You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"Keep cyclists alive alive-oh": Hundreds of cyclists protest outside Department of Transport

The protest is being organised by the Dublin Cycling Campaign, and kicks off in Dublin city centre from 5.30pm.

unnamed (1) RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

HUNDREDS OF CYCLISTS gathered in Dublin this evening to call for more funds to support the country’s cycling infrastructure.

The demonstration, which was organised by the Dublin Cycling Campaign (DCC), began at Government Buildings on Merrion Square, weaved slowly around Stephen’s Green, and stopping outside the Department of Transport on Leeson Lane in the south city centre.

DCC said that the protest was being held to draw attention to the fact that “cycling continues to get the crumbs at the table when it comes to overall national transport spend”.

The crowd, made up of families, working professionals, and public representatives, chanted ‘ten per cent’ – referring to the funding target they want increased – from the current 0.5%.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan took part in the protest, while the Green’s Ciaran Cuffe gave a rousing speech outside the Department of Transport to the crowd, who sang:

Keep cyclists alive, alive alive-oh.

‘Crumbs at the table’

DCC cites the fact that of the near €10 billion earmarked for transport in the Government’s Capital Investment Plan (CIP) for the next five years, just €100 million has been allocated to so-called ‘active travel’, or sustainable transport such as cycling and walking.

facebook Facebook Facebook

Damien Ó Tuama, national cycling co-ordinator with Cyclist.ie, the Irish cycling advocacy network, says that the low-level of funding is the “overarching problem”.

“If you don’t have money allocated to cycling, nothing will happen, that’s what it comes down to,” he says.

“Securing funding is what we’re after,” he adds, saying the government needs to make clear where it stands with regard to the 2009 national cycling framework “which shows how you transition from where we are to a situation where everyone cycles all the time”.

We’re talking cycling training, cycle-friendly road design, driver behaviour moderation, all these kinds of things.

The protest’s organisers are expecting at least 500 cyclists to attend this evening, with speakers such as Ó Tuama himself and Dublin councillors Andrew Montague and Alice Mary Higgins set to give the crowd their two cents.

“With the most recent government we’re not sure what type of priority they’re giving to cycling,” Ó Tuama says.

You can’t just ditch decades-long plans like this.

The single largest investment in the CIP regarding transport is the construction of Metro North, the new rail line between St Stephen’s Green in Dublin city to Dublin Airport, which is estimated to cost in the region of €2.4 billion.

€6 billion meanwhile has been allocated to improving the national roads network.

With reporting from Darragh Peter Murphy 

Read: Wiggins lashes out against ‘ludicrous’ calls to make TUEs public

Read: London to copy Dublin as UK capital plans to ban HGVs from the city

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

189 Comments
    Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:14 PM

What exactly is the point of holding a protest aimed at a government department, at 5.30 in the evening? They have all gone home an hour ago.

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:11 PM

@Ben McArthur: most don’t even turn up, never mind going home at 4:30

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:09 PM

Senior managers are there until around 545. Sorry to rain on the populist ill-informed! Lower grades work a fixed number of hours but can shift those hours within certain limits so they could be gone by 530.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:13 PM

What about the TDs?

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:32 PM

F@&k knows!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:54 PM

@Methinks: Unless senior managers are elected every five years and have a fear of losing their position, I don’t think they’d give a flying fig about protests.

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:58 PM

Some are some aren’t. Depends on the issue and the managers. Facing reelection can lead to poor short term decision making as well

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Favourite Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:37 PM

Dear Cyclists,

This is an open letter to you from the pedestrians of Dublin City.

Red means stop cycling. Please allow your fellow citizens cross the road when the pedestrian light is green and 99% of motorists have stopped,whereas 50% of you fly through the red light. We just want to arrive at our workplaces safely.

When we point out to you in a polite manner that the traffic light is red and you have broken the Law again,please refrain from telling us to fcuk off,we all get annoyed when someone,especially a stranger points out our wrongdoing,but most of us can internalise it and not scream abuse at our fellow citizens whom you have almost maimed. We do not expect an apology,but some modicum of decorum would be such a nice surprise from time to time.

Please cease from using pedestrian footpaths in extremely busy city centre locations where there is heavy footfall during rush hour,if you look slightly to your right or left you will notice a perfectly empty and recently made cycle lane for your,and our,convenience.

Please familiarise yourselves with the Rules of the Road for the first time,a basic understanding of the three simple colour codes on traffic lights and at pedestrian crossings,as well as hand signals,will ensure we all feel much safer in our city.

Finally,if you insist on turning up to work like a bellend in Tour de France or Giro Italia gear,try more subtle dark colours,so as to cause less annoyance to the rest of us,

Signed,

Muintir na hÉireann.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:48 PM

Dear Tariq, I’ll wear what I like, so fcuk off and mind your own business.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:55 PM

Oh my.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:18 PM

Tariq do you have a problem with people wearing premiership jerseys, or GAA fans wearing their county jerseys, or is it just cyclists, (who unlike the previous two jersey wearers mentioned, are actually taking part in a sporting activity) who annoy you? If so it says more about you than them.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:20 PM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad:

Dear Tariq,

Here is a video of cars breaking reds at a single junction in Dublin. Remember, this is just one junction. Please watch it all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWC8sT06Zi0&ab_channel=bobgoodbear

