You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fota Wildlife Park. Alamy Stock Photo

Fota Wildlife Park issues warning to customers after being hit by cyber attack

The Cork attraction “strongly” recommended that customers cancel credit or debit cards used to make payments on its website between 12 May and 27 August.

LAST UPDATE | 29 Aug 2024

FOTA WILDLIFE PARK has said it is in the process of contacting “all potentially impacted customers” after it was hit by a cyberattack. 

In an email to customers yesterday, the Cork attraction warned customers that their financial information may have been compromised due to the breach. 

It said that after it became aware of illegal activity on its website, it took “immediate steps to investigate and identify what information had been accessed on our website in order to carry out containment measures”.

“One of the steps that we have taken is to remove all access to the user accounts on the website. We have also engaged external forensic cyber security experts who are investigating the incident on our behalf,” the park said. 

It said that for anyone who made transactions on the website between 12 May and 27 August, “there is a risk that your financial information may be compromised”.

The wildlife park “strongly” recommended that customers cancel the credit or debit card used to make payments on the Fota Wildlife Park website between 12 May and 27 August. 

It also advised customers to review their bank account and credit card statements since 12 May “to identify potential suspicious activity which may indicate that your account has been compromised”. 

“We understand that this may be of significant concern to you. We would like to assure you that we take our responsibility to protect your personal and financial information seriously and have given this matter the utmost priority,” the email stated. 

The wildlife park told customers that the incident has been notified to the Data Protection Commission (DPC) and that they are also liaising and working with An Garda Síochána.

The website for the park is now offline, but the park remains open. 

Screenshot (675) The website for the park is now offline, but the park remains open.

“Fota Wildlife Park can confirm that illegal cyber activity was recently identified which impacted its website,” it said in a statement to The Journal.

“The organisation’s incident response plan was immediately activated, an internal investigation was instigated and appropriate measures were taken to secure the organisation’s website.”

It said the incident has been notified to the relevant authorities and that the park is cooperating with them. 

“Fota Wildlife Park is in the process of contacting all potentially impacted customers. In the meantime, Fota Wildlife Park’s day-to-day operations continue as normal.”

A security source said that it is believed that it may be similar to a 2018 cyber attack on British Airways and it appears that the breach is related to payments passing through the website. 

The Data Protection Commission has confirmed that it has received a notification and is assessing the information provided by the park’s operators. 

Bank of Ireland said its customers impacted by the “Fota Wildlife Park issue can contact our customer service team (1800 946 764) who can cancel their existing card and arrange a new one.

“Customers can also freeze their cards immediately within the Cards section of our mobile app.”

Cyber advice

Brian Honan of BH Consulting is a leading cyber security expert – he said that it is advisable for customers to cancel the banking cards they have used to make payments at Fota Wildlife Park and to change passwords. 

“I recommend they follow the advice from Fota.Firstly, if the password you used to enter the Fota Wildlife Park website is a password you use across many other websites, then go change your password on those websites and systems, and if it is available, enable multi factor authentication on those sites and systems as well, because that will provide a second step of safety if criminals try and use your password.

“I would definitely take the advice and cancel your credit card and debit card, because at this stage, you don’t know if the criminals have access to it and if they start using your credit card for purchasing things or anything else, it could come back to bite you, because at this stage, you know your credit card has potentially been stolen.

“So notify your financial advisor, cancel your credit card and monitor your bank account or credit card statements to see if there’s any unusual activity,” he said.

Honan said the type of cyber attack by criminals is not an unusual method and would like have involved the criminals having access to data across the system.  

“The fact that the website, the focus the commentary around the website were and not any of their back end systems would say to me that somehow their website got compromised and that the criminals were able to put code on the website to monitor all activity on that site, such as people logging in, thinking their passwords, credit card details, and sending the information to the criminals.

“So you go into book your day out in Fota Wildlife Park – you enter your name, address, your credit card details and you hit purchase. 

“It goes through the website, and it goes through the Fota Wildlife Park systems, and everything worked. You got your tickets, but at the same time my guess is that information was being copied over to criminals somewhere else,” he added. 

Honan warned that criminals are diversifying their methods as online commerce continues to increase.

“Other organisations should note the Fota incident and they should learn from it and ensure that their websites have been designed and developed in a secure manner, that they are monitoring their websites for any unusual activity, and in particular, any changes to the software on their websites, and that they have an appropriate incident response plan in place should that breach happen.

