You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg pictured during the week. Niall Carson/PA Wire/PA Images

Facebook warned that new privacy rules could aid terrorism and child abuse

The social media network has been dogged by several privacy scandals in recent years.

THE UNITED STATES, Britain and Australia have called on Facebook to give authorities the ability to circumvent encryption used in its messaging services — a measure opposed by the social media giant.

Facebook has been dogged by several privacy scandals in recent years and has pledged to boost user protections by rolling out end-to-end encryption across all of its social media platforms.

But that plan risks weakening the ability of law enforcement to detect criminal acts including terrorism and the sharing of child sexual abuse images, according to a joint letter signed by US Attorney General William Barr, British Home Secretary Priti Patel and Australian Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton.

“Facebook has not committed to address our serious concerns about the impact its proposals could have on protecting our most vulnerable citizens,” said the letter, addressed to company chief Mark Zuckerberg and seen by AFP.

The company already encrypts WhatsApp messages from end-to-end — meaning only the sender and recipient can read the message — and is working to extend the technology to other apps in its family, including Messenger and Instagram.

Facebook says it is intent on introducing the service without granting oversight to law enforcement agencies.

“We strongly oppose government attempts to build backdoors because they would undermine the privacy and security of people everywhere,” a Facebook spokesperson said.

Zuckerberg said users want encryption, adding that patterns of behavior and connections between accounts could be used to detect illicit behavior even if authorities could not see data in private messages.

Striking a balance 

During a livestreamed question and answer session with employees, Zuckerberg said Facebook would continue to work with authorities to strike a balance between privacy concerns and fighting crimes such as child exploitation and terrorism.

“Having the availability to look at the content is a useful signal, and when you lose that you are fighting that battle with at least a hand tied behind your back and you hope there is a lot of good stuff you can do with your other hand,” Zuckerberg said.

But he added that encryption had many positive benefits such as protection for journalists and political protesters. Rights groups agreed.

“These technologies protect billions of communications every day, from the sensitive correspondence of victims of domestic violence to businesses’ financial records to our private medical information,” Hannah Quay-de la Vallee, senior technologist at the Washington-based nonprofit Center for Democracy and Technology, said. 

Surveillance whistleblower Edward Snowden also criticised the US request to Facebook.

“The government is demanding backdoor access to the private communications of 1.5 billion people using WhatsApp,” Snowden tweeted.

“If Facebook agrees, it may be the largest overnight violation of privacy in history.”

Privacy woes 

Facebook’s efforts to bolster user privacy come after a number of damaging scandals.

In July, the US Federal Trade Commission hit the company with a record $5 billion (about €4.5 billion) fine for data protection violations in a wide-ranging settlement that calls for revamping privacy controls and oversight at the social network.

The FTC concluded that Facebook had violated a 2011 pledge to protect user data in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica affair, when a political consultancy gained access to the data of nearly 90 million users and used it to target voters.

The same consultancy worked on both the Leave campaign in Britain’s Brexit referendum of 2016 and on US President Donald Trump’s election campaign in the same year.

In the company’s latest privacy lapse, phone numbers linked to more than 400 million Facebook accounts were last month listed online on an exposed server that was not password protected.

Data sharing 

Yesterday’s request comes soon after the signing of the CLOUD Act Agreement, which will allow British and US law enforcement agencies to demand electronic data regarding serious crimes directly from tech companies based in the other country.

The agreement will allow “more efficient and effective access to data needed for quick-moving investigations”, Barr said in the statement.

Facebook interpreted the CLOUD Act to allow technology companies to enable users to have private online conversations and be required to provide available information to valid legal requests — not build backdoors into encrypted systems.

© AFP 2019  

View 15 comments
15 Comments
    Mute Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Favourite Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:06 PM

Social Welfare a lifestyle choice
    Emigrating a lifestyle choice
    Quitting college because of lack of funds a lifestyle choice
    Being forced to pay 100 anglos on your own house a lifestyle choice
    Bailing out bankers and devellopers a lifestyle choice

Whats all this fuss about? Time to pull on the green/EU/IMF jersey and jump over a cliff.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:24 PM

Friedrich Nietzsche:
    Everything the State says is a lie, and everything it has it has stolen.