If you think cars are angelic souls who are strict obeyers of the rules, you are mad. A car is a privilege and a responsibility, it does not matter what a cyclist or pedestrian does, the motorist has the highest responsibility on the road. Your comment feeds into the notion that all are equal on the road, but this is not the case. Cars are death machines, if you cannot follow the rules to the letter you should not drive, you should not park anywhere but where you are legally allowed, you should not break speed limits, drive drunk/high, drive aggressively. Harsh punishments need to be put on motorists, because the only thing that will change the attitude of many is the fear of losing their care, not the safety of others. When you have had cars deliberately drive at you for not being on a cycle path that has cars parked in it you will realise how dangerous it is for cyclists. No excuses, car drivers need to cop on. There’s a reason children are allowed cycle bikes but not drive cars. Pity so many motorists drive like children.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:29 PM

@jimmyjoe a sporting activity? Cycling to work? Maybe that’s part of the issue with the speeding and racing through red lights. Do motorists feel the need to put Formula One stickers on their cars as they drive to work or dress like The Stig?

@John Smith,I don’t drive but I’m not almost knocked over by a car every morning on my walk to work,cyclists on the other hand….

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:14 AM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad:

Try walking on the road instead. If you are not on the road you have no experience of it. Did you watch my video? I am almost knocked down by a car on every journey on my bike. The difference is if a car hits me the likelihood of serious injury or death is huge. 9 cyclists have been killed by cars this year, last year 12. 10 of the 12 last year were cause by vehicles.There was 166 deaths on Irish roads in 2015, but with only 2% of the population cycling to work that year the figure for cyclist deaths is massively disproportionate. How many pedestrians have been killed by bicycles? (The answer is zero, but a lot have been killed by cars). All responsibility on roads must be placed on cars, they are the ones that kill and must be treated with much tougher penalties and restrictions. If you can’t drive a car to the exact letter of the law you must be removed from the road, for you are a real danger to the population. No excuses, regretting you actions after you kill someone is not enough.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:30 AM

How many of those deaths were as a result of reckless law-breaking cyclists John? I noticed you’ve conveniently omitted the cause of these deaths. Do you honestly expect me or anyone else to believe that you don’t adopt the daredevil approach yourself at times,take the ‘odd’ chance? Pull the other one,fooling nobody.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:42 AM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad:

Zero. Yep, actual none. You want to compare cars and bikes like they are equal, but not bikes and pedestrians. Bikes shouldn’t be on the footpath, but the comparison of danger between a cyclist and a pedestrian and a car and a cyclist are in no way logical. It doesn’t matter what a bike does, the car should be the most aware. This moaning about cyclists breaking the rules is a moot point, no one has been killed by a cyclist, but all but two have been killed by a motorised vehicle. Last year, out if 166 deaths, 164 were caused by motors. 1 in 82 was not. What does that tell you? A person is in control of a vehicle, they should always be able to stop. I don’t care what you believe, trust me, I care about getting killed for the simple action of using pedal power to get myself from a to b. If you cannot treat those on the roads that are not cocooned in metal with internal bags of air to cushion you if you crash with the utmost respect and humility you need your privilege revoked. It doesn’t matter about helmets, lights, cycle paths, whatever other excuse you use to justify why you drive bad, it matters about your actions. Of course the thing that will keep a cyclist the safest is not a piece of protective gear or reflective clothes, it is a camera. Expect this to increase in the future until all cyclists will use them. A car won’t be so bold when there is evidence of their actions.

Mute Stephen Hinchy
    Favourite Stephen Hinchy
    Oct 4th 2016, 11:55 AM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad: As a regular motorist, cyclist and pedestrian in Dublin city I have to say that you cant point the finger at cyclists or motorists for being dangerous without mentioning the fact that most pedestrians have their heads firmly planted in their own arse. Pedestrians are generally like lemmings, crossing the road at dangerous places and times and expecting that they have the right of way. Every day I cycle to work I have to be 100% alert to the fact that some idiot is going to step out in front of me on the road or on the cycling lane because they dont hear a car coming they just go without thinking there could be a cyclist coming. I narrowly missed someone last Friday who stepped off the curb into the cycling lane and gave me the dirtiest of looks when I had to jam on the brakes and swerve around them.

Anyway, everyone needs cop on, not just cyclists or motorists.

Mute Mark O'Cúlar
    Favourite Mark O'Cúlar
    Oct 4th 2016, 9:12 PM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad: Well done Tariq for taking on the burden of speaking for the whole of Ireland. Many a politician has tried and failed at that. You have a bright future making decisions for others based on your vast “common knowledge”.

I’m a motorist, a cyclist and a pedestrian. Perhaps you can change my mind, which is based on my 20 years experience of navigating Dublin traffic, when I say that you are unqualified to preach about the dangers of cycling? The danger is predominantly to the cyclist. Jaywalking is not illegal in Ireland, but it is certainly dangerous. We all need to be wary when using the roads. The most important rule of the road is to watch out for other traffic. This applies across the board and is a better focus than targeting specific road users as dangerous. Roads are dangerous. Be safe, use the Safe Cross Code!

:)

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 4th 2016, 11:16 PM

@Tariq ibn Ziyad: Dear Tariq, F**kk off and mind your own business. What happens in Ireland has nothing to do with you. If people want to wear skin tight, canary yellow lycra gear, that’s their business not yours. Please feel free to continue to ruin Bradford with your silly beliefs.

Mute Dublin Rover
    Favourite Dublin Rover
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:02 PM

The investment could be funded by fining cyclists who break red lights.

