You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cyclists on Dublni's Samuel Beckett Bridge Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Cyclists should face on-the-spot fines for rule breaking - TD

A cycling group has backed Kevin Humphreys’ call for better enforcement, but said there could be difficulties in practice.

CYCLISTS SHOULD BE handed on-the-spot fines for breaking the rules of the road, one Dublin TD has said after a survey showed many were flouting traffic regulations.

Labour’s Kevin Humphreys said the behaviour of a “significant minority” of cyclists was giving the group as a whole a bad name. He added that at the moment the only way to sanction rule-breakers is with a court summons, which makes enforcement difficult.

A cycling group today backed his call for better enforcement, but said on-the-spot fines could cause difficulties in practice.

Will Andrews of the Dublin Cycling Campaign told TheJournal.ie that it was “not a majority” of cyclists causing problems, but said: “Enforcement needs to be increased. There’s a problem with cyclists and pedestrians mixing.”

Andrews called for the introduction of a “code of good manners” to govern the behaviour of cyclists. He added that current legislation provided for cyclists to be fined in district courts, and this could be used more widely.

Humphreys was responding to a survey of around 200 cyclists yesterday from tyre manufacturer Semperit Ireland, which found that 21 per cent were using footpaths, 19 per cent broke red lights and 14 per cent went against the flow of traffic.

“The use of footpaths by cyclists is particularly dangerous to the elderly and it is a constant issue in many areas of the city,” he said.

More: Campaign launched after Dublin axes only cycling officer>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Louise Bermingham
    Favourite Louise Bermingham
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:14 AM

I know cyclists get a raw deal being shoved into bus lanes or not having any lanes at all but in the city centre they can be lethal, going the wrong way on streets, breaking lights etc…so at least some enforcement would be good I think

Mute Dermot Purcell
    Favourite Dermot Purcell
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:54 AM

why do our political elite kick the shite out of the ordinary person every day in this country ,and the boys that are doing irreversible damage get a pat on the back,humphreys we are getting tired of listening to your horse manure go after seanie and his cronies

Mute rubber bandaid
    Favourite rubber bandaid
    Feb 28th 2012, 4:40 PM

I’d say now we have bigger fish to fry in this country than trying to batter the poor auld peddler .

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 28th 2012, 7:30 PM

You have to catch’em first!

Mute ciara o'halloran
    Favourite ciara o'halloran
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:37 AM

19% break red lights.. hmm I don’t think so! the amount of times I’ve almost been killed by a cyclist breaking a red light is ridiculous. a few weeks ago I seen a Garda stop 3 cyclists at one junction after they broke a red light, he gave them tickets, and rightly so.

Mute Paul Mc grath
    Favourite Paul Mc grath
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:22 AM

Proper order cyclists should be required to do some form of training and licensing to use the road as the rest of us have to. Majority of cyclists I’ve seen show no regard to either themselves or other people, weaving in and out of traffic

Mute Nicholas Murnane
    Favourite Nicholas Murnane
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:19 AM

“The use of footpaths by cyclists is particularly dangerous to the elderly and it is a constant issue in many areas of the city”
    So why are so many cycle lances just a painted white line on a footpath, which legally have to be used if cycling along the route, a rule which I don’t follow

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:38 AM

See the picture of Samuel Beckett bridge, the cyclist there are actually breaking the law as that is a Bus Only lane, there is a cycle lane on the bridge, but is part of the Footpath, if you use the cycle lane you are likely to hit pedestrians. If cyclist are given half decent cycle lanes they won’t break the law as much

Mute Robert McGuinness
    Favourite Robert McGuinness
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:56 AM

You are never under any obligation to use cycle-lanes – nor even to hug the kerb. Under the law, cyclists safety supercedes motorists convienience.

Mute keith
    Favourite keith
    Dec 27th 2013, 12:42 PM

er… no.

John
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:45 AM

In Ireland it seems to be acceptable for cyclists to break lights, cycle on footpaths etc. Equally drivers still drive and talk/text on their phones and it’s become acceptable for cars to break red lights up to 3 or 4 seconds after the lights have changed which is lethal for all concerned. Jaywalking seems to be a national pastime for pedestrians! The problem isn’t any particular mode of transport or the law, the problem is enforcement.

