You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin maternity hospital chief says Irish abortion patient died while flying home after termination

Fergal Malone revealed the woman’s death at yesterday’s hearing of the Committee on the Eighth Amendment.

1 Master of the Rotunda Hospital Fergal Malone Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

A WOMAN DIED in recent years on a flight home from the UK after undergoing a pregnancy termination, according to the master of one of Ireland’s leading maternity hospitals.

Fergal Malone, master of the Rotunda Hospital in Dublin’s north city centre, made the revelation over the course of the evening hearing of the Committee on the Eighth Amendment of the Constitution at Leinster House yesterday.

During his opening remarks to the Committee, Malone discussed the options available to women pregnant with cases of fatal foetal abnormality, including the option to travel for a termination abroad.

He described one of the main concerns of splitting such care across jurisdictions as being “the potential risks to the physical health of the mother when travelling”:

“Risks associated with travelling for pregnancy termination include infection or haemorrhage which has tragically resulted in the death of one of our patients when travelling to the United Kingdom.”

He said, that in the case of women who choose to terminate their pregnancy, the hospital cannot make direct referrals.

“Patients who choose this course of action are supported to within the limits of Irish legislation,” he said.

Malone continued to say that a journey abroad for a termination in such circumstances is “clearly associated with significant additional challenges for patients, including travelling for healthcare to an unfamiliar city with no family support, significant financial costs, typically €800 to €1500, not including travel costs”, together with the “significant distress associated with leaving their baby’s remains in another country”.

He said that obstetricians are faced with many challenges when dealing with cases of complex foetal abnormalities, not least the reliance on “patients themselves communicating complex medical information”.

In 2016, Malone said, 55 patients of the Rotunda Hospital travelled from Ireland to the UK for terminations in cases of fatal foetal abnormality.

“We cannot contact staff directly on behalf of a particular patient,” said Malone, adding that there is a “distinct lack of fairness” between the standard of care afforded to a mother carrying a baby with a fatal foetal abnormality who chooses to stay in Ireland as compared with a woman who chooses to travel and is “forced to endure the split of her care between two jurisdictions”.

Read: Dr Rhona Mahony tells Eighth Committee: ‘We must address the criminalisation of medical care’

Read: Over half of voters would back a limited liberalisation of Ireland’s abortion law

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

130 Comments
    Mute PDiddy
    Favourite PDiddy
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:04 AM

That is so sad and goes to show what we’re subjecting women to.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:06 AM

@PDiddy: What the foetus is being subjected to either.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Martin Flood: *too

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:40 AM

@PDiddy

Speak for yourself, no one ‘subjected’ her to anything other than herself. Two human lives lost needlessly.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:59 AM

@Ken O’Neill: As usual the “prolife” side seem to know all the facts of the individual case before making their comments.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Ken O’Neill: what do you know about her medical records ?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Ken O’Neill: FFS…what would you know about the 1000′s of women that have crossed the Irish sea for abortions. Talk to them. Don’t bother trying to preach just talk. Oh and adopt the babies of those that you change the minds of. I doubt you would do any of these.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:19 PM

Maybe listen to the experts ‘ken’. It was stated at committee yesterday that “Risks associated with travelling for pregnancy termination include infection or haemorrhage which has tragically resulted in the death of one of our patients when travelling to the United Kingdom.”

Are you more qualified than the expert who stated this?

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:53 PM

@The Risen:

“Are you more qualified than the expert who stated this?”

Is it possible that it could be an expert with an agenda?

If travelling is a risk factor for infection and haemorrhage, could this not also happen in a taxi, bus or train? Or in the car?

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:19 PM

@Liam flag:

It is possible to make a statement of facts, beyond question in a way that is intended to persuade a certain narrative. It’s called spin.
    Are you saying that is not possible?

Never heard of Youth Defence. I pulled nothing from nowhere, I simply posed some questions, or perhaps you would seek to outlaw questions on this issue?

After all, there was a case of a woman dying in a taxi following an abortion.

http://metro.co.uk/2013/07/23/abortion-tourist-died-in-a-taxi-after-london-visit-3894369/

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Liam flag:

I do not have to prove anything to pose a question, I think you have your head somewhere it shouldn’t be.

