You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamon Dunphy to launch 'intelligent, interesting, irreverent' football podcast

“Sometimes I turn the sound down,” the pundit says of watching the Premier League on British stations.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

EAMON DUNPHY WANTS to talk about football.

A lot.

And his pre- and post-game slots on RTÉ television just aren’t sating his appetite.

“It’s very hard in soccer to find good, intelligent analysis,” he told TheJournal.ie in a recent interview.

“So there isn’t anything that I listen to where I feel comfortable saying ‘this is an intelligent, interesting perspective’.

A lot of it is very tabloidy. The English television channels, to be fair, don’t really make an effort. When you look at the people they have, they’re on because they were great players. That doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re going to be a good analyst.

“So, there isn’t much that I watch. Sometimes I turn the sound down.”

Taking the matter into his own hands, Dunphy has decided to launch his own show – in the form of a football podcast.

The programme will launch on 21 November with a live audience at Trinity College. The pundit has gathered the old gang together and on stage with him will be John Giles, Liam Brady and Didi Hamann.

He plans for other people to get on board over the coming months, including experts in other sports including horse racing and GAA.

“I hope it will be an intelligent, funny, irreverent, candid look at sport. That will be the aim,” he says.

The show will go online twice a week – on Mondays and Fridays – and will be up to one hour long.

“I’m very excited about it because I love radio… the happiest time I’ve ever spent as a journalist was doing The Last Word on TodayFM,” Dunphy admits.

“I loved it. It’s a great medium and this is a great chance to talk at more length… When you’re on television doing the Champions League, you’re sort of constrained with time. If you have someone like Didi, or Liam, or John, you want to hear what they’ve to say, you want to hear the discussion run its course rather than squeezing everything in.”

He believes he’s hitting the market at the right time as the Premier League is particularly exciting at the moment – even though he cites the recent Liverpool Manchester United Monday night dud which petered out at Anfield after days of hype (in front of billions of viewers worldwide).

“I was looking forward to it all day, and my son is a Liverpool supporter, all weekend we were talking about it,” he says.

It brings popular culture and a richness into people’s lives and because it means so much to people, it deserves to be critiqued seriously and talked about intelligently and not going for soundbites.

On the road with Dunphy and pals

As well as the podcast, Dunphy and co. are hitting the road for a series of live shows with Aprés Match’s Barry Murphy.

The three-hour, no-holds barred event – kicking off in Vicar Street on 5 December – will also include Hamann, Giles and Brady in what is being billed as an ‘intimate evening with the Premiership A-Team’.

They promise to answer “all questions” and be as passionate as always.

“There’s also a bar,” adds Dunphy, with a chuckle.

Check out TheJournal.ie and The42.ie for more with our interview with Dunphy and Didi Hamann. 

Camera and editing: Nicky Ryan

More: Dunphy tells O’Neill to conduct interviews ‘like a man rather than a child’

Read: Didi Hamann starts for RTÉ in the John Giles role tonight

Opinion: ‘As good as it gets’ – An Irish footballing legend ends his 30-year association with RTÉ tonight

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:19 AM

“It’s not racist Bill. It’s ethnic criticism”

Mute Sean Flanagan
    Favourite Sean Flanagan
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:59 AM

Old man yells at cloud

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:07 AM

@Sean Flanagan: Don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at a Journal comment, and in work of all places!

Mute Sean Flanagan
    Favourite Sean Flanagan
    Nov 4th 2016, 11:08 AM

*bows

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:26 AM

If you’re into emotionally unstable ranting about how it used to be , well then , this is your podcast baby

Mute Ardmore02
    Favourite Ardmore02
    Nov 4th 2016, 6:27 AM

Oh God help us

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Nov 4th 2016, 8:24 AM

RTE give way to much time to GAA and Soccer and not enough to other sports

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Nov 4th 2016, 6:35 AM

Dunphy and intelligent in the same sentence… jesus!

Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:27 AM

This man helped rid us of the PDs, have some respect

Mute Conor Mc Lysaght
    Favourite Conor Mc Lysaght
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:44 AM

I thought the headline description read “irrelevant” at first….

Mute Angry Gaming
    Favourite Angry Gaming
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:30 AM

@Conor Mc Lysaght: Same , says it all though.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:53 AM

This man has nothing of an opinion left but extremes, dodnt think he’s done a proper bit of analysis in his life. Saving grace for the thing is hamann is there who is very insightful

Mute Eamonn Byrne
    Favourite Eamonn Byrne
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:14 AM

Eamonn Dinphy is a great and passionate sports pundit. Great writer . I loved his first ever book Its only a game about life at Millwall F.C

Mute O-'Seán #IRExit
    Favourite O-'Seán #IRExit
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:26 AM

@Eamonn Byrne: ah heyor, theyre great lads ya hardly wish them impotence? Lol :)

Mute Jimmy Boots
    Favourite Jimmy Boots
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:16 AM

Says the biggest “tabloidy” football writer and pundit out there! Bit of self awareness there eamo, the Guardian football podcast you will never be…he’s basically doing a live show of rte per match coverage who wants to listen to that tripe?

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:45 AM

@Jimmy Boots:

I do.

Mute Paddy Lions
    Favourite Paddy Lions
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:03 AM

Ronaldo is a cheat, he goes missing in big games, he is not world class. Which expert expressed these sentiments?