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:06 PM

@Dublin Rover: good one, original too . you must be a comic

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:29 PM

Dublin Rover the biggest offence on our roads is people using their phones, 70000 convictions so far

Mute Derek Byrne
    Favourite Derek Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:57 PM

Couldn’t agree more. I’m a cyclist and nothing pi**es me off more than a cyclist breaking the lights. Usually the same people who have headphones on with no helmet and hi vis. Garda need to issue more on the spot fines before a major crash happens.

Mute Dublin Rover
    Favourite Dublin Rover
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:04 PM

It wasn’t meant to be funny, ask anyone who has been unfortunate to crash into a cyclist (and vice versa) breaking a red light.

Mute Dublin Rover
    Favourite Dublin Rover
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:30 PM

They should also be fined. Not saying we need to replace one fine with another

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:31 PM

And/or a annual registration fee!!!

Mute O'Callaghan Stephen
    Favourite O'Callaghan Stephen
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:40 PM

@Derek Byrne: i agree those who break the lights should be brought to book but helmets are a choice. I dont wear one and no one is going to force me to wear one when I cycle.
    We live in a free country not communist canada

Mute Rothar Man
    Favourite Rothar Man
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:23 PM

Or by cars that break the lights?

Mute O'Callaghan Stephen
    Favourite O'Callaghan Stephen
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:35 PM

@Rothar Man: its mostly cyclist..in fact im the only cyclist i know who does not break light.. every cyclist i see does it

Mute Paul McNevin
    Favourite Paul McNevin
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:36 PM

And motorists who break lights, for bad driving, illegal parking etc, etc.

Mute Mrs parrott
    Favourite Mrs parrott
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:55 PM

It would be paid for by next Friday.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:02 PM

Our fining drivers who use phones, block bike lanes , drive in us lanes, accelerate through red lights etc

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:45 PM

No issue with fining cyclists for breaking lights, provided we treat all road users the same. Including fining pedestrians for jay walking.
    I often go just before the lights change (when I have learned their rhythm I wait for the opposite light to go red and move during the gap before my light goes green). I do this partially for safety, particularly at busy junctions it’s good to get out before the traffic behind you, so you know you can be seen.
    I never cross when there is a pedestrian light on…. But I accept that some people will have an issue with it and wouldn’t do it if I was at risk of being fined.
    However, I have twice recently while doing this, been abused by pedestrians who themselves are jaywalking and they don’t seem to see the irony.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Oct 5th 2016, 2:25 PM

What is Jay walking? ;)

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:03 PM

That was kept very quiet! If they wanted numbers they should have given some notice.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:04 PM

I’ll only make it if I break all the lights on the way. See yis there lads!

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:08 PM

What’s worse? Breaking a light really slowly when there is no pedestrians or traffic? Or motorists staring straight through cyclists and harassing them. There are only two types of motorists who complain about cyclists, Terrible drivers and idiots.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:09 PM

I do both by the way and motorists treat cyclists like shit.

Mute Mrs parrott
    Favourite Mrs parrott
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:53 PM

Are cars allowed to break lights really slowly when there’s no pedestrians or traffic?

Mute Peter Smyth
    Favourite Peter Smyth
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:02 PM

No, but it’s much easier to control a bicycle. Also when a cyclist turns left it doesn’t impede incoming traffic.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:09 PM

Mrs Parrot cars break red lights all the time, I saw four yesterday. They accelerate just after the lights change to red to get through before the cars coming the other way start to move.

Mute Gavan Quinlan
    Favourite Gavan Quinlan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:38 PM

@king Tut: there was a social media campaign that ensured big numbers.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:49 PM

Peter Smyth: In a car, one can quickly change from turning left to turning right, and visa versa … that is NOT easy to do on a bike travelling at any sort of speed. Why are so many cyclists so anti-motorists when they are so blind to their dangerous treatment of pedestrians?

Mute Peter Smyth
    Favourite Peter Smyth
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:07 PM

I’m not a cyclist, I’m a motorist. Cars are more dangerous, simple physics.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:33 PM

Cars can cause more damage than bikes,but cyclists are more dangerous than motorists,this is common knowledge.

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:41 PM

Tariq, this is a serious issue. You’re clueless, f#$k off ok

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:02 AM

Another angry cyclist using foul language,please don’t put us in A&E when you’re out on the bike emily,if you’re that aggressive on a keyboard Lord knows what damage you could do on two wheels.

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:17 AM

That doesn’t even make sense. Btw there was 9 cyclists deaths by vehicle and if I can recall there was one by bike. And that Ped was in cycle lane. So how exactly are they more dangerous? For sure not based on facts..

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:25 AM

Joe,I suggest you research the cyclist to pedestrian injury ratio and stop harping on about cars to hide the recklessness of bike users.

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:50 AM

Well give me a link to that report you are signing bout. I was talking deaths because it’s smaller numbers. Injuries by cars are in hundreds. There isn’t a report on Garda page in regards to cyclists injuring pedestrians or actually killing someone. Because there isn’t a significant %

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 4th 2016, 7:52 AM

I’ll tell you why I’m so aggressive towards you Tariq, it’s because some cyclist hating gobshíte like yourself, I’ll informed and with an over inflated sense of entitlement on the road, could possibly kill me some day, and justify it to yourself because I’m a cyclist and a legitimate target in your mind.

