You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin Castle Gate Shutterstock/Pekka Nikonen

Members of the public WILL be allowed into Dublin Castle for the vote today

Results from both of yesterday’s referendums will be announced from the location.

IT HAS BEEN announced that Dublin Castle, where the count of the same-sex marriage referendum and the presidential age referendum is taking place, will be open to members of the public today.

The decision was made last night by Simon Harris, Minister of State with special responsibility for the Office of Public Works (OPW).

While access to the Count Centre is strictly by ticket only, members of the public will be able to gain access to the Upper Yard, where the results of the referendum will be shown on a large screen.

The facility will be able to take 2,000 visitors and the space will be marshalled for health and safety reasons. If the space becomes full to capacity, the yard shall then be closed.

Speaking about the decision to open it, Minister Harris, said, “I am delighted to confirm that my office, the OPW, continues to facilitate visitors to Dublin Castle today. While counts for the two referendums are taking place in the Conference Centre, the Castle remains open to the public as usual.”

Votes will this morning be counted in 27 centres around the country.

Dublin Castle is a hugely significant destination and has been witness to many historical events and I have no doubt that all visitors today will enjoy and appreciate the surroundings and the ambience.

The decision was welcomed by Dublin Fianna Fáil councillor Paul McAuliffe, who earlier in the week wrote to the Minister asking that the gates of Dublin Castle be opened.

“This is a campaign that has captured the hearts and minds of much of the electorate, and it has inspired many people who have never been involved in politics or civil action to get involved for the first time. It is only right that these campaigners are given a place to gather and hear the results come in,” he said.

Pics: Ireland voted like it has never voted before

Also: Polls closed: Here’s a snapshot of the turnout across the country

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Doug Leddin
    Favourite Doug Leddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:50 AM

Nothing would be achieved. Blame pointed to everyone.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:56 AM

@Doug Leddin: I think finger pointing is going to be happening either way with the current dail numbers though.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:12 AM

@Doug Leddin: not in favor dissolving the office into a watered down version would also dissolve the power of it

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Favourite Daimhín De Naois
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:22 AM

@Doug Leddin: fully agree! Itd be a waste of time. Another election is coming…!
    On a side note, did anybody see the RTE clip of Leo’s fella at the vote count two nights back speaking as gaeilge….completely off his bin? Face contorting like he’d just sniffed pablo escobar up his nose! How has there been nothing said about it?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Daimhín De Naois: what do you think should be said about it?

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:33 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: perhaps highlight it to Varadkar and the question asked??simple, no? the partner of the ex taioseach is at the counting station off his face and considering there was a young lad chopped up not so long ago due to drugs and gangland criminality do you think its a positive element?

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 12th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Doug Leddin: FF and SF got the same number of TD’s elected, But SF had a larger popular 1st preference vote. FF had a free seat for the Ceann Comhairle but can he vote for Taoiseach? Based on that, the people have decided Mary Lou should be Taoiseach and Micky Martin knows it!

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Feb 12th 2020, 2:22 PM

@Daimhín De Naois: so because you think he looked like he was on drugs then he must have been?

Mute Daimhín De Naois
    Feb 12th 2020, 2:36 PM

@John Meade: have you seen the clip John?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 3:31 PM

@Angela McCarthy:
    Martin is desperate to be Taoiseach. He doesn’t want to be the only FF leader, who didn’t get to sit on the throne. If he doesn’t go into coalition with FG, he knows he will have to step down, without a Taoiseachs pension. He needs that pension to scrape by on in his old age.
    But let FFGL go into coalition together and watch the government fail. And when that happens, we WILL have a majority one party government. See how they like them apples

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Feb 12th 2020, 3:43 PM

@Angela McCarthy: SF won the most votes, yes, but three-quarters of those who voted didn’t vote for SF, and more than one in three didn’t vote at all. So in fact, SF got votes from about one in six of the electorate – better than they ever did before, better than any of the other parties, but not exactly an overwhelming mandate for Mary Lou to be taoiseach!

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:49 PM

@Doug Leddin: Previous ones rotating on a spit…. the shower of greedy b@stards.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:43 PM

@Lesidees: 88% of SFs candidates got elected whereas 45% of FF’s candidates got elected and 43% of FGs candidates got elected!

