You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
GARDAÍ ARE CONTINUING to search the Bray harbour area this morning following yesterday’s shooting which left one man dead, and another two injured.
Gardaí have been carrying out searches of the area, and the harbour pier since 6am this morning. They are now focusing their investigation on the silver coloured Volkswagen Caddy that the gunman fled the scene in.
The cars of the three victims remain at the scene in Bray today.
Gardaí are now tracing the steps of the gunman and said they are still trying to establish a link between the van and the scene. They are appealing to anyone with information who might have seen the vehicle yesterday.
The area will remain cut off for some time, said the gardaí, and there is no indication as to when it will reopen.
Shooting
Tributes have been paid to Bobby Messett, a grandfather and fitness fanatic who was attending a training session when he was shot shortly before 7am yesterday morning.
Pete Taylor – the father and former trainer of Irish boxing champion Katie Taylor –sustained injuries to his arm and chest in the incident. Another man, Ian Britton, was shot three times in the leg.
Messett, who was 50, is believed by gardaí to be a completely innocent victim who was in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Early indications suggest this attack could be linked to a side business Taylor is a part of. Sources said that Taylor had fallen out with a local criminal who he had befriended in recent years.
There is no suggestion Pete Taylor, or anyone else in the gym at the time, is involved in any form of criminality.
Area cordoned off
The area outside the Bray Boxing Club remains cordoned off this morning and there is a large garda presence at the scene.
Police are looking to trace the movements of the silver coloured Volkswagen Caddy van with Northern Irish registration which was used in the shooting.
Shortly after the shooting, the gunman, who had his face covered drove the van from Bray through Shankill and the Cornelscourt area before being abandoned on Pigeon House Road at approximately 8.05am yesterday morning.
The male was seen leaving the van and cycling away.
Gardaí are appealing:
To anyone who witnessed the movements of this van along the route travelled between 7am and 8am yesterday morning
To anyone with dash cam footage along this route between 7am and 8am
To anyone who witnessed the male cycling away from Pigeon House Road at approximately 8.05am
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
11 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
On a recent trip from Heuston Stn in a packed Luas, a drunken man jammed next to me, began a loud abusive tirade against all. As the spat and the spittle developed, his face was far too close, I challenged him to be quiet- or similar words, he became physically agressive. I was pleasantly surprised when a young woman stood up and identified herself as a Garda and took the aggressor and handcuffed him off at the next stop. Thanks to the Garda that day.
Genuine question – i know it says both but why use undercover? I thought the best way to prevent crime is just have a strong overt presence on all corners. Unless maybe they’re looking to track down certain groups?
@Johnny Mads: I understand visible guards would make the community/people aware and feel protected however having undercover guards is also great to catch these nasty people when they think they aren’t being watched by the guards.
@Johnny Mads: good question considering there are cameras continuing recording each coach.
There is already visible private security. You can see them before they get on board.
In that line most of the attacks are against the same anyone whose English is second language from tourists to underage students to workers.
An undercover Gardaí should be able to caught them easily ….the problem is the Garda own bias, Garda tends to do nothing to protect anyone whose first language isn’t English … Ireland is the only country in the EU without multilingual operators in the emergency line, and emergency phone operators that cut a call because they can’t understand someone in distress with an accent of ESL … third word and in a country where their wealth comes from the multilingual services teams operating here and studying of English
@Ciarán: I do personally like that approach, but my worry is that these people dont actually get any real punishment which would make the undercover a waste of time. I think a heavy uniformed presence is best but either way lets hope they do their job !
@Ciarán: I understand visible guards would make the community/people aware and feel protected however having undercover guards is also great to catch these nasty people when they think they aren’t being watched by the guards.
I live in a Seaside town and Anti Social behavior especially at weekends is out of control. The Dart is dodgy at any time after Connolly and all the stations are unmanned .
As usual there is no proper deterrent as they are mostly juveniles so this allows them to do what they want.
In Ireland advance planning for anything is only done when things get really bad and if you are expecting a response that works long term don’t hold your breadth.
I’m not advocating birching but a ‘Sin’ bin should be provided so any juvenile with 3 strikes get a week if boot camp. Then progressively more. This should be automatic and they should not have a criminal record to help the idiots cop on.
Where are the parents in all this …probably absent and useless. !
Action not words is required.
@paul burke: not sure given the gravity of the crimes reported that one should be given 3 strikes before a weekend at boot camp which to be fair could even be seen as fun before any long term consequences. They aren’t robbing penny sweets their actions will have long term consequences for the victims of their senseless crimes.
@Sarah Lou: They were releassed without charge because the file was sent to the DPP ( department of public prosecution ) They will go trough it all in detail and decide who to charge with what crimes as and how many charges they shouldn’t be charged with etc. it could take 8-12 months for it to come back from the dpp due to backlogs . but they will get back to them and they either say there not going ahead with charges ( in some cases ) so theyll be charged I’d say but not for 6 months +
These kids have no respect for the Gardai. Whether undercover or visible.
It’s the justice system and juvenile leniency that’s letting everyone down. Especially the Gardai.
Change is needed on that or nothing else matters
If I see anything like that I’d launch in and batter the bejasysis out of them. They’ll pick on the wrong person one day. Flurry of spinning backfists, hook kicks, the lot.
It’s time we had a dedicated transport police like they have in London. The public travel network in Dublin is big enough nowadays to warrant it. Its not just issues on stretches of the DART but there are areas of south and west Dublin that Bus drivers regularly refuse to enter and plenty of problems on the Luas, especially the red line.
@Trevor Fallon: currently both the DART and Luas use private security and pay for them. Clearly its not enough. So replacing them with a transport police with actual powers if arrest would be better. Who cares how its paid for,. Its needed.
The victim is a teen and underage as well as the rest of the girls on the platform.
Gardaí would be useless with the male approach of consent improper conduct of males against females, and show the male aggressors as poor little things and their underage female victims as grown up adult that should know better.
So going on the inaction way, no safe for females passengers, neither tourists as usual or anyone talking in other language than English …. because of the security consent by inaction for years
@Maria Quinn:
Ridiculous attempt to turn an antisocial and criminal issue into a gender based issue. Yes! The victim in this case was a young female but all of society is affected by this problem.
The mother of one of the 3 boys involved is suing the company because they apparently leaked the CCTV and in doing so broke her son’s right to privacy no joke!
Some outstanding pillars of the community travelling on public transport all through this lockdown. Essential travel only was the rule. But they use the opportunity to do their business runs, (nudge nudge wink wink). So undercover presence from gardi is great idea. Take down these individuals.
Why not a separate transport police which I’ve seen work in other countries like Australia, Dubai and Singapore. They have powers of arrest in Australia but are not directly a police force.
Looking forward to all the lefties coming out defending these hooligans. when these lads/girls are arrested, they will play the victim card saying the government failed them, they have HDHD. they have mental health issues blah blah.
@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: lefties?it has nothing to do with politics i am what you would call a “lefty”and i think these people should feel the full force of the justice system.
8 priests respond to Reek Sunday callout as some opt for earlier climb due to All-Ireland clash
1 hr ago
As it happened
Australia v British & Irish Lions, second Test
Updated
9 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say