You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Zuckerberg Paul Sakuma/AP/Press Association Images

Facebook set to file $5 billion IPO today

The initial public offering of stocks in the social networking giant has been long anticipated and could eventually make Bono a rich man…

FACEBOOK IS SET to file papers with US regulators later today and make a $5 billion initial public offering, according to numerous reports.

The social networking giant has selected Morgan Stanley and four other book-runners including Bank of America, Merrill Lynch, Barclays Capital and JP Morgan to handle the IPO, targeting a sale of $5 billion of shares, according to Reuters which cites IFR.

The website is valued at up to $100 billion so the initial $5 billion target could be ramped upwards in the coming months if there is investor demand. Reuters says this ‘coming-out party’ would likely dwarf tech rival Google’s IPO of $2 billion.

Analysts expect it to be the biggest market debut in US history.

The public filing has been long anticipated by investors with those who own shares in the company, including founder Mark Zuckerberg, set to become instant billionaires.

Zuckerberg founded the social network in his dorm room at Harvard university eight years ago and currently owns 24 per cent of the company.

U2 duo Bono and The Edge would also likely become billionaires if there is a subsequent full stock market flotation with their investment vehicle owning a 1.5 per cent stake in the site.

The Telegraph reports that going public will provide several challenges for Facebook and its CEO Zuckerberg who will be under pressure to ensure quarterly results meet or exceed expectation among Wall Street investors.

Facebook will need to balance its need to deliver revenue from advertising while at  the same time not turning off users who have in the past expressed concerns with how the information it shares with the website is used.

But investors are certainly looking forward to it.

“Pandemonium is what I expect in terms of demand for this stock,” says Scott Sweet, senior managing partner at IPO Boutique, an advisory firm. “I don’t think Wall Street would want to anger Facebook users.”

- additional reporting from AP

Report: Facebook to file for entry to stock markets next week

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:21 AM

just shows the low level of intelligence in this country.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:34 AM

@Niall English: Or yours?

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:47 AM

@Niall English: thankfully it’s a lot higher than I thought it was a year ago.

Mute Michael Carr
    Favourite Michael Carr
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:50 AM

@Niall English: yeah. Can’t believe how high Aontú and Shinners are. People be cray cray.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:37 PM

@Niall English: true, one in five still between the nonsense from SF/IRA

Mute Eoin .h
    Favourite Eoin .h
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:45 PM

@Pat Hazzard: coming from a man who never experienced discrimination or state collusion in his life. If it were up to you, we’d still be having bloody Sundays in the north

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:26 PM

@Eoin .h: Yes there was discrimination in the north but it was on both sides. Was the marriage ban on catholics not to marry Protestants not discrimination. In the early sixties, particularly among the younger generation, there was a coming together of both communities but thanks to the likes of Paisley, Adams and McGuinness relations were set back decades.
    Did the indiscriminate bombings by the PIRA not make them worse than the British army.

Mute Eoin .h
    Favourite Eoin .h
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:08 PM

@Vincent Alexander: no, there was not state discrimination on both. Orange order still today prevents members to associate with catholics. I’m talking about housing, employment both public and private sector, gerrymandering of electoral boundaries and public transport. Weird you also mentioned the early sixties as that’s exactly when the civil rights movement began.
    Btw the IRA were actually the most discriminate to civilians compared to loyalist paramilitaries and British army (even when loyalist proxy gangs are excluded).

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Sep 19th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Eoin .h: you’re right of course, the IRA were all about equality in their murders and that’s why they killed more Catholics than the others too.

