You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Drivers and their vehicles on the Limerick exit from junction 17 on the M7 motorway outside Portlaoise Rollingnews

Major disruption caused during second day of fuel price protests

Roads around the country as well as public transport have been affected.

LAST UPDATE | 8 Apr

DELAYS AND DIVERSIONS are continuing in the capital and nationwide this afternoon as fuel protests continue.

This afternoon, there are severe delays on the M50, with all northbound lanes blocked after Junction 6 (Blanchardstown) by demonstrators. 

Public transport through Dublin city centre is disrupted and even emergency vehicles have been delayed, with fuel depots also blocked by protesters who are calling for a meeting with the government to reduce the price of fuel. 

However, Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said the coalition only negotiates with national representative bodies and described the actions of the protesters as “wrong”. 

We’ll have the latest on the unfolding rush hour transport disruption and the ongoing political fallout here.

We’re wrapping up our coverage of today’s fuel price protests and traffic disruptions in Dublin and across the country. Thanks for following along with us.

For ongoing updates on road closures, please check with local authorities and gardaí.

Traffic seems to be moving again along much of the M50, though drivers are warned that delays are still expected.

m50

Cyclists in Dublin are planning a counter protest this evening.

Photos of Dublin quays

IMG_7855 Ormond Quay closed to traffic The Journal The Journal

IMG_7853 Wellington Quay The Journal The Journal

Whitegate Oil Refinery blockade

Whitegate Oil Refinery in Cork has been blockaded with tractors sitting in the road stopping lorries from coming and going.

Damien Sreenan / X (Formerly Twitter)

a-man-sits-in-a-tractor-wheel-as-vehicles-are-parked-on-oconnell-street-in-dublin-as-protestors-take-part-on-the-second-day-of-a-national-fuel-protest-against-rising-fuel-prices-demonstrators-drivin A protester sits in the wheel of a tractor on O'Connell St in Dublin Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Heydon condemns protests

Minister for Agriculture Martin Heydon has condemned the protest, which he says is now impacting farmers and threatens animal welfare issues arising.

The blockage of the ports by protestors is now stopping the transportation of feed ingredients to feed mills and merchants has serious potential implications for pig and poultry farmers in particular.

The minister says he has received reports that milk is not being collected from some dairy farmers, denying them a means to make their living.

He said he and his officials have already met with farm bodies, IBEC and the farm contractors and further to that have supported the establishment of a new national farm contractors group. He will meet all agri stakeholders on Friday.

Minister Heydon said “We are maintaining close and continuous engagement with farmers, fishers, processors and industry representatives to ensure we fully understand the challenges they are facing and can respond appropriately.”

HSE updates

The HSE has said it is facilitating late arrivals caused by the traffic delays.

Acute services in the Mid West are operating as normal but that patients delayed by heavy traffic “are being encouraged to attend for their appointments or reschedule for the earliest available date”. 

Community services across HSE Mid West continue to operate despite notable disruptions over the past two days.

These include:

• Significant staff travel delays

• Increase in service users arriving late for appointments and increase in service users who did not attend

• Some staff have been delayed carrying out home visits

“We encourage all service users who are concerned about being late for or missing an appointment to contact their service directly so that appointments can be facilitated at the earliest possible date.”

HSE services in Dublni, the Midlands, the West and North West have not been disrupted but late arrivals are being facilitated. 

Government meets IRHA

Government leaders met with the Irish Road Haulage Association today for what they described as wide-ranging discussions about the pressures facing the haulage industry. 

“The discussions were constructive and form part of a series of meetings between the industry and government,” the government said in a statement.

The government said that Minister Martin Heydon and Minister of State Timmy Dooley will meet national representative bodies of contractors and farming organisations on Friday.

We reported earlier on the disruption to Dublin Bus services as a result of the protests. 

You can find a full list of cancelled routes and diversions here

Protesters have blocked the entrance to the Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery in Co Cork. 

It comes after they also blocked access to fuel terminals in Foynes, Co Limerick and Galway.

Gardaí have said the protests are having a “significant impact” on traffic on roads across the country, including: 

• Dublin City Centre
  • M50 North, Dublin
  • Cork
  • M7 / N18 Limerick
  • N52 Tullamore
  • N6 Athlone
  • M8 Cashel
  • M18 Ennis
  • Sligo
  • M7, Portlaoise

Transport Infrastructure Ireland has said the M50 Northbound at Junction 5 (Finglas) has since reopened. 