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Angela McCarthy: ah, Sinn Fein supporters need elementary lessons in politics

Number of seats returned : FF 38 , SF 37 . Everyone knew that the Ceann Comhairle gets back in . FF have more seats. There are no special prizes for how you get into the Dáil ,whether it’s first count or 9th and fail to meet the quota . SF vote won’t mean any added extra during a voting session because they got a nice vote share, which goes up and down each month

1st preference vote is irrelevant . No body remembers it .it only returned 1 TD .ask Willie O’Dea, king of 1st preference votes at every election, now was ,some how chasing a SF he was in court against a few years ago. Who’s likely to have a seat in government ? Willie or Maurice (if both are to form a coalition

Joan Collins got a pathetic 2,000 first preferences. FF girl had 4,500. Yet thanks to PR ,Joan got a seat and Ardagh did not .

Stupid girl . Go back to school

Mary can not form a government with her preferred choices. Banks won’t work with SF led government . Justice and Defence won’t tolerate a SF minister at either .

Martin will be Taoiseach . They might even commit treason and form an official coalition with FG and kick SF into the opposition benches

Mute Gavin
    Favourite Gavin
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:53 AM

Playing musical chairs to protect the delicate egos of the respective party leaders while boosting their pension pots and producing a less effective government? No thanks

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Gavin: You are now seeing the complete breakdown in trust in the political system, FFG have dragged it down to such a level people will turn to anyone that might actually govern for the people and not their big business buddies……ripoffs across the board all making the usual parasites rich…..people have had enough and want serious change.

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:49 AM

@Peter Hughes: O…K…I am not a Fine Gael follower however let’s be honest here. They cleaned up the stables after the last FF fiasco, yes we all paid for it, I know, big business thrived, all referendums succeeded, Ireland has a voice and respect, in this landscape of change many were overlooked and lost in the system, now there is an opportunity to bring all of this to the forefront, build social housing, improve the health service without flattening the middle classes who are the backbone of the country , without losing big business and investments, so hard won. FF should not be allowed to run the country unbridled, and SF will need guidance on the path to wiping out homelessness. A steady hand is needed

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 3:54 PM

@helen walsh: And the inept Leo should lead the country and put Harris back in charge of the health system, Murphy to continue as Minister for Sleep Bags and Tents For All. I have also no doubt that he’d put that yoke Doherty back in her role, as Minister for fk the OAP’s and their massive €5 rise every year, that is bankrupting this country. I don’t think so, and if that does happen, there will be hordes of hard pressed people banging on the gates of the Dáil, demanding their heads on a plate. It will make a difference, to the citizens of this country, being served up on a platter for big business and bankers….no thanks.

Mute James Browne
    Favourite James Browne
    Feb 13th 2020, 12:37 AM

@Ann Reddin: He would have a job and a half putting Doherty back in due to the fact she lost her seat.

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:52 AM

Hell no! Get the shinners into government and let them deliver on their hyperpopulism. It’ll hurt us all but it’s important to show reality v expectation to the protest vote.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:57 AM

@Sim0n: I’ve noticed something pretty insidious on the Journal since the weekend. There are broadly two camps of commenters. People who want to see SF succeed for the sake of the homeless, the sick and those in poverty, and people who want to see SF fail, for the sake of their party.

What a horrible way to be.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:58 AM

@Sim0n: what a strange outlook. No matter who i vote for i hope the government of the day does a good job.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:00 AM

@The Risen: SF don’t have a magic money tree. They won’t be able to do much for this people.
    On top of this all the signs are showing that house building is already ramping up so if they mess with that they could cause a bigger problem!

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:01 AM

@Brian Dunne: Its worse than strange,its nasty and infantile.

Mute Bill Clay
    Favourite Bill Clay
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:09 AM

@The Risen: there is a difference between wishing someone bad and having a realistic prediction of what is going to unfold. If sinn Fein achieve all they have promised they will have another vote come the next election from me and I’ll be delighted. Realistically though a lot of people (including myself) are very pessimistic that they can eliminate USC, lower taxes, build 100k homes in 5 years that doesn’t create another ballymun of the 60s, solve the housing crisis, solve homelessness, not alienate multi nationals and run them out of the country, increase enterprise and employment stay firm on crime and not embarrass us on the world stage .