Mute Eoin .h
    Favourite Eoin .h
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:21 PM

@Darius Guppy: they didn’t. Check the Conflict Archives of Northern Ireland yourself

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:22 PM

@Eoin .h: People like John Hume stood up for his community and fought discrimination. He didn’t murder, rape nor abuse, unlike the Provo leader and MI5 agent from Derry.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Eoin .h: Prior to partition the Unionist slogan was “Home Rule is Rome Rule “. They were right in their prediction. In the Free State health and education handed over to the church with the resultant scandals and the Irish language as a compulsory subject. Jobs for the boys and the brown envelope culture wasn’t much different to the Orange state north of the border.
    As regards the PIRA it is already mentioned about the number of catholics they killed. They weren’t very discriminate with the “disappeared” – Jean McConville for example – or the Canary Wharf bombing.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Sep 19th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Niall English: I guess you got that one wrong too!!

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:35 AM

As Einstein said “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing”….ah…f…it, why do I bother.

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: also known as Stockholm Syndrome

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:58 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: Is it terribly difficult for you to comprehend that not everybody shares your opinion?

It would be insane to think they do.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:06 AM

Blah blah blah.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:38 PM

@KTH: indeed, it appears the more the SF dad’s army comment on the Journal, support for FF/FG increases.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:10 AM

YES! Suck on that, plebs. Ahahahahahahahaha! We’re gonna take all of your taxes and cover this country with bike sheds and tent cities and you’re gonna love it, ye little dopes. Ahahahahahahaha. Imagine if we had a serious opposition party. Just think about it for a second. Spending our taxes to genuinely benefit the ones paying said taxes.
    What a novel concept! I’m that disillusioned at this stage, I’m strongly considering getting into politics myself. I just hope there are smarter people than me on the same page.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:42 PM

@Mike: why dont you run, seeing as you have all the answers

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:27 PM

@Peter Byrne: I’m genuinely considering it. Thank you for your input and I hope I can rely on your vote.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Sep 19th 2024, 10:48 PM

@Mike: Another Independent. Good luck with that!!

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 20th 2024, 12:17 AM

@chris gaffney: Thank you for your support, pleb. You are valued.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:11 AM

Surge? Up 3%….there was a time where the support for the main parties stood in the 30′s and the 40′s…heady days indeed

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:36 PM

I wonder if it is actually true. I wonder about polls. Remember that referendums we had earlier this year, Sunday before both were been certain to pass yet were heavily defeated. I don’t believe it’s a true reflection on things.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:37 PM

@John Hally: Too many are clinging on two a small number of polls that got it wrong. Biggest issue for FG is impact of new candidates.

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:49 PM

@John Hally: this was a poll of 1200 people.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:15 PM

@Tony Murphy: typo in original….”clinging on to a small number of recent polls that got it wrong….”

Mute Adrian Aungier
    Favourite Adrian Aungier
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:23 AM

The sheep will be bamboozled by getting our own money back in a giveaway budget with “taxpayers” money. Oh the people are easily pleased and fooled. Immigration, homelessness,affordale homes for our citizens, health all issues that need to be addressed but the fools will vote for these hapless FFG party an the ministers for homelessness O Brien’, Donnelly, and O’Gorman to name a few are incompetent wasters.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:42 AM

Ffs

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:08 PM

Bizarre!

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:37 PM

A bit like the polls for the Referendums showing a clear victory for the Yes side, I don’t think this Election will pan out as per the polls, lots of anger on the ground. Housing, Immigration, Health, Law & Order are all major failures under this Govt’s watch.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:49 PM

@SV3tN8M4: what’s your prediction then, John? Maybe you think SF or FF are more popular than the poll suggests? Or maybe some random independents, or Aontu? Or Ireland First even?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 20th 2024, 12:20 AM

@Kevin Kerr: Dude, seriously! Get a fkn life. It’s embarrassing how much time you spend on here towing the party line. I’m just glad I don’t know you in real life because I would have to give you a slap.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:49 AM

Mother of god, I blame the culchies and southsiders

Mute Michael Carr
    Favourite Michael Carr
    Sep 19th 2024, 11:52 AM

@Freda Peeple: No more bike sheds for you.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:12 PM

Looks like a FFG permanent government for the foreseeable.I’d advise anyone 18-45 years to get out as fast as possible.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:14 PM

FFG could rule alone for the next 5 years with just a couple of independents with those results

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:32 PM

@9QRixo8H: I think you need about 42% and transfers.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:19 PM

@9QRixo8H: Don’t be spreading nightmare scenarios!

