You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The cameras will be trialled in Dublin RTE Prime Time

Government committed to rolling out cameras to catch red light breakers in pilot scheme

The pilot programme is to be implemented in Dublin.

THE GOVERNMENT IS committed to rolling out a pilot scheme that will see the installation of cameras to catch drivers breaking red lights, Minister of State Jerry Buttimer has said. 

The pilot programme is to be implemented in Dublin and the cameras will automatically record people breaking red lights.

The plan was announced by former transport minister Eamon Ryan last year

“If we don’t change our behaviour, then nothing happens,” Buttimer told RTÉ Prime Time last night. 

“This is about ensuring that we reduce accidents on our roads,” he said. 

A Prime Time investigation found that over the course of just eight hours, more than 60 drivers broke red lights at several junctions in Dublin and Galway.

Asked why the cameras were only being introduced as a pilot scheme, Buttimer replied that he and his colleagues at the Department of Transport “are only just in the department”. 

Professor Pete Lunn, head of the Behavioural Research Unit at the ESRI, told Prime Time that motorists are breaking red lights out of frustration with the levels of traffic.

“People become more likely to take a decision that is essentially queue jumping. It’s essentially selfish, but it also has dangers, and it imposes risks on everyone else,” he said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

85 Comments
    Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Feb 26th 2025, 8:48 AM

Will they be prosecuting cyclists for doing the same ?

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Feb 26th 2025, 8:54 AM

@Brian Keelty: they’re only going after the cyclists that wear there car reg plate on their heads..

Mute Rua Rogan
    Favourite Rua Rogan
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:07 AM

@Brian Keelty:
    Total whataboutery….

Compare the level of danger between a vehicleweight of 80kg travelling about 15km/hr breaking a red light with the level of danger of a vehicle weight of approx 2500kg travelling about 60km/hr.

Now consider that often the cycle line doesn’t interact with the flow of any other traffic – i.e. going straight (from left to right) at a T-junction, a bike often won’t cross the line of a car turning.

Also, often secondary roads at a junction are only given green when there is a presence sensor triggered. Bikes don’t have the mass to trigger the sensor. Should cyclists have to wait until a car shows up to go?

So yes, cyclists shouldn’t break red lights, but it’s a far less problematic thing to do than break lights in a car.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:11 AM

@Brian Keelty: my first reaction was to think “start by the first offenders the cyclist all right”

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:37 AM

@Brian Keelty: yes, if they catch them, but really they are going after the vehicles and drivers likely to cause the most damage and that’s drivers in motorised vehicles. It’s a basic Health and safety proceedure: deal with the biggest hazards first.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:51 AM

@Dermot Blaine: no. it’s because cars have plates and they can be found. cyclist don’t even have a plate, a permit and or an insurance. the fine still the same but good luck finding them

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:58 AM

@Brian Keelty: oh Quick ! look over there at them nothing to see here – nothing at all.. Quit your whataboutery ya phuken eejit

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:02 AM

@Stiles: awww…their, they’re, there

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:46 AM

@Brian Keelty: in the last week we’ve had an 8 year old killed by a motorist breaking a red light case in the courts, and 2 elderly pedestrians killed on our streets too. cyclists weren’t the culprits FYI.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:11 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke: 2 out of 3 ain’t bad…

Mute Martin Kestell
    Favourite Martin Kestell
    Feb 26th 2025, 1:08 PM

@Rua Rogan: Yes cyclists breaking red lights do not cause as much damage to larger vehicles, but can cause major injuries or even kill pedestrians.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 26th 2025, 1:17 PM

@Martin Kestell: so can joggers or people walking too fast

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 26th 2025, 5:41 PM

@Brian Keelty: well sad as they are the only ones ready the breaking lights

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:02 PM

@Rua Rogan: rules are rules, still breaking a red light.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Feb 26th 2025, 8:44 AM

Let’s hope it goes beyond pilot, it’s some of the worst behaviour out there

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:25 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: if they want to improve behaviour, think outside the box, anybody who receives a ban has to resit the test and drive with a B sticker for 5 years,like the N sticker for newly qualified drivers, the B let’s other drivers know that this driver persistently breaks the law so drive with caution around them, I reckon the shame would discourage drivers from repeat offences .

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Feb 26th 2025, 7:49 PM

@Eddie Garvey: most of those who do get banned have no shame anyway and you only have to look at the number of disqualified drivers who continue to drive to know a ban is utterly ineffective on its own. Vehicle should be impounded immediately, charge a fortune to release and if not collected in a timely manner vehicle should be auctioned or scrapped. To buy a motor vehicle a valid driving license should be a requirement, make it as difficult as possible for a banned driver to drive again.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:06 AM

They need to look at light sequences as part of this too. Between pushing all traffic into one lane with left, right and through options it’s no wonder traffic if so bad. They are narrowing the roads in many places especially with these cycle tracks and stopping traffic from flowing. Frustration is very high, add to that the whattsapp crew its a recipe for disaster.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson

Well that will take 6 years and legislation change and a Gazillion euro.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:45 AM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: After that come the years of challenging tickets in the District Court and solicitors finding loopholes.
    If they can get people off for being blind drunk behind the wheel, this will be a cake walk.