Dublin Airport has advised passengeers to allow extra time for their journey due to the current traffic disruption on the M50 as a result of the protest. 

Taoiseach Micheál Martin, Tánaiste Simon Harris and Minister of State Seán Canney have met with the Irish Road Haulage Association (IRHA).

The group is not involved in organising the current protests. 

In a statement, the government said it held “a wide-ranging discussion” with the IRHA which included “pressures being faced by hauliers due to high costs. 

“The discussions were constructive and form part of a series of meetings between the industry and Government,” the statement said. 

“The leaders confirmed the Government will continue to engage with the IRHA on the impact of the ongoing war on the cost of fuel.”

It said the government “acknowledges the central role the haulage industry plays in our trading economy” and welcomed the news of the two-week US-Iran ceasefire, which was agreed last night. 

“Government will continue to engage with national representative organisations and keep the situation under review,” it added. 

Agriculture Minister Martin Heydon and Minister of State Timmy Dooley will meet national representative bodies of contractors and farming organisations on Friday.

The M50 is now closed at Junction 5 (Finglas) due to the protest. 

'No one is above the law' - Justice Minister

Justice Minister Jim O’Callaghan said he told gardaí that it is essential that “our ports and fuel depots remain open and fully accessible” amid the protests. 

He visited that Garda Control Centre and met with senior gardaí responsible for policing the protests throughout the country.

“I emphasised to them that while Government respects the right to protest, that right must be exercised lawfully and must respect the rights of others to earn a livelihood or to move freely.”

He continued: “Government is well aware of the pressures on people from increased fuel costs, but democracy cannot be dictated to by an unelected group whose actions are now damaging the Irish public.

“No one is above the law and those breaking the law should know that there are consequences for unlawful activity.”

HFY5usUa8AIExTW Jim O'Callaghan visiting the Garda Control Centre today. Jim O'Callaghan Jim O'Callaghan

M7 blockade

Photos here of drivers and their vehicles on the Limerick exit from Junction 17 on the M7 outside Portlaoise, Co Laois.

unnamed (6) Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

unnamed (8) Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

unnamed (7) Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Dublin Bus spokesperson Blake Boland has said that “large parts of the city are impassable” this afternoon due to the ongoing protests. 

He said the disruption to bus services is “far worse today” because protesters blocked routes that the buses were being diverted down. 

Boland said in attempt to get around the road blockages, Dublin Bus is operating what he called “temporary terminuses”.

“We bring a bus as close as we can into the city, the likes of Merrion Square, Heuston Station and so on. You then turn that bus around and operate back out of the city,” he said.

“You’re kind of operating as much of that route as you can, because the idea of a cross city route is just so hampered.”

He said all 115 Dublin Bus routes are “pretty much” affected by the protests and diversions. 

He said “express services” going out of the city are being reallocated to more regular routes.

“That might create a longer journey for some people who would be looking for that express route, but it means that we can hit every stop on those routes on the way out to get more people home, and satisfy that demand that’s out there at the moment.”

Boland urged commuters to check the Dublin Bus website for the latest information on routes. 

LiveDrive is reporting that all lanes on the M50 Northbound after Junction 6 (Blanchardstown) are blocked due to a demonstration. 

There are severe delays on the motorway from Junction 13 (Dundrum). 

These are the latest images we have from O’Connell Street.

Fuel Strike Wed-6_90746280 A coffin featuring the slogan RIP IRELAND being driven up O'Connell Street. Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

vehicles-parked-on-oconnell-street-in-dublin-as-protestors-take-part-on-the-second-day-of-a-national-fuel-protest-against-rising-fuel-prices-demonstrators-driving-tractors-lorries-and-trucks-have-f Vehicles parked on O'Connell Street. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

a-man-sits-in-a-tractor-wheel-as-vehicles-are-parked-on-oconnell-street-in-dublin-as-protestors-take-part-on-the-second-day-of-a-national-fuel-protest-against-rising-fuel-prices-demonstrators-drivin A man sits in a tractor wheel. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Amid the protests about rising fuel costs, Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said that the government will “shortly” be launching an “energy-efficiency programme” for households on how to conserve energy use. 

“We will give helpful advice to citizens that if you reduce your energy use in certain ways, you can reduce the cost for yourself in respect of that energy,” he said this afternoon. 

“There will be a comprehensive programme of advice, a public communications programme.”

Martin said there would be “nothing yet on demand side measures” because the “supply situation has been OK up to now”.

