You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish Water

An Irish Water water treatment plant is underwater

More rain is expected tonight.

AS THE WEST continues to deal with flooding and rainfalls, Irish Water says it has dealt with over 80 incidents at water treatment plants.

The utility says the majority of customers have maintained their supply, but 84 separate incidents at treatment plants have left many without clean water.

In Donegal, Irish Water and Donegal County Council continue to implement their major incident plan following the flooding of the Bundoran water treatment plant.

Water is being supplied to the area from Ballyshannon Water Supply Scheme and from neighbouring counties of Leitrim and Fermanagh to reduce the overall number of customers without water. Tankered water supplies are being provided for essential use to customers in Bundoran still without water until normal supplies are restored.

9/12/2015. Flooding Athlone. A team arrives with s A team arrives with sandbags for a house under threat from flooding from the River Shannon in the Deerpark area of Athlone Town. Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

In Galway, following advice from the HSE, a precautionary boil water notice has been put in place for customers supplied by the Ballinasloe Public Water Supply scheme. Water levels of the river Suck have risen significantly and affected the normal working of the water treatment plant.

037 Athlone floods Athlone from above earlier today. Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Across the country, more weather warnings are in place and many of the areas already flooded are on high alert. A yellow rainfall warning is in place for Connacht, Donegal, Clare and Kerry, with 20-35mm of rain expected.

Limerick, Athlone, Clare and Galway are all on high-alert for flooding.

In Cork, ESB says it expects to “continue to spill at Inniscarra Dam over the coming week to draw down reservoir levels.

The National Coordination Group says that as the response phase ends, the relevant local authorities will continue their clean-ups and in some counties prepare for further possible flooding events particularly in some areas of the Shannon.

Read: Traffic and travel: Strong winds and flooding are causing serious rush hour headaches

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 8:57 PM

I suppose Irish Water will have to call the council again to bail them out.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:27 PM

Or the Red Cross

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:56 PM

If the councils had been discharging their obligations over the last 30 years there would be less houses flooded this week.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute commonsense
    Favourite commonsense
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:09 PM

But we already paid for flood prevention through our taxes! We won’t pay! Forget reality!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:14 PM

Yes yes james, its all the councils fault this last 30 years, not the brown envelope party or the whats in it for me party who have ran the state during that time.

Nice bit of blamestorming there. I see you’re now trying your ‘whats the alternative, whats the alternative’ Thatcherite whine with your facebook buddies.

Hows that working out for you?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:29 PM

Ah Jamming stalking me on facebook now. I suppose you can do that because I’m not a fake profile unlike yourself who can morph into a new fake profile every time you get banned. Have you done a background check on me yet like you did on a previous posters linkedin profile? Have you done a google search for dirt on me? You won’t find any cos there isn’t any btw. Must be great posting from an anonymous profile – you can say anything and nobody knows who you are and you can whine on every article here. God forbid you might post anything positive for change. Anything else you saw on my FB page you want to post here you sad person??

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:01 PM

“whats the alternative”….the cry of the coward.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:04 PM

As cowardly as hiding behind fake profiles??

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:13 PM

Say’s one of those that benefited the most from the brown envelope party for 30 years – For Connelly, the highly paid PS worker who is annoyed with his pay cut and pension levy and wants them back.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:13 PM

Actually no….I teach my children to be careful on the internet….so I practice what I preach. I have only ever had one profile which can be backed up by the Journal staff…my opinion is still the same regardless.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:18 PM

Except Al Ca you’re too chicken to post from your real name. Jamming constantly knocks everything about the current adminustration and when I ask him for s better alternative you call me a coward from an anonymous profile. Go explain that one to your children while hiding behind the keyboard. If you had any credibility you wouldn’t be running to that other stalking cowards defence.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:33 PM

But you are a coward….you’ll stick with FG because of fear of the unknown…even though they have proved themselves to be corrupt and cowardly themselves by not even asking for a write down of debt.
    Perhaps you voted for FG because of the ‘Five point plan’ they preached…but it was a lie and yet you still back liars…..no wonder the country is in the state it’s in as you let them away with lying.
    Would you not prefer a political system with more honesty?….you won’t get it with FG…or Labour for that matter.
    There are too many people in this country who are afraid to upset their own little apple cart…they think only of themselves and not the bigger picture…..just like you.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:40 PM

Al Ca – bit presumptious what you assume I do. Where in any posts can you assume that. You knock people who support the current administration and call them cowards for not supporting an alternative – yet you and that other faceless coward can’t come up with a credible alternative for the rest of us who don’t make a part-time job out of whining on every post here. Go on so after knocking me on baseless assumptions – give me a specific alternative govt and Taoiseach to vote for and I promise I will give it consideration? No waffling like Jamming about broad left minority govts – name the party/parties and Taoiseach.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 10th 2015, 8:23 AM

If you believe that the two main parties of this state have been dishonest and corrupt then do not vote for them….not even second preferences….no votes. If we keep rewarding either of the main parties our vote just to spite the other, nothing will ever change.
    So…to effect change we must destroy the main political parties…only then will they see that they must change for the better or the citizens will hold them accountable and hopefully allow room for a more honest kind of politics in Ireland.
    You want a specific alternative and Taoiseach, that would not be possible to predict, but it would not matter as the country would not grind to a halt, our world will not end, in fact very little would happen, except perhaps ex TD’s getting very hot around the collar…..the civil service system would just keep going ad infinitum until something gets sorted politically, there is nothing to fear by destroying the present main political parties but every thing to gain for us and our children’s future.
    Otherwise we will keep going on this not so merry-go-round.
    Put the established political parties to the sword, they have proved themselves worthless.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 10th 2015, 8:34 AM

Al Ca you’re as big a spoofer as Jamming. For all your waffle you can’t recommend a credible govt or Taoiseach to the readers here and have the neck to criticise posters who say there is no alternative to present set-up.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 10th 2015, 9:24 AM

How difficult is it to understand my post? Never reward corruption with your vote.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 10th 2015, 9:27 AM

How difficult is it to answer my question? Or is it easier to knock and whine?

