You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here are the minutes of the CRC board meeting where Paul Kiely’s €742k pay-off was agreed

The Public Accounts Committee has published the minutes of the meeting where the controversial remuneration package for the outgoing CEO were discussed in the spring of last year.

MINUTES OF A special meeting of the CRC board of governors detail how it was agreed to give outgoing chief executive Paul Kiely a €742,000 pension and pay-off package – and to keep it confidential – in March of last year.

The minutes have been published on the Public Accounts Committee website today and were discussed at yesterday’s revelatory hearings where Kiely’s retirement package was disclosed.

The meeting took place on 25 March 2013 at 5pm in the Central Remedial Clinic boardroom and present were Hamilton Goulding (son of CRC founder Valerie Goulding), Hassia Jameson, Jim Nugent, Ailbhe Rice-Jones, and Martin Walsh.

Not present were Vincent Brady, Brian Conlan, David Martin and Pat Ryan.

Crucially, the minutes record that chairman Goulding made a presentation “outlining details of a proposed financial settlement which might be offered to Mr Kiely”.

“The board considered that the proposed arrangement was fair both to the CRC and to Mr Kiely and approved the package as presented,” the minutes state.

The minutes state that it was agreed by board members that “the terms of Mr Kiely’s settlement are confidential, and that a legally binding Confidentiality Agreement will be put in place”.

The actual details of the package are not recorded in the minutes but were disclosed by the CRC’s interim administrator John Cregan in this letter to the HSE director general Tony O’Brien that was read out at the PAC yesterday.

Can’t see the minutes clearly? Click here

A crucial question which arose at yesterday’s hearings, where former chief executive Brian Conlan was quizzed for nearly four hours, was whether, having not been present, he had read the minutes.

He told PAC members that he did not, saying: “I was not privy to Mr Kiely’s pension settlement. That is the truth. I was not part and parcel of the remuneration committee.”

Conlan later added: “I would say that the decisions made by the board to award Mr Kiely [that] level of remuneration in his pension was wrong.”

It’s not clear whether Conlan, who was not giving interviews today, was sent a copy of the minutes or if they would have come across his desk.

That is likely to be an issue the PAC will want clarified.

HSE chief: Scandal does not spell doom for CRC services

Read: ‘Please don’t pass the bucket’: CRC parent in tearful plea

‘A twisted web’: Credit cards, foreign trips and 5 other things we learned from the CRC hearings

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:13 PM

Paul Kiely, you should be hanging ur head in absolute shame. Your selfishness and greed is beyond all. Having said that the people who sanctioned ur payout are just as responsible. Shame on all of you, to put it mildly… you’re disgusting!

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:47 PM

Well put Celia, arrogance has no boundaries . I hope they nail him and his like, disgusting people.

Mute Anna Kirby
    Favourite Anna Kirby
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:04 PM

Yes by why did they sanction it? How did they benefit is what is crucial? What increases or backhanders did they get?. How many children have been affected by this and when will they pay it back. Surely its illegal to steal from the disabled….why isnt this going before the law..

Mute TheIrishBrain
    Favourite TheIrishBrain
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:31 PM

He really was enning buckets of money.

Mute michael conlon
    Favourite michael conlon
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:09 AM

Anna there seems to be some technical reason Gardai Can’t Intervene until they are Invited .
    It appears when these poor boxes when handed over to A committee become outside or Immune to natural Law . Hard to figure out Anna ,-:)

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Jan 17th 2014, 5:53 PM

No matter the era or the circumstances in this country, it appears greed is the underlying motive and money the incentive.

Mute Tomás O'Loughlin
    Favourite Tomás O'Loughlin
    Jan 17th 2014, 5:50 PM

2+2 = €740,000.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:57 PM

To get a pension lump sum etc of that much though?

100k in a private pension fund gets u about 7k a year.

Isn’t Kiely’s pension about 240k a year. I hope the numbers are explained. I fit to burst to hear it.

Certainly explains FF’s ultra loyal members. If you are hard core enough it could be you.

As for the sick and dying children, well the young don’t back FF so they don’t care.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:30 PM

Read the last paragraph of the minutes above – the one about the sub-committee created for recruiting the CEO to replace Bertie’s buddy Kiely. One of the three-person recruitment committee actually got the job – Brian Conlan. Canvassing will disqualify? My hole.