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:11 AM

Lads aspirations are great but that’s about it. As I said, get SF into government and prove me wrong. Id be delighted to be wrong but they’ll sink the country by implementing their ‘one for everyone in the audience’ manifesto. Far more economically competent minds than mine have warned they’ll do great damage.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:19 AM

@Sim0n: “Id be delighted to be wrong”

Course you would. We’ve seen the anti SF venom you’ve been spitting here non stop.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:20 AM

@Sim0n: You lot couldn’t predict the election result with the nation roaring in your face.
    Still haven’t a bulls notion.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:27 AM

I cant understand your pessimism. In 2006, there were over 93,000 homes built in that year alone. USC can be eliminated at the stroke of a pen. Homelessness can be resolved in 5 years. Please read SF fully costed manifesto. This is costed by the same Department of Finance that costs FG and FF. Remember, it was FF who humiliated Ireland in the global stage, never forget that.

Mute PAULIE G
    Favourite PAULIE G
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Sim0n: simple simon

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Sim0n: Sim0n would rather see children eating pasta off paper plates in O’Connell street, and old women eating a luke warm meal on that is perched on a shop front window sill than see the “Shinners” succeed,… something sociopathic about that….No wonder he is a good fit for Fine Gael…

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:36 AM

@Joe: no magic money tree…All proposals costed and seemed doable by the dept of finance…but you already knew this, didn’t you?

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:36 AM

@The Risen: I admire your dedication to protecting Sinn Féin at all costs. I also admire my own dedication to calling out their hyperpopulism. I imagine “we” will see plenty more of both.

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:37 AM

@Noely Kelly: *deemed doable

Mute Dom Layzell
    Favourite Dom Layzell
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:38 AM

@Ian Breathnach: Absolutely, let SF in to deliver. As I said Monday on this site, no if’s but’s or why’s!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Noely Kelly: that’s a lie about the dept of finance, even Mary Lou didnt claim that

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:24 AM

@The Risen: It’s almost like Brexit in the UK, we’re not fkin British I wish they’d all just go take a few Valium or something.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:31 AM

@Sim0n: Simon you’re a sick pr*ck

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:39 AM

@Sim0n: oh really? Who. I’d love to read these economically competent minds. Please post links to them. I’d be delighted to read their opinions.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:41 AM

@Sim0n: still a Dick in defeat

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:27 PM

@The Risen: and we’ve all seen the insidious brainwashed utopia propaganda b o l l o c k s you and all the other sf social media lynch mobs have been spouting on here for years, rev_irl, blaming people non-stop without being able to offer any viable and sustainable solutions and hiding behind the usual crap that Denis O’Brien controls everything and RTE won’t give sf a voice and when they do they dismiss it. Well, of course they do, because it’s all rhetoric that can and should be ignored. We’d all be delighted if your lot could deliver on their promises, but they won’t, they’ll fall victim to big business like you claim everyone else did, or if they don’t, there will be no business left with meaningful presences in this country and you’ll be up the creek without any paddle. Even then you still won’t accept that the sun doesn’t shine out of the backside of sf after all. Don’t come crying on here in 6months time blaming FF/FG when sf discover that they can’t actually deliver on their promise.

You might be tired of the “anti SF venom” but believe me, there’s many, many more of us tired of your and your gang’s bull s h i t.

Go on, have a go, form a ‘left’ government and make it last for more than 18 months. If you do we’ll all be very happy because it’ll either be all unicorns and happy times or you’ll have proved everyone right and you’ll end up with 15 seats in the next Dail.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Noely Kelly: actually, genius, don’t hang your hat on that “fooley” costed rubbish, the actual letter from the dept in return to that magic manifesto and the alternative budget heavily caveat-ed them. But, you knew that as well, didn’t you.

In short, dept said all elements basically needed tweaking and even then not all would be “doable”.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 12th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Sim0n: Well done Simple Simon, I hope you are going to stick to that battle cry and tell all your party TD’s in FG to vote for Mary Lou for that top spot!

Mute DK Innovation
    Favourite DK Innovation
    Feb 12th 2020, 2:04 PM

@The Risen:
    The campaign is over you can relax now… This about governing.
    You can’t blame anybody who wished them bad luck if SF can’t deliver. This isn’t a football match and the crowd is against you

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:07 PM

@The Risen: SF told a pack of lies to get votes. They fooled working class who spend more time drinking and shouting up the ra than actually doing something constructive like work or keep their family off the welfare . Talk is cheap when it ain’t their money .

