You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

you told us

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about Irish Water.

So here are the standout comments from the week that was.

The 5 most popular comments this week

1. Ben Dover‘s critical analysis of last weekend’s protests got him top spot with 4,972 green thumbs.

People seem to be really annoyed with this government

2. On the same topic, James Lyons had some advice which 3,493 people agreed with.

Keep the protests peaceful, otherwise you’re giving the government ammunition

3. Another insightful one from Conn Rogers was rewarded with 3,306 green thumbs.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

4. With 3,031 votes, James Moran hits the Top Five for praising the women who held a silent vigil at Coolock Garda Station on Tuesday.

This is how it should be done

5. Pat Lennon wasn’t impressed with Noel Coonan’s remarks – neither were 2,789 of you.

Mother of jaysus, are these idiots that far detached, that Dail bar needs to go. ISIS FFS.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

gif water Tallaght Says No to Water Metering via Facebook Tallaght Says No to Water Metering via Facebook

1. Two arrested over protest that trapped Joan Burton in her car for hours (603 comments)

2. Confirmed: Here’s how much you’ll be paying for water – and what happens if you don’t (541 comments)

3. Video shows Joan Burton being hit with a water balloon at Jobstown protest (509 comments)

4. Fine Gael TD says Dublin protesters ‘act like parasites and live off country people’ (499 comments)

5. Taoiseach says Burton was effectively kidnapped in Jobstown (401 comments)

Laugh of the week

PastedImage-25767

DailyEdge.ie discovered this week the devastating news that the jelly star hasn’t made it into some tins of Afternoon Tea. But as Gary Guilfoyle notes…

Could be worse, could be a sewing kit inside when you open it.

Just in case you haven’t heard, there is one clever bakery on a mission to save Christmas.

And a great one from Anto O’Rourke on a piece about keyboard shortcuts.

Alt J = creates music.

Standout comments of the week

What has Sweden ever done for us? A lot, according to Mrs Shalakalananaka, who wrote this after the Scandinavian country waived its right to an early repayment..

They gave us Abba and now they do this. Love the Swedish people.

The response from Diarmuid was also pretty special.

Ireland has been upgraded to a ABBA rating.

We spoke a lot about buying Irish this week but Pontius Pilatus had an understandable problem with it.

I’d be conscious of trying to buy and support Irish brands, but in reality it’s impossible to do while shopping unless you have an extraordinary amount of time on your hands to do it, and don’t have go between two or 3 different supermarkets as many people do now to save a few quid.Best I can do, is support my local butcher, veg shop, and try to spread the few quid around rather than handing all over to supermarkets.

On another serious note, there was an impressive Dáil action during the week to remember the 78 women killed by their partners or ex partners since 1996. Anne K said:

It was great to see an article yesterday discussing domestic violence against men and to see the comments section where all stood united in how this is a terrible thing and more support/resources/attention must be given to it.Unfortunately a day later when an article appears about murder of women who are in a domestic abuse situation, male commentators are out with their amazing ability to just ignore that 78 women were murdered by someone who should have been making them feel safe and protected, and instead to rant about why the article doesn’t discuss men.

I did not see one commentator on the Amen article yesterday saying wahhhh why isn’t it about women, why can’t we have an article for both sexes, I want to know the numbers of women involved not just men.

See any good comments? Send them on to sinead@thejournal.ie