You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch TDs have a huge row about having nothing to talk about

The Dáil is wrapping up early today and the opposition aren’t happy.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

A ROW BROKE out in the Dáil this afternoon over the government’s decision to wrap up early for the week having run out of legislation to debate.

Opposition TDs slammed the coalition for not putting on more legislation to debate today.

The Dáil has now taken an hour for lunch, will resume for Topical Issues and then break for the week early this evening.

Fianna Fáil TD Robert Troy was furious at the decision.

troy

It’s unbelievable to think that we’re going to close this house due to the lack of debate and lack of legislation to come through and I suppose it’s another sign of spin over substance.

Responding for the coalition, the Communications Minister Alex White said that legislation that had been on the schedule had been debated and dispatched with this morning.

He said the debate had finished early because there were no speakers from the opposition benches.

As opposition TDs hit back across the chamber, government chief whip Paul Kehoe became particularly incensed.

kehoe

The Fine Gael TD repeatedly shouted that not one member of the opposition was in the chamber this morning.

Fianna Fáil’s Barry Cowen insisted he had been in the chamber.

cowen

But Cowen was told by White that his performance was “not actually persuading anybody”. The Labour minister added:

The government stands ready to debate these issues, but if there is nobody over there there is not a lot we can do.

Troy insisted he had been at a committee meeting, while Sinn Féin’s Sandra McLellan said she had been present for a debate on childcare legislation.

job

Then her party colleague and a particularly annoyed Jonathan O’Brien chipped in, telling the government:

I don’t know if your Christmas night out is tonight like and you want a half day or what. But there are various [pieces of] legislation coming before this house and you want to go home.

A vote was called, the government won and, a short time later, everybody went to lunch.

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 1.28.16 p.m.

WATCH: ‘A cute hoor form of politics’: Enda and Micheál had some strong words in the Dáil earlier

Read: Peter Mathews has just been kicked out of the Dáil again

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute declan o connell
    Favourite declan o connell
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:47 PM

Bunch of idiots!!!!!!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:05 PM

It’s the Muppet Show……

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:29 PM

A bit harsh on the Muppets

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:53 PM

“The main problem in any democracy is that crowd-pleasers are generally brainless swine who can go out on a stage & whup their supporters into an orgiastic frenzy—then go back to the office & sell every one of the poor ba5tards down the tube for a nickel apiece.”
    ― Hunter S. Thompson

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:27 PM

A complete embarrassment to the good people of this country.How could any other country’s leaders ever take us seriously.

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Favourite Toddimus Maximus
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:07 PM

Jonathan O’Brien had a fair point, the government are forcing through bills without any significant discussion yet they somehow have time for a half day

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Favourite Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:13 PM

There was a simple solution today. Take from next Mondays schedule what can be taken and stick it in for this afternoon. That was not done & TDS got more time off while still getting the same pay.

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:49 PM

Shower of f*****g wasters.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:53 PM

Straight to the Dail bar for a p*#s up.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:59 PM

Except for those who repeatedly call for the closure of the dail bar like sinn fein & aaa-pbp

Mute A Guy
    Favourite A Guy
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:18 PM

Sure Murphy doesn’t need the Dail bar he can head home to the folks wine cellar, him and the rest of the champagne socialists.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:19 PM

Yea because 3 bed semis in Kingswood have wine cellars…. (troll)

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:47 PM

Do you have to go to fee paying private school like Murphy to join the Socialist Party?
    Genuine question

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:07 PM

I see, Beano. You object to any politician who might be well educated? FF supporter, are you?

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:09 PM

I’m struggling to see how a politician who clearly had a privileged upbringing is fit to represent the working class people of Tallaght. He doesn’t know what they go through. It reminds me of the good old FF days where country politicians would be wheeled into working class areas a few months before the election, harp on about local issues then as soon as they get elected, are never seen again. Murphy’s Kingswood address is also a load of bull$hit. Is that supposed to fool people into thinking he’s one of us?