Now they want to come and try to destroy all the hard work the middle class have put in to get the country on its feet again, with their comic book theories .

Any luck, when they do fail, and they get Disciplined , it will be with a bullet ,just like how they dealt with their Enemies

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:09 PM

@Noely Kelly: Simon made his comment with the full knowledge that SF won’t succeed. Time you stop listening to fairy stories . Santa is not real

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:16 PM

@DK Innovation: lol. Govern what ? No one won ! No one has the power to govern without being imposed with heavy restrictions . This is half time, another election will be held within 2 years

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 13th 2020, 7:09 AM

@Joe: there’s the northern Bank money

Mute Lar
    Favourite Lar

Sinnfein are still IRA supporters. The IRA blew up children and shot mothers of three in the back of the head. They also murdered our local gardai!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

They shot a six month old baby dead while sitting in her parents car in Germany in 1989.

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:47 AM

@Lar: you still digging history from 48 years ago???
    Mary Lou, Pearse Doherty, Eoin O’Brien, Louise O’Reilly were either in nappies or hasn’t been born yet…
    Just how far do you intend to go back
    As far as the Fascist Fine Gael roots???

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:52 AM

@Noely Kelly: Mary Lou commemorated a Nazi collaborator with a convicted murderer in Fairview Park. Pearce Doherty reacted to the killing of Lyra McKee by opining that the latest version of the IRA might “besmirch” the name of the Provisional IRA. So to answer your question of how far back, its all quite recent. That’s why you have Cullinane shouting “up the ra” and Mary Lou already talking about border polls.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:54 AM

@Noely Kelly: at the 2004 Ard Fheis, following on from a concerted campaign by SF to have them released, a standing ovation was accorded to the killers of Garda Gerry McCabe.
    Eoin O Broin, David Cullinanne, Brian Stanley Paul Donnelly Pauline Tully and Mary Lou, all recently elected for Sinn Fein were senior members of the party at that time were presumably at that Ard Fheis and applauding with the rest. It’s not the past.

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Sim0n: you.hear ” up the Ra” at football matches….it was said I’m a pub late at night, OF COURSE Mary Lou is talking about a United Ireland, it has been the ambition of the party since it’s inception!?
    And is catered for in the GFA agreement, especially with the chit show that is Brexit,
    The EU have ALREADY stated that a United Ireland would be.welcome into the EU.
    As for Nazi’s,….Fine Gael actually SENT men to figtt for the fascists in the Spanish civil war,
    Do your research , know your history

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Sim0n: Can’t help yourself, can you?

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:06 AM

@The Risen: Pesky facts, eh Risen?

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Sim0n: I note they dont refute these facts any more, they just shoot the messenger.

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Noely Kelly: I mentioned yesterday that “up the ra” and border polls wasn’t the reason Sinn Féin received a jump in support. I’m well known ( to SF supporters here at least) for being critical of SF. It received over 1000 up votes. In my opinion if SF mistake peoples demands for ‘change’ with tacit approval of their foundational goals they’ll lose support. They have over promised big time.
    As for “Fine Gael” sending men to fight for the fascists, you evidently haven’t done any research yourself. They were anti communist and pro church. The only fighting they did was against their ‘own sides’ soldiers. They were a drunken joke and were withdrawn and disbanded..

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:17 AM

@Connoroconner: That’s standard procedure here lately. Naturally, I only redouble my efforts as a result!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner

@Sim0n: you and me both.

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:25 AM

@Sim0n: If this is what your redoubled effort looks like, you shouild probably take up some other pastime. All you do is repeat the same hackneyed soundbites that has seen SF become the most popular party in the state.

Mute Lar
    Favourite Lar
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:36 AM

@Reg: Overlooked that attrocity myself Reg! I’ll continue listing these details (including then one you highlight) at every opportunity on the Journal, Twitter etc.

If some people have forgotten or overlooked the recent past, they need to be reminded, cintinously if need be…

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37

@Sim0n: your efforts to do what exactly Simon? What is it you hope to achieve?