Mute David Reilly
    Favourite David Reilly
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:37 PM

100 ANGLOS ! …excellent, I shall use that ..

Mute RL
    Favourite RL
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:47 PM

Ryan, I apologise for replying to your comment with the aim of getting my comment near the start of the Comment List. However I would like to give people the opportunity to view the actual response and the actual question:

Full Press Conference:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2012/0119/media-3172720.html#
    (Goto 31:43 to hear the question and the answer)

My opinion is that this story is an example of unfair, unbalanced and partial reporting and therefore I think people should be given the opportunity to decide whether they would have reported this story in the same way…

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:06 PM

Just wondering them if.his shindig with the german bankers was taken out of context too?? He is a disgrace to this country. He has a conflict of interest and should step down.

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:16 PM

Hi Niamh Byrne

I totally agree with you on that, he’s only looking after his own interest namely his German Bonds, this man is a disgrace and should be sacked without pension, but that will never happen, cos he’s part of the new golden circle namely Fine Gael/Labour

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:35 PM

And robert I listened to the full.interview and it does not appear to me that what he said was taken out of context. He seems to think that the fact that 170,000 lost their jobs in the building industry and many of them emigrated is a positive thing, that they are better off out of the country because we have nothing to offer them in terms of employment or prospects. He simply doesn’t get it. He is focussed.on the fact that his children have gone abroad….he is trying to get people to identify.with him when in fact his
    situation is completely different. He beds a serious dose of reality.

Mute JustDieter
    Favourite JustDieter
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:42 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Vo6VzQddi0&sns=fb

Vincent Browne is a lifestyle choice

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:17 PM

I have listened to his comments again (31.50 mins ) and my comments remain unchanged . His arrogance is disgraceful and he should apologise immediately . He was not speaking as a government minister ….. How dare he look down on the genuine hardship of emmigration. Lifestyle choice my A…

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Jan 20th 2012, 10:38 PM

ged. If you or I owned German bonds, we’d be right to worry about them. The idea that the likes of Noonan gives them a 2nd thought or makes political decisions to protect them is laughable. There’s only one currency politicians deal in – votes…

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 21st 2012, 10:30 AM

He has the strangest way of courting votes that I have ever seen after his double whammy of I don’t give a shit about the irish people week. He is an arrogant f##ker along with the rest of them.

Mute michael cuthbert
    Jan 21st 2012, 12:43 PM

I know Niamh. But a lot of people like, and vote for arrogant f##ckers. We read some of them on here every day…

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:10 PM

Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar
    Go back to Germany where you belong you gobshite Noonan

Mute michael cuthbert
    Jan 20th 2012, 10:40 PM

New currency. Green thumbs. You’re in serious credit ged. Cheap goods selling well these recessionary days…

Mute quango-roo
    Favourite quango-roo
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:11 PM

100 anglos lol that cracked me up, pity its not a joke…

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:15 PM

Sometimes no matter what script you try to read, the Truth comes out. Truth does not like to hide itself.

When Noonan’s children come home to visit, they’ll be classed as boosting the tourist figures!!!

We’re not buying lies anymore. Truth please.

Mute Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Favourite Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:23 PM

I can’t blame his children for deciding to go abroad. A dad like him would make me sick.

Mute chicken ball ann
    Favourite chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:28 PM

His wife & kids are not fair game here, no need to be brought in to this or any other debate relating to his job.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:38 PM

That is not cool Ryan.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:41 PM

cheap shot in fairness Ryan

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:46 PM

………..and what about the parents and siblings and spouses and sweethearts and friends of the emmigrants he so blatantly disregarded with his stupid comments yesterday . I was talking to a taxi man last saturday who told me his only two daughters had emmigrated and not only did they miss their girls but they miss the whole social life that was affected by their departures. No friends calling ,no getting ready to go out parties….Less phonecalls .In other words the whole atmosphere of their home has changed and quietened .Leaving both he and his wife bereft.
    So ,I do not agree with some comments ,but I do realise that people are hurting .

Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:04 PM

I was one of those people that had to leave in the last recession Eileen & it took me 12 years to get back I have every sympathy with anyone that is forced out of their place of birth seeking employment or cannot afford to live in their country & it is our country we fucking own it not the prick we discuss on a daily basis… But his wife & kids are not fair game & that’s my belief.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:09 PM

Excuse me chicken ball ann……..
    where did i say ANYTHING about Noonan’s wife or kids . Nowhere . Read my comment again please . People are angry justifiably so. However I did not mention his wife or children.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:27 PM

Chicken it was you brought his wife up. Forgive Ryan, the blood does rush to the head a bit when faced with the arrogance and absurdity of Noonan’s comments.

Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:36 PM

Your comment came up in this thread & you mention certain things that would imply a comparison but if you were talking about something else I apologise Eileen.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:38 PM

Agreed with you totally Eileen. I was referring to the comment about his wife (since removed) being in a home which was uncalled for in my opinion.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:41 PM

Thanks Ann
    That clarifies things . :)

Rommel
    I know what you meant and I am glad too that ,that comment was removed.

Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:45 PM

Hugh@journal,
    If you are going to remove comments within in a conversation you must take all comments relating to this comment down as the exchange is flawed & does not make sense.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:47 PM

I don’t want my comments removed . Thanks all the same but I have not said anything wrong or untoward …..

Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:43 PM

I was talking about the replys relating to a specific comment that is removed & as you said you were not replying to that comment Eileen so yours should definitely remain in place.

Mute Robert Lynch
    Favourite Robert Lynch
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:59 PM

Réada Quinn, I disagreed with you yesterday about this story – and I know I annoyed you (which was not my aim). I also agreed with you that you probably have a fine intuition but I disagreed that it was your intuition that was guiding your opinion in this case. If you like you can watch and listen to the actual news conference below – and see if your intuition (free from the mask of poor reporting) will come to the same opinion…

Full Press Conference:

As you know my opinion is that this story is an example of unfair, unbalanced and partial reporting and therefore I think people should be given the opportunity to decide whether they would have reported this story in the same way…

Mute Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Favourite Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:27 PM

Sorry about that, and I am glad my comment was removed. With the benefit of hindsight, I see it was inappropriate. All that I said was taken from interviews Noonan himself gave to the press, and I didn’t consider how it could be deemed offensive By my repeating it. Howeve, I see in the way I said I made a pretty big mess, which I wish I hadn’t, and I hadn’t intended to be disrespectful to his wife.
    That was not the point of my comment. The point which I was intending to make in the comment was about Noonan taking his orders from Frankfurt, but I see now I completely took away from my argument with the statement I made.

Apologies

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:41 PM

Ryan
    Glad to see your back ! AND to apologise shows signs of true good character :)
    If only Noonan would take a leaf from your example !!!
    We all can say things that are unfortunate or inappropriate ,but to apologise just as you have done ,well fair play . I am proud of you :)
    Don’t stop posting !

Mute Dr Feelgood
    Favourite Dr Feelgood
    Jan 20th 2012, 6:20 PM

Hi Ryan

I think that is very big of you well done, dont beat yourself up about it as we all say things without thinking sometimes,,,,,,,,,,

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 20th 2012, 6:44 PM

Ryan O’Giobúin. Having read several of your comments on earlier threads over the past few months you have again proved you’re a gentleman. To err is human, yet to apologise is rare. :-)

Robert Lynch, thank you for the link. I saw him on tv last night and still believe that Irish politicians do see emigration as a solution to unemployment. I can’t access it on my iPhone now (at work) but will watch on laptop tonight. If an apology is warranted I’ll do a Ryan O’G on it and revert. 

In the meantime, following on what I said to you yesterday, loyalty is an admirable trait and I admire that in you. I have debated issues with some FGers and shall add your name to a short list of worthy ones who play the ball not the man/woman. 