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:29 PM

May not translate into seats.Remember 18 have left and it takes time for new candidates to get established.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:35 PM

@JOHN O CONNELL: Will you “man up” and put yourself up for election?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:16 PM

@JOHN O CONNELL: Not much of a patriot then!

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Willie Marty: if fg get 27% of first preferences then they will get around 27% of seats. On a good day for transfers they might make it to 30, maybe even 31%. On a bad day, they still won’t be much under 25%

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:05 PM

@JOHN O CONNELL: How does it feel to be a keyboard patriot? What have you done to improve our country?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 9:04 PM

@JOHN O CONNELL: I used my vote in recent local elections to make sure the so called “patriots” who degrade our flag didn’t get elected.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:22 PM

And we say Americans are thick

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:01 PM

Thr lads from West Belfast won’t be happy with that drop in support.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:27 PM

That leaves them 16 tds with 17 not standing again,they have 27% rating,but they need another 16 newbies,whos going to vote for totally unknowns

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:54 PM

@David Clarke: Irish people will, especially if it’s a celeb with no proven record, a shoe in here. Watch this space
    -Record homelessness
    -Unaffordable housing
    -The party that brought you massive waste of public money..bike shelter,bam hosp etc etc
    -corrupt td’s. .Damien English
    -Hse…children not getting spinal ops, record waiting lists, private healthcare if u want to be looked after
    -One of the most expensive countries to live in.
    -very high taxes, except for foreigners
    -Plenty if low paid jobs for full employment that pay so little you can’t live on it.
    And on, And on
    The result, FFG voted back in, very sophisticated electorate.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:49 PM

@David Clarke: but in many cases they won’t be total unknowns, they’ll be local councillors, or members of the senate. And even when they are total unknowns, the same will be true of many of the candidates from other parties

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:16 PM

The Irish Times poll, taken in the Buttery at Trinity, amongst beer and weed addled students!

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:18 PM

@Brian Hunt: Where did the Irish Times conduct their polls that previously showed SF as the most popular party?

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:52 PM

SF and mary is finished

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:55 PM

Shame on anybody supporting FG. How in your right mind could anyone support this vile party?. I would love to hear your explanation but like your glorious leader, Simon Harris, you obviously don’t give a damn what is happening to our country.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:50 PM

@Gerry Lamont: depends on the alternatives, no? Some of them are pretty vile as well, don’t you think?

Mute dan donagher
    Favourite dan donagher
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:41 PM

Harris, who was elected on the 7 count at least, could have been more, with his popularity risen to 55%, or so. No wonder why so many young people have left this country. Imagine another term do FFG!

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 9:06 PM

@dan donagher: Young people leave all the time. Travel and see the world. More need to do so.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:27 PM

Should scrap elections and just have a journal poll as clearly those in the comments section represent the majority of people in Ireland.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Sep 19th 2024, 12:30 PM

Better the devil you know?

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:56 PM

@brian o’leary: WTF is that supposed to mean?.FFG/g are a poison that needs to be eradicated forever.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:45 PM

Most people are very happy with their lor and better off than ever

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:23 PM

@Peter Byrne: Most people took responsibility for their lives and made good decisions. The people who whinge the loudest are those who constantly need to be outraged at the very government they expect to hold their hands and guide them through life. They are unhappy with their lives. They just haven’t figured out that they are fully in control.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:30 PM

I told some people, before local elections, that guys like Derek you know who, and other like them, have a deal with FG, while they were heavily attacking SF, PBP and other parties. I know it might shock you, but underground it’s a completely different world than the one in front of your eyes.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:39 PM

@Chris: underground being all the Nazis who couldn’t even manage to get 1% support in an actual election?

