You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The application process to be a census enumerator will open next month. Conor McCabe

Fancy counting for cash? Ten weeks part-time work could earn you €2,400

The CSO is looking for census enumerators.

NEXT YEAR WILL see Ireland’s 26th census and it will require up to 2.3 million census forms to be distributed around the country.

The Central Statistics Office will employ 4,660 people on a temporary basis to deliver these forms and the office has today announced details of that application process.

Competition for the 10-week-job as a census enumerator is always tough and the CSO says they will be accepting up to 15,000 applications.

Enumerators are paid a fixed fee for the delivery and collection of census forms in their area along with fixed allowances for training, home storage, Sunday working and travel.

The CSO says that enumerators will earn approximately €2,400 for the ten week period.

Applications open on 5 January and will stay open for three days unless the 15,000 limit is reached first.

Next year’s census will be held on 24 April 2016, just over five years after the last population count on 10 April 2011.

The last census recorded that the population of Ireland was 4,588,252.

Aside from the topline population figure, the census also records other information including age, religion and employment. Next year’s census will have 30 different questions.

The census forms will be delivered by the enumerators in the five-week period between 21 March and 24 April.

Information on becoming a census enumerator can be found on the census website.

Read: Births, deaths, crimes, marriages and sales – A snapshot of a year in Ireland >

Read: Ever wondered what a census at a Zoo looks like? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

82 Comments
    Mute Glenn Webster
    Favourite Glenn Webster
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:29 PM

Did this last time around and if was one of the worst decisions of my life. No amount of money is worth chasing up the 1% of households who will string you along for weeks and then still not complete it. G.

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:26 PM

I did it in 2006 and it was really tough, couldn’t agree with you more. I had 6 blocks of flats, 2 homeless shelters and a few roads of houses. Surprisingly the homeless shelters were the easiest, the flats and apartments the hardest. The enumerators are viewed with such suspicion by lots of foreigners living in Ireland, not answering the door, refusing to answer the door. Having to go back many many times first to drop off the forms and then to collect them. Not a handy number but any means, money well earned by anyone who does it! You meet a lot of interesting people though, good life experience!

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:22 PM

Damn, I really need to learn to drive.

Dec 13th 2015, 4:55 PM

Why as the cost of a car is mad and then the fuel is worse. The price of oil has dropped like a stone but at the pumps it is the same price but once the oil rises then it will rise at the pumps. How is that and why???

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:30 PM

Because I live in the country with very limited public transport.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:53 PM

Because the cost of crude oil is a very small proportion of the cost of petrol/diesel. Refining, transporting & taxes make up the bulk of the cost

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:16 PM

Totally agree with this man…The minute fuel prices are supposed to increase the pumps will have it increased almost immediately. .but when it’s ment to come down there is no rush. .. typical gready garage owners..

Mute Padraig Stapleton
    Favourite Padraig Stapleton
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:57 PM

Well done to whoever came up the ‘You Fill Up My Census’ subheading. Top work!

Mute Mark O'Cúlar
    Favourite Mark O'Cúlar
    Dec 14th 2015, 4:08 PM

Google the phrase and what was further down the page, now on 2nd page of results might interest you…
    http://multistory.itison.net/2011/04/you-fill-up-my-census/

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:23 PM

This time the CSO need to make it even clearer than last time that it’s perfectly OK to check the ‘No religion box’ even if you were baptised Catholic. It wasn;t clear enough last time.

Better again, RTE should have long carried out research on this on behalf of the people.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:31 PM

Same layout this time as the last census unfortunately .

Mute Play Against Par
    Favourite Play Against Par
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:40 PM

Ok Ray Darcy, settle down

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:41 PM

Ah well, the Catholic hierarchy will be thrilled so.

The CSO is an appallingly blunt instrument to gauge this very specific question. Aside from the fact most houselholds likely designate one person to fill out the forms, and so are at the mercy of that individual’s indifference, inaccuracy, indecision or whim, it’s also simply not clear enough that you can tick whatever box you like.

For example, my own mother struggled with it as it states on the forms that “it’s an offence to supply untruthful or inaccurate info” or words to that effect. So she got a little nervous about getting it wrong and so ticked the Catholic box despite the fact she hasn’t practised in 30 years.

Mute Amy Gaffney
    Favourite Amy Gaffney
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:47 PM

I don’t think a no religion box would be correct though. A practising and not practising box would be better, let’s not forget they’re trying to get accurate information.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:51 PM

I ticked the Catholic box last time because I thought it was asking what my official religion was rather than what I thought. I’m agnostic/atheist/spiritual but as always it’s a work in progress so what box do I tick?

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:54 PM

There you go No 2.