I don’t say this lightly, I know we are at war, economic war. There’s been a lot on YouTube and www and it’s not outside the realms of possibility to suspect some of it is true. I’m sure many threats have been made to our government ministers. I’m sure they are petrified. It’s a pity they don’t share a bit of your loyalty to their country and her citizens. I really think it’s time we all pulled together on this island to stand up to these economic terrorists. 

My intuition is always right. Noonan is lying. So is Gilmore. Our sovereignty is in grave danger. And they have surrendered. Well I haven’t.

I know I sound a bit scary but I have never bought the German/Franco thing. The enemy is big money, European too but mainly USA and Russia. Things are happening but I have no doubt that good will triumph. Makes me laugh really because most of this money is just numbers on a computer screen – no gold to back it up. Can’t feel scared when you’re laughing!

Better go now before the men in the White coats come. Mark my words tho. :-) 

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 6:59 PM

Reáda
    ”I don’t say this lightly, I know we are at war, economic war. There’s been a lot on YouTube and www and it’s not outside the realms of possibility to suspect some of it is true. I’m sure many threats have been made to our government ministers. I’m sure they are petrified. It’s a pity they don’t share a bit of your loyalty to their country and her citizens. I really think it’s time we all pulled together on this island to stand up to these economic terrorists. ”

I have just read this paragraph in your last post and I agree with you on the points you make that we are at economic war . I just want to say too that I do not agree that any one should threaten our Gov Ministers with harm. I know all this is very serious , but to threaten the ministers is out of order and not acceptable .It is time we all pull together and and stand up to these economic terrorists …

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Jan 20th 2012, 7:17 PM

well said ladies.

i believe we are at economic war too. I have believed it to be so for over a year now.
    And this aul fart will not be taking it laying down.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Jan 20th 2012, 8:26 PM

Fair dues Ryan. Thumbs up!

Mute Robert Lynch
    Favourite Robert Lynch
    Jan 21st 2012, 2:06 PM

No problem Réada. By the way, I do not expect you to apologise … you should not have to..after all after watching the footage you may possibly have the same opinion about Noonan. It is Hugh O’Connell that should apologise. If you listen to what Noonan says, Réada, it will not make you love him … the fact of the mater is emigration and joblessness and Noonan’s ability to always sound like a condescending teacher will never give someone a warm fuzzy feeling. However he was misquoted and half of his answer (that is the part that balances his response to the question) was not reported in the original article:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/noonan-young-emigrants-not-driven-away-by-unemployment-331911-Jan2012/

ie Noonan did not say ‘most’ or ‘a majority’ but instead said ‘a lot’ and ‘some’. Indeed the only grouping he put exact numbers on were the unfortunate 100,000 people who lost there jobs over 6 months and now have little hope of finding work here. People who, since Hugh’s article, have commented that Noonan did not mention other groups etc are correct but the point still stands Hugh misquoted and spun Noonan’s answer – indeed they forget to ask themselves “What question was Noonan asked?”. As you remember that was my original point and remains my point: Noonan was misquated by Hugh O’Connell. Noonan’s answer to the question asked was not perfect but in the context of the question (a question that seemed to call into question the patriotism of Irish people who go abroad to work) Noonan’s answer could be summarised as saying that people go abroad for different reasons and that he wishes them well and that our aim – as a government and a people – should be that when Irish people emigrate they should not be struggling abroad when they do (by providing help and education for them here [and I would add abroad]).

PS. Examples of some of the misquotes in Hugh’s original article (http://www.thejournal.ie/noonan-young-emigrants-not-driven-away-by-unemployment-331911-Jan2012/)
    (TITLE) “Noonan: Young emigrants ‘not driven away by unemployment’” : This is a misrepresentation of Noonan’s answer indeed he mentioned in particular the skilled construction workers that have been driven to Canada, the UK and Germany.
    (From the first sentence) “MICHAEL NOONAN HAS said that most emigration by young Irish people is a ‘free choice of lifestyle’….” : Noonan didn’t say ‘most’ he talked about non-specific numbers like ‘a lot’, ‘many’ and ‘some’ and gave only one specific number (the 100,000 who lost their jobs over 6 months).

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:16 PM

Today and for the rest of my life, I’ll hate this man even more than I hate Brian Cowen and Bertie Ahern. What a bunch of w%%kers we have for politicians.

