You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cinema

Trailer Watch: Which movie should you go see this weekend?

What’s a must-watch, and what’s a miss? We tell you.

THE WEEKEND IS coming up, and that means new movies for you to see.

But which is a must-watch, and are there any you should avoid?

We take a look.

Young Offenders

WildCard Distribution / YouTube

What we know

Here, la – this is about two feens who try to get to some drugs before the cops (sketch!) after a trawler crashes along the Cork coast. Some story, biy.

What the critics say

• “On reflection the film is exactly what it sets out to be, a buddy movie caper that has a nifty trailer and will get bums on seats.” - Spoool
  • “Peter Foott’s anarchic comedy distinguishes itself in two ways: firstly, it is actually, frequently funny, blending the base and the absurd to great effect, and secondly, it eschews the sadly mainstream, authoritarian Irish tendency to represent the Gardaí as a uniform force for good in society.” - Totally Dublin

How’s it rated?

Bridget Jones’s Baby

TheEllenShow / YouTube

What we know

Bridget Jones is back – and finds herself pregnant. But who’s the father – dashing Darcy or bland American hunk Jack Qwant?

What the critics say

• Zellweger shows that she can still play this part with charm, gamely keeping up as the movie keeps jumping ahead in her nine-month ordeal.” - AV Club
  • “But Bridget has grown up in one significant way: Her obsession with diet and weight loss has subsided, and at long last she seems at peace with her body.” - New York Times

How’s it rated?

Hunt for the Wilderpeople

Movieclips Film Festivals & Indie Films / YouTube

What we know

A young New Zealander is sent to a foster family after doing a whole heap of misbehaving – but soon finds himself on the run. Quirky comedy starring Sam Neill.

What the critics say

• Hunt for the Wilderpeople becomes a road movie with no road, a film about two people who may seem entirely different but have both been discarded by society” - RogerEbert.com
  • It’s a warm hug of a movie that has just enough spark and fire to stop it from fading from your memory the moment the credits roll.” - Collider

How’s it rated?

Which one would you go see first?

Poll Results:

Bridget Jones's Baby (1315)
None of them actually (1079)
Young Offenders (885)
Hunt for the Wilderpeople (694)