You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

[File photo] Photocall Ireland

Gardaí use database to check up on daughters' boyfriends

The Data Protection Commissioner is conducting an audit of the Gardaí’s use of the Pulse database following a number of complaints.

THE DATA PROTECTION Commissioner is investigating allegations that gardaí have been accessing the Pulse database to check up on their daughters boyfriends, among other things.

According to a report in today’s Irish Daily Mail (print edition only) gardaí have been using the Pulse system – which logs information about any incident involving members of the force – to illegally access information about people.

There have been complaints to the Data Protection Commissioner about gardaí running background checks on people their family members are involved with, and to check on the accident history of cars they’re thinking of buying.

According to the Daily Mail, a garda source has said that there is no widespread abuse of the Pulse database and that an investigation into the use of the system is not a problem.

The Commissioner’s annual report for 2010 detailed that a Code of Practice for garda use of the Pulse system which was agreed in 2007 was not being implemented. The report stated:

It is disappointing to report that, despite our repeated engagements on this issue, the monitoring of access by members of An Garda Síochána to Pulse falls short of the standards we expect. We wish to see significant progress by the Gardaí in pro-actively monitoring Pulse access in 2011 and will be carrying out an audit to satisfy ourselves of this progress.

Read more in today’s Irish Daily Mail (print edition only)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Torpedo
    Favourite Torpedo
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:29 PM

Wrong as it is, I wish I could do background checks on my daughters boyfriends. I don’t blame them as I would do anything to protect them.

Mute Tony Stamper
    Favourite Tony Stamper
    Aug 8th 2011, 7:29 PM

It is just another example of the unprofessional approach to the job that frankly defines your average guard.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Aug 9th 2011, 7:17 AM

I think most of us would do the same if we had access to such a system. Can’t blame them.

Mute John Banfield
    Favourite John Banfield
    Aug 9th 2011, 9:11 AM

It’s easy to do. A background check can easily be obtained online.

Mute Jake Gomez
    Favourite Jake Gomez
    Aug 9th 2011, 2:00 PM

@Tony, you obviously aren’t a father, or if you are you musn’t care for your childrens welfare very much if you think what these guards are doing is wrong. I’m sure they put their childrens safety on a much higher scale than what might be deemed to be unprofessional. the same applies to checking cars that they may be buying! if you had the chance would you not want to know if the car you were about to spend thousands on and driving your family around in was involved in an accident where that could deem it unsafe.

Mute Jayniemac
    Favourite Jayniemac
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:34 PM

Hardly the end of the world is it? Wouldn’t most people check if they could!?

Mute Jane Ward
    Favourite Jane Ward
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:51 PM

People are outraged but let’s be honest, we all would if we could :)

Mute Stephen Lynch
    Favourite Stephen Lynch
    Aug 8th 2011, 3:15 PM

I wonder did they need any extra training at the taxpayers’ expense to manage this task?

Mute Aonghus Collins
    Favourite Aonghus Collins
    Aug 8th 2011, 3:31 PM

Yeah, pretty much this.

Mute Clara-M Fiorentini
    Favourite Clara-M Fiorentini
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:48 PM

the father of my ex (a guard) did a pulse check on my entire family. and told me! hardly what its for!

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Aug 8th 2011, 3:35 PM

That’s creepy. You should have reported him.

Sean
    Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:38 PM

Is there any way I can check accident history of car?

Mute John Mack
    Favourite John Mack
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:40 PM

cartel.ie

Sean
    Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:44 PM

@John Mack Thanks but they don’t seem to provide accident history

Sean
    Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 8th 2011, 3:10 PM

Why thumbs down? I can’t see they provide accident history

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Aug 8th 2011, 7:46 PM

Sean, you’re correct – they won’t know anything about accidents that didn’t cause the car to be written off.

And the reason that I also gave you a thumbs down is because you seem to care if you get them or not, which is a little sad.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Aug 9th 2011, 7:19 AM

One red raisin for you ‘voice of raison’ for being so pedantic and judgemental.

Of course I realise the irony of this statement as I press on your red thumb.

Mute Tal Tallon
    Favourite Tal Tallon
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:50 PM

How is this any different than a father checking a chaps facebook or whatever to see if they chap his daughter is dating is a creep

Don’t see anything wrong here, unless I start dating a gardai’s daughter!

Mute Neil Cremins
    Favourite Neil Cremins
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:58 PM

It’s wrong because it’s abusing their power to breach someone’s personal data.

as said in other comments if this was in the financial sector or the health sector, bricks would be shat by everyone!

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 8th 2011, 3:34 PM

Facebook has details you choose to put on it, pulse has access to private details

Accessing your private details is a breach of the data protection act.

If you think it’s ok then I guess you should post all your private details online after all its like facebook apparently

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Aug 9th 2011, 7:20 AM

@Neil – Isn’t gossip breaching someone’s personal data (and distributing it too)

Who doesn’t love a little gossip?