Mute Niall Boylan
    Favourite Niall Boylan
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:05 PM

They wonder why people won’t donate to their little tea party anymore, keep it up lads and we will wait until the party is over. What a Joke and my sympathies to the hard working staff that work for these clowns.

Mute Chris Murray
    Favourite Chris Murray
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:31 PM

A free won way ticket to mars. for all these government parasites, old Irelands problems solved overnight.

Mute legoman❗
    Favourite legoman❗
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:57 AM

So he hands in his notice to leave and get his Money and pension, straight away he’s offered a position on the board of governors, paying how much ?

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    Jan 18th 2014, 1:20 AM

Sure he probably doesn’t even have a bank account ?

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Jan 17th 2014, 5:52 PM

Oops… Must have forgotten to ‘lose’ that document

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:03 PM

Scrap these boards and hand it over to those on the frontline of these charties!! Those that do their job because the care

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:10 PM

Yes Jakki. That would be brilliant. But how do we get past the shameless clique?

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:20 PM

Charities must publish audited accounts, detailing salaries or face boycott.

Mute Wastrel
    Favourite Wastrel
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:17 PM

An income cap like they were talking about bringing in in Switzerland would be a good start.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 5:59 PM

Mr. Conlan was not present? Fair enough. I assume they meet once a month so he would have been informed of the minutes of the March board meeting at the April one. If he wasn’t attending in April what the hell was he doing on the Biard of Directors. I know he was part of CRC recruitment which very strangely gave him the CEO job later in the year but why did he miss at least two meetings in a row? Regardless of the meetings, I am certain that every board member receives copies of the minutes of every single board meeting. My football club, residents association, golf club etc all send the minutes of each meeting to all committee members – absent or attendant. And they’re voluntary!

How much did Conlan get to be a board member? All they have to do is attend about 12 meetings a year for their stipend. This whole thing is sickening.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:35 PM

Scaly chops
    Apparently the Board Members of the CRC are voluntary and therefore unpaid. However I would like see the Agenda Notice for this “Special” meeting of the Board that was subsequently authorising the plundering of voluntary or charitable funds for the benefit of someone who resigned. I would like to ask this Board why they felt it necessary to consider any special or additional arrangement for this particular manager simply because he was announcing his retirement date.
    Lump sum payments or enhanced pension arrangements are normally negotiated as a means of ousting a particular employee rather than incurring legal costs or in the rarest of circumstances. Anything else is subject to an accusation of fraud!

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:17 PM

Can’t believe I’m giving you a green thumb Richie

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:25 PM

Richie, there is no way on this earth that these parasites (not all of them but you know who I mean) were on the BoD for nothing. Most directors are on several different boards each paying 5 figure sums as an annual stipend (in most cases of government-dependent companies/organisations). These positions are still often termed ‘voluntary’ despite the stipend.
    Regardless, they get expenses (what we call bus fare and lunch). Maybe a good line of questioning for these simps could begin with a breakdown of the expenses they were paid given that the one meeting we know about had several non-attendees. One spoof there and the Garda should be called.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:04 PM

Michael I’m the same myself…first green thumb ever for richie…on a side note…mrs jameson should be brought through the streets in chains…what a horrible woman

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:29 PM

Scaldy Chops

Could I also add on reflection that we cannot excuse any absent Members of the Board because they are bound by such decisions and bear responsibility for them even in their absence. They are obliged in terms of their fiduciary responsibilities to acquaint themselves of the decisions in their absence and they are also both entitled to and obligated to see the minutes of the meetings at which they were not in attendance.
    David Martin is a practicing solicitor and was aMember of that Board who was critically absent on this disgraceful day but must and would have known of the decision to award three quarter of a million Euro to this man when he (Martin) appeared before the Dail Committee at which this information was not only withheld but clearly lied about.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:41 PM

Glad you see the point I was making, Richie. By ‘fiduciary’ I presume you mean its legal sense and not its financial sense. Still, it was nice of you, albeit hours later and in all likelihood to be far less viewed (until The Journal bumped the article) to acknowledge the point I was making. I’ll repeat it for sheer pig iron: there is no way that board members were not informed of a three quarter million euro payment to a fellow employee even if they missed the March meeting. No goddamn way.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:08 AM

