You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo: Minister for Justice Alan Shatter. : Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Citizen application process to be speeded up

Changes include a simplified application form which will be available online before the weekend and a formal ceremony for successful applicants.

BECOMING AN IRISH citizen is to be fast-tracked so that the waiting time will be cut to six months, instead of the two years it has taken in the past.

Changes include a simplified application form which will be available online before the weekend and a formal ceremony for successful applicants.

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said that since the new Coalition government came to power, some 5,578 citizenship applications have already been dealt.

He said:

It is entirely inappropriate, and completely out of step with other jurisdictions, that people wishing to become Irish citizens should be expected to wait an average of 25 months for a decision on their application. Under the new system, save in exceptional circumstances, persons applying for citizenship will be given a decision on their application within six months.

New simplified application forms will be available online at www.inis.gov.ie.

The first formal citizenship ceremony is due to place in Dublin Castle on 24 June where Justice Bryan McMahon, retired judge of the High Court, will be the presiding officer.

Mr Shatter said he also plans to  recruit  interns under the new Internship Programme announced in the Government’s Jobs Initiative to
help process applications.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 36 comments
36 Comments
    Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 16th 2011, 8:21 PM

Good stuff. People who tick the right boxes should be welcomed with open arms.

Now perhaps would be an opportune time to actually deport those who fail in their efforts to become citizens, be they welfare tourists or whatever, instead of allowing most of them to disappear into unlicensed cab driving, or even less wholesome or productive pursuits.

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Jun 16th 2011, 8:54 PM

I agree with you Ryan, citizenship should be extremely hatd to get, and only awarded to those who pass all the qualification tests.
    Make the decision quickly and efficiently, and stop the chancers before they get in and get a foothold.

(PC Police please note; yes I would tackle Irish chancers with the same enthusiasm)

Mute Jeroen Bos
    Favourite Jeroen Bos
    Jun 16th 2011, 9:45 PM

I am not one of those that failed to become an Irish citizen. I am not a “welfare tourist”, but might classify as the “whatever”. I am Dutch and live since 12 years in Ireland and reading your comment Ryan I have no desire any more to become Irish. Your remark hurts. I know the Irish in general to be really friendly, but you Ryan prove differently.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 16th 2011, 9:54 PM

Not quite Jeroen.

As you say yourself, you didn’t fail to become an Irish citizen, in fact, assuming you’re Dutch, then you have many rights as an EU citizen anyway. If Afrikaans, then I refer you to my first comment, to emphasise that you aren’t either a welfare opportunist, or a failed applicant.

I suggest, without any malice that you read my comment again.

Mute Sean Armstrong
    Favourite Sean Armstrong
    Jun 16th 2011, 10:10 PM

As a Dutch person you don’t even come under Ryans comment. Read again.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 16th 2011, 10:16 PM

I am originally German and an Irish citizen since 1989……I regret nothing and I’m grateful for the way the Irish have welcomed me here so many years ago.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 16th 2011, 10:35 PM

My neighbours are German, they travelled the world and then settled here to raise their brood.

I told them they’re mad!

Joking aside, they cited education and quality of life as their reasons for coming here. Himself works in a very specialised area, yet landed a good job within a very short period.

People like that shouldn’t have to wait interminably, which is why Shatter is moving in the right direction. My comments reflect his very public support of one Pamela Izvebekhai, who has cost the state hundreds of thousands in spurious citizenship proceedings, and is still in the country.

Mute Danny D
    Favourite Danny D
    Jun 16th 2011, 7:57 PM

sooo glad! Was going to apply last week, but the paperwork involved in crazy, and 25 months wait is not what you expect for €950 fee… Going to hold on now.

Mute Imogene Blignaut
    Favourite Imogene Blignaut
    Jun 16th 2011, 8:48 PM

Lucky for you! I got mine just last year – 3 year’s wait!