He added that the 90-day reserves at the National Oil Reserves Agency also provide resilience to the system.

It comes two weeks after the coalition signed off on a €250m package of measures to reduce costs, including a temporary excise duty reduction for motor fuels, expansion of the diesel rebate scheme for hauliers and bus operators and an extension of the fuel allowance.

It saw an effective reduction of 22c for diesel and 17c for petrol – but the savings have largely been eroded by further price increases as a result of the war in the Gulf.

For any M50 commuters, a slow-moving convoy is currently moving northbound up the motorway at Junction 7 (Lucan). 

All Swords Express bus services are now picking up from Dublin city centre to Swords “only at the Gibson Hotel” and setting down across from the 3Arena.

Dublin Fire Brigade has appealed to the fuel protesters to let emergency vehicles pass blockades after it experienced “significant delays” responding to emergencies this morning.

“The situation has eased somewhat, due to the excellent cooperation with An Garda Síochána, liaising with protesters and clearing routes for our vehicles,” it said in a statement. 

You can read more here.

RTÉ’s Mid West correspondent Petula Martyn reports that a portaloo – yes, you read that correctly – has been delivered onto the M7 in Limerick.

Some of the protesters stayed on the M7 overnight.

“Here for the long haul,” Martyn wrote.

'We should all be working together'

Junior Transport Minister Sean Canney is back out again, this time on the national airways.

Like his Government colleagues, he stressed the importance of negotiating with the official representative bodies. He and Transport Minister Darragh O’Brien met with the Road Haulage Association on Friday and Canney is to meet with them again today, he said.

“Before this protest took place, we had discussions with the road haulage sector, and we will continue our engagement with them, and we’ll see what we can do to assist,” he said on RTÉ Radio 1.

“I was listening to people, and people sending me emails how they couldn’t get to work yesterday, they couldn’t get to work today, they couldn’t get to hospital appointments.

“And I’m saying, why? Why disrupt one another when we should be all working together when we have a crisis that we’re facing which is coming from outside our control?

“And that’s why we would plead with people, just think about this. Who are you damaging? And who are you hurting? And please, just think about that. We should be all working together here.

“We should be all in this together to make sure we get over this together,” he said.

On the blocking of fuel depots, Canney said it is of “no use to anybody” if forecourts are without petrol and diesel.

“I’d be hoping we’d see sense here, and they’d say, right, ok, let’s step away from this,” he said when asked about potential garda intervention.

A spokesperson for HSE South West said it is “aware that individuals may have been delayed in accessing local healthcare services and appointments, but wish to reassure people that they will be seen at their appointments”.

“HSE South West advises the public attending appointments to contact the service directly if they are concerned about being late or missing their appointment,” the spokesperson added. 

Social Democrats TD Jennifer Whitmore has described the actions of the protesters today as “wrong”. 

In a statement, she said “soaring energy prices” are putting a huge strain on families and businesses, adding that supports introduced by the government “did not go far enough”.

“The Social Democrats have repeatedly called on the government to introduce a targeted €400 energy credit to those who are suffering most. Regretfully, the government has declined to do that,” she said. 

Everybody in this country has a right to protest but I believe the escalation in the protest today – and the blockading of fuel depots and large parts of central Dublin – is wrong.

“It targets commuters and businesses, who are struggling with the same cost-of-living pressures as the protestors.”

We have more pictures of how Dublin city centre looks this afternoon – and it’s safe to say, not much has changed since this morning. The gridlock is continuing. 

Nationwide fuel protests-5_90746256 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Nationwide fuel protests-4_90746257 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Nationwide fuel protests-6_90746255 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

A spokesperson for HSE Dublin and South East has said they are “not aware of any disruptions to local healthcare services in the region” due to the protest. 

“However, if people or patients are concerned about running late or missing their healthcare appointments, we are advising them to contact their healthcare provider directly,” they added. 

Dublin Bus has issued an update on the disruption to its services as a result of the protest. 

Southbound services are operating to and from Parnell Square only, while Northbound services are only operating to and from Merrion Square and Stephen’s Green.

Westbound services are only going to and from Ormand Quay.

Meanwhile, the 27 & 77a operating to and from Cook Street and the 27a/b is running to and from Abbey Street.

Amid the ongoing protests, People Before Profit TD Paul Murphy has called on the government to cap energy prices and introduce universal social credits.