Mute Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Favourite Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:27 PM

Personally, I think Bertie still comes top of the all-time hate list, but Nonan isn’t far behind tbh

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:34 PM

Does Noonan think we are all idiots ………oh wait .He does !
    Well we are not idiots , not fools. We are angry and fed up .
    We are falling rapidly into poverty .How dare he say that we took his statement out of context .
    Noonan you are finished .

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:49 PM

What was willie o ‘dea asking Noonan to apologise for . He is nothing but a pathetic little worm too .

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:33 PM

@eileen you said it, that is exactly wot he is.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:27 AM

Noonan doesn’t think we’re iditots, he just knows (like the rest of them) that nobody will bother to get off there arse and do something to try change it.

His comments were taken out of context, but even still he shouldn’t have said that. obviously the reporter was asking about people who had no choice but to leave.

What’s more worrying, and probably a far more worthy news story, is the comments following that question where he talks about the amount of time put into drafting this new treaty, to paraphrase –

Lisbon took years to put together (7 I think) this “agreement/treaty” or whatever it is has been put together in a matter of weeks.

Given the history, the lack of ethical thinking and refusal to follow the actual roadmap when putting the Euro in place in the first place , I think these comments summarise everything that’s wrong with this situation.

Also, RE: the Vincent Browne video, wouldn’t have been a coup for Irish journalism if the next reporter they went to for a question had said ” I’d like an answer to Vincent’s question”.

Mute Finbar Mc Donald
    Favourite Finbar Mc Donald
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:44 PM

Well this is a point swore on my heart I working in London for over a year now in construction so many Irish here 2 small kids at home a worthless home ,, so I’m doing this for a lifestyle change cop on mr noonan I hate this life and so do my kids ,,,,over 10 lads doing the same as me ,,,,,so depressing after Xmas looking at all the sad faces thinking of there little ones ,,,so fu@k you mr noonan

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:29 PM

Finbar
    I really hope things work out for you and yours .
    It is not fair and a lot of people feel your pain.
    We will continue to argue and do our best here to high light
    this governments lies and u turns .
    Fair play to you for doing your best for your family .
    If Noonan was ever half the man you and men like you are ,we would
    not be in the state we are in.
    You care . It is a shame that Noonan and company can not empathise too.

Mute Pádraic O'Callanáin
    Favourite Pádraic O'Callanáin
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:47 PM

“But Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson Dara Calleary said that the comments indicated that the government was ”out of touch with the reality of people’s lives””

Says Dara Calleary of Fianna Fail who, as a party are so seamlessly in touch with the reality of peoples lives. Man these jokers knocking about the Oireachtas will toss stones from any glasshouse they feel like.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:33 AM

Fianna Fail make me want to burn things.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 21st 2012, 4:12 PM

Me too Paul !!

Mute Finbar Mc Donald
    Favourite Finbar Mc Donald
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:12 PM

Well said!!!!!!!

Mute chicken ball ann
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:20 PM

Here we go with the ‘misunderstood’ bullshit & the ‘quoted out of context’ bullshit…. You said what you said so man up & own the fucking thing you dirty rat…as the great jimmy Cagney would of said…

Mute Robert Lynch
    Favourite Robert Lynch
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:08 PM

Do you actually know what he said Chicken Ball Ann?

Full Press Conference:

Mute green badger
    Favourite green badger
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:40 PM

The problem in this country is that it seems to me that all the wrong people want to become politicians,for all the wrong reasons,just look around at what we have in power,at what we had in power,if you can talk bullshit and con the working class and middle class you can very quickly climb the ladder of politics in Ireland,fill a few pot holes here and there,get a few ramps put down in housing estates,have a pint in the local with the “ordinary man”,hey presto!…. Your in power,you have the income of a top educated lawyer,the pension of a top educated judge,your children educated in the top colleges,which all leads up to living in a bubble and forgetting what and who got you there in the first place!….sack the lot of them!!!!……. We need to start our political system from scratch!!!
    Sin e.