It seems reasonably obvious you’re not at work all day. So what is the goal here? Redouble you’re efforts to what?

Mute Lar
    Favourite Lar

@Connoroconner: They are indeed vile Gardai killers And many FF rural TDs will resign from the party if they go into coalition with SinnFein IRA. People should not insult these garda memories, murdered by treacherous traitors and cowards..

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:58 AM

@Lar: LMFAO!! yeah, your Twitter account is really blazing a trail there mate, same Tripe regurgitated daily…not one interaction with anyone… and not even one like in the last 4 days…you’re like stale bread at this stage

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:00 AM

@Noely Kelly: they were roaring up the ra less than a week ago
    Celebrating murdering terrorists is not cool.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:41 AM

@Noely Kelly: When the Historical Sexual Abuse inquiry was on going did people say “Why are you digging this up? It’s in the past!”
    If a murderer is convicted of a killing they committed 20 years ago, would people say “Sure that was in the past why are the Gardai bothering with this now!”
    So should the Widows and families of Garda Gerry McCabe and Prison Officer Brian Stack and every other Garda and Civilian victim of the IRA terrorist campaign in the Republic, just say “It’s in the past so let just forget about it!”
    But tell us what was “Political” about Armed Robbery, Extortion, Smuggling, Kidnapping, Money Laundering etc? We rightly call people who do these things today “Criminals”, “Thugs”, “Gangsters”. And they will be remembered as such long after they are gone. So what is the difference between what they are doing now and what the IRA and now members of Sinn Fein did in the past?

Mute Luke13
    Favourite Luke13
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:59 AM

@Lar:

I could care less about their history, it does not affect my well being.. They could go poo in the middle of the street for all I care.. As long as we starting to have a fair deal for everyone, not just the privaleged

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Feb 12th 2020, 3:08 PM

@Sim0n: under the last government how many women died and are dying from the cervical check scandal? How many patients have died on the trolley’s around the country? How many cancer patients are neglected everyday? How many very sick children are on trolleys in CHC? How many disabled people can’t get service while the FAI get 20 million? How much is the new hospital, with the cost of this and the bankers bailout every person in the Country could have had a couple of million each but NO instead we the people have to pay for it. I wouldn’t have been a SF supported in the past I did vote for them and what they did give me during the election campaign was HOPE something I have not felt in many a year. As a survivor of religious/industrial abuse and the full time family carer of a special needs child all I have ever gotten from them was depression and no hope of anything. I wish them well and if they have to come back to the people because certain parties won’t talk to them the electriate will be very angry and I hope they will make them pay at the next election.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:06 PM

@Lar: And FFGL were complicit in allowing the RAPE, MURDER, AND TRAFFICKING
    of innocent children, by the “church” FFGL are irreversibly drenched in blood. So before you start throwing stones at other peoples glass houses, I suggest you start with your own.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:09 PM

@Ann Reddin: Ahh sure that’s all in the past!! Why are you digging that up! Time to move on!
    Isn’t that the SF mantra? Or is that only for SF?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:18 PM

@Lar: Read my comment above. FFGL are even worse, for turning a blind eye. The “church” murdered thousands of babies and they knew it, but kept feeding that particular machine. Blood, blood and more blood, for DECADES.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Noely Kelly: They refuse to condemn them and they STILL HIRE MANY OF THESE MURDEROUS swine as party workers

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:26 PM

@Ann Reddin: ask Gerry Adams what was he doing when his brother was under suspicion of the exact same thing ? Ask him how did he react when people from his own family came to him about that

The scandals are abuse are cross party ,cross society ! What did YOU do about the rumours you most certainly would have heard in your youth. ? You kept your head down and said nothing just like many others in society .

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:58 AM

No to Mary Lou. Actually maybe yes, let her shake hands with the royals, British PM etc. Will destroy their image among their skanger supporters.
    Then the protest voters will realise what a mistake they made and that will put them back down for another 20 years!

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire

@Joe: Ah Joe , your taking this very bad.
    Poor soul…

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns

@Joe: Your just as bad,but it’s cool , your just another troll !

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach

@Joe: oh look, it’s a brand new skummer account. Dirtbag.

