You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Resume your seat or else you'll be taking a walk': Fine Gael TD kicked out of the Dáil

Brendan Griffin was formally ejected from the Dáil chamber this afternoon after getting into a row with the Ceann Comhairle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iu0W4-wmd7k

FINE GAEL TD Brendan Griffin has been ejected from the Dáil chamber this afternoon after a row with the Ceann Comhairle over attempts to raise the possibility of expanding the remit of the Order of Business.

The Kerry South deputy was speaking during today’s Order of Business when he asked if the Taoiseach would consider “broadening the remit” so as that TDs could use it to “raise issues of regional or local importance”.

At present, the Order of Business is held every day the Dáil sits for the purposes of outlining the house’s agenda for the day and to allow TDs to ask about promised legislation.

But Seán Barrett took exception to this saying it was not a fair question and that “you can’t use the Order of Business for a chat”.

He ordered Griffin to resume his seat “or else you’ll be taking a walk” before asking the Taoiseach to formally propose that his own party member be ejected.

As he put the question that Griffin should be ejected from the chamber, Griffin relented and withdrew form the chamber, saying: “I’ll leave myself Ceann Comhairle, under protest.”

To which Barrett responded rather sarcastically: “Thanks very much, that’s very kind of you, very considerate. Jesus, I’ve heard it all now.”

WATCH: “I’m not going to sit here and get upset every day.” – Ceann Comhairle threatens to resign

Ceann Comhairle tells TDs: ‘Go and watch television to see what it sounds like’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:27 PM

It’s a laugh really that the ceann comhairle is the biggest clown in the place

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:28 PM

The Clown Comhairle?

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:32 PM

Cathal bruagh (burgess) created this position as the presented our nation to the world ….. Please please don’t disrespect it

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:35 PM

The holder of the position brings enough disrepute to it himself, he doesn’t need anyone else to chip in.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:08 PM

Rent a dope policy. He spends more time worrying about the dress code in the Dail than the state of the country.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:24 PM

“Petr Do you even know who Cathal Bruagh was ?”

Never heard of him, although I’m quite familiar with Cathal Brugha.

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:25 PM

In fairness pat, Barrett is the one disrespecting the office by using language like that. Should have a bit more decorum sitting in that seat.

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:49 PM

and we pay these muppets,,,

Mute pat James buchannan
    Feb 19th 2014, 3:11 PM

Cheers mike …. I totally agree

Mute pat James buchannan
    Feb 19th 2014, 3:12 PM

And I still think they disrespect a very important seat

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:20 PM

Feck off mr burgesss ye pervert, (a one Sharon)

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:40 PM

it was a spanish bleeding sailor,,,

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 19th 2014, 7:04 PM

Ah at least ya gave us all a laugh, Pat, ya flute.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:34 PM

He will be called to Enda’s office this afternoon and the ruler will be out.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:55 PM

Will Enda have his leathers on I wonder?

Poor old Enda is looking very surprised one of his voting fodder members is maybe showing some imagination and thinking for themselves. Stop it now that unfair.

Mute David Harrington
    Favourite David Harrington
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:30 PM

I can just imagine him getting intercepted outside off camera, and taken for re-education, Clockwork Orange style.

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn

Barrett. Arrogant numpty!

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Feb 19th 2014, 5:46 PM

Ah Jay – he has to flex his muscles now and again or he would seize up in that boring institution. Imagine sitting listening for the past ..weeks about bugging that might have happened and maybe Gardai involved and something may be done. Numbingly boring, and he has to show he earns his inflated salary

Mute Loki
    Favourite Loki
    Feb 20th 2014, 7:05 AM

But an all round great guy!

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:57 PM

Are these people running our country or more interested in one-up manship.

It’s like our class in school when we got a temporary teacher in.

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:14 PM

Sean Barrett is one of those rare people who gets out of the wrong side of the bed every day. A constant air of exasperation about him. Eternally frustrated and perpetually impatient. In short – a real barrel of laughs…

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:33 PM

I’m not defending what the CC did here, as I too think it was a huge overreaction.