I made the point earlier Scaldy, the directors present at that meeting of the board of directors were rubber stamping a recommendation of its Remuneration Sub-committee.
    Who was on that sub-committee, when did it meet to decide on this obscenity, who proposed the package, and did anyone at the meeting raise any objections.?
    This is of course assuming that such a sub-committee actually exists and that it held the meeting referred to in the board minutes.
    Given what we have been told so far, it is hard to take on trust anything these spongers say.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:42 AM

Garry, if Conlan was on the very recruitment sub-committee that gave himself the job, it wouldn’t remotely surprise me if Kiely himself was on the remuneration sub-committee that granted himself the disgusting handshake.
    Of course, I hope everyone realises that all these committees and sub-committees are a load of shyte. These board members (most of them) discuss these things in bars and hotels. The decisions are made willy-nilly. They’re the elite – a few hundred thousand of tax-payers money here and there means absolutely nothing to them.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Jan 18th 2014, 3:29 AM

You are probably right, it is most likely there never was a remuneration sub- committee, just another level of flannel to disguise the reality of their sordid gravy train.
    But it would be nice to hear the excuses, however pathetic they might be.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:11 PM

Just watched Gilmore on RTE News on this matter – dripping with sincerity and gravitas-not , stating this Government is determined to ” weed out and wipe out the practices of the past”. While they’re at it they should also weed out, and wipeout, the practices of the present- the unfair ,and inequitable measures his Government has sanctioned , and imposed.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:18 PM

Johnny this isnt about the government, its about Paul Kiely and C.R.C.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:23 PM

Celia, how do you think Kiely got the job? In this case an FFer…

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:29 PM

With respect that’s like the statement by the Secretary of Dept of Environment, that the taxpayer hadn’t funded Irish Water. If it’s nothing to do with the Government, why was Gilmore interviewed on the matter, on 6.01, and why did he comment as I outlined above?

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:31 PM

Scaldychops. All I’m saying is that while I, like everybody else have issues with the present government, to focus on them at the moment, it would be taking from the issue and giving C.R.C a smokescreen.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:43 PM

I know what you’re saying Celia but here’s a link for you to see just how involved our governments are in appointing many of these people : http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/who-are-they-the-central-remedial-clinic-board-29798815.html

The problem us endemic. Dealing with Mr. Kiely will make us happy in the short-term but until political appointments to boards of directors is stopped the problem will not go away.

Mute Jimmy Thompson
    Favourite Jimmy Thompson
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:08 PM

Un @*^$”believable ………= it just goes to prove beyond doubt, this country is a free for all!!

There are more bank-robbers & crooks out there, with more moral fiber and respectability, than what’s holding office within this society.

If this and IrIsh water fiasco is glossed over and forgotten, i give up on this country,

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin

Some one made a point that the CRC has received about 15 million in donations from the mid 90′s to 2011 but that 3/4′s of it does not seem to have reached the front line. The scale of this could be much larger than we can even imagine.

2. To pay Kiely and the others those pensions, the funding must run in to the millions for each man to meet that obligation unless they are being met by tax payers funds.

3. FF insiders described the CRC as a “great little honey pot for people”. Is this the sole reason that FF and Haughey set it up in the first place. All records back to the start need to be examined.

4. Were lower ranking FF activists given jobs at every level in the CRC, did they have to turn up for work?

5. They also sat on boards from CIE to the central banks. Do their decisions and pay there need to be examined.

6. We need to see what, if any, donations to FF they made or to FF politicians and the party/outfit.

Mute Mexican Wave
    Favourite Mexican Wave
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:39 PM

I can picture Bertie saying to Kiely “the force is strong in you”

Mute Jimmy Thompson
    Favourite Jimmy Thompson
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:15 PM

Most definitely Cillian D, but seriously can you see it happen…. Maybe in a fairy tale but If an investigation like that was held you’d have every politician in the country against it , They’d be all tainted in some way…

Not remember, the theft of all the Anglo laptops from revenue a few years back. which were supposed to implicate 60% of all sitting td’s up to all sorts of jiggery pokery, ALLEGEDLY.. And every reported /journalist who looked into it further meeting a brick wall and some received fair bit of harassment too …. (Oh almost forgot) allegedly

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:28 PM

The staff, patients and families should make an advert shaming these f”"kers into returning the money. I’m sure the independent stations would be glad to help

Mute Debbie Fahey
    Favourite Debbie Fahey
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:25 PM

Valerie Goulding founder of the CRC was best friends of Charlie Haughey and Jimmy Savile. Speaks volumes really.