Mute Neil Cremins
    Favourite Neil Cremins
    Aug 9th 2011, 9:32 AM

@Paul, actually i don’t enjoy a good gossip, I respect people’s privacy. I fear you’re getting a bit side tracked here, the issue is with Gardaí misusing a database that was set up to cross check previous criminal records with offenders, not so they could get dirt on people who they didn’t take a fancy to.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Aug 8th 2011, 2:45 PM

If this was bank managers checking financial details of their daughters boyfriends there would be outrage…

Cpm
    Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Aug 9th 2011, 7:06 AM

Theres a big difference between your financial and criminal history.

Mute Claredaisy
    Favourite Claredaisy
    Aug 9th 2011, 7:58 AM

And you think they don’t?

Mute Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Aug 8th 2011, 4:25 PM

Many of the comments above illustrate the fact that there is a widespread acceptance of corruption across Irish society. Morgan Kelly said the same thing in his lecture at the Kilkenny Arts’ Festival. There is not much of a difference between saying “oh I’d have done the same thing if I were a Garda” and “I’d have done the same thing if I were Seánie Fitz”. Corruption is corruption, and condoning it can only lead to an erosion of values.

Violating someone’s privacy for spurious reasons is unprofessional and wrong. I really hope that there is an end put to this disgusting practice.

Mute Paul Ibbs
    Favourite Paul Ibbs
    Aug 8th 2011, 4:36 PM

Spot on Fiachra. I’m quite amazed at the majority of comments on here saying “it’s harmless”. Would they be saying the same if it had been done to them? And what about Ivor Callely? “Sure I’d have claimed expenses from West Cork too” (to the tune of almost €40,000 a year). Where does this lack of accountability stop?

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Aug 8th 2011, 5:23 PM

Agreed. I can’t belive so many people think it’s ok. As for the "I’d do it too" lot, I’m lost for words.

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Aug 8th 2011, 7:43 PM

Take care getting down off your moral high horses people; it seems like you’re quite high up on them.

Mute Paul Ibbs
    Favourite Paul Ibbs
    Aug 9th 2011, 8:49 AM

LOL. Typical response these days. ‘You lot moaning about wanting high standards in public office are just a load of moral indignants.’ Ah, this country, sure why would you want things to be better, we’ve got our health what else would you be worried about?

BW
    Mute BW
    Favourite BW
    Aug 8th 2011, 4:39 PM

That’s all Grand and Dandy saying ‘we’d do it if it was my daughter’,
    but whats stopping them checking the history of a new neighbour,
    or someone a Garda has a property dispute with etc… or even a person they just don’t take a liking to?

Mute Kathleen O Toole Tighe
    Favourite Kathleen O Toole Tighe
    Aug 8th 2011, 5:42 PM

Facebook is controlled by you the user you choose who you want to see your information and who you share with.
    The pluse system was not intended for garda to use to seek personal information about someone / something
    It was intended for use in connection with their work
    Again another example of how some members of the force think they can do what they want when they want and get away with it

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Aug 8th 2011, 5:42 PM

It’s definitely wrong! It would be wrong if a health care worker looked up the health records of people their kids were dating.. you wouldn’t want your daughter dating someone with a history of STD’s like! I guess some personal data is valued more to some people. There’s an awful sense of ‘only criminals need be concerned’ in the comments here. That’s dangerous thinking..

“They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety”

Mute Ciara Harvey
    Favourite Ciara Harvey
    Aug 8th 2011, 5:21 PM

This is something that has been happening through generations of police / Garda work!! The thing is the info is just easier to get and perhaps that little more tempting to read!! Right or wrong I’m not sure?!

Mute Tom Godfrey
    Favourite Tom Godfrey
    Aug 8th 2011, 8:07 PM

Of course it is news!! Whats the differance between this and the hacking scandal in england?

Mute Antoinette Murphy
    Favourite Antoinette Murphy
    Aug 8th 2011, 6:06 PM

This is hardly news, is it? Just that they’ve been caught.

Mute Senan Raggett
    Favourite Senan Raggett
    Aug 9th 2011, 2:18 PM

Hardly world breaking News now folks……. as a father, I think i would use the facility to check out a possible suitor for ‘My Princess’ if it was available…….maybe there should be more checks made on the Pulse System in light of recent revelations ,re- School caretakers. etc….

Mute Jim Cunnungham
    Favourite Jim Cunnungham
    Aug 9th 2011, 8:23 AM

I think it is perfectly normal for anybody to want to know the sort of person a family member is involved with. What is wrong with reading the info that is there so long as it is true and used for positive reasons. It would be very different if the information obtained was being used for a bit of gossip over a pint.

Mute gareth byrne
    Favourite gareth byrne
    Aug 9th 2011, 2:15 AM

Nothing is going to be done about it.It will be a slap on the hand and dont do it again.After all thats all thats ever done when stuff like this happens in Ireland.

Mute Sadie Brown
    Favourite Sadie Brown
    Aug 9th 2011, 2:27 PM

Human nature!!

Mute John Banfield
    Favourite John Banfield
    Aug 9th 2011, 9:14 AM

Oh for Gods sake. Obviously they shouldn’t be doing it. But reading the comments on here is making me crazy. You do know it’s very easy to obtain these type of records online right?

Mute Siobhan Shove On Lynch
    Favourite Siobhan Shove On Lynch
    Aug 9th 2011, 10:27 AM

Have they not heard of Facebook?