Mute Noely Kelly
    Favourite Noely Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:54 AM

@Joe: Martin McGuinness shook hands with the Queen and was lauded worldwide for it….and it didn’t put them back one step …in fact it moved Sinn Féin forward by a thousand steps, opened a lot of people’s eyes to the fact that Peace was arriving in the island of Ireland ……explain that to me, …
    Your blind hatred for anything remotely to do with Sinn Féin is stunting your growth..let go of the hate , you probably weren’t even born when the trouble’s were ongoing , you are just jumping on the bandwagon

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:45 AM

SF had most 1st preference votes so it’s Mary Lou the people want as Taoiseach

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:33 PM

@Kath Noonan: Irrelevant. Fianna Fail have the most seats, so Martin should be Taoiseach.
    Popular vote is irrelevant. Do you think Hillary Clinton won the US Presidency too?

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:31 PM

@Kath Noonan: SF only got 35% of the electorate vote where only 65% of same voted. Maths is not the strongest suit of Shinners it seems.

Ff have more seats. Get in line ! If FF was spiteful and deranged, they could do a deal with FG comfortably enough and call a few Independents like Naughten and Grealish and there would be nothing that SF and the left could do about it

1st preference votes

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:50 AM

Imagine saying yes to this poll

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:38 AM

@Brian: Yes … Troika appointed Taoiseach every 3 years …. until our crowd cop on

… seems only way to fix the daft Irish Political Parties who cant identify what the majority of citizens require in a decent fair society!.

People are not angry with Politicians …they are Furious!

Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Feb 12th 2020, 2:15 PM

@Brian: The Taoiseach is not for turning.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:08 AM

Bad enough having to pay massive ex Taoiseach pensions to one person rather than two. No thanks !

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F

Yes … Troika appointed Taoiseach every 3 years …. until our crowd cop on

… seems only way to fix the daft Irish Political Parties who cant identify what the majority of citizens require in a decent fair society!.

People are not angry with Politicians …they are Furious!

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:12 AM

Well, if they are rotating, it would make it easier for them to do U-Turns.

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:53 AM

Oh what a MERRY – GO – ROUND we have

Mute JR Robinson
    Favourite JR Robinson
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:16 AM

So then everyone gets a Taoiseachs pension then…
    Thats really smart…….

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris

@JR Robinson: that’s the least of our problems

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:30 AM

Question should be , do SF. want to end up like the Labour Party the peoples votes were not meant to be shared with those corrupt parties .
    The tide is turning , Now lets wait for the sun to shine then and only then can SF. go and do the job . Even if it means another election now .

Mute Cian Rynne
    Favourite Cian Rynne
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:55 AM

Imagine how unstable that would be, and how unwilling the one that was Taoiseach would be to give up the title 6 months in.
    Even if enacted there would still be the senior and junior partner just as there is now with Taoiseach and tanaiste.

Mute Michael Curran
    Favourite Michael Curran
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:30 AM

Yes the great spinning Leo, worked on the rest of the world but not on the country. He’s tasted fame and power so he’s not going to be happy in opposition.
    SF they have the bottle to propose reducing the perks and privileges, of current and previous members ,of this self serving club
    What a start

Mute roberto Mankini
    Favourite roberto Mankini
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:53 AM

Mary Lou can sit and swivel as far as I’m concerned.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:32 PM

@roberto Mankini: What a disgusting, misogynistic comment. You should be ashamed of yourself. and your mother should be even more ashamed for rearing an obnoxious, odious, little man. You stay classy

Mute John Looney
    Favourite John Looney
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:55 AM

It would mean all of them would get a taoiseachs pension

Mute Oliver Jumelle
    Favourite Oliver Jumelle
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:19 PM

No because I don’t want baby face Martin period!!

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:44 AM

only if they were rotating over an open fire

Mute Brendan p
    Favourite Brendan p
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:33 AM

Maybe we should invite the troika back… they did a great Job the last time.e

Mute Divad Nayr
    Favourite Divad Nayr
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:25 AM

FF responsible for more deaths after crash and stole more money than anyone from Irish people. Sine Fein like amateurs towards FF.