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Oct 4th 2016, 8:05 AM

Tariq – how do you define danger? If it isn’t cause more damage?
    I am genuinely concerned reading your comments that you dislike cyclists so much that you are a danger to them.
    I would encourage you, just once to cycle into town, safely and as slowly as you like, to see the genuine danger that cyclists face every day.
    Most people on here cyclists and non-cyclists agree that those cycling on paths and (unless it is because the cycle path just ended and there was no other option – happens twice in Smithfield) breaking pedestrian lights are ars£holes and should be fined
    But you seem to be dangerously angry and I think getting on your bike might give you more perspective.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:16 PM

Rather than just nominal facilities, can we get them built to a decent standard. There are so many cyclists who don’t use what is already there because they are not fit for purpose.

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:11 PM

Fully support this. No point building a bike lane that appears and disappears and stops at lights every 50meters. And then not maintaining it.

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:32 PM

The cycle lanes throughout Dublin are a mess, deployed in an ad-hoc hodge podge where they just abruptly end and then force cyclists to merge with pedestrians or cars. Lanes seem to be placed in a tokenistic or nominal way to give the appearance that we are a cycling friendly nation, but it’s just not the case in big cities here. It’s a symptom of bad urban planning and our national obsession with car ownership that means cyclists will never be seen as equals on the road.

That said, if cyclists want more funding, then there needs to be some kind of conversation on the behaviour of cyclists. I know they feel victimised by motorists, and I can see why in many ways, but in other ways they really don’t help themselves by doing the same to pedestrians and showing a total disregard for the safety of themselves and others.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:48 PM

Would cyclists please use off road cycle paths where provided. There is a well maintained cycle overpass on the n4/m50 junction. Lovely to cycle on. But the amount of cyclists who persist in ignoring it and insist on weaving between lanes of traffic is frightening. This is not an anti cycle rant as I have both bike and car.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:57 PM

@Valthebear:The problem is so many cycle lanes are terrible cyclists ignore them even when they are good. Unless you know where a cyclist is going the cycle lane that looks perfectly good may make it very difficult to get where they need to go.
    If I was to go one route home the cycle lane crosses 8 roads that I have to stop at versus the road where I don’t cross one. It then crosses the main road goes against traffic on the path and then stops.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:16 PM

@kal ipers fair enough Kal. But there are many fine purpose built cycle lanes like the completey safe n4/m50 or Clondalkin Grange Castle route which are recklessy underused by cyclists

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:55 PM

@Valthebear: There is nothing reckless about cycling on the road! I don’t know the route but as I have never seen a well designed cycle lane in this country I doubt what you are saying.

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:14 PM

If you are cycling 20km or more and have to constantly stop because the cycle lane disappears. Why would you use it? Totally impractical so I stick to the bus lane unless the bike lane has equal priority to the road. Engineers need to use their heads when designing these otherwise these lanes are useless tokens.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:15 PM

Cyclists are the true victims here. Imagine being asked to stop at a red light. The f*cking cheek.

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison

Val, if you got off your arse and cycled in one of those cycle lanes you’d know that often they are in terrible condition. It is not mandatory to use them

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert

It is always reckless, and completely inconsiderate of other road users, to cycle in the road if there is a cycle track available. Always. Always. Always.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:49 PM

@emily davison: I’m not trolling. It’s a deadly serious issue. Every time someone rides in the road when there is a cycle track available they are disrespecting every road user starting with themselves. They’re showing that they have no regard for the safety of ANYONE on the road, not even themselves.
    They make rationalisations (that’s a fancy psychology word that means “excuses” in plain English.) about their reckless behaviour such as “there’s glass on the cycle track” or “it’s bumpy” or “I have to go 10 feet out of my way at every junction” or “I have to stop more frequently” These are all bogus arguments. If the tyres on your bike can’t handle riding over whatever condition the cycle track is in, then you have the wrong tyres on the bike, or more probably the wrong bike.
    We have tons of people out there riding bicycles on the road that are only suitable for riding in a velodrome, and that’s just nuts. If your bike belongs in a velodrome, keep it there and get a bike suitable for riding on roads and cycle tracks to ride on roads & cycle tracks.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:52 PM

@kal ipers Doubt away Kal. Unfortunately these threads tend to degenerate into a them v us slagging match. The new cycle routes I mentioned are indeed well maintained, separate from the road and are either enclosed or segregated from motor traffic by fencing. Clontarf coastal path is quite good too. Try them some day, I have no problem cycling them. But still a certain cohort of cyclists refuse to use them, imperilling themselves and others .

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:52 PM

Todd. If you were driving on a road with two lanes and in one lane you could to work in 30 mins and in the other it took 45 mins. Plus in one lane you could relax into a routine but in the other you had to keep moving in and out and looking over your shoulder. Which would you use?

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:57 PM

@Methinks: Let’s see… given that if it takes me only 50% longer, but I almost completely eliminate any chance at all of being killed, or of someone ELSE being killed because I’m being an inconsiderate ass… I’d spend the extra 15 minutes on the safer path, and so should everyone else.

Mute Methinks
    Favourite Methinks
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:06 PM

I gave you the benefit of the doubt, Now you’re just trolling. Your argument is that I should inconvenience myself so I don’t inconvenience you. Go away.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:13 PM

@Methinks: No. My argument is that *EVERYONE* gets inconvenience as little as possible, while *EVERYONE* enjoys maximum safety, and *EVERYONE* ends up respecting everyone else. You have just as much MORAL responsibility as a cyclist, not to endanger other road users, as every car driver ,and so does every pedestrian. You apparently choose not to live up to yours.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:33 PM

@emily davison I cycle as well as drive Emily. So I suggest you put your arse on your bike and cycle down those lanes I mentioned. They are in excellent condition but are routinely ignored by cyclists who insist on using the multi lane roads beside them. It’s the common sense of safety. A little give and take by all helps.