Then you come up with a false equivalence. FFS

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Liam flag: dear oh dear. Trotting out Youth Defence just because somebody asks a reasonable question. Let me guess, religious nut label will be next. There are a few reasonable questions to ask surely like what percentage of Irish women with child have died while travelling? Statistically what is this risk? Would they have died if they were travelling within Ireland for example? That’s a reasonable question in the context of any travel argument.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:59 PM

@Fran Lonergan: she looked for an earlier abortion in this country but was refused ..She then saved up money for a few weeks so that she could get the procedure carried out in the UK,which unfortunately she died from complications afterwards..

ps..it is also well known that an abortion after the first trimester carries a higher risk to the woman’s health..

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Oct 12th 2017, 4:16 PM

@Martin Flood: my Stepmam had to abort my little sister at 20 weeks. My little sister had a hole in her heart, her brain and was never going to live outside the womb- there were doubts she would even make it to term.

My Stepmam had to go to the UK. Subject herself to a termination in a foreign land. Recover that night in a hotel. And fly home grieving the next day.

How DARE you think you have a say in what she did was right or wrong.

And I am ASHAMED that she could not go home to her own bed after a clearly necessary procedure.

How DARE YOU.

Mute Michael Kelly
    Favourite Michael Kelly
    Oct 12th 2017, 4:46 PM

@PDiddy: I totally agree, we should have the procedure avaialble here, in Ireland. Don’t think I am trying to support either side of the argument, COZ I’M NOT… I’M A MAN FFS.
    All I’m saying is, a lot of people have op’s to remove unwanted tattoo’s, scars etc.. & until you’re in that position of having to make, ( what I would believe to be) an unimaginable decision, STAY THE FUNK BACK… There is no expert on the issue in reality, only numbers & paperwork…Cop on it’s almost 2018..

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:41 AM

i still don’t understand why abortion should not be allowed upto 20 weeks when foetus is definitely not viable outside anyways. Also i feel peo life should not be eating eggs or meat if their logic fits there as well.

Mute Stan
    Favourite Stan
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:06 PM

Pro lifers didn’t want us to move past 1993-95. When being gay or lesbian was decriminalised 1993, condoms legal to buy without doctors prescription to married only straight couples 1994, divorce and playboy being legalised 1995,harder porn being legalised 1996 onwards. Did the world fall in when we legalised things decades and even centuries after the rest of the western world? Abortion being denied to the poorest women in Ireland is the last thing keeping backward FG & FF voters going is hopefully abortion will be legal next summer and FG & FF lose voters at the same time.

Mute CazzoA
    Favourite CazzoA
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:11 PM

@Annette: Good point Annette.
    Or squash a spider, catch a mouse, etc.

They will argue that these are not humans with souls, in which case bringing god into the argument again ends the conversation as god has absolutely nothing to do with deciding our laws.

If we must define pro-life as pro-human life, is sperm a human? In which case avoid any masturbation as that is killing sperm.
    Is the wasted monthly egg a human?
    Is it only when the sperm hits fertilises the egg, it is human? The real fact of the matter is that it is not. Its a fertilised egg. Potential to be human yes, but nowhere close to it.

In my opinion, quickening, when a woman start to feel movement, is when the foetus becomes humanlike and closely followed by when the foetus, if born, would be viable with assistance. Around 24 weeks. That is human.

Mute Stan
    Favourite Stan
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:26 PM

@CazzoA: Pro lifers should be against condoms and even every ejacuation that’s happens not inside a vagina for procreation only as millions of sperms are life too and every masturbation millions die.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Annette: You realise of course that eggs have no potential to grow into a baby chicken, much less a human, and are therefore irrelevant here.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:54 PM

@Annette:

I certainly wouldn’t eat a fertilized egg- would you??

Mute Ray Muller
    Favourite Ray Muller
    Oct 12th 2017, 3:45 PM

@Stan:
    Being “gay” or “lesbian” was never a criminal offence in Ireland. The law that was decriminalized in 1993 were in reference to sodomy!

Mute J M Raw
    Favourite J M Raw
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:02 AM

Abortions for some, miniature Irish flags for others

Mute Stan
    Favourite Stan
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:21 AM

Where is the so called pro lifers concern for the existing life like the thousands of homeless kids? Pro lifers say “love to both and give all the support to mothers”(even though public hospital waiting lists 700,000 & counting so poor single mothers would have to join that list to prep for a forced birth) as soon as a poor child is born to a single mother they put them in emergency accommodation and don’t care about them in fact resent them as welfare burdens.