Lots of people did that exact same thing.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:59 PM

Amy whay does practicing mean? When I think about life after death is that practice? Very confusing

Mute Amy Gaffney
    Favourite Amy Gaffney
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:23 PM

Well for me, I consider myself atheist and would never dream of going to mass whether it’s a Sunday or Armageddon but I was baptised, communed and confirmed. So I would tick the not practising box.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:34 PM

Amy that makes no sense.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:34 PM

French form has nothing about religion at all. It’s of no consequence to the state and has no business on a census form.

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:39 PM

The French are secular though and that’s well established. We don;t have that luxury as of yet and until we do the census should have it as a question.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:45 PM

Exactly. Until secularism takes hold in Ireland it has everything to do with the state , unfortunately

Mute Amy Gaffney
    Favourite Amy Gaffney
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:53 PM

Fair enough Tony, just an opinion.

Dec 13th 2015, 4:57 PM

I wrote Gnostic last time and yes that is spelt right…

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:06 PM

Don’t write anything silly in the Other religion box, like Jedi or pastafarian , just tick the No religion box, number 7

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:30 PM

They also dont get asked if they speak Gaeilege. But then they’re French over there in France…

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:49 PM

Good points here. If you were a Catholic and no longer believe them you are a still a Catholic surely? Can u officially leave the church?

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:50 PM

That wouldn’t be accurate either. I consider myself no religion, the CC considers me a non practising Catholic because I was baptised before being old enough to make an informed decision. I doubt they care what the census says since they will still claim the number of Catholics based on who has been baptised.

Dec 13th 2015, 11:07 PM

What about Satanists lol.

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Dec 14th 2015, 1:27 AM

Maybe this census will go onto highlighting the fact that a lot of people have no religion and get the politicians to legislate so that the bs of having to be baptised to enter a school which is grossly unfair.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:42 PM

You’ll every cent of that €2400. I know someone that did it last time and he said between dogs, foreigners that didn’t or wouldn’t speak English and people who refused point blank to fill out the form it was a nightmare.

Dec 13th 2015, 5:22 PM

Remember when filling out your census form that if you are not religious tick not religious not Catholic. We really need to see honestly who is religious and who isn’t.

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:35 PM

Why do we really need to see honestly who is religious and who isn’t? I feel I’m not alone in not caring about seeing this.

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Dec 13th 2015, 11:08 PM

Philip, this statistic is actually hugely important. As the census statistics are used to form policy, assign funds and describe a country, Irish people’s proclivity for marking themselves Catholic, out of habit in many cases, distorts the religion statistics. Many people who no longer go to mass, or subscribe to a Catholic viewpoint on God, continue to mark themselves down as Catholics. Finally, in some households, the steadfastly Catholic Irish mammy is the census filler and will mark all of her family as such also, regardless of the truth. Therefore, it is extremely important that we get a true sense of where the people’s religious views are now. It will form the basis for organizing public schools and grants etc for the next five years.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:19 PM

Anyone driving around doing the census should check with their insurance company that they are covered. After all they are using their cars for work. would they covered be if an accident occurs. Will government cover any damage or death caused.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:29 PM

I’ve been counting on this job coming up.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:52 PM

Hungover much?

Dec 13th 2015, 4:33 PM

Hangovers are for wimps.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:44 PM

& people who drink to excess

Dec 13th 2015, 5:45 PM

Having a no-sense-of-humour Sunday are we?

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:22 PM

I’ve never filled out the census form. Flatly refused. Totally illogical the way information is gathered.
    Usually it’s the bank manager’s wife or someone well connected like that who gets the gig.
    Ordinary working class people seldom get the job.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:25 PM

That will change now that many towns no longer have a bank.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:26 PM

If they don’t get the 15,000, wasters on the doal shoild be forced to do it for 188 not the 240 proppsed weekly.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:27 PM

Tommy more rubbish, its ordionary people who have shown up with forms for my place.

Mute Amy Gaffney
    Favourite Amy Gaffney
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:49 PM

Ah Paul, if you’re going to diss people on the dole at least show your better education through decent spelling….

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:09 PM

How many of those on social welfare are wasters paul? Do you have a % even?

Dec 13th 2015, 4:50 PM

I draw a big dildo in invincible ink on all the pages and will write that certain members of this government are as bent as a U bend on the bottom… lol.

Mute garret mccord
    Favourite garret mccord
    Dec 14th 2015, 1:36 AM

Of course you haven’t. Your Mammy or Daddy fills it in.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:30 AM

Is that Jim Corr?

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:45 PM

This is a part time job so the money is pretty decent.

Mute Freddie Rincon
    Favourite Freddie Rincon
    Dec 13th 2015, 9:18 PM

When you add up tge time you will put in it will be less than minimum wage.