He said people are still paying “close to €2 per litre for petrol and diesel and close to €1,000 for a half fill of their oil tank” on top of higher grocery price inflation and rents, adding that the government’s recent cost of living measures were “extremely limited”.

“In these circumstances it’s no surprise that there are protests on the streets to demand meaningful Government action.”

He called on the coalition to enacy his Energency Price Controls Bill, which proposes setting maximum prices for petrol and diesel at €1.75 per litre, and for home heating oil at €1 per litre. 

“In addition to price caps, our proposals include a demand for free public transport and for a universal €500 energy credit that would be funded by a levy on data centres,” he added. 

Transport Infrastructure Ireland is warning that some Go-Ahead bus services are also being impacted. 

Diversions are in place affecting the 73 service. Stops 3334, 8411, 2790, 3078, 2741, 2927, 7888, 3088, 2789, 3433, 3434, 1173 and 2729 are affected. 

Meanwhile, the 120, 125, 126, and 130 services are terminating at and departing from Heuston Station. TII added that variation services are unable to serve UCD.

Dublin Airport is urging passengers to allow extra time for their journey due to the possibility of the protests causing traffic disruption to the roads around the airport. 

Labour MEP Aodhán Ó Ríordáin has hit out at the protesters. 

In a statement shared on Instagram, he said the government’s response to the cost-of-living crisis has been “nowhere near good enough” and that people’s frustration “is real and understandable”.

“But shutting Dublin City down with no permission and no regard for others is not legitimate protest,” he said.

Missed hospital appointments, workers unable to get to their jobs and traffic chaos is not how you bring people on side. 

He urged those involved to protest outside the Dáil and the US Embassy with agreement from gardaí “like everyone else”. 

embedded284176848 James Geoghegan speaking at the protest in Dublin city centre yesterday. PA PA

James Geoghegan, a spokesman for the protesters, has been speaking to Press Association this morning. 

“We can’t go home without a result. We simply can’t afford to go home,” he said. 

“We came up broke and there’s no point going home broke.”

Geoghegan said he works in construction and has heard of people having booked builders to build homes which then cost an extra €30,000-€40,000 to build, but that the bank would not approve a larger mortgage.

“I’ve been booked to dig out foundations on two one-off single houses in the countryside, and we’d get maybe €5,000-€10,000 to dig out of that job, which bankrolls us.

“But when we dig out the foundation, then in come the concrete lorries with concrete, that’s them making money. Then the blockers start laying blocks, that’s them making money.

“All this is putting tax into the system. Now these houses are being stopped. I’m losing work, the lads laying the blocks are going to be on the dole. It’s a domino effect.

“If the Government reduced the price of fuel and keep everybody building, keep everything working and keep the contractors in business, it’ll be far better for the economy.”

Here’s some images of the disruption on O’Connell Street in Dublin this morning. 

Traffic chaos-1_90746232 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Traffic chaos-5_90746229 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Traffic chaos-7_90746227 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

The Irish Patients’ Association has said patients “must not be used as pawns by any party in the current transport protest”.

The patient advocacy group said it understands the concerns driving the protests, but warned that the impact on patients and citizens is “already immediate, real and being experienced across the country”.

“The grievances that have brought farmers, hauliers and contractors onto the streets are understood. Fuel costs are threatening livelihoods and entire industries. That deserves a serious response from Government,” chairman Stephen McMahon said. 

“But Ireland’s patients and citizens cannot be the collateral damage of this dispute, itself shaped by the wider impact of war.

“Every party at this table has a responsibility to ensure that our national resilience is protected, not dismantled. We do not protect Ireland by undermining it.”

He added that negotiation “is the only way to resolve this”. 

'Turning towns and cities into car parks not acceptable'

Transport Minister Darragh O’Brien has said that it is “not acceptable” that towns and cities across the country have been “turned into car parks effectively”.

Asked on RTÉ’s Today with David McCullagh why the government was not taking action to move the protesters, O’Brien said the government only negotiates “with recognised national representative bodies”.

He said he understands that people are feeling the effects of the “global crisis” as a result of the US-Israel war on Iran, “but there are ways to put one’s point across”.

“I think most would agree the way of doing that is not to disrupt people’s lives, hospital appointments, people going to work, public transport. That’s not something that is acceptable,” he said.

“We live in a parliamentary democracy. We’re elected to represent our people and to work on their behalf and national bodies like the IRHA and others are the ones that we negotiate with, which we’ve been doing.”

He said the government’s €250m package of supports was “the most significant package of any European country in numerical terms” and that it can’t respond “to every single protest that happens”. 