Mute Dani O'Hara
    Favourite Dani O'Hara
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:40 AM

@Stan: bit of a stupid statement there

Mute Stan
    Favourite Stan
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:44 AM

@Dani O’Hara: You can’t handle the truth that ye pro lifers are against social housing existing poverty life. The truth hit a nerve there with ye so called pro lifers.

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Stan: Ah yeah Stan because children are homeless lets terminate them to ensure we don’t have this issue in future. There’s no link between the two so enough please.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:39 PM

@Stan: surplus to requirements Stan, eh?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:03 AM

Would be interesting to obtain just what a fatal fetal abnormality constitutes. My guess is the vast majority of these cases are down syndrome related. It’s not possible to determine inborn errors of metabolism until post natal. We need a well defined breakdown from Fergal Malone

Mute Evanna Craig
    Favourite Evanna Craig
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:10 AM

@saoirse janneau: that’s complete rubbish.

Mute Tristan Rowntree
    Favourite Tristan Rowntree
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:10 AM

@saoirse janneau: “fatal fetal abnormality” constitutes the thin end of the wedge!

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:15 AM

@saoirse janneau: How about you inform yourself rather than spewing your ill informed rubbish on social media.

Moronic .stuff

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:17 AM

@saoirse janneau: you do talk some bollocks..

“In about 75% of cases where the unborn child was diagnosed with anencephaly, a fatal foetal abnormality where parts of the brain and skull are missing, parents chose to terminate, Prof Malone said. There are 20 to 30 such cases at the Rotunda each year.”
    “Parents in about three quarters of cases where the diagnosis was Trisomy 18, where the baby has an extra chromosome in its cells, chose to terminate, he said.”

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/new-rotunda-master-calls-for-change-in-laws-on-abortion-374293.html

Mute Thomas McGuire
    Favourite Thomas McGuire
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:22 AM

@saoirse janneau: “My guess is…” Yawn.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:23 AM

@Evanna Craig: absolutely not. The master of the Rotunda even stated that the concept of fatal fetal abnormality is a misnomer as it’s indefinable. Some babies survive 12 hours some 13 days some into adulthood. If one looks at the various tests that can be performed they are indicative not definitive. Amniocentesis being a good example. For eg have a friend who tested abnormal for this during her 3 pregnancies but produced healthy children in all cases. It’s called false positive and equally there are cases of false negative.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:43 AM

@Tristan Rowntree:
    They disingenuously cite these rare tragic cases to introduce abortion on demand, that’s what they really want, to be able to kill healthy unborn infants because they’re an inconvenience.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:02 PM

@saoirse janneau: Prolifers always have friends blah blah blah, Like homophobes have gay friends and racists have black friends. Even if the termination was for Downs who do you think you are to get involved?? None of your business so keep your nose out of it.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Rob Cahill: calm down Rob. I’m merely stating that defects fall under categories and I want to know what categories these 55 cases constitute. It’s relevant as it is the main premise behind the article. Yes it is my business. I’m entitled to an opinion as are you. However the difference between your approach and mine is that I don’t demean the opposition.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:33 PM

@saoirse janneau: are you trying to imply that the professional consultants in the hospital said that these were FFA but in fact were downes? Because that’s quite the implication. You really might want to back away from that because apart from being completely in your own head, implies misconduct on the part of these professionals. I’m pretty sure you know full well that none of them were but you are doing your best to put that little evil seed in peoples minds. Be very careful or you will do some serious damage to your campaign with that kind of innuendo and implications. Although there again saoirse.. Go right ahead.

Mute Joan Gaw
    Favourite Joan Gaw
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:43 PM

@saoirse janneau: you see I don’t think you should have an opinion on healthcare issues between any individual and their doctor. I do not demand you carry an organ donor card nor that every EMBRYO in freezers around the country be given a womb. Practice your misogyny in private and do not inflict it on anyone else

Mute Eimear Houlihan
    Favourite Eimear Houlihan
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:57 PM

@saoirse janneau: yes you are entitled to your opinion. Your own reproductive system and your choices for your body are your business. Someone else’s body, life and choice are none of your business.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:04 PM

@saoirse janneau: in answer to your question google Trisomy 13 with Cystic figromas. Look at the pictures and read about the symptoms. Then come back on this site and comment on your thoughts.
    You have made a most ignorant and hurtful suggestion,
    I travelled to Liverpool with my daughter, her husband and her Father when she got this diagnosis at her 11 week scan!
    This was the worst experience in our lives
    Most Children with Downes Syndrome live life to the full and to bundle them in with babies diagnosed with a fatal fetal diagnosis most also be very hurtful to the parents of thes lovely children.
    I await to hear back from you!