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:58 PM

What an absolute ignorant and stupid comment. You’ve just won numpty of the week. Bringing Lady Valerie Goulding into this is disgusting.

Mute Paul Kenny
    Favourite Paul Kenny
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:58 PM

Debbie , do you even have a clue who valrie goulding was ?

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:12 PM

Why is it wrong Millar to bring Valerie Goulding into this? This woman wanted to run for Fianna Fail at one time or am I mistaken? Her son was present at the meeting which agreed to give hundreds of thousands of publically donated money from genuinely caring Irish people to the parasite kiely and I’m sure this is just the tip of the iceberg of people dug deep enough into this charity and others in Ireland.
    It’s becoming apparent now that charities in Ireland and this goes for the majority of them are just set up as nest eggs for a lot or powerful and untouchable elites and nothing more. Yes, some do good work, but they have to otherwise they would be unable to cream millions of the unsuspecting public.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:39 PM

If you associate with FF and Haughey then you have to accept that people will wonder about u.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:07 PM

if you lie down with dogs you wake up with flea’s

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:24 PM

On a footnote Fran… The building that is now the HQ for CONCERN cost………… 7million….. Howzat mate for a waste of dosh…. Now wonder the “chungers” are only short of robbing us.

Mute Andrew Gilmour
    Favourite Andrew Gilmour
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:24 PM

Absolutely appalling and o doubt not the end of it. Rumours of excessive expenses and foreign trips are only emerging now as well from the crc board. The damage they have done to the charity sector as a whole is the worst part of this whole story. The fraud squad needs to go in there and investigate. Raising money under false pretences is a crime.

Mute Colm O'Halloran
    Favourite Colm O'Halloran
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:08 PM

The money was just resting in his account……….

Mute Mexican Wave
    Favourite Mexican Wave
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:34 PM

I was thinking of getting a job inthe upper echelons of the civil/public service…does anyone know where I can do the course in corruption first.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:22 PM

Well the corruption society meet every Friday in Fagan’s pub Drumcondra so this would be a good place to start networking. Best of luck.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jan 18th 2014, 8:14 AM

Mex you need a FF membership for a start.

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:23 PM

In fairness, he didn’t get the same deal the HSE equivalents got in 2010…….ah’ let’s fiddle the books for the poor fella!

Ironic isn’t it…….a sort of retro-reversal benchmark!?!

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon

You just know that FG and Labour lackies are waiting in the wings for their turn on this gravy train. Depressing

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:44 PM

Lady Goulding must be turning in her grave, what the f..k is her son at. These people in the board of management have to be living in another world.

What I would like answered is what did this thief ever bring to this organisation to think he warranted this payment. It’s crazy, just crazy. This payment equaled 50,000 nurses hours that could have been more effective. 230,000 teddy bears to be sold to pay this.

MADNESS in the extreme. The Mafia are only trotting behind this lot.

Mute Maeve Hurrell
    Favourite Maeve Hurrell
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:59 PM

Neither the HSE or government seem to demand accountability for how taxpayers money is used. These arrogant individuals used the disabled to fill their pockets, forever urging overburdened parents to fundraise dangling the promise of services for their children.
    Any complaint about services provided was met with the same arrogance and dismissed. No one would hear a word against them. Thankfully these revelations are out in the open and all can now see that Jimmy Saville was not the vilest person who stalked the corridors of the CRC.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:18 PM

Gravy train/apple cart Maeve.

Government = Farmer, Taxpayer = cattle. Simples

Mute Ray Carney
    Favourite Ray Carney
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:28 PM

How does mr kiely sleep at night? Does the stripping of resources from the most vulnerable in our society cost him a moment’s thought? Shame on him and those that sanctioned the payment

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 17th 2014, 6:39 PM

Aah yes…….I just seen on six-one news’ put the CRC under the auspicies of the HSE.