Mute Tasty k
    Favourite Tasty k
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:02 AM

A Dublin taxi driver once explained the rules to me; green is go, orange is speed up and red is four more cars!

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:21 AM

They need to synchronise traffic lights too but catch the cyclists who are always breaking the lights

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:48 AM

@Pauline Cahill: how could cameras catch cyclists they are not identifiable? what would be the point anyway, they’re not the ones causing congestion or killing and maiming people on our roads, check the news.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Feb 26th 2025, 3:12 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick:
    Cyclists are often maimed and killed on our roads because of their own stüpïdtƴ, it’s not always down to the vehicle driver. Cyclists are the worst offenders for breaking red lights by a long way. It’s about time Cyclists were held to account, there would be a lot more maimed and killed if it wasn’t for drivers looking out for them and expecting them to do something stupid.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 26th 2025, 3:43 PM

@Regular John: i keep up to date with cyclist deaths, there aren’t that many nowadays thankfully, but can’t find any that were due to a cyclist’s stupidity. any examples in recent years? on the other hand there are plenty of examples of reckless drivers killing people while drunk or speeding, many hit and runs too.

Mute lisa jones
    Favourite lisa jones
    Feb 26th 2025, 3:46 PM

@Regular John: every single day cyclists break the red lights near where I work. They have a protected cycle lane and cars coming from the local hospital are constantly almost in contact with the people on bikes who ignore the red lights and fly past. Cyclists most definitely should be stopped by any passing garda car and spoken sternly to.

Mute Horza Gobuchul
    Favourite Horza Gobuchul
    Feb 26th 2025, 7:53 PM

@lisa jones: yeah yeah yeah, every single junction I pass on the way to work has five or six cars going through the lights on red, every sequence. I don’t think the odd bike is the problem here.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Feb 28th 2025, 8:45 AM

@Horza Gobuchul:
    Why is it that Cyclists want everyone apart from themselves to obey the rules of the road ?

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn

15 minute cities here we come, nothing to do with safety, everything to do with tracking and tracing your every movement!

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Feb 26th 2025, 8:53 AM

@Jonn: Cuckoo!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:01 AM

@Jonn: You need to be a special kind of gullible to swallow the ’15 minute city’ conspiracy theory.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/2023/02/25/why-is-the-apparently-harmless-idea-of-15-minute-cities-exercising-conspiracy-theorists/

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:32 AM

@Vladimir Poutine: No: backing up what I say.

Facts still exist, even if people like you want to live entirely by their feelings.

https://www.ucem.ac.uk/whats-happening/articles/15-minute-city/

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:35 AM

@Vladimir Poutine: new account name, but not new to this comment section. Was Chop Chop banned?

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:57 AM

@Brendan O’Brien:
    Now Brendan,when will you learn, you might as well be quoting the ‘Beano’ to me, or ‘Anglers Monthly’, as the Irish Times, basically the in-house newsletter of the civil service,the very people authorising these mandates!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:05 AM

@Jonn: There’s a lot of other material out there if you don’t like the Irish Times. Try my University College of Estate Management link, or this:

https://www.c40knowledgehub.org/s/article/Why-every-city-can-benefit-from-a-15-minute-city-vision?language=en_US

Mute Joe Dolan
    Favourite Joe Dolan
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:06 AM

@Jonn: Take off your tinfoil hat!!!!!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:17 AM

@Vladimir Poutine: 15 minute cities aren’t a conspiracy theory. A conspiracy theory has attached itself to the concept of 15 minute cities.

Mute steve grehan
    Favourite steve grehan
    Feb 26th 2025, 2:35 PM

@Jonn: This could also be used to bring in ULEZ zones like our neighbours in the UK. If this happens here i would expect a bladerunner type reaction to this car surveillance.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:20 AM

Mespil rd turning right onto Leeson st is a prime example of red light breaking, because there is no bloody filter light and cars are left sitting in the junction. They have no choice but to break the red light.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:11 AM

@Gerard Carey: 100 per cent. It’s crazy. At peak traffic times there is zero opportunity take that right turn without breaking a red light. For such a busy junction I can’t fathom why there isn’t a filter light there.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:52 AM

@Brian: I reported it to DCC.
    They couldn’t care less

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:42 AM

@Gerard Carey: Why am I not surprised…

Mute stu nolan
    Favourite stu nolan
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:54 PM