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:40 PM

@Todd Hebert: Cycle lanes are more dangerous than the roads. I wish more drivers did a bit of research without coming out with this nonsense. Cycle lanes are shunned cos we have no National Standards. The roads are safer. You could have checked this for yourself and didn’t bother so I suspect you just want to hate cyclists.

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:58 PM

@Jayo Breathneach: It’s a matter of safety. The road is safer. Fewer yields, fewer junctions. Using the cycle lane is riskier, that’s why the cycle lanes are shunned. They’re rubbish.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:00 PM

Todd, if a cyclist isn’t using the cycle path it’s because it’s not fit for purpose. I use the full length of the n11 between shankill and town every day and there several places I can’t use the cycle path because it’s poorly maintained , littered with glass etc

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:05 PM

@brian magee: Or are shared-use, so you have kids, dogs, pensioners milling around.

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:39 PM

Todd – I am both and motorist and cyclist. And before i cycled I too thought that cycle lanes ‘eliminate risk’. They absolutely do not.
    Many paths cross other roads, often multiple times, cars are not looking for cyclists on paths as they turn into these roads/drive past the stop sign/yield sign before stopping further up.
    On top of that cycle lanes as well as all the issues mentioned by others, very often have cars parked in them, pedestrians walking in them or simply end, forcing the cyclist back onto the road.
    In both instances above the driver is not looking out for the cyclist and thus danger for cyclist is massively increased, then a situation where the driver can see the cyclist at all times (even if they are mildly inconvenienced by having to go by them).
    The final point is that cycle lanes are not mandatory (just as bus lanes are not mandatory for buses but are there for convenience). Beeping at cyclists for not using them and delaying you for a fraction in passing them, often causes shock to the cyclist which is way more dangerous than the fact the cycle lane isn’t used.
    In saying all the above I am not excusing the idiot cyclist that breaks the law. Not using a cycle lane tho is not breaking the law.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:20 AM

@Augustus hoop:

The danger when you are not using a cycle lane that is provided for all the valid reasons listed above cars think it is acceptable to swerve at you as a punishment. Happened to me with a taxi last week, he pulled in with about an inch to spare in front of me. I was so angry that if I had caught up to him I would have dragged him out of the car by the head. I’m not an angry person but when someone uses a car as a means to intimidate it gets your goat. An in-experienced cyclist would have come off the bike. And a taxi is supposed to be a professional driver, some of these guys need their licenses removed, they are a dangerous menace on the streets.

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:21 AM

Or like several off road cycle lanes that just end. That’s it. They just dead end. Usually in junctions sometimes even for no reason even on straight streets. So how the hell are you supposed to get somewhere when the road just ends?

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:25 AM

You make me laugh mate. Go from Crumlin to Tallaght only by using cycle lane. I will give you any bike you want from my shop with any kind of equipment. You won’t make it half way. Bet ya that bike! #DublinLovesBikes

Mute Aidan O Brien
    Favourite Aidan O Brien
    Oct 4th 2016, 7:08 AM

The cycle lane on the n4 is full of glass and debris. Yesterday there was a Garda car and bike blocking the whole lane! It is not well maintained I cycle it every day to work and I’m forced to use the bus lane

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Oct 4th 2016, 7:58 AM

Yeah I’ve had the car swerve at me punishment – once by a van, who then waited further down the road for me to pass to try again. The other time by a taxi.
    Even if I was doing something illegal (which I’m not) – swerving at someone can (and will sometime) kill or seriously injure someone and for what? In both instances they were able to and did pass me…..

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:08 PM

the entire country is gone to pot. everyone’s on strike, no houses, shite health service. I know it’s off topic but bike facilities and infrastructure as beneficial as they are surely must be way down the pecking order.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:28 PM

You’re missing the point

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:52 PM

So invest in nothing until the health service is fixed? Good plan

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:06 PM

But, but, but … THEY DON’T PAY ROAD TAX!

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:13 PM

What’s Road Tax? I’ve heard of Motor Tax all right, the bigger the engine the more you pay and all that. But Road Tax?

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:21 PM

People who walk to work don’t pay motor tax, should we take away their pedestrians traffic light and paths. It’s frightening how much of a silly comment yours is.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:21 PM

May surprise you Ben but a lot of cyclists also own cars and pay road tax

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 4th 2016, 11:22 PM

@David Kelly: Pssst, I’ll let you into a little secret. They don’t pay road tax

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 5th 2016, 12:51 PM

@king Tut: Sorry king tut, *Motor tax

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:09 PM

Get cyclists to pay tax and insurance for their bikes and use the money for bike lanes.

Mute Patrick Yore
    Favourite Patrick Yore
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:16 PM

I pay road tax but I also cycle my bike into town from time to time and some of the cycle ways are a death hazard…,Most cycle lanes are just a white line drawn on the footpath…no proper layout..disgraceful….it’s like council decide we are putting in a cycle lane and send some lad out with paint brush and white paint

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:18 PM

What’s Road Tax?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:19 PM

I bet if you check, you’ll see that you pay MOTOR Tax. For yer big effin motor.

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:20 PM

@Eddie Byrne: Eddie, I am a cyclist and most days cycle to work. On the wet days or if I have to run errands, I take the car. I pay car tax and insurance.
    I also take my life in my hands cycling in cycle lanes with buses and taxis. In Galway, it is dangerous to cycle and relatively few do.
    So, to all in Dublin on the protest this evening, you carry the hopes of many outside the capital.To the protesting pedals, I say thanks!