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:02 PM

Ah that’s too bad, but its great to know that I.W. have been working feverishly day and night installing water meters that won’t be used,at a cost of hundreds of millions. A great little country to do business in alright.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:35 PM

Fair play to Irish Water, they just purchased a fleet of rigid hull inflatables to help out during the crisis….this will ensure that the water bills will get through even if your postman can’t.

Mute Willie Cocker
    Favourite Willie Cocker
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:05 PM

Oh dear it looks like it needs filtering now for sure!

All that natural water being mixed in with the stuff Irish Water pump into homes!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:01 PM

The ould cost of water will go through the roof.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:17 PM

This natural but human exacerbated disaster will illustrate a lot of flaws/lies/corruption around water over the last few decades..piping water from the Shannon to Dublin,building on flood plains,no alleviation of the Shannon flooding,paying for water,”scarce resource”,water meters,lack of flood defences etc etc.

Mute George Masterson
    Favourite George Masterson
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:12 PM

I would’ve thought that piping some of the water from the Shannon to Dublin would be a good thing at a time like this.
    Nimbyism and small minded objections delay vital infrastructure works.
    I wonder are those that were protesting the flood works for bandon going to carry that on or will the locals give them the heave ho v

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:15 PM

Why George…Dublin is not short of water this time of year…that’s a seasonal problem…usually in Summer.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:18 PM

Delighted. Still never paying. After the RTE investigations program that laid bare the corruption in this country, one can only imagine the ‘sterling-pocket-stuffing’ that went on in all those meetings where no notes where taken, when Irish Water was setup. Selling out the water we bath our children in, democracy FG styleeee.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0322/688916-no-record-kept-of-2012-irish-water-meetings/

jane
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:00 PM

Delighted? Any idea the problems this causes for ordinary people who are already suffering with the floods?

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:04 PM

Yeah Jane, like I’m pointing that at the ordinary people.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:05 PM

Jane, would you like to comment on the fact that NO notes where taken when this crony, corrupt attempt to rob the Irish people of their water supply was set up ????

jane
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:15 PM

I don’t like IW anymore than the next person but I don’t delight in other people’s suffering either. You might think that this is great for showing up IW bosses or FG but sure what do they care, it’s not their houses being destroyed or drinking water polluted.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:04 AM

Jasus Jane, …. once again…. like I’m actually ‘delighted’ at other peoples suffering due to the floods.

Take a breath, relax.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Dec 9th 2015, 8:56 PM

might taste better so

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:01 PM

It’s better than the Hot water the rest of the company is in. No way not paying. A vote for FG is a vote for Irish Water.

Mute billy dunne
    Favourite billy dunne

Floody hell

Mute Darragh O Meara
    Favourite Darragh O Meara
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:43 PM

In the wise words of Alanis Morrisette ” Well isn’t it ironic, don’t ya think? “

Mute Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Favourite Mairead Ni Chleirigh

Only in this country anyone want to buy a kayak??

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:26 PM

That has made my day !

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:28 PM

This effects thousands of people, some of whom are being flooded, and could be back on boil notices for Xmas. Strange thing to make your day.

Mute John Quigley
    Favourite John Quigley
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:47 PM

And there charging us for water!!! Lol

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:54 PM

A spokesman for Irish Water said…
    “After an in depth investigation, Irish Water have found the flooding to be caused by people leaving their taps running, so offenders will be billed accordingly.”

Dec 10th 2015, 4:46 AM

Not just water but cross contaminated water, don’t forget that?

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:12 PM

Only in Ireland

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:17 PM

Yeah, cos only Ireland gets flooding.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:27 PM

who else but quagmire!?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:52 PM

Another dent in their budget.

Mute Ian Carruthers
    Favourite Ian Carruthers
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:41 PM

Things could get very serious come the weekend. Latest forecast models showing over 100mm over Saturday and Sunday as another low with an abundance of tropical moisture targets the country. This in conjunction with spring tides too. The government should seriously be thinking of deploying a lot more Army personnel to help protect peoples livelihoods.

Mute Mikeconnor
    Favourite Mikeconnor
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:09 PM

Redacted is sending he’s yacht over from Malta, to get the lads into work in the morning!

Mute Jenny Mortell
    Favourite Jenny Mortell
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:10 PM

How will they ensure they get the right dose of fluoride into the water? This could be serious if people miss out on their dose for a day or too. Or maybe they could just dump tons of fluorosilicic acid into the floods and hope it reaches its goal that way. Yes I know, I’m being silly.

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:37 PM

well, I would be more worried about the E.coli that has gotten into the mains water in the Ballinasloe area, considering the flood water would have been contaminated with sewage.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:01 PM

It’s part of there 7 year plan to treat water treatment plants idiotic clowns .

Mute Rory Behan
    Favourite Rory Behan
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:09 PM

Maybe the clown here is the person that doesn’t know when to apply the correct ‘their’? I wouldn’t expect many companies in their infancy to have a storm plan for existing infrastructure that they are taking over.

Mute Allan O'Shea
    Favourite Allan O'Shea
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:38 PM

How ironic.

Dec 10th 2015, 4:45 AM

That was well planned?