Mute Al Guy
    Favourite Al Guy
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:10 PM

I think that should be “schools” Beano,

St Kilians and the Institute or Education no?

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:31 PM

I’m struggling to understand what you want people with “privileged upbringings” to do, should they roll around in money whilst laughing at poor people and voting fine gael? Stereotypes do no service in politics & it’s sad you expect paul Murphy to fit one.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:54 PM

amazing how a stupid argument in the Dail has led to one here.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Dec 4th 2015, 7:30 AM

dail sebate has been a farce since fg/laqb took over, so no surprise that they have nothing to talk about and have to go home early

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:54 PM

The Comedy Channel.

Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:05 PM

Ye can slag all you want.. But be they Gov TDs, Opposition TDs, Independent TDs.. the facts are we voted for them and put them there. If you didn’t vote, then make sure you do next time.

Mute hsh
    Favourite hsh
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:51 PM

They’re who people voted for all right.

No excuses. The choices of the Irish people.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty

Based on lies and spin they got elected. Especially the labour sell outs. All pre election lies. Rewind the tapes of Gilmore and Kenny in run up to last election!! Very very embarrassing to say the least.

Mute Rashers Tierney

hsh. You might enlighten us as to who else there was to vote for other than those who presented themselves as candidates? Hobson’s choice was offered – how is that the general public’s fault?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Dec 4th 2015, 7:33 AM

ex fg td George lee saw it coming and decided he could not be part of a fg/lab gov who are anything but democratic, he did the decent thing and walked away from fg

Mute Alex Sheridan
    Favourite Alex Sheridan
    Dec 4th 2015, 4:23 PM

If you understood that the voting population is mostly made up of party loyalists and then around 20/30% of those who vote are non-loyalist but either vote because they fall for the spin (such as the elderly who miss out on a lot of political commentary and news available online which we take for granted!) and get their info from RTE and the Indo and they don’t have the exposure to online communities where they can take part in discussions like this.

That means that the main job of election candidates is to feed the bullshit to those vulnerable to media-manipulation and then hope they can make up the rest through uninformed/gullible voters.

So when you say -> ‘We voted them in’ actually no, I didn’t vote FG,FF,Lab or SF, I voted Independents only so my concerns are not necessarily being addressed by our government because my views don’t align with any of the coalition or main opposition parties. So that means me and people who voted in the same vein are not represented equally but proportionately, which in this case means pretty much not at all.

So I will complain that the choices of FG/SF/FF and Lab voters have caused me grief due to the actions of the parties they voted in.

I am perfectly just in complaining that my government is a bag of shit because I didn’t vote for these right-wing psychopaths. I voted against them by voting for leftists/center left’s only whose views aligned with my own.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Dec 4th 2015, 5:52 PM

Very well put Alan.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:50 PM

I am reminded why I uninstalled the journal app when I read headlines like this. Opposition argument was this: why take a half day off when there’s upcoming bills & topics to debate. One great example would be the spent convictions bills which I’ve been waiting years for. I know in a company when you finished the main task for the day you don’t leave early you move onto the next task

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Looney Leftie want’s the country to be run like a Company?! Lol.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:34 PM

Sorry but who doesn’t want the country to be more efficiently run?

Mute Gold for nothing
    Favourite Gold for nothing
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:50 PM

Let’s run it like a company then, that means let’s scrap inefficiencies and those that don’t contribute. So cut the dole for lifers and gradually decease it over time for everyone else, as is the European norm..

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:54 PM

Welfare fraud in Ireland was estimated at 1 billion euro in 2012, in that same year we missed out on up to 5 billion Corp tax, 4 billion financial transactions tax & an unknown figure for tax avoidance via loopholes. Yes welfare reform is welcome but I would be going for the biggest inefficiencies first

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:17 PM

A democracy, a society, should not be run like a capitalist company, where profit is the bottom line.