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:21 PM

I already pay insurance for my bike, it’s mixed in with the house insurance. Why would I want to insure it twice?

Mute John Strahan
    Favourite John Strahan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:22 PM

Especially the children

Mute Jane Waters
    Favourite Jane Waters
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:26 PM

@Eddie Byrne:
    I agree with you Eddie. Why should motorists have to pay for the enhancement of cycle lanes? If cyclists want better facilities then let them pay road tax & insurance.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:31 PM

When motorists start paying Road Tax, then we’ll look at cyclists paying it.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:33 PM

Third party liability outside of house not covered !!!!

Mute Pixiedust
    Favourite Pixiedust
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:02 PM

@Jane Waters: Yes, you should only pay tax for the services you use. Therefore people without kids shouldn’t have to pay for schools. People who don’t get sick – their tax shouldn’t go to the helth service. Make sense?

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:06 PM

@Jane Waters: Motorists don’t pay for the roads general taxation does. Motor tax doesn’t come close to paying for the roads and is mostly spent on the emissions penalty they cause. So using your logic cyclists could be asking why is my tax money paying for the roads for cars and not the cycling infrastructure? That is what the protest is about as only 1% of the money set aside for transportation goes to cycling.

Mute Gavan Quinlan
    Favourite Gavan Quinlan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:26 PM

@Eddie Byrne:@Eddie Byrne: good plan, overlooking that 22,000 cyclists already have voluntary insurance. 100,000 uninsured drivers likely to be more of an issue.

Mute Ro Brett
    Favourite Ro Brett
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:15 PM

@king Tut: I will gladly pay this road tax if I can get an exemption for having to pay for highways, old age pensioners and free childcare.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:29 AM

@Eddie Byrne:

When did money paid for any insurance go towards building roads? Are roads insured and when they get crashed into they claim a payout so they can be rebuilt?

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 4th 2016, 11:27 PM

@Ro Brett: You missed the point dopey. There is no such thing as road tax. People do not pay tax because the use the roads. They pay Motor Tax, because they have motor vehicles. And guess what? The bigger the motor, the higher the tax. So, putting all that together, can you see a reason why cyclists, or pedestrians for that matter, don’t pay motor tax? It boils my piss that motorists shiiiitteee on about road tax and that they pay road tax to use the roads. Gobshiiiiiitteessss. http://www.motortax.ie

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:28 PM

500 middle aged guys in Lycra. Ladies…

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:38 PM

@Beachmaster: There will only be half a dozen, but the DoT will swear blind that there were 500, all cycling 3 and 4 abreast and holding up the traffic for at least 6 hours.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:16 PM

Beach master I go training on my bike every weekend. I wear cycling gear, some of it made from Lycra for comfort reasons. 2 questions. Why does it seem to bother you? and why is it any of your business what I choose to wear?

Mute Brett Lawless
    Favourite Brett Lawless
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:28 PM

Feels like I’m wearing nothing at all, nothing at all. Nothing at all!

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:17 PM

Stupid sexy Lawless!

Mute John Latham
    Favourite John Latham
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:20 PM

Almost everybody breaks laws as they see fit. It’s the same people breaking red lights on bicycles as breaking speed limits in cars and on motorbikes. You don’t become a different person when you change mode of transport.

Mute Rothar Man
    Favourite Rothar Man
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:28 PM

Spot on!

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:05 PM

it;s worth remembering that better cycling facilities are also better for people who still have to drive.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:07 PM

Agreed Valthebear, In my area there are good cycle lanes and paths provided with good marking but the number of cyclists who persist in cycling either on footpaths or in bus lanes is unbelievable

Mute Pixiedust
    Favourite Pixiedust
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:03 PM

@Tom Burke: Have you cycled them yourself?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:07 PM

Tom what makes you think that they are good ? Have you cycled them. Are they consistent ? Do they yield for entrances to houses, are cyclists diverted to pedestrians crossings when going straight ? Are there up and down ramps ? Is the surface good? I could go on

Mute Marie Okeeffe
    Favourite Marie Okeeffe
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:58 PM

It works both ways keep pedestrians alive from cyclist on footpaths I don’t know how many times I have been nearly hit by one

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:24 AM

@Marie Okeeffe:

The only death between a pedestrian and a cyclist in recent years was this year when a pedestrian stepped into the cycle lane without looking in the Phoenix Park. And it was the cyclist who died.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:41 PM

It’s a bit mad to do your commute on a bike with fragile racing tyres. I see this a lot. You have to cycle further from the kerb than usual, impeding the following traffic. It doesn’t hasten your commute, increases the likelihood of an accident and you could still puncture your precious tyres. Fit a proper pair and save the racers for race day when you have the whole road, please.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:17 PM

What day would that be?

