The Gravy Train continues

Mute Elaine Cosgrove
    Favourite Elaine Cosgrove
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:35 PM

Is this Waterford Whispers??!!!!

Mute A$AP ETH
    Favourite A$AP ETH

Tis like ronaldo back to united all over again. Can’t wait until it all goes pear shaped and he gives a tell all interview to niall boylan about having to pay for his own pints in the dail bar.

Mute DuffIE
    Favourite DuffIE
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:31 PM

Has he got a bank account yet or is it still cash cash cash

Mute malcolm smith
    Favourite malcolm smith
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:08 PM

Does he come with his own brown envelopes?

M
    Mute M
    Favourite M

Teflon Don returns.

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:52 PM

BBBBBB BERTIE. Ahm but, I kept all me dosh under the mattress :)

Mute Dave Mc Cormack Higgins
    Favourite Dave Mc Cormack Higgins
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:15 PM

The boom is back

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:50 PM

@Dave Mc Cormack Higgins:
    Not only is it back, it’s Boomier. Guttersnipe.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:18 PM

FG have spent so many years screwing the taxpayer that even Bertie looks a better alternative.

Mute Declan Reidy
    Favourite Declan Reidy
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:18 PM

Never voted for him but I enjoy listening to his interviews on Brexit and the North. He understands the unionist’s concerns and fears.

Mute Fuji Hakayito
    Favourite Fuji Hakayito
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:52 PM

@Declan Reidy: as so what. There are plenty that can do same and probably better.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:30 PM

Judged against the current FF leader who also had issues with bank accounts Bertie just another ordinary decent criminal.

Mute Greachán Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Greachán Ó Ceallaigh

I, for one, welcome our New (Old) Overlord.

All Hail the Benevolent Bertie!

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:56 PM

Will he have a Bank Account now cos he claimed he had none before.. mehole expelled him like a good little School Principal but now its ok to forgive him cos it all happened so long ago & the focus is on FG screwing us.. neither party will ever get any number beside them on ballot paper

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:34 PM

@Veronica: Did you vote for them last time????

Mute Michael Reynolds
    Favourite Michael Reynolds
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:22 PM

‘The Boom getting Boomier?’
    -Bertie, Celtic Tiger Era

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:46 PM

A mafia reunion.

Mute Scott Mcgarry
    Favourite Scott Mcgarry

Now I know we’re f@cked!!!

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:10 PM

The next president after Michael D, just you wait.

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:30 PM

The final nail in the FF coffin…

Mute Michael Phillips
    Favourite Michael Phillips
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:27 PM

What a disgrace

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips

You don’t get this fella, he doesn’t do No, this is a vile creature who sees it as his birthright to get the job in the park.No wonder he is back in the GYM.

Mute Stephen Mullins
    Favourite Stephen Mullins
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:22 PM

Hopefully this will be the end of this corrupt party .

Mute john O neill
    Favourite john O neill
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:55 PM

JASUS!!!!!!!

Mute Derek Doogan
    Favourite Derek Doogan
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:14 PM

Get the man a bank account

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:37 PM

Shameless!

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christy
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christy
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:05 PM

Possible review needed on the corruption scale as this p… poor decision will have the country clearly in no man’s land… Christ you couldn’t make it up, the absolute state of Irish politics.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:35 PM

Truly a MAFFia organisation! Shameless!

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:38 PM

A MaFFia organisation!

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:19 PM

He was found wanting on money matters , FF are wrong to all him rejoin the party. He corrupted the system of government at that time and nothing excuses that.

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:50 PM

Embarrassing in the extreme, taking this effing clown back into a political party. Gombeenism at its best. How about the healy raes becoming his assistants?

Mute Coddler
    Favourite Coddler
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:21 PM

The more things change, the more they stay the same!

Mute Sean Doheny
    Favourite Sean Doheny
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:20 PM

The usual begrudgerry is being posted here,are we surprised,no we’re not

Mute len len
    Favourite len len
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:30 PM

@Sean Doheny: Well, go away then. Ten years should do it.

Mute Ferg Redmond
    Favourite Ferg Redmond
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:09 PM

@Sean Doheny: Begrudgerry,!! He should have been jailed!

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy

@Sean Doheny: you’re the kind of person that has ruined irish politics. No matter what bertie and ff do you’ll back them up. Each person in Ireland owes 44k I’d say bertie is the cause of atleast 30k of that so I’d say begrudgery is the wrong word for it.

Mute Brendan Gilligan
    Favourite Brendan Gilligan
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:35 PM

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

Mute Russian Bot
    Favourite Russian Bot
    Feb 9th 2023, 5:38 PM

@Brendan Gilligan: History doesn’t repeat itself. But it often rhymes. – Mark Twain.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:49 PM

You couldn’t write this shyte ,,fffg out !!!

Mute Gary Heslin
    Favourite Gary Heslin
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:02 PM

Heard he just opened a bank account today with KBC.

Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:30 PM

Former Gangster more like

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:21 PM

He was found wanting on money matters , FF are wrong to all him rejoin the party. He was unable to answer serious questions about his remuneration sources when in Government and that has made all of that era somewhat guilty of corruption.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:12 PM

Oh Noooooo!

Mute Michael Mcshane
    Favourite Michael Mcshane
    Feb 8th 2023, 11:34 PM

Of all the things he did, I think his treatment in his abandonment of his loyal secretary Gráinne Carruth during the mahon tribunal marks him out as a pure snivelling little gobsheen, no man of any quality. I really do hope he runs for president , it’ll be great to hear the people of Ireland booing him once again…back in the kitchen cupboard bertie ya wee gombeen

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Feb 8th 2023, 7:43 PM

Who can take the rainbow?
    (Who can take the rainbow?)
    Wrap it in a sigh
    (Wrap it in a sigh)
    Soak it in the sun and make a groovy lemon pie

The Anorak man
    Oh! the Anorak man

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:49 PM

Hope he gets a raffle ticket.

Mute Seamus Quaide
    Favourite Seamus Quaide
    Feb 8th 2023, 6:25 PM

The crater….we missed him dearly.

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:57 PM

Coming back to build the Bertie Bowl

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:08 PM

@pkunzip doom2.zip:
    Yea, the Bertie begging bowl.

Mute Kevin Beattie
    Favourite Kevin Beattie
    Feb 8th 2023, 8:17 PM

A perfect match

Mute Carol Murray
    Favourite Carol Murray
    Feb 8th 2023, 11:43 PM

FF arrogance once again, total disregard for the Irish Nation. Short memories….roll on the general election, we are still paying for their incompetence and will be for many generations to come!

Mute Claire Brennan
    Favourite Claire Brennan
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:34 PM

……and I’m out

Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:26 PM

See you next Tuesday.

Mute Roibeard Ó Riain
    Favourite Roibeard Ó Riain
    Feb 8th 2023, 11:40 PM

Corruption.
    Dear Journal,

Why do you delete truthful statements?

Corrupt, narcissist, brown envelope, pension, self serving.

Mute Max Cyclist
    Favourite Max Cyclist
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:38 PM

Great in depth knowledge of Northern Ireland issues, he should be used in that sphere.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Feb 8th 2023, 11:48 PM

@Max Cyclist: thanks but no thanks

Mute Patrick Monaghan
    Favourite Patrick Monaghan
    Feb 9th 2023, 6:04 AM

He’ll need another recycling bin for all the brown envelopes

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:51 PM

Say what you like about Bertie but he was the one who got the better of the Unionists and they alleys the Brits

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:54 PM

Only for Bertie the SAS would still be lying in the tall grass for the IRA. We’d be still reading (daily) headlines like IRA 0 – SAS 4

Mute Mike Lucey
    Favourite Mike Lucey
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:43 PM

Bertie is only a FF ordinary member. I doubt very much that the FF party would be foolish enough to nominate him as the party contender for the presidency when the time comes.

I never had much time for Bertie but I will admit that he did a great job on bringing peace to Northern Ireland. I also believe that , with his understanding of the North and goodwill connections, he could make a very positive contribution to ending the deadlock up there.

So let’s give him a chance to redeem himself.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Feb 8th 2023, 10:34 PM

Why would he not return to the party, and why not run for president, given the same people keep voting for same few parties and politicians he has to be favourite to win.

Mute Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Feb 8th 2023, 9:43 PM

I wonder which constituency he joined in.

Mute Pat O'Leary
    Favourite Pat O'Leary
    Feb 9th 2023, 7:45 AM

OMFG…..

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Feb 9th 2023, 8:50 AM

What do you think of that Leo?

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Feb 9th 2023, 1:31 AM

No bank account but I can guarantee that if he runs for President the many subservient fools and lackeys in this country will ensure that he wins by a landslide..Get your bets on now,It will be the easiest money you will ever make,

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Feb 9th 2023, 11:12 AM

Still paying 7% universal social charge thanks to him. He will be the death of FF.
    So bring him on without shame.

Mute Fay Fitzgerald Ne Reeves
    Favourite Fay Fitzgerald Ne Reeves
    Feb 9th 2023, 11:28 AM

He ruined this country. We don’t need someone like that again. His another Charles Haughey.

Mute Michael Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Michael Fitzpatrick
    Feb 10th 2023, 1:23 PM

The very fact that he’s sticking his head out of whatever toilet he currently “floating” in speaks volumes about Bertie’s mentality.
    After playing a major part in running this country into the ground, leaving us in hoc with the IMF, condemning generations to paying for his incompetence and living off a fat pension that we’re still paying for, he actually believes that ANYBODY ever wants to see or hear from this clown again. Climb back into the bowl Bertie, close the lid, and give it a really good FLUSH Goodbye !!!

lining his pockets at the expense of ordinary people,