So’ when this sort of thing happens again……..it will make it more plausible to the Irish public’ that this sort of thing “could” happen!

Mute Dermot Healy
    Favourite Dermot Healy
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:25 PM

Bob Geldorf’s Banana Republic is still alive and the golden circles are still treating each other very well. Will the money be returned? Ask Fingers.

Mute Eugene p Harrington
    Favourite Eugene p Harrington
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:04 PM

Lady Goulding must be spinning. This could be the end of the CRC as we know it.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jan 17th 2014, 9:59 PM

Considering her own son crossed to the other side.

Mute Tony Caffertey
    Favourite Tony Caffertey
    Jan 17th 2014, 8:34 PM

When is this greed by the few at the expense of the many in this country going to stop? Austerity appears to be for those who can’t avoid it and not for the few who can manipulate their way out of it. So much for patriotism and community spirit in this country.

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:10 PM

what a shower of IDIOTS we lrish are an these clowns know that…

Mute Benny Birchy
    Favourite Benny Birchy
    Jan 17th 2014, 7:58 PM

Morality does not hold sway nowadays when those who choose to abuse the position in which they hold its disgusting.

Mute Daithí Ó Labhradha Tréan
    Favourite Daithí Ó Labhradha Tréan
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:00 PM

Feeling physically I’ll here reading this. Zero justification for an obscene lump sum. :(

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Jan 17th 2014, 10:53 PM

The board of directors at the CRC despite their collective failures, were rubber stamping a recomdation of its Remuneration Sub-committee when it approved the package for Kiely.
    Whatever about attendance at the board meeting, is anyone looking to find out who the members of that sub-committee were and for the minutes of its meeting to see who made the suggestion that such obscene amounts should be paid, and whether anyone voiced objections at the time.
    This document would probably be more relevant to the proper understanding of such a scandalous decision than the board minutes that have been released.

Mute Maurice Quille
    Favourite Maurice Quille
    Jan 18th 2014, 2:24 AM

What’s most amusing reading articles from the crc over the past few days is the level of surprise and shock people display.. Forgive me but seems like we’re a crowd of ostriches. Heads buried in the sand…bit of a ruckus we’ll pull up have a look around see what all the racket is about, a few squawks, bit of a fart then we’ll bury our heads in the sand until the next time. I wish we had our own Snowdon whistleblower. He’d dig up so much shit on what’s really going on in this corrupt society it would drop the crc saga to 35th place.

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Jan 18th 2014, 1:03 AM

Why is it that management in any organisation always seem to land on their feet? It appears that modern business acumen does not include morals ethics or integrity. Money the root of all evil.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 17th 2014, 11:32 PM

Please note my comments above on the subject of fiduciary responsibilities and Board Members who were absent. They are ALL liable for Company decisions and minutes are the record by which they are OBLIGATED to acquaint themselves. This means the ENTIRE Board.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 18th 2014, 1:30 AM

Richie, it’d be great if you also advised readers that it took you 5 hours of what you called ‘reflection’ to realise what others were already saying and that you argued with us first. The board, all of them, are culpable.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 18th 2014, 2:02 AM

Scaldychops
    You’re a cantankerous curmudgeon ! I didn’t argue with anyone on this thread. I am not only horrified at the sheer thuggery involved in this disgusting thievery but I am angry enough to make sure that my challenges find sufficient toeholds to result in aggressive prosecution of these suited gurriers.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 18th 2014, 2:13 AM

Great Richie. But you still might acknowledge that it took you 5 hours to cop on. I’ll tell you what, forget it.
    Seriously though, I was going to use you as not only an example of what is wrong (voting-wise) but as the epitome of blind, programmed duopoly voting in Ireland. Lowry, Aherne, Haughey, Bruton….et al. But I won’t now. Until you blindly accept things like the charity corruption again.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:35 AM

Its a distractor form irish water. I am sure they have a store of “scandals ” that they release when they want a smokescreen.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 18th 2014, 4:48 AM

Irish water is a distraction. The major problem here was the language of the CEO when he used the dreaded word “consultant” on radio and everyone has continued to use it and hop up and down. If he had simply said “we have spent €85m of our start up budget so far” there wouldn’t have been another word.

