You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tánaiste Micheál Martin and Northern Ireland Secretary Chris Heaton-Harris during British-Irish Intergovernmental Conference Alamy Stock Photo

Tánaiste says govt giving ‘serious consideration’ to taking action over controversial Legacy Bill

The Bill includes a limited form of immunity from prosecution for Troubles-related offences and will halt future civil cases and legacy inquests.

THE GOVERNMENT IS giving “very serious consideration” to taking any action over the UK government’s controversial legislation aimed at dealing with The Troubles.

Legacy was among the topics discussed by representatives of the two governments at the British-Irish Intergovernmental Conference in Dublin today.

Earlier this year, the Northern Ireland Troubles (Legacy and Reconciliation) Act became law despite widespread opposition from political parties, victims’ organisations, and the Irish government.

It includes a limited form of immunity from prosecution for Troubles-related offences for those who co-operate with the new Independent Commission for Reconciliation and Information Recovery (ICRIR).

It will also halt future civil cases and legacy inquests.

Legal challenges have been taken to it at Belfast High Court.

During discussions between the governments today, the Irish government reiterated its serious concerns in relation to the Act’s compatibility with the European Convention on Human Rights.

The UK government set out the next steps in the implementation of the legislation by the Independent Commission for Reconciliation and Information Recovery.

It also raised its serious concerns that an interstate case brought by Ireland would undermine the commission’s opportunity to deliver better outcomes for victims before it is even fully established.

The governments also discussed a number of individual cases, including the 1998 Omagh bomb, the murder of solicitor Pat Finucane and the Dublin/Monaghan bombing.

Speaking to media after the event, Tánaiste Micheál Martin said the approach to legacy is an issue where there are “significant differences” between his government and the UK government.

He said it was a “matter of serious and sincere regret that we’ve reached this point”.

He said the government will give the act “very serious consideration” and has received advice from the Attorney General.

Martin described himself as “victims-led” on legacy, and said he has met with a lot of victims groups.

“Victims of state violence, victims of the Provisional IRA, victims of loyalist violence and (I am) very struck by their continued absence of closure,” he said.

“They’ve all been very much opposed to the legislation that has come through.

“We’re also conscious of impacts on British-Irish relationship. We’ve worked hard to strengthen that and I think this is the third meeting of the British Irish Intergovernmental Conference in one year. That’s the first time this has happened in 17 years.

“This is evidence that both governments are doing everything possible to enhance the East West dimension of the agreements, we’re conscious of that.

“So we will weigh all of that up. As a government, we’ll come together to specifically discuss this issue, the Irish government will, and then we make a decision.”

Northern Ireland Secretary Chris Heaton-Harris said in the same press conference: “We did discuss legacy, and we believe that our Legacy Act is (European Court of Human Rights) complaint and the commission will provide information and answers to the families who require it.”

70 Comments
    Mute D
    Favourite D
    May 1st 2025, 6:18 AM

Who cares ? They should be made to work also – do something worthwhile

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    May 1st 2025, 7:05 AM

@D: you will if the turn into monsters and slaughter your family , What happens to a dog when it’s chained up and abused

Mute 2q6v4IEp
    Favourite 2q6v4IEp
    May 1st 2025, 7:24 AM

@Robert Halvey: it seems to some degree that John and D are already living in the hell they describe

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    May 1st 2025, 9:11 AM

@Robert Halvey: Don’t let them back out.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    May 1st 2025, 9:14 AM

@2q6v4IEp: Don’t do the crime, if you can’t do the time!

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 9:41 AM

@D: I would advocate for death penalty to all drug lords, serial criminals and murderers.that will free some space for corrupted politicians to come

Mute Niall Lappin
    Favourite Niall Lappin
    May 1st 2025, 10:54 AM

@Dominic Leleu: luckily your advocating means nothing

Mute Conor McK
    Favourite Conor McK
    May 1st 2025, 12:13 PM

@D: that’s called slavery. Would you also like to rip out their fingernails so you’re extra sure they feel bad?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 1:04 PM

@Niall Lappin: yes unfortunately

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 1:05 PM

@Niall Lappin: why luckily, you prefer violent recidivist being spared ?? are you one of them ?