Mute Dave McCarthy
    Favourite Dave McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:49 PM

Don’t be surprised. There is a certain group of people why want to get into politics, those are the power hungry people. It’s nature. Do-gooders by nature love controlling other people’s lives

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:32 AM

It’s going to sound very communist of me, but we need less centralised, more local government.
    Government needs to be closer to the people. This is a sham.

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch

There’s a lot of that happen to this government ” not one more cent to Anglo” comes to mind along with others

Mute Vinny Doherty
    Favourite Vinny Doherty
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:33 PM

He’s digging such a big hole that hopefully he’ll end up out in Australia himself. Apologise ya clown.

Mute Paul O'Keeffe
    Favourite Paul O'Keeffe
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:30 PM

Greed obsessed and a liar. I’ll hazard a wild stab in the dark (wishful thinking:-)) that his man does not have the best interests of the people at heart. The only things he cares about is money and power. The ‘out of context’ line doesn’t cut it I’m afraid. After making such an insensitive comment one would expect him to make the ‘I’m so sowwy’ speech at the very least. He is an utter disgrace to the country.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Jan 20th 2012, 12:35 PM

Junior Finance Minister Brian Hayes defended Noonan saying that ”in no way was he diminishing the problem of emigration in our society”.
    Says the man with his finger on the pulse! Not!
    Pish off the pair of ye!

Mute CMD
    Favourite CMD

Noonan – when u r explaining u r losing!

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:36 PM

Why is there no calls for him to resign? How far does a politician have to go in this country before he is forced to resign?

Mute Dave Minogue
    Favourite Dave Minogue
    Jan 20th 2012, 7:49 PM

Well the last government blindly devastated our economy, destroyed the working lives of nearly half a million, handed over our sovereignty to foreign self interested bodies and have doomed generations to come to pay for a golden circled party that we all allegedly were at….

He could turn up to the dail in black face and slap his cock on pictures of your children and he’d never be asked to resign.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 8:21 PM

Ok I’m with you on the first two paragraphs but really could have done without the last one :)

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Jan 20th 2012, 11:07 PM

holy jasus dave!!
    Don’t hold back whatever u do :-)

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:37 AM

Dave’s right, Berties head should be on a pike in front of the dail. You want Noonan to resign for these comments, but Fianna Fail raped this country, sold everyone’s futures and I can’t even figure out what their personal gain is?
    Just ego? Is that really it? yet he still walks the streets like he’s done nothing wrong.
    Sort out your priorities people!

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:40 AM

@Niamh, that last sentence is for dramatic effect, to push the point home – I think it is necessary. :-D
    I feel your pain Dave.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:28 PM

noonan you blew it and thats that,be a man and face facts.
    your a disgrace to this country

Mute Fergus O'Neill
    Favourite Fergus O'Neill
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:56 PM

Turns out that there is a recognised disorder called Noonan syndrome!
    “Noonan Syndrome (NS) is characterised by short stature, typical facial dysmorphology . . . mild intellectual deficit . . .”
    When I found the link ( http://www.ojrd.com/content/2/1/4 ) I thought it was taking the p, but it’s genuine! Too funny!!

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:13 PM

Anyway when is the revolution happening or a coup. Either one would do.

Mute Aydo
    Favourite Aydo
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:14 PM

In any real country a politician like him would be forced to resign. Along with nearly the entire cabinet due to their ineptitude in office. Patience for sitting back and taking this rubbish is dwindling. I’m hoping as a proud people we will be sorting this government out soon.

Mute John Cleary
    Favourite John Cleary

Just scanned the comments and saw Ryans dig at Noonan about his wife-Ryan, that comment is a fucking disgrace.

Mute Graham O' Reilly
    Favourite Graham O' Reilly
    Jan 20th 2012, 1:43 PM

Ryan that’s totally uncalled for regardless of the economic situation or government. Hang your head in shame,I’d ban you I I could…..

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 20th 2012, 7:53 PM

Well the comment is removed and he has apologised . Youthful exuberance ! So let that be that . :)

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:25 PM

Between the negativity on here and on the likes of Talk to 500k Joe . I agree people do not leave by choice, they leave to try to preserve any bit of sanity that they have left !