Mute Gavan Quinlan
    Favourite Gavan Quinlan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:28 PM

This comment makes no sense whatsoever. Do you cycle? I commute on Kevlar reinforced tyres – cyclists usually give other hazards like drains and poor road verges a wide berth. Tyres make no difference to those.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:05 PM

Bob, in the mornings traffic doesn’t flow as its full of single occupancy cars that are choking the city.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:50 PM

Jimmy: that’d be a day when a road is closed specifically for a race. Or when a pelothon just makes it seem closed. You have the full road to use. Gavin: I do cycle. My mountain bike had huge knobbly tires that could happily take on the glass and debris. My 63 year old Raleigh also has sturdy tyres. My objection is to super slick super skinny tyres only fit for the middle of the road. Brian, I agree: single occupancy cars are a waste of space, time and fresh air. Even the bus is better. I’m just arguing for practicality and consideration for others.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:57 PM

Bob you want people to cycle a mountain bike on the road and not to use road bikes is that Correct? That’s the same as people using land rivers in the city. I have a 35km commute each day , I think I’ll stick to my 25mm wheels with reinforcements.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:12 AM

I did not say that. My knobbly tyres were fine for 10k in and out, and more. Normal racing tyres are fine for 50k and more within 9 inches of the kerb. Super skinny tyres are for the middle of the road on a race day. That’s what they are designed for. Otherwise you get no added benefit. Just risk and punctures. They’re about as practical as a spoiler on a yaris.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:26 AM

@Bob McShane:

It hastens my commute, by a lot. It used to take me 30 to 35 minutes from my house to town on a mountain bike. I now do it in 18 to 20 minutes. Way way faster.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:50 AM

Really? Is it just the different tyres, or the bike as well? At one stage I knocked 15 % off my commute time, simply by listening to underworld very loud. Of course it was outrageously dangerous, so I switched to quiet but groovy jazz. In any case my racer weighed a ton. Slower, safer and more serene. Sometimes it is better to journey well, than arrive all sweaty and frenetic. Anyway, just the tyres?

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:54 AM

Sorry John, I replied without reading your comment properly. Right, I withdraw my initial comment. Use whatever tyres you want. Just be safe! Night all.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 5th 2016, 3:17 PM

@bob mcshane. Maybe you lost weight and got fitter

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:13 PM

There are two types of cyclist knockers. Those who use every excuse verbally to knock cyclists, even though cyclists are more often the victims than the perpetrators, and the second type of knockers are those who knock cyclists off their bikes, killing or injuring them.

Mute niamh dolan
    Favourite niamh dolan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:08 PM

Fair play to those out demonstrating, anything that improves the conditions and safety should be applauded. I was however shocked to see so many of those demonstrating had no helmets ???

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:53 PM

Helmets aren’t required by law.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:10 PM

@niamh dolan: Helmets are of very little use. The perception of the protection is way above the actual protection offered. Wing mirrors on bicycles would actually be a massive improvement for safety.

Mute Gavan Quinlan
    Favourite Gavan Quinlan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:47 PM

@niamh dolan: the latest cycling fatalities were due to a collision with a HGV and hit and runs by fast moving cars. What use are helmets in these situations?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:10 PM

Niamh do you see many drivers , joggers etc wearing helmets ? Look up the pros and cons of helmet wearing and they cancel each other out .

Mute Dave Purnell
    Favourite Dave Purnell
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:28 PM

I would like to know who the genius was who decided to put Cyclists in Bus Lanes! There was constructive thinking, put in a dedicated lane to speed public transport up and then allow bloody cyclists into the same lane. Motorcyclists aren’t allowed (by law) to use them even though most other European countries allow it. Oh the Genius of it all!

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:12 PM

That’s not an issue at all. Cyclists don’t slow busses Down

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:08 PM

Bikes don’t slow busses. Ask any bus driver.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Oct 4th 2016, 10:28 AM

@brian magee: Yeah, right those same bus drivers, who overtake me with an inch to spare between my handlebar and their bus, to pull into a bus stop just in front of me, so that I’m forced to swerve around the bus

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:13 PM

Good surface, good makings/signage etc. does not make a good cycle lane. Once a cyclist moves off the road onto a cycle lane, the cyclist looses the right of way. On the road, the cyclist has the same right of way as cars. On the cycle track, the cyclist has to stop at every junction and usually dismount and walk across the junction via a pedestrian crossing. Imagine driving along the M50 and having to stop at every junction?

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:38 PM

Cycling is a perplexing topic for me. The health benefits for those involved and to the general public is obviously a positive aspect but the negatives are many and extreme. While I have seen examples of considerate and conscientious cyclist the majority seem to have little consideration for fellow road users or pedestrians and an almost wild abandon for their own safety. The pay no insurance or tax for their use of the road, are not licensed or tested on their knowledge of traffic law, no minimum age for cycling is required, and no check of the road worthiness of their vehicles performed. Perhaps a start might be that to use a bicycle on the roads a license is required as for users of motor vehicles. Third party insurance also required. Once this is done and, as has been pointed out by others, existing traffic laws enforced, we might find that the number of accidents will reduce sufficiently that the need for dedicated cycle lanes might no longer be required.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:32 PM

Lol

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:45 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: Absurdly tribal, but there are really people out there like James who reckon cyclists and drivers are different people.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:35 PM

My god James you can’t be serious. Are you just presuming no cyclist holds a drivers license, pays car insurance and motor tax? Third party insurance for cyclists is utter nonsense. You should try cycling sometime, you might like it and it won’t seem so perplexing to you.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Oct 4th 2016, 7:57 AM

David Kelly: don’t forget, some cyclists will also hold a private pilots license too, and also be insured for skydiving. But, what is your point?