Mute aoife kally
    Favourite aoife kally
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:03 PM

Lads will ye get a life and stop bickering over a box on a census form

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:07 PM

It’s not bickering. It’s an important reflection of Irish society. People ticking a box to make their mother happy perpetuates the myth that we’re a catholic country.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:08 PM

It’s called a conversation, function of what’s called the comments section. Welcome to the journal…

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:08 PM

It’s a vitally important piece of info and it has been traditionally used by the RCC to claim they are speakers for the majority and conscience of the nation.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:32 PM

A misleading question, the more people that are aware of it the better.

Dec 13th 2015, 4:46 PM

Is that the Gay, trans, fluid box lol.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:51 PM

People voting for political parties because their mother did is a much bigger problem.

Dec 13th 2015, 11:08 PM

Since the Civil war Lavbeer…

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:23 PM

Now is it actual cash… Or is it going through the books??

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:37 PM

What? Yeah because the public sector are going to hand you 2,400 euro in cash arent they. Cop on. Obviously it will be subject to tax, PRSI etc.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:28 AM

Congrats on telling the revenue that you’re up for cash work. Nothing wrong with that. It’s a very legitimate way to get paid.

Best of luck with your next audit.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:28 PM

So €240 a week. Ah job bridge.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:32 PM

Yes Shaun because dropping and holding a few forms deserves more than minimum wage, they are not even been over worked.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:53 PM

Whatever people we get to do the census they would want to be well paid, accurate and have a moral compass that wants high standards in public office

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:58 PM

I do not want a secular Ireland .We are a catholic country .I want Christian values go be preserved . .I am disgusted the EU have hijacked this country . Trying to turn it into little europe .

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Dec 13th 2015, 7:31 PM

The catholic church raped and beat our children, imprisoned our mothers and trafficked our babies to foreign countries, we don’t like them, you must have missed the Memo.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 14th 2015, 3:22 AM

Orla, remember that if we can close our borders, shut down the internet, stop foreign trade, stop imports of things like tv programming and newspapers, ban books and deprogramme the entire population who have already been exposed to these influences, then we can live in El Dorado. (Sorry about the reference to a mythical place taken from a foreign book. We’ll ban Voltaic first.)

Mute Cormac McKay Dublin
    Favourite Cormac McKay Dublin
    Dec 13th 2015, 7:57 PM

Interesting date to hold the census 100 years to day of the proclamation

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Dec 14th 2015, 3:39 AM

Wonder if 99% of lapsed Catholic people will still tick ” Catholic”

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:32 PM

I hope they don’t give it to retired guards and teachers.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 14th 2015, 3:32 AM

Two types of people emerging.
    1. It’s hard work. It’s not worth the effort. Will I lose my social? Will I be taxed? I won’t get it. My cousin’s uncle’s aunt’s daughter’s son was executed when he did it.
    2. Money earned for work which doesn’t interfere with my daily work. I’d manage that. That’d pay for a nice holiday. That could go to my kid’s education.

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:42 PM

So 36 million euro just for collecting the forms. Another millions for consultation fees, printing, processing… Etc. I’d be surprised if this stopped under 100 million. Who needs to know what religion one is. If they had any clue at all this people’s data could be obtained from Revenue / Social Welfare anyway. I suppose only good thing about it is that some stuck people or students can make few quid.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 13th 2015, 3:55 PM

Ha

Mute Craft Beard Wknr
    Favourite Craft Beard Wknr
    Dec 14th 2015, 3:08 AM

A lot of people on the dole will think this is a handy one regardless, check with the social welfare first if it affects your payment as it means your technically not available for work.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:36 PM

People are saying not to fill it in?

Mute Danny O' Mahony
    Favourite Danny O' Mahony
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:56 PM

Censillating news!

Mute Mark O'Cúlar
    Favourite Mark O'Cúlar
    Dec 13th 2015, 7:16 PM

Presumably the CSO have again partnered with a bastion of the military industrial complex, who have been implicated in war crimes in Iraq to help process this info…
    Presumably (again) the media here will choose to ignore this fact and the only discussed negative of this will be the religion question.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 14th 2015, 9:29 AM

Dafuq ?

Mute Mark O'Cúlar
    Favourite Mark O'Cúlar
    Dec 14th 2015, 4:08 PM
    Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:47 PM

240 per week for 10 weeks is this anything to do with job bridge..another big government giveaway

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 13th 2015, 6:33 PM

Another

Mute Frankly Mydear
    Favourite Frankly Mydear
    Dec 13th 2015, 5:02 PM

Tax Free or not?

Mute Frankly Mydear
    Favourite Frankly Mydear
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:05 PM

Tax Free?