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jan 20th 2012, 5:21 PM

Correct! The Republic of Ireland is truly a maddening country. I fucked off in July 2006, aged 32. Best decision of my life.

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jan 20th 2012, 5:24 PM

500k Joe, the Angelus, pompous FF politicians sounding off in opposition. So much I am NOT missing.

Paul Carr (Irish Emigrant of 5 and a half years)

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jan 20th 2012, 8:28 PM

The Angelus is an embarrassment! It is more than just a religious institution. It’s rationale is mind control! I can’t think of another country on the planet that has the chimes of the Angelus on its national broadcaster! Our churches can peel the Angelus 3 times a day for all I care. It is not appropriate for our National Broadcaster, RTE, to do so, not even once.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 8:54 PM

@patrick..we have a lot to thank our great catholic tradition for…. (:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvvwNR3vF44&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 9:16 PM

@ paul not patrick…sorry.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Jan 20th 2012, 9:41 PM

Not that I care but whoever thumbed me down did ye actually watch the clip??

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:05 PM

Here’s a comment that can’t be taken out of context “shame on you and howlin for all your comments yesterday”

Mute @pierrepressure
    Favourite @pierrepressure

Michael Noonan’s brain emigrated in the 70′s

Mute P Wurple
    Favourite P Wurple
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:18 PM

Am i the only one who heard the whole speech? He did sympathise with people who are forced to emigrate, but he was talking about people who are not forced into it with this quote. The point about lifestyle choice was about people going travelling for a time when they are young and armed with a good degree so they can have a good quality of life. He was trying to say it can be a good experience when you are well educated, and we should continue to keep the high level of third level education.

I worked abroad for years in my twenties, not because I had to, but because I wanted to travel. To suggest it may still be the case for some people is hardly worthy of resigning.

Mute Dave McCarthy
    Favourite Dave McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:50 PM

And then you found weed…….

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:59 PM

Yes I watched and listened to what he had to say it’s more the dismissive and condescending manner of his delivery than the content.
    Indeed the terrible scourge of emigration has indeed reached the inner sanctum of government now.
    Even Joe Costello s wife had to take one of those terrible arduous jobs in Brussels.
    Nepotism and cronyism gone ?
    Special adviser salary cap?
    Is feidir linn my arse

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Jan 21st 2012, 8:47 AM

Hi P Wurple,
    I feel I must clear things up for you:
    First off, he wasn’t being asked about people who are emigrating by choice, he completely ignored the context of the questions the way the media is ignoring the context of his answer :-D
    Secondly, emigrating so they can “have a good quality of life” .
    That’s their lifestyle choice?
    Effectively saying – they could stay here and have a shit life if they wanted to, it’s there choice to leave.
    A good quality of life is a “lifestyle choice” now? people should be happy to stay here and live in the world of shit Fianna Fail delivered us to?
    I don’t think so.

Mute JustDieter
    Favourite JustDieter
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:34 PM

Stand up Irish people, stand up !

Mute linda marvel
    Favourite linda marvel
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:15 PM

Didn’t he say ‘some’????

Mute Paul O'Keeffe
    Favourite Paul O'Keeffe
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:24 PM

He needs to resign. In most other countries politicians would step down for less. Maybe it is the culture of the confessional that is ingrained in this society that makes them think they can get away with blue murder (or maybe that should be red cent murder). This man is simply incapable of understanding the plight of most Irish people. He needs to go.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:26 PM

Well, he is right. I know many people who left Ireland just for the lifestyle choice and I know many who couldn’t get a job over here, so decided to leave. Its very much a mixed bag and its unfair to suggest otherwise.

I couldn’t get over the comments yesterday, as it seemed to suggest he didn’t believe anybody left for employment reasons. How could anybody think that, when its very much the case? Even the most uneducated fool would understand that. So good to see the comment clarified anyway.

Mute Teddy O Shea
    Favourite Teddy O Shea
    Jan 20th 2012, 5:07 PM

This is not about his wife and she should not be brought into this.