You’re digressing from your socialist/communist speaking points… very Thatcherite of you!

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:37 PM

Being left wing isn’t about ramming a particular ideology for the sake of it. It’s about prioritising the needs of the majority rather than the neoliberal ideology with FG of letting the market decide. Take homelessness for example , the left would use the state to solve the issue while FG is letting the market decide, and failing.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:54 PM

Nothing to debate??

Well fuk me!!!

Mute leon James
    Favourite leon James

FFS.Taking the rest of the week off. What a bunch of arrogant tossers.

Mute Hugo McCann
    Favourite Hugo McCann
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:50 PM

Clown College !

Mute Tommy Chen
    Favourite Tommy Chen
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:56 PM

so they’re arguing over nothing…..literally

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 1:58 PM

Opposition is arguing to move future topics of discussion to today given the alternative is taking the day off.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:16 PM

Was that what they argued when they eventually showed up? And any attempt to bring forward debates without notice would have them howling in the aisles. The main reason FG is still the biggest party in the country is nothing to do with their competence -it’s the complete incompetence of the opposition.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:23 PM

Opposition don’t all enter and leave the room at the same time. Many individuals there all morning, switch on oireachtas tv and watch back to 9am. Opposition can’t be “howling in the aisles” given they are the ones requesting things be moved foward. TDs are at home now doing nothing because of FG & LAB, nobody else is at fault.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:05 PM

@ Vote Left

The issue here isn’t just the Gov or just the Opp.

It is idiots on both sides playing “politics” in the worst sense of the word.

We all know Opp would scream blue murder about ramming through legislation if there was a deviation from planned order of events.

We all know Gov will just shrug no matter how valid Opp criticisms are.

And we can all be absolutely certain that they went and had lunch together straight after putting on this show for the cameras.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:35 PM

Well yea because ramming through legislation is wrong. That last paragraph makes no sense, if that was the case then mick Wallace would be having soup with alan shatter while gerry Adams & mairia Cahill have the chats at the table next to em.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:06 PM

@ Vote Left

I’ve got news for you – the row above featured mainly FF and FG – so it is 100% certain they had kissed and made up within minutes.

The Dáil is pure theatre – nothing else.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:47 PM

Sure its possible, both have similar policy & ideology. Mary Lou made a good point, Jonathan O’Brien of SF also said
    “I don’t know if your Christmas night out is tonight like and you want a half day or what. But there are various [pieces of] legislation coming before this house and you want to go home.”

Ill bet any amount there was no making up, kissing or lunch to be had after that comment.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Dec 4th 2015, 7:40 AM

fg as gov in charge set the agenda in the dail never mind having sean barrett to enforce their will. so opposition cannot be blamed for any of this fiasco. fg will have you think its everybodies else’s fault which is just disgusting as people go

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:08 PM

Why is anybody shocked by this?

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:33 PM

What a shower of overpaid wasters .. An embarrassment to us and Country ..

Mute Alan Walsh
    Favourite Alan Walsh

As I Watched this a lightbulb flashed in my head as The Realisation hit me on how this country’s government is constantly f***ing up & so disorganised ! I wouldn’t let them look after a dog for the weekend … Shower of bundling buffoons !

Mute Finnhorgan
    Favourite Finnhorgan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:00 PM

All that was needed was a chef from Sweden. . . A pig with attitude , and we have The Muppet show

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:11 PM

Classic and perfect example of why I said yesterday a FG/FF coalition wouldn’t last more than a few months at best. How could they work together when they are at each other’s throats on such a minor thing? Serious matters would collapse them in days as a coalition. During which time they would wreck the country further. Vote for either is a vote for more of this schoolboy namecalling imbecilic crap

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:25 PM

Take a look at lab and FG attacking each other in the 2011 GE campaign, look at Lab attacking FG in dail 2010. I don’t think it would collapse but I do agree with you it would further damage the country & yes vote for something different for once

Mute Brian Costello
    Favourite Brian Costello
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:12 PM

To be honest no one takes Paul Kehoe seriously.