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:18 PM

@Ken O’Neill: Ireland has abortion on demand for wealthy people, we just out source it to the uk

Mute Siobhan O Reilly
    Favourite Siobhan O Reilly
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:45 PM

@saoirse janneau: where did you get your medical licence?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:18 PM

@Dell: no medical professional can determine when and where a new born dies. The question here is where is the cut off point?? If a kid dies within 5 seconds, 5 hours 5 days ,5 years.
    I want this Fergal guy to substantiate the data for all of us to see. It’s important. There are multiple birth defects and there is a subset within that subset that will not survive. Big differentiation. I want to see that data in the journal article. As I said previously his predecessor stated that it’s impossible to call out a case as a fatal case as no one can predetermine when death could /will occur with anyone. Am I less important if my lifespan is 14 days as opposed to 80 years?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:20 PM

@Rob Cahill: Why do you object to pro-life people having friends ?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:29 PM

@Mary Lyons: I am genuinely sorry for your loss. I am merely stating I would like to see the details behind those 55 cases obviously anonomously. Is this such an awful request? I absolutely know Downes syndrome is not fatal. However it’s known throughout Europe that most diagnosed with this condition are terminated.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:41 PM

@saoirse janneau: your guess would be way off the mark. A fatal foetal abnormality is simple to define – it means that the foetus won’t survive after birth. I hope you realize that Down syndrome is not a fatal illness?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:45 PM

@saoirse janneau: “I want to know what categories these 55 cases constitute”

Why though?? No one will ever force you to terminate a pregnancy so this won’t affect you in any way.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:46 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: I don’t, I’m just sick of listening to them lying all the time.

Mute AP
    Favourite AP
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:17 PM

@saoirse janneau: what are you even on about….. my guess is they are downs syndrome…… how presumptuous and sanctimonious….. words fail me at the ignorance of some people

Mute AP
    Favourite AP
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:19 PM

@Mary Lyons: put nicely in her place …… from one mother affected to another….. well said mary

Mute Joan Gaw
    Favourite Joan Gaw
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:34 PM

@Ken O’Neill: rare cases? 55 women had to travel to the uk from the rotunda alone in 2016 ….. and you think that’s rare?

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:39 PM

@saoirse janneau: utter rubbish saoirse, what you attempted to do, and failed miserably, was insinuate that these professionals were giving a diognisis of FFA in cases of downes. You couldn’t be less sensitive to the families and women involved if you tried. Not very loving for someone who no doubt claims to love them both.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 12th 2017, 10:12 PM

@saoirse janneau: Did you google Trisomy 13? I just want to know.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:34 AM

Anyone against abortion is misogynistic. Yes, women can hate women too.

And anyone who brings religion to the debate should be sectioned. There’s people in our psychiatric institutions who aren’t as deluded. Why we pander to this deluded section of society for no other reason than ‘tradition’ is ridiculous.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:41 AM

@GizmoIrl: Being anti-abortion is not inherently misogynistic, don’t be ridiculous.

People oppose abortion for a variety of reasons – some valid, some not (you mentioned religion).

It doesn’t help the pro-choice side if you’re going around proclaiming that everyone on the other side of the fence hates women. It’s just not that simple.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:43 AM

@Malachi: It’s absolutely that simple, give women the choice to do what they want to do with their bodies and how they want to spend the rest of their lives.

Anything else is subjugation.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:49 AM

@GizmoIrl: Nonsense. There are plenty of people (yes, including supposedly self-hating women) who just find the idea of terminating a foetus to be morally unacceptable – misogyny doesn’t come into the equation. I’ve spoken to many of these people.

It’s this kind of simplistic thinking that spoils any real conversation on the issue. If you’re not prepared to admit that abortion is a tough moral issue and that your opponents aren’t just a load of bigots, that’s your problem.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:15 PM

@Malachi: You can ‘find the idea of XYZ morally unacceptable’ all you want, you don’t get to dictate what others do with their bodies.

Thankfully, as with the Marriage Referendum, people realise that adults get to chose how they want to live their lives.

It is simple, it’s a debate that has been going on my whole lifetime.

