You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Wire/PA Images

Pressure mounts on Garda Commissioner after new dossier claims O'Sullivan misled PAC

The new information was sent to the PAC today.

GARDA COMMISSIONER NÓIRÍN O’Sullivan’s evidence to the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) in relation to the alleged misappropriation of millions of euro at the Garda College has been contradicted by one of the force’s most senior civil servants.

O’Sullivan had initially told the PAC that she had found out about the cash controversy at Templemore during “a brief chat” with An Garda Síochána’s Head of Human Resources John Barrett over a cup of tea, something he instantly denied.

Barrett told the PAC that he had taken extensive minutes of the meeting which he said lasted over two hours.

And tonight, after a report by RTÉ Prime Time and The Irish Times earlier today, it emerged how Barrett was told to be “very careful” in how he goes about raising concerns over the missing money.

The 122 page document which was handed to the PAC today details how Barrett had raised concerns after an audit which was carried out found evidence that public monies were being spent on entertainment and luxury gifts.

According to Barrett’s notes, he urged the Commissioner to make the Justice Department aware of the situation, as was her duty.

comish

He had made extensive notes detailing who was at the meeting, what was said and when it ended.

O’Sullivan decided to set up an internal inquiry into what had happened instead of contacting the Department of Justice, something which frustrated Barrett.

According to RTÉ, he said he saw “a real risk that the matters being addressed internally [could] be later misconstrued as a cover-up if we do not reach out to the appropriate offices of State externally and internally”.

In the months following his meetings with senior garda figures, a number of responsibilities which Barrett would have had as the Head of HR were taken from him. These included controlling internal affairs and garda procedural matters.

In the more than five-hour hearing at the PAC meeting last week, the Commissioner told politicians that she first became aware of the extent of the issues when she received a report with recommendations from her head of legal affairs on 28 July 2015.

Barrett had become aware of audits from 2008 and 2010 that identified accounting irregularities, and flagged them with his chief administrative officer. He had then compiled a report bringing the contents of these two audits together.

“My memory is that it was a brief meeting,” the Commissioner commented, in response to his contradiction.

Contradiction

Addressing journalists at Farmleigh House late last week, O’Sullivan  rejected any claims that she had misled the PAC, she said: “Regardless of how long the meeting took place in the Garda College, I think the issues speak for themselves.”

Assistant Commissioner John O’Driscoll will now examine a report conducted by the force’s head of audit, Niall Kelly, and will make recommendations including whether or not an official criminal probe into activities of senior gardaí at Templemore should begin.

The Commissioner said:

I have an Assistant Commissioner examining the report to see if there are any issues from civil, criminal or administrative law perspectives arising from it. He will make recommendations and they will be fully addressed.

O’Sullivan also stressed that “under no circumstances” did she mislead a Dáil committee last week.

Sinn Féín has once again called for O’Sullivan to step down.

Gerry Adams said: “Further damning documentation has been given to the Public Accounts Committee which completely undermines the account given last Thursday by Commissioner O’Sullivan about her conversation with Executive Director of Human Resources, Mr John Barrett regarding financial irregularities in Templemore.

“This is just the latest in a long list of scandal surrounding the management of An Garda Síochána.

“It is incredible that the Taoiseach has reiterated his confidence in the Garda Commissioner.

“The Commissioner’s position is untenable.”

With reporting by Michelle Hennessy 

Read: There could be criminal probe into Templemore funds - Commissioner >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

96 Comments
    Mute Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Favourite Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:51 AM

Hi journal could you please print more articles like this so I can show them to my girlfriend and convince her that me buying a Ps4 will not turn me into a sedentary immobile cabbage as she seems to believe it would? Thanka

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:46 AM

Forget about your ps4 and build a pc for gaming :)

Mute Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Dec 2nd 2014, 11:32 AM

is that not a good bit more expensive/hassle? Though it has the Trojan horse advantage that I could pretend Im dropping a grand on it for its amazing word processing capabilities only to “discover” it can be used for games too once its in the door!