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 4th 2016, 9:43 AM

@Gary Rowe: Gary I thought my point was pretty clear, James stated that cyclists ” pay no insurance or tax for their use of the road, are not licensed or tested on their knowledge of traffic law”. I simply pointed out that many cyclists do in fact pay road tax and hold drivers licenses. So his point was incorrect. Whether they can fly planes and sky dive is of no relevance so don’t try be a smart ass.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Oct 4th 2016, 6:10 PM

David: The point is that all legal motorists have a license, and pay insurance and tax for each and every car they legally drive on the roads- otherwise they can go to court. But, no license is needed to ride a bike on the roads, no tax need be paid to use a bike on the road nor insurance be paid for to use a bike on the road. That many cyclists pay for insurance tax license etc. to use cars is not relevant, as you well know, as it is nothing to do with their cycling. That is *exactly* why I mentioned a ppl & skydiving insurance – they aren’t relevant either. That was my point. Why you feel the need to be so argumentative with irrelevant distractions is concerning, and it adds nothing to discussions on this article.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 5th 2016, 1:13 PM

@Gary Rowe: Fair enough Gary. I still think that the original point my James is still absurd. I’ll put it out there that a car driver with a full license has a fair understanding of the rules of the road, therefore a cyclist who also holds a full license (for driving a car) is a better road user because of it.
    Motor tax for cyclists is absurd because there is no engine on a bike and no emissions from cycling. Insurance… well lets just say that if a cyclist is involved in any collision that causes enough damage to a vehicle to justify a claim, then you can be certain that the cyclist is in a worse condition than the vehicle.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Oct 5th 2016, 2:35 PM

David: Totally agree on the full license bit, lack of knowledge is always a bad thing. Wouldn’t be a bad thing for motorists to have to take refresher courses too when renewing their 20 year old licences! On insurance, I know what you mean, but as a pedestrian I’ve been put out of work for 2 weeks by a cyclist who hit me coming the wrong way (one way street) through a red light, and a large financial loss too… I’d love to have been able to get those thousands back! Fundamentally, what we need to do is to respect all others on the roads, and punish those who don’t.

Mute Emma Smith
    Favourite Emma Smith
    Oct 4th 2016, 8:21 AM

Having cycled in Holland… The contrast with Ireland is stark. Well maintained, signposted, and mapped cycle lanes everywhere with car traffic having to give way to cyclists at roundabouts. School kids going on school outings by bike. All ages using bikes to get around. Hardly anyone wears a helmet. It feels and probably is so safe.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Oct 3rd 2016, 9:36 PM

Idiot cyclists and idiot motorists are always going to find each other when there are so many of each. The problem I think, with respect to Dublin, is it is a small city with old narrow roads. There is a large concentration of people, cyclists and motorists, all converging on a small area and most are in a hurry to get there and this recipe is what gives us the stress, hostility and danger. I would have thought that relieving this pressure is the best way forward and this could be done by encouraging business to start up outside the city. For example, how many cyclists and motorists will be added to the morning rush as a result of the new children’s hospital in James St? Dublin streets are not getting any wider and no amount of investment is going to change that. I used Dublin as an example but I guess the same could apply to Galway, Cork etc. Well done to all who protested, I support their efforts to address the problem.

Mute Patrick Mac
    Favourite Patrick Mac
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:09 PM

Cyclists and red traffic lights – enough said.

Mute Ro Brett
    Favourite Ro Brett
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:22 PM
    Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:16 PM

If they want to stay alive, then stop at red lights.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 3rd 2016, 10:34 PM

I’d be pretty certain more cyclists have been killed by careless/dangerous drivers than by breaking red lights.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:55 PM

How many cyclists have been killed by going through red lights? With proper infrastructure cars and bikes would be separated and there would be a lot less lights for cyclists and it would not be an issue.

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:38 AM

Zero. How many pedestrians was killed by cyclists? Zero. How many pedestrians was killed by cars..? Bunch. How many cyclists? 9.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:15 PM

Might need more invest if the current implementations were actually done correctly and in a safevway

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:10 PM

I imagine they’d quite a kerfuffle deciding who was spokesperson.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:40 AM

We could all just walk.

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Oct 4th 2016, 10:21 AM

Many cyclists are langers, many pedestrians are langers, many car drivers are langers, place is full of langers

Mute Eimear Lavery ™
    Favourite Eimear Lavery ™
    Oct 3rd 2016, 11:22 PM

Luas drivers. Bus drivers. Cyclists. Ah lads, the feckin pedestrians will be in on it next.

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Oct 4th 2016, 8:58 AM

Its hard work to get a l large vehicle safely about Dublin these days with cyclist buzzing around you , and no regard for the danger of cutting in front or down the inside of large vehicles, I hope it never happens , but I will not loose any sleep….. f…king menaces

Oct 4th 2016, 10:32 AM

@Seamus: Then you probably were the idiot truck driver who nearly drove over me this morning, by overtaking me with inches to spare, and blasting his horn while right next to me, because me on my bike am such a danger to his 40 tons of fast moving metal

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Oct 5th 2016, 1:28 PM

@Seamus: at least you have the safety of a large vehicle. Might come as a shock to you but the reason cyclists are cutting down the inside of your vehicle is because that’s where the cycle lanes are located, you know those road markings actually mean something.

Mute Gary Nugent
    Favourite Gary Nugent
    Oct 4th 2016, 12:15 PM

The should stop at red lights and adhere to the rules of the road in protest.
    That would really get noticed.

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Oct 4th 2016, 8:39 AM

Most of them are fair weather cyclists, o its raining , I most bring the car to work today.

Oct 4th 2016, 10:26 AM

@Seamus: And your point would be what?

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Oct 4th 2016, 8:47 AM

A lot them just like to dress up in the fancy gear, and don’t know how to use the bike, its amazing on a rainy day most disappear off the roads into their cars, and know they want more money spent on their part time pursuits….