You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/gabriel12

Garda investigation after man attacked, abducted and driven across border

Three men and two women were arrested on Sunday evening in Co Tyrone.

GARDAÍ  HAVE LAUNCHED a witness appeal following the assault and abduction of a man in Co Donegal on Sunday morning. 

The man (30s) was assaulted by three men at a house in Oak Park, Convoy at around 11.45am. 

The man was then forced into a grey Mercedes Benz C Series (09 MH 17020) which subsequently drove away from the scene.

Following reports that the car may have crossed the border, gardaí were assisted by the PSNI  in a search of the North-Western Region.

The man was found shortly after 5.30pm in Convoy and taken to Letterkenny University Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries.

Three men and two women were later arrested following the discovery of the grey Mercedes outside a house in Castlederg, Co Tyrone by the PSNI. 

An incident room has been set up at Letterkenny Garda Station and a full investigation is now underway.

Gardaí are appealing for any witnesses to the incident and for any persons that may have observed a Grey Mercedes Benz C Series (09 MH 17020) to contact gardaí.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact Letterkenny Garda Station on 074 916 7100, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

9 Comments
    Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    May 7th 2020, 7:31 PM

Government: Download this app we can use to.trace your every move.
    Everybody: Yaaaay!

Mute PlasticPaddy
    Favourite PlasticPaddy
    May 7th 2020, 7:55 PM

@Adam Conroy: 44 likes for a completely false statement (unlike UK app the data is held on the phone}) and you’d wonder how the country functions at all, the amount of weapons walking around

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    May 7th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Adam Conroy: Dead right. Please lock me down. All shams

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    May 7th 2020, 9:02 PM

@PlasticPaddy: if you are happy to trust this government with your personal movement data then good luck to you. I have no intention of doing so.

Mute Aidan Haughey
    Favourite Aidan Haughey
    May 7th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Adam Conroy: it’s Bluetooth

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej
    May 7th 2020, 9:38 PM

@Adam Conroy: you’re dead right, they won’t allow the app to be open source for developers to improve it/find any fatal flaws or issues which instantly raises red flags. Also it’s worth noting they have probably spent 10s of thousands on IT consultants and developers to develop the app when I guarantee there are 100s of app developers and companies that would have jumped on the publicity opportunity to make the app for free…. Definitely something shady going on

Mute Tanks a Minion
    Favourite Tanks a Minion
    May 7th 2020, 9:56 PM

@Peej: Australia has used Singapore’s app, with some modifications. Why can’t Ireland do similar?

Mute Rosa Lopez
    Favourite Rosa Lopez
    May 7th 2020, 10:37 PM

@Adam Conroy: if you get in the luas and seat next to someone who is covid 19, would you not be happy to be told? Would you not be glad you can spare passing the virus to your mum, dad or anyone who is at risk?
    Do you think people passing the virus are sociopaths who are aware of what they are doing? People are passing the virus because they don’t know they are sick, finding out early will safe lifes.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    May 8th 2020, 12:00 AM

@Rosa Lopez: that’s precisely the psychological blackmail to force people into giving up their privacy to the state. There are limits to everything and this is one of them. Especially when it will be shared with the north aka with the U.K. government with a desperate track record on civil liberties. No.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 8th 2020, 5:13 AM

@Rosa Lopez: “who is covid19…”
    Problem is that in near future nearly everyone will be covid19. What then?

Mute Nigel Lane
    Favourite Nigel Lane
    May 8th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Adam Conroy: You are more than likely sharing a lot of personal and location data with private companies already simply by owning a device connected to the web through WiFi or mobile data. Then there are the many, many apps/sites that track and store your data every time you use them. What are your specific fears about contact tracing?

Mute the cook
    Favourite the cook
    May 9th 2020, 11:00 AM

@Rosa Lopez: false positives…. Flawed testing…

Mute the cook
    Favourite the cook
    May 9th 2020, 11:14 AM

@Rosa Lopez: false positives Rosa, flawed Testing… Viruses come and go and so will this one. Don’t give up your freedoms so quickly and easily….People get sick, most people will recover., this is part of life etc etc.

Mute MrMagoo
    Favourite MrMagoo
    May 7th 2020, 8:06 PM

What has truly amazed me about Covid 19 is how willingly people have given up their freedoms without argument. How they have accepted Govt statistics without question. How they have allowed their livelihoods to be destroyed without challenge.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    May 7th 2020, 9:05 PM

@MrMagoo: not everyone. I’ve no intention of putting any tracing app on my phone.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    May 7th 2020, 9:23 PM

@MrMagoo: Lots of people now even asking for more restrictions .. crazy.