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 2nd 2014, 11:34 AM

If you love gaming you’ll know the difference between console and PC gaming and money won’t come into it :)

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor
    Dec 2nd 2014, 11:49 AM

My gaming pc only cost 200 more than my xbox one/ps4. The extra you spend you will save after buying 10 full price AAA games from steam.

Mute Allan Brown
    Favourite Allan Brown
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:31 PM

Pc can be built for €600 and upgraded when needed. Lasts longer and games are cheaper.

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:50 PM

Gaming PC pffft. How long are you waiting to play Gta 5 now?

Mute Mr. Dragmire
    Favourite Mr. Dragmire
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:10 AM

I’d love to build a gaming PC someday.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 3rd 2014, 4:28 AM

T

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:49 AM

Great piece. I’d even argue that games in themselves are a great stress reliever, without even trying to establish the link as directly as you have with the PIP. I find them great for blowing off some steam.

So sick of the ridiculous articles about games and ‘de-sensitising’ that do the rounds every so often, nice to read one without the scare-mongering!

Mute Mr. Dragmire
    Favourite Mr. Dragmire
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:18 AM

I think it depends a lot on the type of game and the player’s personality. When I play CS:GO I don’t usually find it relaxing. Fun, yes, but stressful! Skyrim I find relaxing and I play a game called Cue Club. I think that open world games can be the best for relaxing and de-stressing (although a lot can be said for unloading a machine gun into a swarm of monsters attacking you!) as you can usually do whatever you like. I remember playing GTA3 years ago and just driving around. That’s it. Having fun driving around the city and trying out different vehicles.

Mute Ciaran Moriarty
    Favourite Ciaran Moriarty
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:21 AM

I’d agree that gaming is a nice way to put the feet up and relax… right up to the point where I discovered Dark Souls and my blood pressure has never been the same since!

Mute Timmy O Toole
    Favourite Timmy O Toole
    Dec 2nd 2014, 11:45 AM

I hear that game is brutally tough, lol.

Mute Mr. Dragmire
    Favourite Mr. Dragmire
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:09 AM

I’ve started playing Risk of Rain. It’s fun but you will die a lot. Like most roguelikes.

Mute Anto Byrne
    Favourite Anto Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:33 AM

Games are for children. Any grown man playing computer games deserves to be neutered at the balls.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:08 AM

Newsflash many games aren’t actually made for children, the biggest selling games are always over 18′s and the average age of a typical “gamer” is actually 31 http://venturebeat.com/2014/04/29/gaming-advocacy-group-the-average-gamer-is-31-and-most-play-on-a-console/

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:20 AM

Closer inspection of your profile pic and the name ‘anto’ has ruled your opinion null and void.

Mute Mr. Dragmire
    Favourite Mr. Dragmire
    Dec 3rd 2014, 2:33 AM

Games are for children? Really? Have you heard of F.E.A.R., Amnesia the dark descent, GTA, Silent Hill or Dead Space? Don’t think the developers had children as their target market there.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:30 AM

Or you could do some exercise or something useful. Gaming is an absolute waste of time. It’s bad enough children playing but anyone still interested in games as an adult needs to grow up.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:38 AM

I don’t have a TV. I agree most programming these days is even more moronic than wasting your life prancing around virtual reality.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:27 AM

I bet you sit on the sofa like a lemon watching rubbish tv shows on your laptop while your brain melts away. At least with gaming you’re using it.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:38 AM

Touch a nerve did I lads? Keep wasting you’re lives away, no skin off my back.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:46 AM

Your.
    I’m certainly not wasting my life away. I find gaming relaxes me, makes me forget the troubles at hand. Get this, I read books too.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:58 AM

Endas too busy wrecking the country to have the time to play a game and chill out. If he’s as good at gaming as he is at running the country yeah you get my drift. )

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:34 PM

Tell me how the typical evening goes in your house Enda, and please be honest. What do you do to chill out and take the edge off the day?