Dinosaurs will be dragged into the 21st Century kicking or screaming or they’ll just die off.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:26 PM

@GizmoIrl: “You don’t get to dictate what other people do with their bodies”

Come on. The issue is that there are two bodies involved; the mother’s body and the body (or body-in-progress) of the foetus.

I narrowly come down on the side that the mother’s right to bodily autonomy takes precedence, but the idea that this isn’t a difficult question and that anyone who thinks the foetus’ right to life should prevail is a woman-hating dinosaur is just madness.

Learn to appreciate both sides of one of the toughest moral arguments humans have ever grappled with. It’s not a case of righteous vs. deluded as you’re portraying it.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:44 PM

@Malachi: There’s not two bodies.

It’s not difficult because time and science have moved on.

If you want to give more rights to a bunch of cells over a woman by forcing the woman to carry then that is misogynistic.

I don’t need to appreciate idiocy and oppression,

Mute B Collins
    Favourite B Collins

@Malachi: see malachi, you’re missing a key point. Many disagree with your statement that the “body-to-be”, as you described it, is a body, constitutes life, in the same sense as the mother and her body does. If a woman does not want to go through with a pregnancy, which takes a massive physical toll, then she shouldn’t be forced to, regardless of her reasons for not wanting to. Maybe she was raped. Maybe she doesn’t want to be a parent at all. Maybe she can’t afford it. Maybe one or two or three kids was enough. Maybe the father walked out. Maybe the father died. Maybe she doesn’t know the father. Maybe she doesn’t WANT to know the father. Maybe she can’t get away from the father. Maybe she wants to travel or be a zen monk. It’s her body. She chooses what happens to it.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:04 PM

@B Collins: I understand what Malachi is saying.However,I will not force anybody to remain pregnant against their will,—especially when I know that any pregnancy can cause great mental or physical problems to the woman..That is why I will leave it up to the woman and her doctor/s….#repealthe8th

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:49 PM

@GizmoIrl: Nobody’s dictating anything, we’re going to have a free and democratic vote (admittedly many years later than it should have happened)afrer which our society, just like every society has done since the dawn of humankind, will set a law as to what will or will not allow.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:09 PM

@B Collins: it all boils down to definition. Is there a human life inside that if left undisturbed will exit the mother’s womb within 36 weeks to be a baby. Is it right to remove this right to life from this soon to be baby? I actually believe it is right in restricted circumstances, mother’s life at risk FFA. I don’t believe in abortion on demand, under any circumstances, as I believe that the unborn has a right to life, just as we did when we were at our foetal stage of human development. It’s not a religious question, I’m not in the slightest bit religious but I’m not a bigot either, it’s a complex question of morality.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:14 PM

@Sean @114: No one has a right to life. Life is forced on us.

Also I think it’s despicable to force victimhood onto a woman to fulfil your own misguided morality.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Sean @114: then your morals will guide you…My morals tells me that the woman’s life is much more valuable than the embryos ‘life’.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:09 PM

@GizmoIrl: We do have a right to life once alive, though. It’s a human right.

Article 3 of the UN Declaration of Human Rights states:

“Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person.”

The right to life is one of the most fundamental rights any human being has, whether life is forced on us or not is irrelevant, it should not be taken away from those who have done no wrong.

As I said, I believe that the right to liberty of a woman takes precedence but I don’t hold it against people when they tell me they are pro-life, it’s a difficult issue.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:14 PM

@B Collins: I agree with your point about not wanting to force a woman through pregnancy. I can’t imagine how horrific that would be.

I don’t, however, agree with the distinction you drew between the life of the foetus and the life of the mother. It’s life whatever way you cut it, it’s just that one of the lives in question is dependent on the other until it can survive independently.

The semantic argument about what constitutes ‘life’ is one I don’t like to waste time on. A frog embryo is life, a bacterium is life, a human foetus is life too. It just comes down to an argument of life vs. liberty.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: yes we know that you don’t believe that life exists until the baby’s head pops out and bizarre and all as that belief is. You also believe in the right to unrestricted abortions even very late term. I disagree with you on both with exceptions per my previous comment.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:55 PM

@GizmoIrl: @GizmoIrl: everyone has a right to life or at least a right to not have it forcibly removed. What ‘victimhood’? I think it’s despicable that you don’t see a problem with ending a life for convenience sake.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 8:11 PM

@Sean @114: Nice try,but no cigar!