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    Feb 12th 2020, 1:30 PM

@Divad Nayr:
    How about you back up some of your words with some evidence…

There is plenty showing SF connections to guys that murdered children…

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Cowboy Paddy: LOL, let me back that up for you. There are tens of thousands of mothers out there, that don’t know where the babies that were stolen from, are. Were they murdered (see unmarked graves and cesspits, where babies were discarded like irrelevant rubbish. Were they murdered, were they sold? And that ALL happened under the governance of FFGL. They are soaked, from head to toe, in innocent blood.

Is that enough “back up” for you???????

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Cowboy Paddy: Did I mention people dying on trollies, because they couldn’t get the care they needed, thanks to FFGL policies? And, did I mention the thousands of suicides, thanks to FFGL policies.?

Mute Shelly E
    Favourite Shelly E
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:39 AM

How about a new election between the parties and we’ll see who the people want as leaders ! Doing up 8 counts of votes is crazy , 3 is plenty .

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney

Mary lou pulling out the feminst card every time mehole says something she doesn’t like ,just like that shambles of a debate last week ..they are both looking to better the other ..these idiots have to realise it’s about ruling the country not a slagging match ..we have heard enough BS from our over paid politicians

Mute Cork Truck Driver
    Favourite Cork Truck Driver
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:59 AM

Martin would be the first FF leader to either not be Taoiseach or having to share the role, not something him or FF would want. Not something i would want either.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:49 PM

@Cork Truck Driver: Martin couldn’t care less, he wants that pension at all cost’s and he most certainly doesn’t want to go down in the history books as the only FF leader that didn’t get to be Taoiseach …. watch this space.

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:32 PM

FF/FG and a few independents do the job. Shinners and assorted unstable leftie groupings need to be thwarted and kept back from the levers of power until they have the critical mass needed to govern

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Angry_Man41:
    The FF Haughey Government was Republican so what is wrong with a SF/ FF Government?

Mute patrick malone
    Favourite patrick malone
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:13 AM

Mary lou in for first 18 months and then pull the plug

Mute Damian Mac An Bháird
    Favourite Damian Mac An Bháird
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:23 AM

Yeah great idea. Which head civil servant came up with that. Disaster!!!!

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:00 AM

We don’t need another spinning taoiseach!!

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:50 AM

That is a stupid idea.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:59 PM

We need term limits. We need a us type system. 4 years in office then election. They get to stay in power to long.

Mute Kendra Jackson
    Favourite Kendra Jackson
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:14 AM

When I hear ‘rotating Taoiseach’, the only phrase that comes to mind is ‘sit and spin’

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Feb 12th 2020, 2:39 PM

I’d prefer anybody who could do the job with the self serving attitude

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Feb 12th 2020, 1:50 PM

And presumably the taxpayer would be funding two Taoiseach salaries and pensions? Why note rotate all ministers job least someone misses out on the gravy train?

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:09 AM

Only if they were on a rotating spit.

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Feb 13th 2020, 5:20 AM

All i want is the deal laid made by Brian Lenihan SENT BACK TO THE EU as FG and lab mandated in 11 AND TD doing work they were elected to do in the place they were elected to do it in DAIL EIREANN and not streets. ( eg water chages) .

I blame MEDIA as much as TD for not holding TD accountable to promise if elected to DAIL not Govt.

min is expending and i do not see legislaton on statute book for that object. Perhaps Journal ask TD under what legislation is the interest being paid out in the IMF/EU Programme. Money that cld be used for housing. Money that shoud not be paid out if TD had delivered on the mandate of 11 that deal until terms approved by dail ?

The test for S F now will the be conditIon attached to their VOTE and the votes of every TD in DAIL on the election of a New Taoiseach.

Will they require the next taoiseach taoiseach minister for finance to lay a bill before dail eireann requesting it permission to accept the terms of B Lenihans deal and dail, take back control of the public fund loan and deal (how the deal be sent back is by way of a bill laid before dail req its permission to accept )

OR

will it be another arrangement between parties under which GOVT continues to administer the fund under the terms of the deal and no change to terms ( no work being done by on changing terms cos DAIL not involved no accountability to dail cos deal govt admin fund ) eg Term the INBS be merged with Anglo Irish bank in whose favour promissory note made and that term still in place. .

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:46 PM

Ridiculous idea . No true leader would tolerate a rival ,a spoofer or a pretender to take what Is theirs. It’s not play school, it is not everyone is a winner … your party didn’t get more seats than another, you lost .