Mute Nikolina Fiume
    Favourite Nikolina Fiume
    May 7th 2020, 9:24 PM

@Adam Conroy: Do you know who Edward Snowden is? :)

Mute Ron Kingston
    Favourite Ron Kingston
    May 7th 2020, 10:15 PM

@MrMagoo: perhaps you could furnish us with your more accurate statistics.

Mute Jjohn Cconway
    Favourite Jjohn Cconway
    May 8th 2020, 1:50 AM

@Adam Conroy: you don’t need a tracing app on your phone Adam for your location to be known. If you currently use a smartphone then your location is already known at all times. Either through logging on to wifi, which is like sticking a pin in a map, to using 4G data which pings to the nearest mast and so establishes your location.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 8th 2020, 5:20 AM

@rosetheone: Over 31k people die in ireland every year. Roughly 85 people a day or 2,600 a month. That is average number from last 5 years. Before whuhan virus.
    Politicians and media wants you to think that that number now doubled or tripled “beacuse covid” – but nope. Still the same average.

Mute Gavin Lynam
    Favourite Gavin Lynam
    May 8th 2020, 11:10 AM

@Adam Conroy: “ive no intention of putting any tracing app on my phone” no one cares where you’ve been, its in case you get yourself infected and they’ll need to track your steps. But now they wont be able to because of your tin foil hat.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    May 7th 2020, 7:40 PM

I’m confused. A previous article stated we had surpressed the spread of the virus, now they’re rolling out a contact tracing app. Door, horse, bolted

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    May 7th 2020, 7:59 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: you know it might actually be useful in keeping further potential waves suppressed or do you think this is the only one? The ignorance is astounding.

Mute Paul Quirke
    Favourite Paul Quirke
    May 7th 2020, 8:29 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: my oh my you are easily confused

Mute Ridiculous
    Favourite Ridiculous
    May 7th 2020, 8:37 PM

@Ricky Spanish: you’d want to apologise for calling her stupid

Mute GinandJetfuel
    Favourite GinandJetfuel
    May 8th 2020, 10:39 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Slowing the impact of the initial wave of infection has been a success. Now we have to be ready for the 2nd wave once restrictions are lifted, followed by a 3rd wave over the Winter

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    May 7th 2020, 7:50 PM

Google monitors us enough….
    No thanks.!!

Mute Nigel Lane
    Favourite Nigel Lane
    May 8th 2020, 12:34 PM

@Eddie Michael: You can’t see how this could be extremely helpful in managing the spread of the virus now and in the future?

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    May 7th 2020, 7:28 PM

Arlene says no

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    May 7th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Vin: she’s not the only one

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    May 7th 2020, 7:38 PM

@Euro McPúnty: You already give your data to countless organisations for free, who sell it and transfer it.

This is at least transparent

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    May 7th 2020, 10:31 PM

@Vin: how do you know?

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 8th 2020, 5:22 AM

@Vin: What is transparent on proprietary app?

Mute GinandJetfuel
    Favourite GinandJetfuel
    May 8th 2020, 10:40 AM

@Euro McPúnty: How many times a week do you agree to accept cookies or the Ts&Cs of an app or website?

Mute Eugene
    Favourite Eugene
    May 7th 2020, 7:41 PM

300 + people arrived here today from god knows where and going to Ballygowhereveriwantto! And what does the gov.ie do off with you!

Mute Tanks a Minion
    Favourite Tanks a Minion
    May 7th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Eugene: Until new arrivals are forced into two week quarantine, the virus will not be beaten. It has worked in Australia, along with a lockdown that is not as restrictive as Ireland’s.

Mute Nick Reddin
    Favourite Nick Reddin
    May 7th 2020, 7:52 PM

He can feck off

Mute Chris Meade
    Favourite Chris Meade
    May 7th 2020, 8:43 PM

This is a common sense, modern approach for an issue in a modern world.
    The old dinosaurs in our country won’t like it, but I would rather it than the terrible anxiety when I have to go do shopping.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    May 7th 2020, 9:07 PM

@Chris Meade: if you’re prepared to give your freedom and privacy to the government in exchange for peace of mind then off you go.