I’m entitled to my own belief which was that my life started when I was born.
    I believe that a foetus gets more rights when it is able to survive outside of the woman..
    I believe in trusting the medical staff when it comes to the reasons for ding abortions after a certain time…
    I don’t really care if you disagree with me..

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 8:53 PM

@Malachi: “We do have a right to life once alive” Correct.

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl
    Oct 12th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Sean @114: You will only allow abortion to women you consider victims. That says it all about you really. That is definition patriarchy.

Mute Emma Murphy
    Favourite Emma Murphy
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:09 AM

So an Irish woman dies after having an abortion in England and it’s the fault of the 8th Amendment?!

That committee is a rigged farce.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:14 AM

@Emma Murphy: Professor Malone has the expertise to carry out such procedures at his hospital…

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:20 PM

@Emma Murphy: Yes.

If that woman were able to have that procedure at home, with her doctors and proper after-care, she wouldn’t have died.

But she couldn’t have it here because of the 8th Amendment

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor

@meatyslaps:
    Do you apportion any blame to the doctors at the clinic who allowed her to go home until they were sure she was ok.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:58 PM

@Liam flag: what would that have to do, in any way, with people’s views on the morality of deliberately terminating a human life?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:20 PM

@Liam flag: it’s a moral question not a religious one

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:33 PM

@Liam flag:
    Where did I mention religion. I see it as a human rights issue. When you are throwing insults it suggests you are losing the debate.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:49 PM

@Liam flag: it was a rhetorical question Liam.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:48 PM

Is the 8th Amendment worth the life or health of a single pregnant or post pregnant woman?

My opinion is that the 8th Amendment is an dogmatic abstraction. I value the real lives of real women, more highly.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:37 AM

Stick your armchair morals where the sun don’t shine and stop interfering with other people’s rights and choices. None of your business what a woman decides so look after your own choices and morals and STFU !

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:47 AM

@Terry Cahill:
    Take your own advice hypocrite, he’s entitled to his opinion.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:27 PM

@Ken O’Neill: none of his business ! STFU !

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:59 AM

Women die from abortion complications all the time, it’s a very nasty procedure, and not just for the baby unfortunately.

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:03 PM

@Stephen:

You realise you are using the wrong noun for the subject of the “termination”, some people get really upset if you don’t use the descriptor of their choice.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Stephen: Most cases involve taking a tablet and having what is basically a heavy period. But keep pushing the “every abortion is at 8 months” tripe. It does the sane side a lot of good.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Stephen: the number of women that died in the UK last year,after they procured a first trimester abortion…was zero…

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:05 PM

@Fiona deFreyne:
    Are you for real. I gave birth to two premature babies and they looked exactly like my full time babies except that they were half the weight . E.g. 4.5 ounces.They thrived and are now adults. Try and stick to facts.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:42 PM
    Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:06 PM

@Daniel Dunne: She must have very small thumbs…

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Oct 12th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Stephen: false, an abortion under proper care carries with it very little risk at all to the woman, deaths are extremely rare. To claim they are common is an utter lie.

Deaths occur without proper medical care which is the situation we force women into in Ireland . In this case Ireland failed this woman by failing to provide proper medical care.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Oct 12th 2017, 12:52 PM

All the men with their comments. No ovaries no business commenting

Mute ian kennedy
    Favourite ian kennedy
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Kevin Slater: one of the reason ,s there is a debate is because of men and women

Mute Simone Zondervan-Hackett
    Favourite Simone Zondervan-Hackett
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:42 PM

@Kevin Slater: exactly! Who gives a man the right to decide what a woman can or can’t do with her body… on something which affects her entire life emotionally, physically, financially etc… Argghhhh makes me so mad.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:02 PM

@Simone Zondervan-Hackett: I didn’t realise women weren’t allowed to take part in referendums. That certainly needs to change.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:04 PM

@Kevin Slater: Are we a society or not? If we are, we have laws and we have to make collective decisions to determine those laws.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Simone Zondervan-Hackett: are men not emotionally or financially impacted? What if a woman aborts without any consultation with the father for reasons of convenience and they are in a loving relationship. The father’s duty of care to the baby still holds in utero.