He brought his kids into this, but the thing is were they forced to immigrate like thousands of young people.
    Were they on the dole before they went, did they take out Mortgage’s to put a roof over their family’s heads leaving them in negative equity for the rest of their live’s, having to immigrate just to pay the bills.

I think he should keep his mouth shut, and stop trying to hold his kids up as a shining example of the young leaving Ireland. Lifestyle choice my HOLE.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:10 PM

Bringing someones wife and kids into a debate is uncalled for no matter who the person is, his quotes were taken out of context, deal with it. This country was messed up along time before Fine Gael became government, the majority voted them so again, deal with that.

Mute ged_star
    Favourite ged_star
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:17 PM

Nice lips Rosie

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:20 PM

NOONAN held his family up as an example at the press conference and dragged them into the argument. You cannot have it both ways.

Mute Paul O'Keeffe
    Favourite Paul O'Keeffe
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:55 PM

Are you for real Rosie? He brought his children into this debate. The fact that three of them are living their lives abroad is fair game. You can be damn sure they had more than your average Irish person’s chances and of course being part of the elite would have more than the average Irish person’s chance to get a decent job in Ireland. Noonan is so completely out of touch he doesn’t realise that most of us don’t have these ‘choices’. I agree that his wife, whatever her circumstances, shouldn’t be brought into this debate, but I would love to know what it is his kids do. What’s the bet they didn’t get their jobs on merit alone?

Mute Pádraic O'Callanáin
    Favourite Pádraic O'Callanáin
    Jan 20th 2012, 4:17 PM

Rosie, didn’t he bring his kids into this conversation/debate in his inital blundering statement?

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 21st 2012, 4:23 PM

Rosie
    We all know the country was sold out by FFailures ….. Then FG/Labour got in on empty promises and FF failings.
    They did u turns on all their election promises . They are every bit as bad as FF/Greens.
    His comments were not taken out of context .He is a condescending so and so, and being honest They will never be elected to power again.

Mute ian mc dermott
    Favourite ian mc dermott
    Jan 20th 2012, 10:02 PM

Good lord . . . . And he’s our finance minister . . . . . What chance do we have

Mute RL
    Favourite RL
    Jan 20th 2012, 2:49 PM

I complained about this story yesterday and instead of continuing to fight an uphill battle I would like to give people the opportunity to view the actual response and the actual question:

Full Press Conference:

My opinion is that this story is an example of unfair, unbalanced and partial reporting and therefore I think people should be given the opportunity to decide whether they would have reported this story in the same way…

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Jan 20th 2012, 3:17 PM

“his story is an example of unfair, unbalanced and partial reporting ”
    No, it is not. He poohed-poohed the problem, implying that the only emigrants are unskilled labourers and people taking time out.
    and HE brought his family into the argument.

Mute colm cassin
    Favourite colm cassin
    Jan 21st 2012, 2:47 AM

This man should be Axed and anyone who sticks up for him

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Jan 20th 2012, 11:23 PM

I wonder would he say that his deliberate misleading of the Irish people in relation to what the bondholders were paid in the Anglo deal on the QUinn Group was taking out of context too. THis man has no scruples and no morals.

Mute Michael Russell
    Favourite Michael Russell
    Jan 20th 2012, 5:03 PM

Flies in the face of burtons “lifestyle choice” comment she made about welfare recipients doesn’t it? but there ye go, a government that hasn’t a clue, so what is it? lifestyle choice to stay and claim benefits? or lifestyle choice to go away and work? NOONAN you prat, and BURTON you idiot can you not see people are not often in a position of choice. ha, add that contradiction to the possible u-turn on cuts in schools and it tells us that this government is not doing their homework! in fact there not doing much really are they? shall we expelled them? or maybe send them abroad to do a bit of work?

Mute Pearse Corcoran
    Favourite Pearse Corcoran
    Jan 21st 2012, 11:24 AM

Hold on, I am a young man who wants to travel after I finish my education to see new countries and learn about other cultures, that’s a lifestyle choice and i know plenty more of the same so he’s pretty much right in his comments that some go for lifestyle reasons but most forced for employment.