This is unprecedented what’s happening right now and what I would ask for is a de-escalation. End of the protest.

“This is a global crisis. Ireland, like every other country, is impacted by it, and we’ll do our best to support people, but the way of doing that is not to disrupt our own supply chains.

“Supply is what’s critical and we can’t have a situation respecting people’s right to protest firstly, that supplies are impacted upon, people’s daily lives are impacted upon, and I would ask people just to reflect on that.”

O’Brien said he met with Justice Minister Jim O’Callaghan this morning for an update on how gardaí were managing the situation. He was also asked if the protesters would be moved if they failed to disperse. 

“An Garda Siochana will respond on an operational basis as they see fit. I’m not looking to escalate this any further,” he said. 

“We cannot respond on a daily basis to specific protests where people are actually blocking up the work of our cities of our towns across the country as well. That’s not the way to do things, and I would respectfully ask that those who are protesting to recognise that and desist from protesting and have confidence in their representative groups.”

Businesses impacted

Dublin Chamber, Ireland’s largest chamber of commerce, called on protesters to end the demonstrations, stating that it is having a damaging effect on workers and businesses.

The chamber said businesses across Dublin are experiencing significant operational challenges, including delays in staff arriving to work, disruption to deliveries and services, and reduced customer footfall. 

Many workers are facing prolonged and unpredictable commutes, it said.

The chamber’s CEO Mary Rose Burke said the disruption is placing “an unfair burden” on businesses and workers “who have no direct influence over the issues being raised”

She continued, “The most effective way to achieve meaningful progress is through constructive dialogue. We are urging protestors to engage with policymakers and relevant stakeholders through established channels, where their concerns can be properly heard.”

The chamber said it respects the right to peaceful protest but the disruption risks undermining economic activity and livelihoods.

Many of the protesters yesterday said they do not intend on ending their demonstrations until they meet with Government representatives.

Asked about this today, the Taoiseach said they will meet with nationally representative, properly constituted bodies.

“I think that’s a sensible way of doing business. There’s many different voices in this protest. We were told it originated from the grassroots or the ground or whatever. That’s not a feasible way to engage in proper discussions and negotiations,” he said.

Minister Sean Canney said Government is concerned about fuel shortages at forecourts due to the blocking of fuel depots.

“It’s a ransom,” he said. “I think people need to understand that what’s happening here is not in the national interest.”

Tánaiste Simon Harris jumped in to say there is adequate fuel supply in Ireland.

“While there may be a small number of particular challenges this morning that will have to be dealt with by the laws of this land, we want to reassure motorists that there is adequate fuel supply in Ireland,” he said.

'The wrong form of protest'

Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the protests are “wrong” and to “prevent mobility, to prevent people from accessing livelihoods, medical appointments, disrupting day to day activities in the manner that has happened is wrong and is a wrong form of protest”.

He spoke about the Government’s recent €250m package which saw a cut on fuel excise, describing it as the “most generous package in Europe”, and said increases in oil and gas prices are out of Government’s control.

He said Ireland has elected representatives that deal with national organisations.  

The Journal / YouTube

Visibly irritated, the Taoiseach said there is “no justification whatsoever for blockading fuel depots”.

“It runs counter to what everybody wants, which is access to fuel in a timely basis.”

He said the right to protest is accepted – “but what is not acceptable is people declaring that we will turn O’Connell Street into a car park”.

IMG_7918 The Journal The Journal

The Taoiseach, Tánaiste, and Junior Transport Minister Sean Canney are due to speak at Government Buildings shortly.

Given Chambers’s outspoken criticism of the protests and a call for protesters to desist, it’s likely they’ll say similar.

Dublin Bus

Dublin Bus has updated its schedule for the day.

Southbound services will operate to and from Parnell Square only.

Northbound services will operate to and from Merrion Square and Stephen’s Green only.

Westbound services will operate to and from Heuston Station only.

The 27 and 77 are operating to and from Kevin Street.

'Unacceptable and irresponsible'

The Journal / YouTube

Meanwhile, over at Government Buildings Minister Jack Chambers has slammed the protests as “completely unacceptable and irresponsible”.

Chambers is currently speaking with media as he announces the publication of the Critical Infrastructure Bill. Asked about the protests, he said they should be stood down.

“They’re undermining business in our city and across the country. Blocking fuel terminal terminals is reckless in the extreme, and they should stand down their protest,” he said.