Focus on the ongoing spending commitments of the taxpayers in our annual budget! Shock and awe!!!

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 18th 2014, 3:21 AM

A special meeting? wtf!!! Are we not in the middle of a recession? Shame on all concerned i hope Karma bites them on there balls!

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:41 AM

Ah ffs! How much more is to be unearthed? Absolutely sickening. How can these thieves live with themselves?

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 18th 2014, 3:16 AM

what a shambles. NB a smoke screen keep your eyes on the water crowd they are loving this as they are out of the limelight. Ireland needs to wake up and march!

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 18th 2014, 4:03 AM

What I read is that the board was told Mr Kiely’s pension was inferior than if he was an employee of the HSE with the implication that the board were trying to redress that with the payment.

That need clarification! Are we missing something?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jan 18th 2014, 3:16 AM

Why would the board object, sure with that type of information they can demand a similar package when it comes to their turn ,that’s why all politicians never really report on each other either FF on FG on labour on whoever as it would kill their future rip off pensions .Does every other European politician in individual countries get these pensions or is it only in catholic Ireland : Enda was right when he said he was not a catholic Taoiseach’s but a catholic by religion by belief but a Christian ?? Where does those values kick in

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 18th 2014, 4:39 AM

All this anger and vitriol directed at Kiely and the board is not giving any clarity and is a distraction from the read issues.

Ministers’, TD’s and senior state employees’ on pensions are far far better off than what I’m reading Kiely got. The TD’s, journalists and public are hopping up and down but pensions + the big lumps sums they’ve gotten away with because of benchmarking and insider deals is the real scandal. Nobody in the Dept of finance objected. Guess why?

You budding actuaries out there should calculate the nominal value to a 58 year old (40years service) of every €10,000 of annual pension with all the bells and whistles. Multiples of that benchmarked to ongoing rate of pay, indexation, widow etc etc. €740,000 is chicken feed.

Kiely and CRC are nothing compared to that scandal. Don’t be blinded by the lump sum! Give me €100,000 per annum plus add ons and a 1.5 year tax free lump anytime.

It’s also a much bigger financial problem going forward than the bank bail outs and the payment of bond holders ( who only gave us loans to pay those pensions).

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jan 18th 2014, 10:21 AM

Is it any wonder this country is corrupt, yet another public body that was allowed operate in a manner that is neither transparent or accountable, that was being used by a clique to reward themselves with donated money the citizens of the state thought was going to treat patients,in future before trusting their donations to any charity, people should insist on financial transparency,only then will we root out corrupt practices.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 18th 2014, 5:40 AM

Finally out. Payment to Kiely a money saving exercise. Bears out my point above. Ditto with early rite nets of public servants. The real scandal……….

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 18th 2014, 4:06 AM

The more anger the less clarity. Lots of unanswered questions yet.

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Jan 18th 2014, 10:20 AM

The minutes are very scant with no real detail. Mr Kiely wouldn’t have been entitled to the terms of a hse retirement package only because he’s not a member of the hse. This is the basis for giving him a large fortune ? This is sick. These board members should be arrested and charged with misappropriation of funds.

Mute Patrick Doran
    Favourite Patrick Doran
    Jan 18th 2014, 12:59 PM

The mock shock here and on other boards is the sickening thing for me.Did Neary our late great financial regulator give his money back,no.Did the head of Fas give his money back eerr no.These are Bertie’s mates I am just waiting for his famous statement “due process” to rear its ugly head.Like all the other scandals in this great country of ours they will be chip paper in a months time meanwhile it will back to business for our political elites and their many cossetted friends.I know if I was Kiely I would say “eerr cant give it back I lost it on a horse”.Due Process Due Process Due Process

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Jan 18th 2014, 9:39 AM

If u make a charitable contribution – what is the law governing it
    Should u not be told that ur money is going to pay wages or retirement packages
    If so then wouldn’t that constitute fraud

Mute James Barber
    Favourite James Barber
    Jan 18th 2014, 4:55 AM

Love the the way the journal pass on information, keep the good work up.

Mute don mur
    Favourite don mur
    Jan 18th 2014, 1:09 AM

Can’t read it. Post some stuff we can read