You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA WIRE

Four due in court after Garda chopper chase across fields in Monaghan

Gardaí are investigating a number of burglaries in the Monaghan Town area.

Updated at 8.10am

THE GARDA HELICOPTER was called in to assist in an operation in Monaghan Town on Saturday night – with officers arresting four men after a chase across the surrounding countryside.

A number of burglaries were reported in the area last night – and around 7.30pm gardaí received reports of suspicious behaviour around Rope Walk and Belgium Park in the town.

According to a statement:

On arrival a number of males were observed by Gardaí exiting a house at Rope Walk. The men fled the scene on foot into nearby fields.

Uniform and detective units were involved in the hunt, assisted by the Air Support Unit.

Four men aged in their late teens and 20s were detained a short time later.

A car was also seized.

All four were taken to Monaghan Garda Station for questioning under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

Forensic tests have been carried out in the house.

In an update this morning, gardaí said the four men were expected to appear before Monaghan District Court later today.

Comments were closed at 8.10am this morning as legal proceedings are now under way. 

Read: This is why it’s never a good idea to park your car on a frozen lake…

Read: Mary Lou called Brian Hayes a ‘gurrier’ when he tried to grill her about Slab Murphy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:19 PM

Fair play to all involved in catching these toe rags ..

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Feb 7th 2016, 8:00 PM

The Guard waving from the chopper in the picture, reminds me of that episode of Father Ted when the sergeant gets in the chopper after the whistle theft and shouts “Go Go Go!”

Mute Kane Abel
    Favourite Kane Abel
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:24 PM

Handy to have a Chopper, no doubt these people are well used to travelling cross country…..

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:21 PM

Well look it’s a start. A minute to celebrate a good job by the guards

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:42 PM

A start?

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:14 PM

Suspects have now been released and book of evidence sent too DPP to be forgotten about

Mute Le Lapin Noir
    Favourite Le Lapin Noir
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:16 PM

Yes, because sending people to prison with no trial has proven such a winner in the past..

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:52 PM

They could be held on remand though.

Mute Le Lapin Noir
    Favourite Le Lapin Noir
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:10 PM

Careful what you wish for. Holding people who have not been convicted of a crime yet as a matter of course might seem like a grand idea altogether until it happens to you for something you are later found completely innocent of. Unfortunately you may have lost your job and accommodation through not being able to attend work or pay rent in the meantime.

Feb 7th 2016, 7:32 PM

I doubt these lads work.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Feb 7th 2016, 8:02 PM

I think they were working, just at their own slimey profession. S**mbags.

Feb 7th 2016, 9:37 PM

I don’t care what background you’re from, deliberately target elderly and vulnerable people in their own homes, terrorise and brutalise them, and you deserve to be flogged to within an inch of your life.

Mute John Cross
    Favourite John Cross
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:43 PM

Knackers

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:42 PM

Must be an election on.

Years of inactivity in rural Ireland over burglaries.

Fair play in catching these guys but our Guards have been seriously overworked and underresourced for years.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:28 PM

It’s amazing how the country seems to run better during an election. The council have done more work in my area in the last three months than in the five years before. If they could temporarily improve the health system they would but it’s just too sick. They must think we have goldfish memories, they’re probably right unfortunately.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:35 PM

We should have an election every three months with the amount of work that gets done.

Feb 7th 2016, 6:49 PM

I wonder were these lads related?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:08 PM

Their parents probably were.

Mute ironballs mcginty
    Favourite ironballs mcginty
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:50 PM

Trawwvlers

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:45 PM

The Judge will them they are grand lads, pat them on the head and let them go unless they didn’t pay their TV licence

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:33 PM

We need more Garda choppers, one per province at min.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Feb 7th 2016, 9:24 PM

Especially given the current spate of whistle thefts…..

Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Feb 7th 2016, 8:31 PM

Means nothing if the judges don’t live in the real world !
    Fair play to the Garda, thankless job these days, no fear . . . .

Mute Cillian McCormick
    Favourite Cillian McCormick
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:24 PM

“The Garda helicopter” Have we only one???

Mute Alex Durran
    Favourite Alex Durran
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:25 PM

Yes

Mute thefunnyman
    Favourite thefunnyman
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:30 PM

Two Eurocopter EC135 T2 choppers

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:36 PM

Was thinking same thing

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:37 PM

Juss goin for a late night walk boss…

Mute Michelle Myers
    Favourite Michelle Myers
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:47 PM

Garda helicopter in Monaghan? Well done to all involved in the capture of these toerags. Unfortunately I have a feeling they will get off with a slap on the wrist.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:50 PM

The sooner the new burglary law comes in the better.

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Feb 7th 2016, 7:06 PM

great job, Guardi! lets hope we can get through the 2nd hurdle of robbers having a long sentence

Mute gerry meagher
    Favourite gerry meagher
    Feb 7th 2016, 8:50 PM

As we speak civil liberties pavee point etc getting defence ready oppressed minority upbringing only 55 previous convictions blah bloody blah throw away the key

Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:54 PM

That’s the stuff for them

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Feb 7th 2016, 11:11 PM

Jail the w******s for good, waste of space they are. Only country you can offend and be living the dream, shame on us for being soft.
    Do the crime pay the time
    Including politicians

Mute Mo A Hamhead
    Favourite Mo A Hamhead
    Feb 7th 2016, 9:08 PM

Disgusting racist comments . Where are Pikey Point to defend these individuals. Boss

Mute Gary Trundle
    Favourite Gary Trundle
    Feb 7th 2016, 9:39 PM

Say the 4 of them are brickin it now, 2 weeks in the slammer with only last year’s PlayStation games to keep them occupied. Crime doesn’t pay

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 7th 2016, 6:54 PM

Or the glamping class

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Feb 8th 2016, 3:44 AM

benny hill tune just played in my head! The chasing scenes I guess!