You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Man arrested after five motorbikes recovered by Gardaí in Dublin during property search

The five motorbikes were recovered during a planned search of a property.

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN have recovered five motorbikes following an intelligence operation targeting organised crime in Blanchardstown, Co Dublin.

A man in his 40s has been arrested in connection with the investigation and is currently detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1984.

The five motorbikes were recovered during a planned search of a property undertaken by Gardaí from the Detective Unit attached to Cabra and Blanchardstown Garda Stations.

Four of the motorbikes have already been confirmed as stolen in recent months in Dublin, Kildare and Meath.

Gardaí are hoping to identify the owner of the fifth motorbike, a red Honda CR Series off-road motorcycle and confirm its status.

Honda CR Bike An image of the fifth, unidentified motorbike.

Anyone who believes they are the owner of this vehicle, which may have been stolen in the last number of months, is asked to contact Blanchardstown Garda Station.

Investigations remain ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Kush OMeara
    Favourite Kush OMeara
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:14 PM

Probably out on suspended sentence with the help of a tax funded legal aid solicitor before I finished reading the article

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:08 PM

Out on bail shortly no doubt.

Mute Toyo Ke
    Favourite Toyo Ke
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:13 PM

@gregory pym: More likely already on bail. Just waiting for court appearance with a certain judge, and off again like it never happened.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:27 PM

@Toyo Ke: Assuming the bikes were stolen without any violence, they are almost certain to be out on bail. That we have had numerous recent stories about violent offenders getting bail is simply unacceptable.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:50 PM

@gregory pym: I wonder if people made their decisions based on the numbers would they be so quick to lock everyone up. No violent crimes, probs insurance covers the victim who will now get their property returned, why spend thousands to house this person when they have a house already, the law will eventually become a reality.

Mute Toyo Ke
    Favourite Toyo Ke
    Aug 21st 2024, 6:13 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Why are you excusing theft? It reads like you’re either a thief, or never had valuables stolen on you.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 21st 2024, 8:01 PM

@Toyo Ke: Not excusing it, it’s a crime for sure, the law has a process. People seem happy to call for everyone to be locked up, post haste but mostly haven’t considered what it costs the tax payer to do so. It costs 100k per year to keep a person in jail, all I’m saying is people may re consider their judgments if they were looking into their empty wallets. No need to keep this person locked up while they wait trail. I’m not a thief, nor have I had ‘valuables’ stolen on me, I hope that doesn’t make it too difficult when categorising your memory palace.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Aug 21st 2024, 9:42 PM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    The insurance covers the victim,and the insurance cover goes up.
    These crimes are very upsetting to the victim,as for having a house already,they forfeit that luxury when they decide to steal,and probably do damage to a person’s property in the process.
    A stretch in jail will give them time to think about their crimes.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Aug 22nd 2024, 8:10 AM

@Mary.E.: I’m all for that.. do the crime… do the time.
    This nonsense of 399 convictions and out on bail because ‘reasons’ is just not what I think any citizen here wants from the judiciary.
    We have had the money to build more prisons, to lock up the people that we know are simply unafraid of consequences, and we let it happen. Put a proper deterrent in their path.
    Get rid of certain judges that side more with the criminals than the victims. ( we all know those judges)
    Increase spending on prisons and rehabilitation programs.
    Change laws as needed.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 22nd 2024, 12:10 PM

@Mary.E.: I don’t know anything about these victims (as you don’t) and I don’t like to assume or attach emotive reasoning, given the tendency to be incorrect. If the Irish people are happy to pay then I’m happy to lock everyone up indefinitely, so they can ‘think about their crimes’ (really? like a bold step? anyway), do they? maybe they think about how not to get caught next time, I dunno… the certainty here is that it will all cost a fortune.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:04 PM

Hon da guards

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:44 PM

Chop his hands off….

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Aug 21st 2024, 6:07 PM

@Cormo R: and he won’t need his tool then so off with that too.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 21st 2024, 6:46 PM

Left wing soft on crime policies coming home to roost.

And to think that the Irish were once a brave people!

Mute andy byrne
    Favourite andy byrne
    Aug 21st 2024, 8:00 PM

Absolute epidemic of bike theft, why is there no plan to do anything about it?

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Aug 21st 2024, 9:47 PM

@andy byrne:
    An epidemic of car thefts,and house break ins.
    Time for the law to get tougher.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 22nd 2024, 12:12 PM

@andy byrne: Epidemic of bike theft… MEET Epidemic planless society

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Aug 21st 2024, 6:07 PM

He was minding them for his brother….

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Aug 21st 2024, 5:21 PM

Motorbikes are very dangerous, the government might want to consider banning them

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Aug 21st 2024, 6:19 PM

@Fintan Pox: your a proper knob they should ban your comment motorbikes are great thank you

Mute Stuart Dowling
    Favourite Stuart Dowling
    Aug 21st 2024, 10:16 PM

@Fintan Pox: yes, I agree. Lets free up the roads for car drivers, who can’t even be bothered to use their indicators, mirrors…or even know what’s going on around them.
    Lets not concern ourselves about trivialities like lane discipline, proper use of roundabouts, adjusting our speed in wet conditions…
    Forget about cyclists’ running red lights, joggers, car drivers wearing headphones
    Rules of the road??..pffff!!..who cares???! let’s just put the foot to the floor, damn the begrudgers, and demand more in-car entertainment to distract us from actually paying attention on the road.
    Let’s just blame motorcycles, and call them “dangerous”. And we can all go back to sleep at the wheel, and live in la-la car land happily ever after.

Mute Robbie
    Favourite Robbie
    Aug 22nd 2024, 7:07 AM

@Bren: especially when you fly off them at 100 mph

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Aug 22nd 2024, 5:34 PM

He won them at the races.