Mute Martin Matthews
    Favourite Martin Matthews
    Jun 17th 2011, 7:00 AM

Racist thought and beliefs cannot be tolerated in Ireland as a citizen of this country i welcome any or all of those who are from other countries to be Irish citizens, we need diversity to progress as a nation

Mute Kieron Jnr Ward
    Favourite Kieron Jnr Ward
    Jun 17th 2011, 8:17 AM

Martin there’s nothing racist about only wanting genuine people who are going to contribute positively to obtain citizenship whilst dubious applicants are rightly refused; I’m all for diversity but not at the expense of maintaining a stringent and thorough application process. You may as well piss all over my birth cert and passport if it becomes too easy to become an Irish citizen, national identity is still important.

Mute Dave Finn
    Favourite Dave Finn
    Jun 16th 2011, 10:48 PM

Jeroen, come on, dont be so sensitive! Besides, they are having precisely the same discussion in your country at the moment!!

As an EU national, there is little need to seek citizenship in any case.

I welcome anyone here who wants to contribute positively! And luckily for Ireland, that seems to be the majority of people who have come here.

Mute Jay Roy
    Favourite Jay Roy
    Jun 17th 2011, 2:17 PM

Hi all,
    The trend in this debate is very common… people with prejudices (both locals and foreign nationals) fail to get each other’s point. I was naturalized last year after a three year wait and I agree that the process should be stringent to filter out those who are seeking citizenship for all the wrong reasons. Having said that, I’ve heard of few application rejected becuse of a speeding offence.. that’s taking it a little too far.
    Every society has a good, bad and an ugly aspect and Irish society is not untouched by that. So a non-Irish-national thinking him/herself better than the nackers isn’t good enough to qualify them for citizenship. Paying tax is expected by all so its NOT a plus but not paying is definately a minus. If one is of good character and all the goodie goodie stuff then they should be naturalized and the rest should be refused. And doing this within size months is the way to go.
    Cheers,
    Jay Roy

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 4:36 PM

Fair comments one and all :)

Mute Naomi Fein
    Favourite Naomi Fein
    Jun 17th 2011, 9:45 AM

As a nonEU, who pay tax and spend many hours volunteering in the community, I think that before anyone put judgmental comments about Africans, look at your own Irish society for “genuine people who are looking to contribute positively” I know many more Irish who abuse the welfare system & avoid paying tax than non Irish people.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:25 AM

Probably because there are many more Irish in the country?

That aside, unemployment rates and crime rates are higher, in some cases considerably higher among certain non Irish (I don’t like the term non-national, everyone is a member of some nation) demographics than the native, and undoubtedly imperfect Irish populace.

And don’t tell me it’s cos we be racist.

Mute Kieron Jnr Ward
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:08 PM

Is someone being a little paranoid?
    At no point did I judge Africans nor did I make any reference to Africans or any nationality for that matter bar my own. I’m WELL AWARE that there’s a host of Irish people abusing the social welfare system and not paying tax. I stand by my statement. Get the chip off your shoulder.

Mute Alejandra Lanzmargalli
    Favourite Alejandra Lanzmargalli
    Jun 17th 2011, 7:06 PM

I am all up for speeding the process having to wain 20 months for the approval after previously waiting 6 month for my document to reach the top of the pile. BUT they should make it harder, since coming here I took interest on the history and the language and it was a disappointment to be granted citinzenship and feeling so proud about it along side people who couldn’t even speak English. I feel it should be treated as a serious and proud moment rather than as a mean to achieve or obtain something else.

Mute Danny D
    Favourite Danny D
    Jun 17th 2011, 7:50 PM

I partially disagree, with history and language, after all many born irish knows their history from news reports and irish language from souvenirs…

English test – sure, after all you should be expected to be able to communicate in official language of the country.