Mute Chris Meade
    Favourite Chris Meade
    May 7th 2020, 9:13 PM

@Adam Conroy:
    I have come to terms that owning a phone, having google home in the house, using WhatsApp, commenting on here are all ways of doing that voluntarily.

I’ll read the information on how the data is used before agreeing to use the app, but I’m confident in the abidance of the rules laid out with GDPR.

TR
    Mute TR
    Favourite TR
    May 7th 2020, 11:35 PM

@Chris Meade: zero prosecutions related to GDPR in Ireland ever. WhatsApp is encrypted.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    May 8th 2020, 5:27 AM

@Chris Meade: If this is all you need for aleviating your anxiety do not read further and enjoy your medicine…

But… This app will help you to know known cases while you will be feeling falsely assured that you are safe shopping with person who has no idea they have virus as they were never tested… Happy days.

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    May 7th 2020, 8:49 PM

The people worried about privacy whilst using the new contact tracing app are probably the same people that played “what are my favourite words?” on Facebook

Mute CAMILA REMONA
    Favourite CAMILA REMONA
    May 7th 2020, 7:37 PM

Over my dead body…..oh wait…..

Mute The Ayurvedic
    Favourite The Ayurvedic
    May 7th 2020, 8:17 PM

No space on my phone. Regardless good luck with that.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    May 7th 2020, 7:33 PM

Ulster says Never Never Never

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    May 7th 2020, 7:42 PM

Can’t see the Provos falling for that

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 7th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Symbolism: government tracing app , what could possibly go wrong. Not on my phone…

Mute Eric Polter
    Favourite Eric Polter
    May 7th 2020, 8:16 PM

@flamrock: I wonder if they have app version for my Nokia Asha 201?

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 7th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Eric Polter: the most powerful phone that ever was..no matter where u are u get a signal.

Mute Paddy Hopper
    Favourite Paddy Hopper
    May 7th 2020, 8:10 PM

I guess the government should have thought of that before breaking an agreement to consult NI exec prior to making major policy announcements. Oh at letting regina Doherty insult half the population on the Airways.

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    May 7th 2020, 8:36 PM

Get the Nokia 3210 out

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    May 9th 2020, 11:26 PM

@AOL: I’ve still got mine – anyone need one?

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    May 7th 2020, 10:15 PM

Yet another massive fail by Harris and Co in this crisis. An app potentially does have a role but much more clarity and transparency needed from the outset on how data will be used, stored etc and what the return will be for the public. Problem is the governments track record on contact tracing and testing has been such a shambles trust is at an all time low. This is being perceived as something brought in under the radar which will absolutely push people away. Well done Harris.. Yet again.

Mute Nigel Lane
    Favourite Nigel Lane
    May 8th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Toon Army: In what sense is this under the radar? It’s well-known! And people will have to voluntarily download the app themselves.

Mute Jmc
    Favourite Jmc

Theres a serious amount of snowflakes on here my god.

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 7th 2020, 10:19 PM

@Jmc: you should have been here yesterday.there was a blizzard, with ice too.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd

I’m surprised they didn’t go for cctv ..

Mute Dave Horan
    Favourite Dave Horan
    May 8th 2020, 12:38 AM

All the lads who cant stay off social media every day, who give google and facebook access to their information, now crying on social media, when our gov want to use technology that will monitor a tiny piece of their life to protect other people. Muppets.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    May 7th 2020, 9:10 PM

Where has my earlier comment about Varadkar ‘s statement in Dail today about norths minimum wage????

Mute Gordon Walsh
    Favourite Gordon Walsh
    May 7th 2020, 11:02 PM

Unfortunately it won’t work, the people who should install it (self obsessed narcissists who don’t care for their fellow citizens) won’t install it – not installing the app will be used as an act of defiance against the government.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 7th 2020, 9:22 PM

Bit late at coming onboard Simon but ur welcome to the next all Ireland conference where you can join in the debate. Plenty of unionists are why not FF and FG?

Mute Gareth
    Favourite Gareth
    May 7th 2020, 9:09 PM

Bit late!?

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    May 7th 2020, 9:43 PM

Off turn off mobile

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 7th 2020, 10:21 PM

Don’t want the app, but I have a killer receipt for pancakes.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    May 9th 2020, 11:27 PM

Are there not going to be versions for Android and even Windows phones? It reads as if it’s only an Apple app?

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    May 8th 2020, 12:53 PM

No

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    May 8th 2020, 10:47 AM

He can have it, no way am I putting a tracing app on my phone, we are already subjects of a nanny state.