“Finally they should be regularly testing the security of their website by having what is called penetration tests, which is where security professionals will try and break into the site the same way as a criminal would break into it just to make sure it’s secure,” he added. 

With reporting from Niall O’Connor

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Llennoc
    Favourite Llennoc
    Sep 27th 2024, 1:49 PM

121k to design a hut. Pull the other one.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:05 PM

@Llennoc: and 190k to rent a temporary security hut during construction period. The Golden circle are allowed to plunder the tax take, with a nod and a wink. No wonder there’s such a gap in society, the range rover brigade get their money so easy, no work involved

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Sep 27th 2024, 1:51 PM

Who got the job and let us see all the quotes

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:04 PM

OPW is in cahoots wirh certain CCTV and security companies across the country at ALL OPW sites…. i know for a fact, as i’m in the game. This in itself needs investigating.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:44 PM

@Steve Davis: I think maybe you need to supply the information you have to the gardai and expose what is going on

Mute JB Software
    Favourite JB Software
    Sep 27th 2024, 4:58 PM

@Tony Lyons: he’s snookered now…..

Mute Emmet Doyle
    Favourite Emmet Doyle
    Sep 27th 2024, 6:27 PM

@JB Software: quality comment

Mute R kelly
    Favourite R kelly
    Sep 27th 2024, 1:52 PM

No one is questioning the need for security… but seriously, the cost is ridiculous…. this is not government money, this is taxpayers money… there seems not to be any proper scrutiny from the opw on spending our money.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:07 PM

@R kelly: opw are just one state organisation. There’s others that spend vastly more money, the waste is incredible.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:48 PM

@R kelly: the cost for the equipment fit out isn’t unreasonable

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 27th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Mr Pathetic trotted out by Fianna Fail to defend the indefensible. If Jimmy Saville was from FF, you would still come on here defending him, sad pathetic shill.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 28th 2024, 1:54 AM

@Pat Hazzard: are you off your tree ?

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:09 PM

Here’s the real breakdown.
    Cost of hut 429k.
    Cost of scam 1m.

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:14 PM

The OPW has a ‘Panel’ of three ‘Approved Security Suppliers’. Palms have to be seriously greased to get on that panel.
    Once you’re on the panel, you are in cahoots with the other 2 companies and everyone agrees to ramp their quotes up by 400%. (Thats actually how it works)….
    The OPW then gets 3 quotes, one off each of their ‘approved suppliers’ so its seen to comply with tendering laws – regardless of the fact they are getting fleeced and could get it €100 of thousands cheaper elsewhere….

Mute Hurrly 90
    Favourite Hurrly 90
    Sep 27th 2024, 6:12 PM

@Steve Davis: You seem to know a good bit about this. you should become a whistleblower.
    Write to the Gards, to Journos, try take pics of documents that prove what you are saying and get the word out.
    no point moaning about it in the Journal comments. Go do something about it.

Mute Manni M
    Favourite Manni M
    Sep 27th 2024, 1:47 PM

It’s so easy to spend somebody else’s money. Disgusting.

Mute Vinny Hughes
    Favourite Vinny Hughes
    Sep 27th 2024, 1:55 PM

Not their money so no one cares.

Mute Jack Chit
    Favourite Jack Chit
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:36 PM

People responsible need to be held to account. It’s very close to criminal what has gone on here.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue

What’s the scrap value of the copper boss?

Mute Dermot Clancy
    Favourite Dermot Clancy
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:47 PM

The Minister with responsibility for the OPW must be hiding in the HUT, no sign of him for the past fortnight.

Mute Lee Mahoney
    Favourite Lee Mahoney
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:20 PM

I’m so fed up of this country.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:02 PM

The civil servants are running/ruining this country get them out,sack them all

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy

@Paul: when there’s no accountability, they’ll do what they please.

Mute liam preston
    Favourite liam preston
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:02 PM

@Paul: then you’ll have nobody to process your dole.

Mute Kevin Rea
    Favourite Kevin Rea
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:05 PM

@Tony Murphy: it’s being happening for years, and did you think the days of the brown envelope was gone.

Mute No
    Favourite No
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:11 PM

Where going off the rails on this gravy train
    Some gig getting a government contract .