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    May 1st 2025, 1:17 PM

@Conor McK: it can also be called “earning your keep”, it’s the tax payer that is footing the bill for their upkeep so some kind of conbtribution should be forthcoming from the guest.

Mute Great Eagle
    Favourite Great Eagle
    May 1st 2025, 2:57 PM

@D: Nine hundred of the prisoners are foreigners.
    Why are we spending €90k pa in keeping them in prison when they should br deported

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    May 1st 2025, 3:29 PM

@Conor McK: slavery! they still get their dole money and their partners get the prisoners wife allowance, they get 3 meals a day, roof over their head, skip the que in hospital, free gym and education services,days out etc this is why is cost over 150k a year to keep a person in jail

Mute Chris Foley
    Favourite Chris Foley
    May 1st 2025, 6:37 AM

If you want to reduce the prison population…. make prison very undesirable.. no tv’s, game consoles or comfy mattresses…. Then put them to work… proper work..

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    May 1st 2025, 6:53 AM

@Chris Foley: I’d much rather increase our prison population. For example the man who tried to kidnap a kid put him in prison where he belongs and not just give him a suspended sentence with an order to leave the country. In fact put Judge Nolan in prison for the crimes he’s committed against our justice system

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    May 1st 2025, 7:22 AM

@John Doe: well multi account troll. I consider letting a man who kidnapped a child walk free from court a crime. Do you not agree?. Or do you consider a kidnapper roaming out streets to be a good thing?

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    May 1st 2025, 7:53 AM

@John Doe: he is clearly biased towards child abusers. There is no doubt of this.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    May 1st 2025, 8:42 AM

@John Doe:Coward? 4 days I’ve been waiting on you tell me what crimes kneecap has committed. Tell us John why do you hate kids? You don’t mind convicted kidnappers walking the streets of Ireland and you don’t mind the murdering of tens of thousands of Palestinian kids. Did a kid once take your lollipop off you and make you cry?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 9:39 AM

@Chris Foley: I would advocate for death penalty to all drug lords, serial criminals and murderers.that will free some space for corrupted politicians to come

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    May 1st 2025, 10:15 AM

@John Doe: aiding and abetting child abusers, by letting them roam free. Would you consider that a crime?

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    May 1st 2025, 1:00 PM

@Ger Whelan: Ireland is better off deporting that degenerate rather than using taxpayers’ money to feed and house him.

Mute Eoghan O Sullivan
    Favourite Eoghan O Sullivan
    May 1st 2025, 1:34 PM

@Ger Whelan: another one of his accounts, William Jennings one day and John Doe the next. Pay no attention to him.

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    May 1st 2025, 1:45 PM

@John Doe: aiding and abetting known criminals

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    May 1st 2025, 2:26 PM

@John Doe: He committed treason, he is an enemy of the people of the state. He has allowed an absolute clear and present danger roam free, to self deport??? And not return… for at least 10 years… the chap will go to UK tear up his passport and arrive in a batch of cultural enrichments destined for a small town near you ipas centre.

Mute Chris Foley
    Favourite Chris Foley
    May 1st 2025, 4:19 PM

@Dominic Leleu: can’t argue with that…

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    May 1st 2025, 11:38 PM

@Ger Whelan: Judge Nolan is an utter disgrace!

Mute Furious George - The Wasp
    Favourite Furious George - The Wasp
    May 1st 2025, 6:04 AM

Are they trans? 3 days in a row an article on trans people. Such a small group but so much attention

Mute Fintan
    Favourite Fintan
    May 1st 2025, 6:42 AM

@Furious George – The Wasp: “I identify as me/free! Now let me out ye bigots!”