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:57 PM

@Chris: They were heavily attacking the government parties as well.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Sep 19th 2024, 4:35 PM

We’ll never learn.
    although I will say we have very little choice.

Mute Patrick O'Leary
    Favourite Patrick O'Leary
    Sep 19th 2024, 6:31 PM

€336,000 bike shed obviously put them over the top Jesus wept….

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:21 PM

Fine Gael’s hand out to the far-right is working, after all,didn’t Varadkar say that he’d work with the far-right and the far-left. Leaders change but policies remain the same. Making asylum seekers pay doe their stay in direct provision,they are stuck there through the extremely slow asylum process and the housing crisis, all caused by Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael, plus Labour and the Greens but hey, blame asylum seekers. They say we’re an intelligent country but didn’t Einstein say about doing the same thing twice and expecting different results, a subservient country that seems to enjoy being punished for the rich in the hope that one day they may be rich, not a hope, it’s a closed club but I suppose like Harris you could become Taoiseach and become rich through that.

Mute Andrew Harrington
    Favourite Andrew Harrington
    Sep 19th 2024, 6:14 PM

@EOIN. h: The IRA killed more civilians than all other groups together! Look it up on CAIN.

Mute Conor Garvey
    Favourite Conor Garvey
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:33 PM

Is because the opposition in the dail is useless

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:47 PM

Look in You Tube for Mouse utopia.

It’s an experiment from 1960′s with mice. The mice had plenty of food, water and living space. But the spark of competition was gone. The population lost interest in reproduction and died out.

Males became effeminate . Females became aggressive and abandoned their offspring. The aggressives attacked the remaining ‘normal’ reproducing mice.

It looks like an explanation for the ‘progressive’ penetration of our society

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:43 PM

@Antony Stack: You need to ease off the weed.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:56 PM

@Sun Rise:
    Did you bother to look?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTDTVbourzU

Mute Martin Dolan
    Favourite Martin Dolan
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:45 PM

Was a time when the people who really knew how to run the country were too busy driving taxis and cutting hair. Now they just post comments on The Journal

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:21 PM

With the Apple Tax to spend the result of the next election is already decided

Mute Paul Red
    Favourite Paul Red
    Sep 19th 2024, 10:37 PM

What this country needs is more bike sheds
    And a space shuttle…

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 19th 2024, 5:30 PM

You can fool some of the people all the time is a truth

Mute Sean O
    Favourite Sean O
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:36 PM

Harris is gone so is mick Martin Mcantee o Gorman bye bye and all the rest of the clowns

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Sean O: Post this again when you sober up.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:55 PM

It turns out that the end of the road for Sinn Fein came last year in November when the riot broke out in the city centre. Many of their followers realised only then that they are in essence a pro immigration party. I was wondering when the penny would drop on that for a long time and there it was. Bad timing for them. They were making hay on the current governments shambolic record on housing. There has been a slight uptick in that but what will happen is that more or less the current government will get returned, they will again rest on their laurels on housing but that they are exactly smashing it now and people will be outraged again.

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Sep 20th 2024, 2:21 AM

Oh dear .. years of people calling out the FF_FG doupoly , their mismanagement…and here we are .

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:17 PM

All good work doing sure lol

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:22 PM

Here we go again the stupidity is hard to fathom

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 19th 2024, 9:11 PM

Oh no here we go again and again.

Mute Rosie Martin
    Favourite Rosie Martin
    Sep 21st 2024, 6:57 PM

Remember the Poll results that were carried out before the Referendum.. !!! Must be another RTE canteen poll.

Mute Mattia Accinelli
    Favourite Mattia Accinelli
    Sep 20th 2024, 7:57 PM

The definition of ‘insanity’ is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Sep 23rd 2024, 8:00 PM

€ 332, 000 on a bike shed for 18 bicycles, and the government gets a popularity boost.
    This is why Ireland is f__ked.