Mute Glyko Symoritis
    Favourite Glyko Symoritis
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:26 AM

Tell Kevin to piss off..fines and bulls..first you need to build infrastructure before you even start thinking of revenue collection.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:39 AM

The more corrupt the republic, the more numerous the laws.

— Cornelius Tacitus, 55-117 AD

Mute Killawalla Killjoy
    Favourite Killawalla Killjoy
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:15 AM

But we are not a republic.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 28th 2012, 2:25 PM

Formerly we suffered from crimes; now we suffer from laws.”

— Cornelius Tacitus

Mute Kevin Weldon
    Favourite Kevin Weldon
    Feb 28th 2012, 3:21 PM

“A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought.”

Dorothy L. Sayers

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 28th 2012, 4:08 PM

“There is nothing new under the sun but there are lots of old things we don’t know.”
    ― Ambrose Bierce

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:50 AM

Nothing better than breaking your record cos ya flew through every red light on the way :)

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Favourite Joseph McGranaghan
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:56 AM

Badly needed, they get away with murder! As a motorist I have no problems just show patience and give space and all will be good but as a pedestrian they are shocking, especially in the city centre, sail wrong way down one way streets fly through red lights, cycle down tight pavements with no cycle lane marking and worst of all try to weave through pedestrians at crossings, should be forced to register and have insurance like other road users!!

Mute Jack Eagle
    Favourite Jack Eagle
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:39 AM

‘On the spot fines!’ You’re having a laugh!! It is a stupid suggestion for one reason – it is totally unenforcable! So a guard pulls up a cyclist and goes to give a fine, how is he going to give it to the person, they are not required to carry any ID! Therefore it will be so easy to give a false name and address, so now you’ve wasted garda time, issued an uncollectable fine and probably clog up the courts with outstanding fines with false names ‘n addresses.

The only way of enforcing such a fine system is to make it compulsory to carry a National ID card or confiscate the bike till the fine is paid!

Mute Killawalla Killjoy
    Favourite Killawalla Killjoy
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:55 AM

ID cards or cyclists breaking the law? Hmmmmmmm, difficult decision Jack. I’ll take the cyclists breaking the odd red light or some other MINOR law over an ID card for potential Fascists wanting to know me or my business. We had terrorists here for years, probably still do, and you want ID cards to catch cyclists. I was in favour of punishing the evil doer cyclists but not at the expense of my civil liberties. Confiscating the bike? Well I’ll go for that one.

Rob
    Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:42 AM

its not so much the rule breaking that is causing the problem – but the disruption to other road / path users! i’ve both broken red lights on a bike and cycled on a footpath – but when i do so i know i have no right to do so – so i’ll yield to anyone else who actually has the right of way!
    fully agree with frustrated pedestrians who nearly get run over while crossing with a green man!!

Mute keith
    Favourite keith
    Dec 27th 2013, 12:36 PM

+1

Mute Stephen Mc Partlin
    Favourite Stephen Mc Partlin
    Feb 28th 2012, 1:05 PM

At the moment we are not obliged to use cycle lanes. I live out in Dublin 15 and nearly every time I use the cycle lanes they slow me down! People rambling along , blocking the lane without a care in the world like . And the bike lanes are never swept. Full of glass and debris .

Mute Michael Corrigan
    Favourite Michael Corrigan
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:45 AM

It is spectacular to watch gobshites on bikes trying to cycle up the footpaths in O’Connell Street at rush hour on fridays…and they get upset because of all the damn pedestrians walking on the footpaths! Mad country!

Mute Leslie Patrick Sweeney
    Favourite Leslie Patrick Sweeney
    Feb 28th 2012, 3:51 PM

Well if you want to fine cyclists wife minor infringements you will also need to fine pedestrians who walk on cycle lanes, bus drivers who pull out thoughtlessly in front of cyclists, taxi drivers who pull into cycle lanes to let off passengers. You will also have to consider how you can offset the disincentive of fines to keep cyclists using their bikes and your green carbon neutral policies on track. Or you could just forget all about it and accept that nobody is perfect, not even us cyclists!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 28th 2012, 6:22 PM

Il second that :) cycling is probably the only thing you can do without government infringement.. I hope they back off

Mute Henry Shields
    Favourite Henry Shields
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:11 AM

What is the point in investing in all these cycle lanes. The Waterford County Council has got over 1/2 million to invest in cycle lanes and foot paths as part of the Smarter Travel program from the government but a lot of the cycleist do not even use the lanes and cycle beside them and nearly causeing accidents. So I say bring in fines for them they can’t float the law and get away with it.