Mute Olanireti Oke
    Favourite Olanireti Oke
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:22 AM

Well said Temitope. Myself and my husband work hard and pay our tax here in Ireland even though we are ‘Non – national’. We pay for expensive life style of some nationals who live on benefit from generation to generation. I’m sure people like Ryan has not seen African who are professionals and contribute positively to Irish community. It’s very bad when all you see in people is their colour and
    not their personality. We have Irish people all over the world too trying to make a living
    and doing all sort to be in such country
    legally expectially in the state. So let’s see beyond our nose in issues like this.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:29 AM

Rubbish. All this bleating reminds me of a famous (sanitised) Chris Rock sketch;

-”I pay mah taxes.”

-”You’re supposed to!”

On another note, I was in hospital many years ago, and spent a lot of time in the company of a nurse, he worked the hours of the clock, spoke fluent Irish, and was educating his children in the same manner.

Oh, and he was from Kenya.

Mute Dave Finn
    Favourite Dave Finn
    Jun 16th 2011, 11:36 PM

Plus, EU citizens are I believe entitled to Citizenship after 5 years living here if I am not mistaken?

Mute Dublin City
    Favourite Dublin City
    Jun 16th 2011, 11:48 PM

This is not EU thing, everyone can apply after 5 years. It’s not an entitlement, you still may be rejected based on background or financial situation etc. It still takes 25 months and cost €980 regardless of EU citizenship.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 4:35 PM

Who’s being a flippin’ racist?

Mute Danny D
    Favourite Danny D
    Jun 17th 2011, 7:45 PM

Well, it’s weekend, where are the new forms???

Mute Temitope Ogunlaja Bakre
    Favourite Temitope Ogunlaja Bakre
    Jun 17th 2011, 10:37 AM

Ryan unexposed and ignorant people like you should not be participating in an enlightened forum like this. I have been in this country for close to 9 years and i’ve worked and paid my tax for every day of those years. Your small mind tells you that immigrants are welfare tourists but you fail to look beyond your nose to see your fellow Irish people who live, drink and thrive on the welfare system!

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:17 AM

Another one who can’t read.

Mute Kieron Jnr Ward
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:13 PM

Ryan judging by the responses I suspect it is a case of people reading what they want to or seeing what isn’t there. I think your comments were clear and concise and for anyone to throw the race card at them just does a disservice to true victims of racism.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:16 PM

Thanks Kieron. I couldn’t agree more.

Because of the likes of this, I feel anyone attempting to have a grown up debate about immigration, integration and national identity, faces an uphill struggle.

Mute Olanireti Oke
    Favourite Olanireti Oke
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:06 PM

Most Irish people are nice and well travelled. Some still needs to cop on.

Mute Kieron Jnr Ward
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:16 PM

And some immigrants need to get the chip off their shoulder and realise that the world is not out to get them nor is it fair or right to pull the race card in every single debate.

Mute Helen Ikechukwu
    Favourite Helen Ikechukwu
    Jun 17th 2011, 2:20 PM

what is all this about .the irish government will use their discretion to issue to all the eligible applicants their citizenship. Lets try and see above and not beyond. black ,white or green every thing determines on eligibility. we have all nationality mixed around the world even in the poorest country u will find a white,black or green man.all countries have the good ,bad and the ugly so this forum is for opinions and not for racial attacks lets look beyond skin tone it is still red blood which no one has a blue blood.lets drop the word or attitude of RACISM

Mute Olanireti Oke
    Favourite Olanireti Oke
    Jun 17th 2011, 12:02 PM

He was well integrated and was contributing to the community/economy not parading themselves in cheap Argos jewellery.

Mute angryzes
    Favourite angryzes
    Jun 17th 2011, 6:58 AM

It’s kind of expensive in my opinion. Is it taxable?

Mute Olanireti Oke
    Favourite Olanireti Oke
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:55 AM

You point please.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 17th 2011, 11:58 AM

Have you forgotten what you wrote already?

“I’m sure people like Ryan has not seen African who are professionals and contribute positively to Irish community. It’s very bad when all you see in people is their colour and
    not their personality.”

That’s one example right there.