Mute Gary Stewart
    Favourite Gary Stewart
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:18 AM

Don’t worry I’m sure he has contradicted himself on all fronts numerous times. I remember Liverpool playing Inter in the CL years ago and Dunphy saying Liverpool hadn’t a chance, Inter were all conquering. Liverpool won and at full time we were treated to “Italian football is in decline”

Mute Paddy Lions
    Favourite Paddy Lions
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:20 AM

@Gary Stewart: Very true Gary.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Nov 4th 2016, 12:06 PM

And his latest that “messi is in decline” who then went on to score a hatrick.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Nov 4th 2016, 6:42 PM

He also said during the Europeans that DeBreuyne is not a player

Mute Kevin O Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O Sullivan
    Nov 4th 2016, 6:33 AM

Irrevenant or irrelevant? He would need to have great guests and not just the old RTÉ panel to make this work, hopefully he can.

Mute Seán O'Maolmhuaidh
    Favourite Seán O'Maolmhuaidh
    Nov 4th 2016, 6:45 AM

Sorry Dunphy you missed the boat it’s called Second Captains

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:11 AM

This news will give Second Captains the impotence to raise its game.

However, it could also raise some eyelids at RTE.

Still, with Eamon on board and its strong panel of other experienced football pundits, the innovative event has a 65 : 40 probability of success, IMHO, and that’s just a little less than half, I think.

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:34 AM

Nobody at second captains or RTE will be raising anything due to ‘impotence’.

Mute Conor church
    Favourite Conor church
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:34 AM

Your maths is a little off…..

Mute David Walters
    Favourite David Walters
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:50 AM

73% of statistics are inaccurate so I’d say it’s closer to 70:40

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Nov 4th 2016, 3:57 PM

@ Rory J, the essence of impotence is that it raises nothing.

Mute Ian McKinney
    Favourite Ian McKinney
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:00 AM

‘Interesting and intelligent’.. so he won’t be presenting it himself then..

Mute Seán Flynn
    Favourite Seán Flynn
    Nov 4th 2016, 11:08 AM

Eamonn watches Premiership analysis with the sound turned down, which by happy coincidence, is the best way to listen to his podcast.

Mute Bottleneck
    Favourite Bottleneck
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:06 AM

What about League of Ireland ?

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:47 AM

There’s a lot of hate and bitterness toward Dunphy on this site over the past 12 months – it must be fashionable.

This will be a great show!

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:51 AM

Soccer is overhyped

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Nov 4th 2016, 8:15 AM

You one of the less skilled who controls the object ball with two hands?

Mute Conlaoch Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Conlaoch Ó Raghallaigh
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:59 AM

Didi hamann has really become one of the lads

Mute O-'Seán #IRExit
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:24 AM

Friday is the Journals new satire day.

Mute Ross Maguire
    Favourite Ross Maguire
    Nov 4th 2016, 8:32 AM

Amazing. Can’t wait for this and defo going to the live show. Dunphy is class

Mute Brendan Grace
    Favourite Brendan Grace
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:39 AM

He’s great craic though in fairness!!

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:48 AM

“Intelligent, interesting, irreverent”, these are not the first words that come to mind when I look to describe Eamon Dunphy to my friends in the UK.

Mute Gary Stewart
    Favourite Gary Stewart
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:14 AM

Bit early for April Fools lads.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:59 AM

The man could never play soccer or read a game he is a usless has been goodbye dunphy

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Nov 4th 2016, 9:45 AM

The gaurdian football weekly the times the game second captains and if I have enough time men in blazers are all top class pods , no thanks dunphey you have missed the boat , also the football ramble is good for a laugh

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Nov 4th 2016, 12:16 PM

Pssssst, anybody wanna earn some extra dosh ?

Get Duncey’s predictions, go to bookies and bet on the opposite outcome.

Quids in, nice.

Mute Martin Carter
    Favourite Martin Carter
    Nov 4th 2016, 11:23 AM

European football show on bt on sunday & guardian podcasts with james richardson & guests are the only ones worth listening to.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Nov 4th 2016, 1:41 PM

Humpty Dunphy sat on a wall…

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Nov 4th 2016, 11:44 AM

Best dunphy quote ever “I’ll tell ya who wrote it rod little he’s the guy who left his wife for a young one”

Mute O-'Seán #IRExit
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:37 AM

* @ Rory j

Mute Richard Lippy Collins
    Favourite Richard Lippy Collins
    Nov 4th 2016, 1:22 PM

It’ll be interesting alright. Intelligent though? Not likely.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Nov 4th 2016, 10:42 AM

I do the same with George Hamilton turn the sound down

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Nov 4th 2016, 12:18 PM

Looking forward to that although IMO a pod should really be 45 minutes max.An hour just that bit too much.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Nov 4th 2016, 1:45 PM

@Michael cunnane: Listen for 45 minutes then.

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Nov 4th 2016, 2:49 PM

“Ronaldo is a disgrace to the game. His petulance, temperament, throwing himself on the ground. It was a disgrace to professional football. This fella Ronaldo is a cod.”

Quote from Dunphy on Ronaldo about 10 years ago

Mute Sean Roche
    Favourite Sean Roche
    Nov 4th 2016, 4:45 PM

Great news! Dunphy is an excellent radio broadcaster. He’s funny, a former pro and a fearless commentator. Second Captain;s have him on their podcast for a reason. He may not always get it right but at least you’re getting what he actually believes at any given time.

Mute Ken Hickey
    Favourite Ken Hickey
    Nov 5th 2016, 8:29 AM

Intelligent analysis???? From Dunphy??? Really???

Mute Phil Sheppard
    Favourite Phil Sheppard
    Nov 5th 2016, 5:05 PM

It’ll be really interesting to see his listening figures, surely ? ppl have seen past this walking contradiction a long time ago.!!

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Nov 4th 2016, 5:57 PM

To many late nights in Lillie’s vip bar talking bull s@@t

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Nov 4th 2016, 8:40 AM

Dunphy..intelligent and interesting? That’s a first!!!!

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Nov 4th 2016, 7:56 AM

if you are going to promote the pod best to tell us we’re it can be downloaded or did I miss it?