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:59 PM

@Brian costello Kehoe is a right wing extremist clown who had no social training to be able to debate so he roars and shouts, a pure gombeen

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh

an argument in the dail about nothing…shock horror

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:02 PM

There’s a full schedule of bills, debates, leaders questions etc for next week. If the dail worked properly they would simply move next Mondays schedule to today, or at least the parts that can be moved. A bit of common sense would go a long way with this government

Mute damien o brien
    Favourite damien o brien
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:21 PM

I watched Hilary Benns speech during lunch and I just watched this. The contrast is depressing. Admittedly benns speech was an entirely different and more serious matter but I’ve yet to be inspired by anything I’ve ever heard from our dail.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:26 PM

Nothing inspiring from Hilary Benn, said the same thing when voting for ground troops in Iraq and look how that turned out. The senior Benn speaking against War in 1998 is a sight to behold

Mute Clodagh Carroll-Armenta
    Favourite Clodagh Carroll-Armenta
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:37 PM

My thoughts exactly, Damien. There isn’t a single TD that could stand up and make a reasoned contribution to any debate. No debates of any substance take place in the Dail. It says an awful lot about the state of Irish politics.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:40 PM

The dail could certainly do with improvements in all areas, the UK system of debate is certainly more exciting. That said some of the speeches heard in the past 5 years of the dail have been amazing. Take clare daly on repeal the 8th. Gerry Adams on the dail bar. Paul murphy on water charge sign up rate. Ming Flanagan handing the minister the piss water. Tonnes of excellent contributions but you’d need to look further than the 6 o’clock news

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:30 PM

Tony Benn would have had a stroke to see Hilary make the speech that he did.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:47 PM

Exactly

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Dec 3rd 2015, 9:57 PM

Is it any wonder when we elect the likes of Mattie McGrath, Healy-Rae et al.
    Most of them are glorified county councillors who are only interested in matters relevant to their constituency rather than engaging with any sort of national policy on anything and then they vote according to how a whip tells them, half the time not even knowing what it is they are voting for! The only exception to this is when a Bill affects either an interest group (i.e. farmers) or their constituency (closing an A&E in Termonfeckin Hospital or whatever) then they suddenly find ‘principles’.
    We must have one of the most lacklustre parliaments in the western world. Not only for the calibre of representative but also the restrictive parliamentary procedure and the woeful levels of attendance by TD’s at most debates. Next year we celebrate the centenary of 1916, I can’t imagine the leaders of that particular uprising, who were people of substantial intellect, looking at this boorish behaviour and thinking ‘ah yes, it was worth dying for’.

As Yeats said;

“Was it for this the wild geese spread
    The grey wing upon every tide;
    For this that all that blood was shed,
    For this Edward Fitzgerald died…”

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:28 PM

Periguin, agreed, with a small amendment- YFG a pox on the ar*se hole of society. Like our Downton Abbey reject JournalTD, also completely and beyond hope of joining the rest of us in real 2015 Irish Society.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:47 PM

Dairmuid… “Looney left” diagnosis is nothing compared to the current FG/LAB diagnosis they would receive if their mental status was to be assessed. Look up SOCIOPATHIC in a medical dictionary… It’s frightening just how accurately it describes the current shower in government. Seriously it is. 4 of the 6 criteria for a diagnosis of Sociopath are exactly accurate description of FG/Lab

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:03 PM

Circus of clowns

Mute Gerard Hannon
    Favourite Gerard Hannon
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:36 PM

The Govt chief whip Paul Keogh is the biggest trouble maker of the whole lot of them in there… There isn’t a row that takes place where he isn’t stuck in it !!!