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:06 PM

191k replacement security system

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:30 PM

Would they need to build a fortress around them if they were a popular government? The lorry that rammed the gates of leinster House in 2010 was driven by a very frustrated gentleman,frustrated that this very pack of muppits drove the country of a cliff by refusing to listen to all the warnings given to them at the time. They will do it again and will need protecting.

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:31 PM

Who signs off on these? Is there not a minister responsible for the OPW? After all it is taxpayers money they are throwing out.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:38 PM

It’s a thundering disgrace but they will have a right laugh at the christmas party about how they can do whatever they want and not have to worry about getting pulled up on it. Pissing away tax payers money is so deeply embedded in the civil service it will never change.

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:49 PM

Government Contracts means Gravy Train for the chosen few. No questions asked. Sickening.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:21 PM

Did they never hear of Ring Door bells..

Mute Jimmy Savage
    Favourite Jimmy Savage
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:01 PM

3 instances is a pattern

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 27th 2024, 4:40 PM

that’s just the tip of the iceberg !
    these showers are not fit for purpose and should be inquired on everything they do, on everything they get (perks, advantages, money, pensions etc…)
    Name and shame, get the money back, do not vote for them anymore …

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Sep 27th 2024, 4:02 PM

Heads should roll at OPW. Crazy spending spree their on.

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Sep 27th 2024, 4:37 PM

It’s a security hut, not MI5s headquarters. They must have some James Bond gadegts going on in that hut, or Sensori got the contract.

Mute u6ZzANzx
    Favourite u6ZzANzx
    Sep 27th 2024, 5:29 PM

I’d like to see the security footage of the bike shed being built from this state of the art security building. As I hear there was robbery happening at the time.

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Sep 27th 2024, 5:39 PM

In fairness, when the Russians come, we all know where to go. For that money, it should hold all 5 million of us and room for a pony.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Sep 27th 2024, 2:45 PM

https://jrnl.ie/6498460
    All Sinn Féin’s fault though, and to a lesser extent the Social Democrats. You can see how the government have risen in the polls though

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 27th 2024, 7:51 PM

We need Monuments to the Largesse of our Elite that represent our entitled Govt, Civil Service & “Public Service Broadcaster RTE”. The Bike Shelter & Security Hut, as Stephen Matthews described as “Beautiful”, are representative of how the Elite regard themselves & a total disregard of those who work hard & pay their taxes. It has been ever so in Ireland for decades now, a country where the select Elite thrive in a country rotten to the core. Nothing will ever change, there will always be another NCH, Bike Shelter, Security Hut, followed by the faux outrage of the Elite & the oft used “Lessons Learned”.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:08 PM

If we stopped calling it a “hut” it would help. It’s a state of the art security office at the entrance to our highest government building.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 27th 2024, 3:29 PM

@Martin O Connell: yes and the bike shed is the taj mahal. If this level of security is needed then why are the military not guarding it.

Mute JB Software
    Favourite JB Software
    Sep 27th 2024, 5:00 PM

@Martin O Connell: OK, we’ll call it sorasoatetohgb for short.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 27th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Martin O Connell: with a 60,000 euro roof ,stop trying to defend this shite givt

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Sep 27th 2024, 10:50 PM

The d Hotel in drogheda was paid 5.3 million for the first 3 or 6 months to house asylum seeks why didn’t we buy it and city west and money hundreds of millions spent and nothing to show for it 190k to rent a security hut why didn’t opw buy it nothing to show for it

Mute Tom Mahon
    Favourite Tom Mahon
    Sep 28th 2024, 8:40 AM

Hold on, eu 121,000+ spent on design ! Sounds like OPW engaged consultants for the design. Why? The OPW has their own architects, so why did they need consultants. What were the OPW architects doing, what are they being paid for? Scandalous.

Mute paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Favourite paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Sep 27th 2024, 7:04 PM

Must have been a lot of brown envelopes involved

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Sep 27th 2024, 4:37 PM

Great to see all the learned comments from all the security and construction cost experts here today………

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 27th 2024, 6:12 PM

@chris gaffney: that’s it !
    Common sense tells you this is a totally overpriced POS.
    But here comes Chris trying to tell us it’s all fine .
    Feck off chris

Mute derek
    Favourite derek
    Sep 27th 2024, 7:20 PM

construction industry needs to be regulated! Seriously!