@Brian: If you are in the junction will already have passed the green light so would not be breaking the red light. If the light has turned red and then you proceed to the junction in order to turn, then you will have broken the red light and would be eligible for a fine.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Feb 26th 2025, 1:26 PM

@stu nolan: That’s why there should be a filter light to clear the junction.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Feb 26th 2025, 3:02 PM

@Gerard Carey: That isn’t breaking a red light, that is clearing the junction. What Stu says above is correct. There may still be a need for a filter light but stating people are forced to break red lights is nonsense.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Feb 26th 2025, 4:25 PM

@Regular John: No, it’s breaking a Red light.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Feb 28th 2025, 8:39 AM

@Gerard Carey:
    It isn’t read Stu’s comment again and then read the rules of the road. Better still book a few driving lessons.

Mute Denis Conroy
    Favourite Denis Conroy
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:54 AM

Where I live I don’t see this problem so much but what I do see is the lights going green and then people deciding to put the car in gear and drive away, seconds are lost and a couple of cars would be gone through if people were ready for the light change, it’s not as if it takes them by surprise, if you’re sitting at lights there’s a 100% chance the lights are going to go green at some stage, be ready… Why can’t we have a system like in the UK where when the lights are red and about to change green, the amber and red light are both on for a second giving the cars that time to get into gears and be ready to move when it goes green,its a system that works.

Mute Darren Cooney
    Favourite Darren Cooney
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:56 AM

This issue is every road user. It’s also the synchronicity of the traffic lights. Certain areas are particularly worse than others one in particular is on Leonards corner in Dublin. I counted 3 seconds of a green light one day the bus barely got into gear to move before the lights changed to Red basically the bus broke the red light even though it was first in line. Another problem would be a pedestrian walking across when the light turns to green and everybody has to wait, by the time he crosses its red again causing more delays and frustration. It’s the same for some cyclists. They say motorists need to have patience well the problem is some have too much patience and don’t move when the light is green causing people to get frustrated and take a chance on breaking the red lights.

Mute Jose C.A.
    Favourite Jose C.A.
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:04 AM

Today in a junction in Rathfarnham. sitting in the traffic lights for 5 min. the traffic lights were open( grenn ) for just three seconds. What a nonsense, no wonders why people breaks traffic lights

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:50 AM

Have a numbered countdown at the lights like in Tbilisi, you can see the time left it’s more soothing.

Mute Darren Cooney
    Favourite Darren Cooney
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:59 AM

@Dan Murphy: Great idea plus people can get ready to move

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:20 PM
    Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Feb 26th 2025, 8:52 AM

Good

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:02 AM

@Jonathan Hanlon: completely agree. Shocking behaviour

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:53 AM

They should also include cars taking bus lanes and drivers using mobile phones.

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:17 AM

Unrelated, but can the government now scrap the carbon taxes, everyone else giving up on the green stuff.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c3374ekd11po

Mute P0h2YVAL
    Favourite P0h2YVAL
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:52 AM

Cameras on zebra crossings might improve drivers behaviour.
    Cars that slow down yet continue to be in motion, feels threatening to the pedestrians crossing the road. Look at the driver and they are head down, on their mobile, still in motion, oblivious to the person crossing.
    When a driver gets out of a vehicle, they are then a pedestrian.
    So treat others as you wish to be treated yourself.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:44 AM

@P0h2YVAL: Now that would make alot more sense, a way more common problem than breaking red lights from what I see on the road

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:53 AM

Jaysus I lived in London in the late 90s and early 00s, and they had that technology back then. I remember also been amazed that they had electronic signs telling you when the next tube or bus was due.

Mute lisa jones
    Favourite lisa jones
    Feb 26th 2025, 5:39 PM

@The Firestarter: you know what else they had in London in the 90s and 00s!? THE UNDERGROUND. We barely have a working bus system and the Luas is not fit for purpose and only serves the Southside.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:26 AM

Will cops be prosecuted? Show me the cop that ‘prepares to stop on amber without breaking the red light’ and I’ll show you this weekend’s winning lottery numbers!

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:35 AM

I was out in Australia over Christmas, and that system is used out there. All drivers out there are afraid to drive through red lights because of cameras. It’s not facial recognition your registration plate is picked up. And as for pedestrian crossings everything stops even when the pedestrian is walking up to the crossing. 10 years driving ban if you hit a pedestrian. The pedestrian is always right. All school areas is 30kph with cameras. It was a pleasure to drive there.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:30 AM

It’ll still b like too much hard work for the guards to drag cyclists and e scooters through the courts for footpaths abuse sure they’ll need to keep their uniform s all nice n shiny for the cameras anyway won’t they

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:53 AM

@liam ward: I see elderly pedestrians your age getting killed by motorists all the time in the news, our footpaths are covered in cars driving and parking on them yet you’re totally obsessed with cyclists and scooters posting this stuff all over Facebook and here. Make it make sense.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:11 PM

@liam ward: Here’s an idea:
    Instead of mocking the guards, put on your trainers and try to catch someone on a scooter or a cyclist.
    Unless it’s a five year old, you will quickly discover that it’s almost impossible.