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:31 PM

How about discussing legislation for prescribing cancer patients with medicinal cannabis or even hemp oil as there are a lot of studies proving it reinvigorates healthy cells in organs and actually battles tumors. It could also be a platform for medical advances across the board. Or discuss the shite pit that is our hse or damning hospitals. My mother had to wait 7 weeks for a radiation appointment at limerick regional and when she rang to find out what was the delay the oncology never send a report to the radiation department, I guess it slipped their mind because they are so under staffed. But argue about nothing ye useless shower of big pension chasing, self back patting clowns.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:32 PM

As well as pain relieve I might add

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Dec 3rd 2015, 3:01 PM

How about we have a debate in giving our unmarried fathers automatic rights to there children instead of telling them they have no rights or obligation towards there child besides giving there mother a few pound everyweek how about telling them they too have an obligation to look after this child just as much as the mother. In this country a man can walk away and never look back and the mother is left alone with the child and has to go to court to get a maintenance order to which he doesnt have to pay until there is an attachment order granted.

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:15 PM

Rained off

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:12 PM

Election will be soon. Anyone but FG/LAB…

Dec 3rd 2015, 3:56 PM

What a waste of taxpayers money. I suppose that lousy bunch have no intention of handing back their fees from the banking enquiry. Pure wasters they are.

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:53 PM

This is almost like the TV series The Office.

Mute Colleen McGovern
    Favourite Colleen McGovern
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:03 PM

How about a dead beat dad debate, it will end a huge percentage of child poverty/children’s essential needs.

Dec 3rd 2015, 2:23 PM

Your mother!

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:01 PM

Fg and lab are doing a fantastic job, such a shame the rowdy uncivilized folk that are against us cannot behave like gentlemen. They have debated the issues previously and do not see the need on a day of repeating themselves, patience is needed and people will have to accept that.

FG and LAB are a blessing

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:11 PM

Oh how great another troll account, like we don’t have enough of them.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Dec 3rd 2015, 2:18 PM

YFG are a pox on society.

Dec 3rd 2015, 2:25 PM

Lovely sarcasm there, love it…

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:20 PM

The whole lot of them are a big joke

Mute Carol Richardson
    Favourite Carol Richardson
    Dec 3rd 2015, 4:16 PM

Absolutely disgraceful.

Mute Denis Kaye
    Favourite Denis Kaye
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:02 PM

and the ass-clown circus continues … this country is a joke.

Dec 3rd 2015, 2:24 PM

Lip reading is fun…ny.

Mute Amy Ni Dhaltuin
    Favourite Amy Ni Dhaltuin
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:18 PM

In order to debate, you need people to turn up. Our Dail is nearly always near empty. Its an embarrassment. It shows how important TDs believe sitting in the chamber actually is. Its just a complete farce. As much as I am disappointed with the British government today, they at least make it look like they represent their people by turning up for the job.

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:29 PM

Quality! Overpayed tossers

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Dec 3rd 2015, 6:56 PM

I watched this farce on TV earlier, these goons going on about climate change, all they could argue over was the setback of wind turbines while over our heads on an almost daily basis we are subjected to weather manipulation in in the form of stratospheric aerosol injection from US Transatlantic flights, deputy Troy has been made aware of this and ignores his constituencents, independence rain water tested that conflict completely with EPA doctored reports. These TDS have no social training abd act like a bunch of chimps in the Dail.

Mute Liam O' Leary
    Favourite Liam O' Leary
    Dec 3rd 2015, 9:52 PM

Bunch of ar3eholez

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 3rd 2015, 7:47 PM

Nice to see FG and Labour taking up for each other. Wheres the sick bucket.
    God what people will do to be re elected it’s horrifying lies lies LIES.
    What a bunch.
    I just hope people don’t fall for it.

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Dec 3rd 2015, 9:43 PM

Having watched the speeches in the Syria debate in the UK Parliament yesterday and then looking at this shower today….embarrassing