But wouldn’t you be a bit cranky if you had to deal with all those gobsh!tes we elected every day?

Mute Bartrude
    Favourite Bartrude
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:05 PM

John O Donoghue was EVERY BIT AS BAD.

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:38 PM

Enny Kenny should not have to put up with this unruly behaviour in his classroom ..lol get outta here now ,and youse will have to do 100 lines ..lol

Mute Francis Foley
    Favourite Francis Foley
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:04 PM

I think the CC was disrespectful to the Deputy, he asked the a Taoiseach a simple question but yet the CC would not allow the Taoiseach to answer it!

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:41 PM

Silly backbencher.
    Pulling a parochial stunt like that.

You’d think there was an imminent election or something.

The lack of respect TDs have for the chamber & the speaker is saddening.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:18 PM

The chamber is a national joke-I’ve never seen such a shambolic rabble in all my life-the td in question had a valid question and was ran out as he was upsetting the place,you wouldn’t see this behaviour at westminister!!..maybe spitting image should be revived…

Mute Martin Curran
    Favourite Martin Curran
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:06 PM

Clowns

Mute Dara Ryan
    Favourite Dara Ryan
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:35 PM

Such a power trip by the cc. Reminds of some cranky teacher who can’t stand any noise other than their own voice…

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Feb 19th 2014, 1:52 PM

Anybody hear the goings-on in Westminster last night? We’re certainly not alone with our naughty schoolboy antics.

Mute Just4 TheJournal
    Favourite Just4 TheJournal
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:37 PM

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:34 PM

Ceann comhairle deserves a black card after giving Brendan Griffin a red.

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:39 PM

No respect for TD elected by people of Kerry.

Mute Bob Carty
    Favourite Bob Carty
    Feb 19th 2014, 3:11 PM

“Clown comhairle” more like. A decent question asked by the kerry td. He might of being asking about funding for the flood victims in kerry and surrounding counties given the events the last few weeks.

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:14 PM

What seems to have been missed here is how this exposes the ludicrous nature of Fine Gael Party hierarchy, when a backbencher needs use up Dail Time inappropriately and to go through the Ceann Comhairle in order to ask the leader of his own bloody Party a Question. Do they not bloody speak to each other outside of the Dail?

Clearly, the only thing Fine Gael TDs are unified by is their collective ambition for power.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Feb 19th 2014, 2:13 PM

Enda Kenny should be shown a lot more respect – as he has saved this country from imminent destruction ..

In other news , Linda has lost the plot !

Mute Connaughtabu
    Favourite Connaughtabu
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:09 PM

I don’t think Deputy Griffin will be in line for a promotion for the duration of this Dail!

Is mud thane known he was about to be ejected, so the question is “was he putting a wee bit of clear water between himself and the Party”?

Mute Connaughtabu
    Favourite Connaughtabu
    Feb 19th 2014, 4:11 PM

Memo to self – put on specs before typing!

He must have known….”

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Feb 19th 2014, 5:19 PM

Damn iPhone autocorrect!

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Feb 19th 2014, 3:34 PM

What was the argument about? I’m tired!

Mute Thomas Brady
    Favourite Thomas Brady
    Feb 19th 2014, 6:53 PM

Is it beer o clock yet ceann Comhairle

Mute Robert Brouwer
    Favourite Robert Brouwer
    Feb 19th 2014, 7:21 PM

Democracy at iTS best. Not aloud to speak.?

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Feb 19th 2014, 9:28 PM

Sound man Brendan Griffin TD. Kerry will be proud of him. He is not afraid to speak up on behalf of his constituents.

Mute eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Favourite eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Feb 19th 2014, 10:41 PM

‘Up to 30 mins a day and 20 on a Thursday’…….getting away early for the weekend

Mute Julie Grey
    Favourite Julie Grey
    Feb 20th 2014, 3:27 PM

No interest in politics at all but Brendan Is a descent man! I can’t understand why he was kicked out! Are they just supposed to shut up and listen! The more I hear the less I understand!

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Feb 20th 2014, 12:51 PM

Its like a teacher putting a bold child out of the class, how more embarrassing can this lit get