You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland

'I was asking to get out and nothing was done' - girl tells of Coppers crush

With seven people having been injured, one reveller told a radio station what the scene was like.

A 19-YEAR-OLD GIRL has spoken of being pressed against railings amid chaotic scenes outside a Dublin nightclub.

Seven people were injured in the crush, after a line had snaked from the door of Copper Face Jacks down the lane at Camden Place.

Speaking to Niall Boylan on Classic Hits 4FM, Hannah Kelly said that she had called for help from bouncers, but that none was forthcoming.

“I was kind of in towards the wall and then towards the railings and the crowd just started to surge forward at the top of the queue and people were just pushing forward so I was kind of crushed into the railings and I was asking and shouting to the bouncers that I couldn’t breathe.

“My arm was getting stretched and twisted so i was asking to get out and nothing was done.”

Kelly said that there was a girl lying in the middle of the crush and that she herself had suffered cuts and bruises.

“I just wanted to get out of the crowd. I wasn’t taking notice to anyone else, I just wanted to get out of the situation as soon as possible.

“There were a lot of bouncers around doing the best they could to try and control but with the crowd so huge they couldn’t”.

Safety

The owners of the nightclub say that the safety of their patrons is their utmost concern.

“We are working closely with all relevant authorities to establish the cause of this incident,” they said in a statement.

“The safety and well being of our patrons is paramount at all times, and at present our major concern is for the people who were caught up in the incident and particularly those who were injured.”

Advertising

The incident has been strongly criticised by alcohol awareness charity Alcohol Action, who say that the injuries are the result of cheap alcohol promotions.

Promotions like this are aimed squarely at young people and encourage the type of harmful binge drinking that is such a threat to their health and well being.

“The fact that this drinks promotion is called ‘Messy Mondays’ is a clear statement of intent and the fact that this establishment lowered its admission age to 18 for the first time and was promoting cut-price offers such as three ‘Jagerbombs’ for €10 is also indicative of who it was trying to attract and the type of drinking behaviour those attending were being enticed to engage in,” said a spokesperson.

Read: Seven people injured in crush outside Copper Face Jacks on Harcourt Street

Read: Video shows crowd crush outside Copper Face Jacks

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

75 Comments
    Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:20 AM

People, not parties,, are elected to Dáil Éireann.
    Depriving TDs speaking time because of internal party matters is an affront to democracy.

Mute James Paul
    Favourite James Paul
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:48 AM

Kevin, all TD’s have the right to speak, but there is an order placed upon that right so that the larger parties are afforded the opportunity first, representative of their greater respresentative clout.

This system is required for the efficient and orderly debate of particular issues.

Mute JCcVprP4
    Favourite JCcVprP4
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:54 AM

If you want to priorotise certain TD’s based on electoral clout then give the TD with the most votes priority. Not the party with most members.

Mute Gerry O'reilly
    Favourite Gerry O'reilly
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:57 AM

If they can’t speak get the system changed or get rid of them with no pension or perks

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:58 AM

The purpose of the meeting today is to secure speaking rights for the affected group, made up of former FGs.
    I may be reading it wrong but it seems to me these TDs had speaking rights as FG members which they lost when they lost the Party whip.
    They now want to obtain speaking rights as in their own right.

Aug 26th 2013, 11:50 AM

Democracy in action preventing some from speaking in the Dail because they disagreed about party policy. So much for Enda’s claim to be reforming how government works.

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:37 PM

FG are really trying to punish & humiliate those ‘rebel’ TD’s
    very petty & vindictive

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:32 AM

Irish democracy is being revealed for the joke that it is.
    It would appear that Enda and Hulk Hogan have succeeded in bringing us the transparent government they promised.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:47 AM

Who could disagree with that comment.
    Methinks Kehoe has activated the YFGbots.

Mute James Paul
    Favourite James Paul
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:52 AM

This system has been in place long before the FG/Lab government came to power and is represented across the chambers of nearly all other western democracies.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:27 PM

Show me a democracy that does not operate in this way.

This shure we de worst in the world rubbish is physically sickening. Grow a pair of balls ffs and instead of imagining that the world is laughing at you, or that Ireland is the only country with problems, get off your butts and do something.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:33 PM

doesnt mean it works

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:06 AM

This government just keeps digging a deeper political grave for itself with every negative announcement they make.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Aug 26th 2013, 9:58 AM

They have their speaking rights at mass on Sundays

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Aug 26th 2013, 1:12 PM

Not that I want to listen to a word from idiot Creighton or fool Timmons …but ain’t it slightly off the wall that elected TDs aren’t allowed to speak…..democracy haw are you !

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Aug 26th 2013, 1:04 PM

“the coalition has no plans to amend Dáil standing orders”.

So where is the open and accountable Government we were promised?

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:08 AM

Serves them right

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:19 AM

Democratically elected Tds not allowed to speak in the national parliament.
    That’s a bad thing, see?

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:33 AM

Democracy = a system of government by the whole population or all the eligible members of a state, typically through elected representatives. Leaves me to ask, what do you call the present system of government?

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Aug 26th 2013, 5:56 PM

Ireland operates a Whipocracy …. NOT a Democracy.

Whipped TDs vote for vested interests not the interests of those who voted for them.

Local Property Tax … case in point.

Revenue voted power by Whipped TDs to get the Anglo Tax from your pay, pension or bank account.

Hostile action by Government against the electorate … not in Syria …. in Ireland.
    ——————————————-
    FB/LocalPropertyTax

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:13 PM

I found this out today and it made my blood boil!!! Eammon Gilmore is on €152,000 a year, plus €48,000 ‘expenses’ and he has FIVE advisers on a combined total of €670,000 !! Just him alone is costing nearly 1million. Ffs like.

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Aug 26th 2013, 8:25 PM

his ‘expenses’ are almost twice my salary

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Aug 27th 2013, 12:28 AM

He also has unvouched allowances
    for example €5000 per year dry cleaning…. !!!!

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Aug 26th 2013, 6:47 PM

This is the Taoiseach whose political reform instincts we’re trusting if we abolish the Seanad; he *might* reform the Dáil, but all indications are that he won’t.

Mute eric grixy
    Favourite eric grixy
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:09 PM

yer wan from the Vincent Browne show has nice legs !

Mute coincéar
    Favourite coincéar
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:36 PM

Who is yer wan….???

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:45 PM

Vincent?

Mute eric grixy
    Favourite eric grixy
    Aug 26th 2013, 2:58 PM

The wan in the background talking to petey forer banker Matthews ; she’s wearing high heels and she does be on the telly so she does .

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Aug 26th 2013, 10:45 AM

The new Labour Party watch this space .

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Aug 26th 2013, 4:46 PM

There is nothing to stop these TDs joining the existing technical group in the Dail or forming another technical group with someone like Mattie McGrath. Under the rules of the Dail they only need a minimum of 7 TDs for form such a group in order to gain more speaking rights.

The reason this isn’t happening is nothing to do with standing orders, but because it would effect the income “entitlements” of those TDs. This is while Healy Rae & McGrath chose not to be in the first technical group. The earn more money by being out of it.

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Aug 26th 2013, 4:50 PM

There are 166 TDs in the Dail. If they each were allowed 5 mins a day speaking time then that would be 13 hours and 50 minutes each day excluding votes, debate and questions. Doesn’t seem workable.

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Aug 26th 2013, 8:23 PM

you are assuming that they all turn up to the Dail every day