You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.
This week there was a lot of talk about Steph Roche, the Paris attacks and old words.
So here are the standout comments from the week that was.
The 5 most popular comments this week
Andreas Meier / INPHO
Andreas Meier / INPHO / INPHO
1.collie ennis was happy with TheJournal.ie for publishing the front cover of this week’s Charlie Hebdo. So were 3,266 people who gave him a green thumb.
Fair play to the journal for featuring the image. I hope the rest of the western press stands up and does the same.
2. A play on words joke got into the top 5 after the situation in Intel during the week. Tom Red got 2,419 thumbs up.
Where did Gardai get their Intel from????…
3.Eamonn came up with a 12th worst feeling in the world after this DailyEdge.ie list.2,374 of you were nodding along.
Realising that your phone was plugged into charger all night but you forgot to flick the switch.
4. A no-tolerance approach is favoured by Leslie Skinner and 2,169 readers to people who leave Ireland to fight in Syria with IS.
Cancel their passports and do not let them re enter the country
5.Beano made a valid argument for why Steph Roche may have lost out in the Fifa Puskas Award vote. 2,156 readers gave him thumbs up.
Population of Ireland 4m, population of Columbia 40m….she never stood a chance but congratulations to her none the less. A remarkable achievement.
The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week
Yesterday, Zimmer (the company that makes the Zimmer frame, hip implants and knee replacements) announced 240 new jobs for Galway. Martin Byrne quipped:
Galway will have even more hip joints, cool man.
Standout comments of the week
Robert does not agree with the government’s plans for the Junior Cert. Here’s why.
If teachers marking their own students is such a great idea then why is the Minister and the Department refusing to introduce it in the Leaving Certificate?
It’s because they know that they will dumb down the LC and so this assessment will lose international standing and damage Ireland’s reputation.
Therefore the Minister should make a decision:
Either
A – Keep the Junior Cert and run it properly and treat it with respect. This means that parents and students are entitled to anonymous marking as they’re paying for it.
B – Abolish the Junior Cert.
Instead the Minister and the DES want to dumb down education standards by introducing a load of mickey mouse short courses (e.g. Pet Care) allied with teachers assessing their own students.
The public have made it clear that they are OPPOSED to this.
It’s only senior civil servants who read what’s going on in other countries who think this is a good idea.
One thing is certain though. . . . They’ll point the finger of blame at the teachers if this reform is forced through and Ireland’s PISA results fall as a a result.
For we know that in Ireland responsibility is applied from the bottom up and not the top down. . . The buck is passed from the top down.
Image Magazine got in some hot water this week over a job spec for an unpaid internship to which Mick asked:
If it’s any good I might even start buying it in a year or two…or then again maybe I won’t.
Touché.
This completely juvenile humour from Tequila Gold actually got a laugh from us. After reading about 12 surprising couples, he came up with one of his own.
Me and your Ma
Meanwhile, Daily Edge was off reminding readers of great words that we don’t use anymore (check them out here) but you lot came up with some good ones of your own. From Brian McGuinness:
Snollygoster :A shrewd person not guided by principles, especially applied to politicians.
Gongoozle: To leisurely watch the passing of boats through a lock or along a canal.
And Catherine Sims:
My favourite word that’s no longer in use is bumbershoot. It’s another word for umbrella lol
My favourite archaic word is ‘shoon’ as a plural for shoe, it really amuses me. I refuse to say shoes!
I also like ‘ugsome’ which basically means ugly, in the same form as loathsome.
Also, ‘a tad’, ‘a smidgen’, or ‘a smarthing’ to represent a small amount of something.
See any good comments? Send them on to sinead@thejournal.ie
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Patrick O Connell: The difference being everyone on uk mainland has heard of the Republicans but ask anyone over there about loyalist or unionist paramilitaries – they never heard of them.
@Patrick O Connell: I was wondering how long before someone blamed “ira-sinn Fein” , The Uvf are older than the IRA and they also killed the first victim of the troubles (any random innocent Catholic would have done)
@Margaret Doyle: You do realise nearly 30% of people in England have Irish ancestry and 10% have Grandparents born in Ireland, the majority are still alive and most are living in Ireland, more people in England have grandparents who were born in Ireland than people in Ireland do.
“They haven’t gone away you know”. Imagine the uproar if it was a nationalist paramilitary group. Anyway long and shot of it is these people represent less that 1% of the people of Northern Ireland. They should be ignored because the wishes of the people of Northern Ireland cannot be undermined by terrorists.
@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: Apparently the UDA have 12,500 fully paid up membership. Unlike the IRA, they never decommissioned their weapons and receive pots of peace money from EU, Irish and British governments.
There’s a good story here for a brave journalist to investigate with brave being the operative word here.
Outrageous. Who’s their spokesman? They’ve said they are democrats, which was easy when they had a clear majority, but it’s almost even Stephens now, so if they can’t accept democracy, then they will have to move to Britain.
Like why do they give a rats? If you identify as British what difference does it make in your life if others in your community have access to Irish language material? How does it affect your life in any way shape or form?
@Margaret Doyle: That’s because been Irish abroad is an advantage. I met many NI Unionists abroad and they socialise with other Irish people from this island.
@Mark: they are lovely people. Threats for everyone. Unionism must be a delicate flower if everyone needs to be warned to protect it! The NI protocol is down to Boris. Irelands politicians are just asking the UK to stick to what they agreed. Not sure how this is such a bad thing?
@Mark H: The NIP is down to unionist MPs in Westminster who voted against or abstained on every single one of May’s motions which would have insured there was no border anywhere and kept the UK aligned to the EU’S customs union and single market.