Mute Be Lucky
    Favourite Be Lucky
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:17 AM

“Government committed to rolling out cameras to catch red light breakers in pilot scheme”

Never noticed many lights been broken by people, wonder how the cameras work face recognition??

I do see drivers and cyclists failing to stop at red lights however most drivers it’s due to bad traffic light sequences.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Feb 26th 2025, 10:50 AM

How about disband the RSA and give authority to the HSA as they’ve done wonders with health and safety everywhere. Even though I know some of it’s over the top, but still they’re doing their job unlike the RSA who don’t even want to answer a phone call regarding a driving test date.

Mute Joseph Lenihan
    Favourite Joseph Lenihan
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:38 PM

Let’s hope it includes scooters cyclists and electric bikes. They are the worst offenders

Mute James Harrington
    Favourite James Harrington
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:59 AM

Pity they wouldn’t put them on some rural roads, instead of them expecting people to obey signs which they never did and never will.

Who comes up with these ideas
    while rural roads are ignored also, no verges cut

Mute New Boy
    Favourite New Boy
    Feb 26th 2025, 9:06 AM

Are only just in the Department..what a stupid comment ,when the idea for the cameras has been there since the last Government

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:05 PM

@New Boy: I think they have the cameras on the continent since the 70′s. If I remember right, I was reading last year that Dublin or the whole country doesn’t have one single traffic engineer\planner by profession = they need a pilot because they don’t have a clue.

Mute Jipangu
    Favourite Jipangu
    Feb 26th 2025, 2:04 PM

Typical Ireland.
    They “pilot” something that’s been taken for granted in other countries for decades and present it as some kind of earth shattering stroke of genius.

Mute Liam Mycroft
    Favourite Liam Mycroft
    Feb 26th 2025, 12:00 PM

About time. I moved home from the UK in 2001, and they had cameras doing just this at lights back then. We’re a tad behind the times…

Mute Brieda Ní Cheese Easy Singles Drag Queen
    Favourite Brieda Ní Cheese Easy Singles Drag Queen
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:54 AM

Liz O’Donnell of the RSA. Jesus wept.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Feb 26th 2025, 5:36 PM

In this day and age All traffic lights should be sensor activated to avoid keeping people at lights for lengths of time that are completely unnecessary and infuriating prompting drivers to break red lights.

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Feb 26th 2025, 6:03 PM

It’s not just road users that are to blame. Accountability for all aspects of road use falls on the state. By all means use technology etc to catch the culprits but driver education is key to changing the culture & it’s not fit for purpose in Ireland. Enforcement is poor & practically ignores minor breaches of road traffic laws. Engineering is overall poor quality with many of our secondary & tertiary roads in an unsafe condition. Signage & traffic information is well below European standards. It’s time the state created a strategy to being all aspects of our road use, education & enforcement up to acceptable international standards & stop tinkering around the edges.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Feb 27th 2025, 7:07 AM

@Michael O’Neill: primarily drivers need education on being ready to move when the light goes green not only when the car in front begins to move.
    Also it’s those that plan and install traffic lights that need to be mindful of people stuck at these lights that are red when nothing is coming from any other direction, they need to use the technology that is widely available to automate these lights further sensors would solve a lot of behaviour issues at traffic lights.

Mute morgan duggan
    Favourite morgan duggan
    Feb 26th 2025, 7:31 PM

In Dracten Holland they got rid of traffic lights.2017.guess what happened.driver behaviour improved and traffic flow increased 35 percent.its now practically common in all areas of Europe with cities towns of less than 100k people to improve safety.Why not here?

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:05 PM

Can they fix the traffic lights first!
    So many traffic lights are setup with either sensors or timers in the reverse. Some have timers when they should have sensors and visa versa. Areas get built up and then never upgrade them causing havoc for local areas.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:43 AM

How much will this cost to do and then run, it’s not something I see alot I have the maybe it’s different in bigger cities

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Feb 26th 2025, 11:48 AM

@MN: “it’s not something I see alot I have the maybe it’s different in bigger cities”. What now?!

Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    Feb 26th 2025, 4:25 PM

Why not start giving a reward to joe public when they take photos or dashcam footage of drivers jumping red lights??

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Feb 26th 2025, 6:25 PM

Cool and what’s the outcome of introducing them ?

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Feb 27th 2025, 1:56 AM

Would they consider putting cameras in the bus lanes like they do in the UK to stop them from being misused.