Mute Dan Donato
    Favourite Dan Donato
    Dec 3rd 2014, 9:06 AM

Enda stop being a right old one and get with the times grandad

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:04 AM

It’s hard enough to get the kids off these games as it is,don’t want them to see this,or it will be impossible

Mute Plantation Watch
    Favourite Plantation Watch
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:12 AM

Exactly, like the world needs more man-babies.

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:23 AM

It’s better than watching tv.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:27 AM

I know the kids today with their “pop music” and “vidja games” in your day I bet you had a stick and were happy with that ehh?
    Luddites

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:03 AM

All the wives and girlfriends will be on giving out about their men folk anytime now. I have a ps4 it’s an excellent piece of equipment for helping to just loose yourself for a while in a game. I will admit you don’t notice the time go though. My wife thinks I’m a man child I keep telling her there are millions of men out there that are gamers. Don’t smoke or gamble I do exercise and have a hobby and spend quality time with the family so what harm is it to loose yourself in a game every and then while she’s down watching X factor or I’m a celebrity or strictly come dancing or East Enders or emerdale etc etc,so you see girls lighten up on the lads and their gaming.

Mute Karen Gillen
    Favourite Karen Gillen
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:18 AM

Leslie: Teach your children time management skills, and if they are too young to self regulate then its your job to do it with them. Certain types of Games are excellent for children’s’ development – but like all things in life there must be moderation.

Gaming isn’t just for kids or adult men – women are a huge part of the gaming market. I’m an avid gamer and playing online is a wonderful sort of socialising. When my kids are in bed, I get to hang out with my international gaming mates from the comfort of home, and I’ve travelled to spend time with some in countries and cities I might not have visited otherwise, and some have come and visited Ireland. No soaps or “reality” tv shite in our home – gamers for life!

Mute John Ó'Ríordán
    Favourite John Ó'Ríordán
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:20 AM

You should try and get her into gaming. I found the Lego games as a great introduction to gaming for the girlfriend.

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:10 PM

Tv is terrible totally agree with you

Mute paulie_waulie
    Favourite paulie_waulie
    Dec 2nd 2014, 2:25 PM

Well don’t play fifa if ur lookin to reduce stress levels u will jus end up most of the time with a bill for a smashed controller and they ain’t cheap nowadays 50/60 a pop for the new gen consoles…

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Dec 3rd 2014, 6:35 AM

I so know what you mean.

Mute Michael O'Connor
    Favourite Michael O'Connor
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:18 AM

What’s a PIP?

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:26 AM

” As part of my final year project, I was given the chance to develop a prototype app for the PIP, a biosensor which helps manage stress. “

Mute Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:45 AM

What fantastic projects are you working on in your spare time Enda?

Mute Anto Byrne
    Favourite Anto Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:31 AM

It be adult’s buying them as there over 18. Buying them for there children in most cases. It’s not real life.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Dec 2nd 2014, 10:00 AM

So the link I previously posted staying the average gamer is 31 you disagree with? You have any facts to back that up?

Mute Anto Byrne
    Favourite Anto Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:58 AM

Enda? I’m nothing like Enda. I’m working class and I work for cash in hand and collect the dole

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:33 PM

Anto is clearly a troll account, that comment coupled with profile pic proves it. Don’t feed the troll

Mute Anto Byrne
    Favourite Anto Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:22 AM

Ian the majority buying those games. Even the 18 and over 1s are children. Foghorn, anto is short for Tony thanks. And Hugh, your girlfriend is write

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:27 AM

Okay show me statistics proving that the majority buying them are children?

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:37 AM

Ian, I don’t understand what you’re getting at here? So because a lot of grown men like playing childish games that makes it somehow ok?

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:54 AM

Games specifically designed for adults that are over 18 are childish?

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 2nd 2014, 12:31 PM

I was a manager in Gamestop few years ago, the average age of game purchaser is late 30s, you’re talking hole anto

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Dec 2nd 2014, 8:24 AM