“This is a very serious issue, and it’s unacceptable in the context of a global conflict and a global war, and also, two weeks ago, the government made a significant intervention of 250 million euros.

“So it’s totally unacceptable. It’s irresponsible, and what’s happening at fuel terminals is reckless, and they should stand it down to meet those groups.”

He said he has empathy for households and businesses across the country who are impacted by fuel and energy prices, but that the protests should be stood down.

Protests are also planned for tomorrow, according to posts online.

They are to take place in Dublin, Waterford, Wexford, Sligo, Donegal, Clare, Limerick, Cork, Portlaoise, Tullamore, Portumna, Banagher Bridge, and Athlone, among others.

Many of the protestors have organised to meet designated areas early tomorrow morning. Some are remaining in towns in other parts of the country while others are heading for Dublin.

Disruptions around the network

Sean O’Neill of Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII) said there is disruption around the network.

Among these disruptions is a go-slow in Portlaoise on the M7 on both sides, a go-slow on the M7 in Limerick, the N22 in Macroom in Cork, at the Ennis plaza in Clare on the M18.

“I’m getting reports from Galway as well, in and around, the dock road there’s some real disruption there. So there’s a lot of disruption around the network, and it’s causing a significant disruption to people’s movements,” O’Neill said.

“I would ask that anyone who is on the motorway network to leave the hard shoulder available for emergency vehicles, etc, no matter what your actions. Those lanes need to be available for ambulances, fire and gardaí, and we need to keep those available at all times,” he said.

Our reporter Mairead Maguire is out on the quays, where public transport and private vehicles are experiencing significant delays and disruption. 

Here’s what she had to say:

There’s a lot of huffing and puffing on the quays this morning from commuters and drivers alike.

Traffic was stopped for more 10 minutes on the north side of Millennium bridge.

IMG_9577 Mairead Maguire / The Journal Mairead Maguire / The Journal / The Journal

A large number of people appear to have given up on public transport and are now walking to work.

Some were seen on their phones attempting to order a taxi.

Walking down George’s Street, which was relatively quiet for rush hour, you wouldn’t know that just over the river roads are totally jammed.

CEO of Fuels for Ireland Kevin McPartlan criticised some of the tactics used by protesters. Access to fuel terminals in Foynes and Galway “has been totally obstructed” by protests, he said.

“This not only prevents delivery of fuel to forecourts, but more importantly, and by blocking emergency services access, threatens the health and safety of staff in those premises.

“We are disappointed that An Garda Síochána allowed this to occur.”

He said those in Fuels for Ireland “have great empathy for those who feel Government can, and must, intervene to mitigate the impact of high prices across global fuel markets,” he said in the statement.

“The 20c per litre reduction in excise duty has already been almost wiped out by increased commodity costs, and the State is collecting 16c more VAT on every litre of diesel today than on 28 February.

“That said, some of the tactics employed by protestors have been ill-judged.”

Gardaí this morning said slow-moving convoys and significant traffic delays are currently reported at locations including:

• Co Tipperary – M8 Junctions 6-9 Northbound
  • Co Limerick – N21 from Adare towards Limerick city; Ballysimon Road
  • Co Cork – Macroom bypass in both directions
  • Co Dublin – O’Connell Street, O’Connell Bridge, and the north and south quays

Motorists are urged to consider these disruptions when planning their journey.

As a result of the protests blocking O’Connell Street, a number of Dublin Bus services will be diverted.

Services operating southbound from O’Connell Street will divert via Cathal Brugha Street, right on to Marlborough Street, over the Rosie Hackett Bridge, Hawkins Street, then back onto normal route, Dublin Bus said.

Services operating northbound will divert via Fleet Street, Townsend Street, Tara Street, Beresford Place then on to Gardiner Street, back to normal route.

Good morning.

There is significant disruption on roads in Dublin city and elsewhere as protests on rising fuel costs continue. It follows convoys arriving into Dublin yesterday afternoon and parking on O’Connell Street. 

Dublin Bus warned customers in a message this morning that it is “experiencing service disruptions including severe delays across the Dublin Bus network and diversions in the City Centre”.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Blake Boland of Dublin Bus said protestors blocked O’Connell Bridge in the last hour on both sides. This “creates a huge amount of further diversions”.

“There’s very significant disruption,” he said. “O’Connell Street has been closed in both directions now since yesterday, and that’s created a lot of diversions as well.”

We’ll keep you updated this morning.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 243 comments
243 Comments