Their threats have given the UK Government a problem. Do they give in and make themselves look weak in the face of domestic terrorists. Or do they go in hard and attempt to crush the threat once and for all, thus showing the world that it will not be cowed by the Ulster version of ISIS (religious and political fanaticism ).
@David F. Dwyer: These thugs have had their jackpots on the throats of Protestant working class communities for years. They threatened and intimidate their own communities so they live in fear.
They threatened the UUP when they announced a candidate to stand in N. Belfast at the last General election. The following day, the UUP withdrew their candidate leaving SFs John Finucane -v- DUPs Nigel Dodds to contest. John Finucane won N. Belfast. SF won W. Belfast, SDLP won S. Belfast and DUP won E Belfast, though Naomi Long increased her vote significantly.
So let Stormont collapse under threats from these thugs and let the DUP find out what it has been like for working class Protestants who’ve lived in fear of these thugs for years.
Then it’s back to Westminster. Are they going to allow democracy to be subverted by these criminals and thugs. They might find British troops back on their streets yet but this time find themselves the target.
Headline should be “loyalist t3rrorists warn DUP leader to stop concessions to sinn fein. That’s what they are, violent h@te filled s3ctarian t3rrorist sçum. The psni needs to round them up and charge them with being part of a terrorist organisation.
“Repair the damage they have created”, you brought this on yourself lads! Time to put the big boy pants on and be accountable for the mess you got yourself in.
Just down from a trip up north, covered around 400km in 2 days, must have seen 1000 loyalist flags, not one republican, peace yes, no reconciliation, if anything it’s more intimidating than previous years…horrible lot.
The level of delusion, ignorance and lies from unionists about the Irish government’s role in the quagmire that Northern Ireland finds itself in as a result of Brexit is shocking. Its time the Irish government start some kind of educational campaign to inform voters in the north that the responsibility for signing the Brexit deal lies firmly with the UK government. This blaming the Irish government by Unionists needs to stop.
@Mr T: Also at the hands of the DUP who could have ushered in the Teresa May proposals but they held out for the return of a land border on the island of Ireland and that miscalculation is at the very centre of the current impasse. It seems that as ever in NI it’s the shouters who get to set the agenda and the ordinary citizens get to keep their mouths shut but maybe what’s needed now is a general election to see exactly where the support is.
What makes them so dangerous is that they are playing their last card and it ain’t even a trump card, excuse the pun. If they only realised that we don’t want to visit them and certainly don’t want them to come visit us. They have already outstayed their welcome. Slan agus beannacht an fear oraiste.
•Hardline pick for first minister ✔
(But apparently not hardline enough for DUP)
•Loyalist paramilitaries threats ✔
•Unionism under threat check ✔
• Northern assembly poised for collapse ✔
• Next stop marching season…
They are doing more for a united ireland than other group. Work in England and you will see they are disliked by most and despised by many with their bigoted views. Brexit was all about little England and the north is not part of the equation anymore.
@Kevin O’Hara: I have absolutely no interest in a united Ireland if it involves any concessions to these un evolved half wits. There can never be a united Ireland until there is a united northern Ireland. We are decades away from that.
Loyalist clowns be clowning. Gtfo off the island. They are so desperate for control and a return to unionist domination that they will say anything to try a spread fear. I truly hope the ordinary people stand together, across this island, against these absolute fooooooools.
@Gerrard: The DUP and UUP obviously care about what they say. And that is very interesting because it must be obvious to anyone thinking about taking up the leadership mantle of the DUP that they are expected to do the UDA/UVF’s bidding.
Lets not forget, only 3 weeks ago, Jeffrey Donaldson claimed some of his supporters were threatened by the UDA to vote for Pootsy. Now, Jeffrey is said to be favorite for the job again, so who does he think will be calling the shots this time and who does he think the Loyalists at last nights rally were directing their message to?
Jeffrey the ex UDR officer and gunman, might be swimming against the tide of history, but he’s not a fool. He knows what the loyalists want but he also knows that is not compatible with sharing power. Its not about the protocol or about giving into SF, its about giving to the wishes of democracy and sharing power as equals.
That also means respecting the will of the people if and when they decide by a ballot that they want a united Ireland. Thats what this is really all about, but neither the DUP or their loyalist puppet masters are ready to admit that!
Up to the Irish government to “repair the damage they created”??!! I think our Unionist brethren may find the damage was created by English nationalists who voted for Brexit. But hey ho, why let facts get in the way of a good old sulk.
@Paul Shepherd: You forget to mention Paul, that the DUP went against the wishes of their own voters and majority in the north, who wanted to remain in the EU, and instead cheerlead Boris and the Tory’s to get the hardest Brexit possible, including the very protocol they now oppose.
@Angela McCarthy: How many times do you have to be educated? The referendum question was about the UK not NI.
The way you think you must agree then that Donegal should be an independent country right now because they voted twice against the Lisbon treaty? In fact there should of never been a second vote because under the Irish constitution all referendums are binding and final!
Some Irish people are worthy of being butts of jokes.
@Paul Shepherd: As you already know the referendum was about the UK not NI, NI was no where in the question.
As you think the way you do you must agree then that Donegal should be an independent country right now because they voted twice against the Lisbon treaty? Hows it fair for Europhiles to drag Donegal into the EU against their will, especially when there should of only been 1 vote because in Ireland all referendums are suppose to be binding and final?
'The British state is on edge': Kneecap's second day in court sees police action and legal wrangling
Rónán Duffy
Reports from Westminster Magistrates' Court
1 hr ago
George’s Dock bridge
Part of Luas Red Line to remain closed for at least a week after gas fire at George’s Dock
3 hrs ago
Dublin
Luas red line suspended from Connolly to the Point after major fire brought under control
Updated
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say