Mute Eoin O'Duffy
    Favourite Eoin O'Duffy
    Feb 28th 2012, 2:33 PM

You should need to get a license for urban cycling. These people are a danger to themselves and others.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 28th 2012, 3:00 PM

This is just dumb.. A licence for owning a bike… Dude all these regulations sound an awful lot like fascism

Mute Eoin O'Duffy
    Favourite Eoin O'Duffy
    Feb 28th 2012, 3:14 PM

eah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 28th 2012, 3:29 PM

Your opinions flawed thats all …”man”

Mute keith
    Favourite keith
    Dec 27th 2013, 12:34 PM

@eoin and that was my red thumb.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Feb 28th 2012, 10:15 AM

Semperit???
    Did they not close down donkey’s years ago??

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 28th 2012, 2:58 PM

I think the government really to be all honesty be focusing on other matters… How this even makes the government to do list is beyond me.. This is a local matter and if councils desire to create new by-laws let them..

Mute Ger Benson
    Favourite Ger Benson
    Feb 28th 2012, 1:57 PM

By providing a better infrastructure for cyclists and educating basic safety rules should be the first step before sanctioning any legislation to enforce on the spot fines.

Our government should look to the Netherlands for advice.

Here’s a short video about the historical problems the Dutch faced and why it’s now safer for cyclists and motorists to co-habit the streets.

http://video.repubblica.it/mondo/olanda-cosi-sono-nate-le-ciclabili/89068?video=&ref=HREC2-5

Mute Joseph Boshell
    Favourite Joseph Boshell
    Feb 28th 2012, 11:20 AM

We will end up with many roads like this…
    http://www.google.ie/search?tbm=isch&source=mog&hl=en&gl=ie&client=safari&q=cycle%20lane%20stamullen&sa=N&biw=320&bih=416#i=0

It’s difficult to make out in that pic but it was insisted that cycle lane be put in place so now the road is not wide enough for two cars to pass each other without driving in the cycle lane… Which is illegal.. Ridiculous

Mute keith
    Favourite keith
    Dec 27th 2013, 12:32 PM

IMHO putting cyclists with cars/vans/buses/trucks in the same space is more dangerous than cycling on the footpath. cyclist vs car = one dead cyclist – cyclist vs pedestrian, not so much.
    also consider cycling against the flow of traffic: why is it the recommended way for pedestrians to use a road if no footpaths are present? you see the threat approaching and are able to take avoiding action – same applies to cyclists.
    As a road user (walking, cycling & driving) its my responsibility to look out for my safety as well as the safety of others. that’s why when i’m cycling *and the conditions dictate* i will continue to cycle on the footpath or against the flow of traffic.
    I will also continue to wear a helmet, reflective vest and ensure my lights are on.

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Feb 28th 2012, 1:57 PM

Many of cyclist have dashed right in front of me on Pathways that is against the Law” as you can be Fined up to 40 euro “The Road is For cyclist” Not Paths where People and children or a blind man or old lady are walking on” as they could easily endanger that Person” there are Cycle lanes on The road” that is where they are meant to be driving on not the Footpath for the safety of the Public

Mute Ruth Oconnell
    Favourite Ruth Oconnell
    Feb 28th 2012, 8:58 PM

I think cyclists are a law unto themselves. Many of them are a menace on the roads. At night a lot of them dont have lights so they are impossible to see. And those guys wearing the cycling gear? They cycle up to three and four abreast with no thought for the drivers behind them. None of them seem to have heard that you tuck into the left hand side of the road when a car comes up behind to pass. We were always taught, never to cycle more than two abreast, and preferably in single file. In the city cyclists weave in and out of traffic like it was an obstacle course. Parents dont seem to teach their children anymore how to cycle safely. Kids dont have lights at night. They speed down hills. Weave in and out of traffic. Hang on to cars and lorries. Maybe cycling should just be banned altogether for everyones safety!!!! Thats tongue in cheek, by the way.