Mute Simone Zondervan-Hackett
    Favourite Simone Zondervan-Hackett
    Oct 13th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Sean @114: if you are in a loving relationship you should respect that your partner does not want to be pregnant or have a baby. It is her body that has to go through the physically and emotional strain of being pregnant, the pain and risks of giving birth NOT a man! In addition, after the birth she will need time out of her career & life in order to recover, care for her child & get used to being a mother. If you don’t respect the choice of your partner to have an abortion you should not have relationship with one another. It’s a woman’s & only a woman’s choice to decide if she should or shouldn’t have an abortion. I salute men who are pro-choice & despise those who think they have a right on what a woman can or can’t do with her body. How dare they! It’s so controlling & backwards.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:38 AM

Here’s what I believe to be a very valid question to all who advocate a No change to the 8th: Do you give blood and do you have an organ donor card? Also are you involved in protest against the US even, who recently voted against a UN Human Rights resolution about removing Death Penalty?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:55 PM

@Nigel O’Neill: I don’t see why any of that is, anyone’s business, or why ot should preclude anyone from taking one side or another in an issue that is going to be put to us in a referendum.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Oct 12th 2017, 9:12 PM

@Neal really Neal…so its nobodys business but the same people want to have autonomy over other people’s bodies!?! Thats a bit hypocritical now don’t you think and yes it is very appropriate in terms of determining the commitment of all the ‘Pro-Life’ advocates and how much they personally commit to that mantra!

Mute Tristan Rowntree
    Favourite Tristan Rowntree
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:49 AM

Why was my comment highlighting the potentially life threatening nature of abortion procedures censored by the journal? It did not violate any part of the comment policy. Wtf.

Mute Fran Lonergan
    Favourite Fran Lonergan
    Oct 12th 2017, 11:53 AM

@Tristan Rowntree: Because it can and often does. If you are out of sync with the orthodoxy du jour, beware!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:53 PM

@Tristan Rowntree: In my experience people who express bafflement as to why their comment was deleted are usually well aware of why it was deleted.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 1:44 PM

So this procedure is so dangerous that you’re in danger of dying if you take a short flight after it, and yet a lot of people want to make it freely available on demand, including to women who aren’t even ill?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.:

1) a first trimester abortion in a safe, legal setting is one of the safest medical procedures that is out there..

2) any abortion after the first trimester the risks start to go higher

3) No-one has ever said that it’s 100% safe and that it doesn’t carry any risks to your physical or to your mental health

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 12th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Assuming for a moment that that’s all true and accurate, (despite you not having stated your medical credentials) , even the least risky medical procedures are not undergone if there’s no necessity for them, as in the case in the vast majority of on-demand abortions.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 12th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.:I think the rate is about 1 in 10 abortions for category 2) statistically and if the average was 4,000 abortions in ROI per year then that would be approx 400 procedures where the risk ‘is higher’.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: simply not true. People undergo procedures frequently even though they are not ‘necessary’, as in, the patient will not die as a direct result of NOT having the procedure.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 12th 2017, 8:29 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: why would i need ‘medical credentials’ when this information was provided by the experts that have been talking the last couple of days \O/

“A first-trimester abortion can be performed up to 13 weeks of pregnancy. Most induced abortions are performed during the first trimester. A first-trimester abortion is one of the safest medical procedures. It can be done safely in a health care provider’s office or clinic.”

Source : https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Induced-Abortion

A first trimester abortion is 14 times more safer than childbirth

Source : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22270271

What do you know about my wife’s previous childbirth experience ? Now I bet you don’t know the answer to that,yes ? You don’t know if she nearly lost her life or if she sailed through it …Most women who go for an abortion are already mothers…they know what is best for them..not you..

The 2nd rate could be lower if women had the opportunity to have an abortion in their own country of origin…

Mute AP
    Favourite AP
    Oct 12th 2017, 6:14 PM

Disgraceful in this day and age ……. it’s not an issue of morality it’s an issue of compassion and understanding in the same way that people who are not gay voted for equal rights for gay community members…… just because it doesn’t affect you personally shouldn’t give you the right to determine somebody else’s life and life choices

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 12th 2017, 7:21 PM

In cases of fatal foetal abnormality then an abortion should be allowed if the mother wants to.

Mute Kay Kehoe
    Favourite Kay Kehoe
    Oct 13th 2017, 9:44 PM

People seem very confused as to when human life begins. The American College of Gynaecologists and Obstetricians say the human organs are forming first month after conception; the heart beating at 5 weeks, the same heart that beats during life after birth. To say human life occurs at birth is patently false and very passé. The definition of reproduction is a biological process resulting in another human organism unique from its parents. That process starts at conception. The most important human right is the right to life