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 7:42 AM

@Furious George – The Wasp: Keeps everyone on a ‘vital’ edge, upsets the core of the traditional narrative, beautiful bait

Mute Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton - Dub Drag Queen
    Favourite Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton - Dub Drag Queen
    May 1st 2025, 9:58 AM

@Furious George – The Wasp: it’s a campaign – Irish Times, Indo too at it all of a sudden – Jenny Maguire (a man) and Una Mullally for example taking their lead from the Guardian. Same old gender affirmation healthcare and being hunted down and killed narrativr for selfish gain. Transvestites and drag acts have a place when consent is given. Getting your mickey out in the Ladies never does. David McSavage Pride Pub Quiz cancelled – FFS.

Mute Conor McK
    Favourite Conor McK
    May 1st 2025, 12:16 PM

@Furious George – The Wasp: That’s right, trans people are such a small part of the population. We should just leave them be in peace.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    May 1st 2025, 1:17 PM

@Conor McK: as long as they stay in their space and don’t encroach on mine…..ie…a biological male entering a women’s bathroom…

Mute gav0kelly
    Favourite gav0kelly
    May 1st 2025, 1:44 PM

@Conor McK: We would if they stopped looking for attention all the time

Mute Mark R
    Favourite Mark R
    May 1st 2025, 6:23 AM

A modern supermax style prison would help the overcrowding and contraband issues. Nothing we don’t know and have but on the long finger for over 20 years. Finish off Thornton Hall and introduce better controls for visitors and dare I say staff smuggling items in.

Mute jason dawson
    Favourite jason dawson
    May 1st 2025, 6:36 AM

@Mark R: El Salvador style. Be a great deterrent.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 1st 2025, 6:45 AM

@Mark R: tasty and tempting food.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 7:43 AM

@Mark R: All mod cons. For some would it be better than living in society?

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    May 1st 2025, 9:02 AM

@jason dawson: Without any chance of social or moral rehabilitation.

Mute jason dawson
    Favourite jason dawson
    May 1st 2025, 11:27 AM

@Athena: as I said, a deterrent. Dont do the crime..

Mute Ciaran Enright
    Favourite Ciaran Enright

The homeless sleeping on the streets could do with those mattresses

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    May 1st 2025, 8:11 AM

@Ciaran Enright: when starting off in life my brother and I bought a divan single bed. One of us slept on the base and the other on the mattress. It was fine.

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    May 1st 2025, 6:54 AM

Can we deport the visitors who are in jail its a no brainer they’ve lost the right to be here then, plus reoffending here wil be zero percent

Mute Dave Callaghan
    Favourite Dave Callaghan
    May 1st 2025, 7:19 AM

@Darran Macken: Some chance of that. ‘Convicted r@pists in an Irish prison are applying for asylum to avoid deportation at the end of their sentences. In at least two cases, criminals walked free after their release despite efforts to deport them. They told gardai that they would be applying for asylum in Ireland.’

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    May 1st 2025, 7:44 AM

@Darran Macken: then other EU states will do the same, sending back more than 2k Irish criminals who are now mostly in prisons in UK, Spain or Holland. So basically we get rid off foreign prisoners and get back ours so no change in number, even worse.

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    May 1st 2025, 9:42 AM

@Chris: irish prisoners have a legal right in Spain and same for spainish criminals here do, the difference you fail to see like a few others is its not spainish criminals stabbings women out jogging or abusing passengers In their taxis or taking children while leaving house party’s, but some minds will never see what’s infront of them no matter what.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    May 1st 2025, 6:15 AM

The minister for justice needs to have this burden taken off his shoulders. What they need to do here is get somebody who could sort this issue, a prison tsar if you will. Get the best person for the job which would require a salary of close to say half a million for example. Does anybody in the government have a friend in need? Good heavens Smithers this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery….

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    May 1st 2025, 6:36 AM

In a bold new move to tackle prison overcrowding without building anything, the Irish government has unveiled its “Mattress-on-the-Floor” initiative, rebranding the crisis as “horizontal rehabilitation”.

Justice Minister Jim O’Callaghan hailed the plan as a “progressive spatial solution”, pointing out that prisoners are now “closer to the earth, and therefore closer to their roots”.

Despite €50 million in funding announcements, not a single sod has been turned on any new prison buildings. A spokesperson confirmed most of the money has so far gone into report-writing and PowerPoint animations showing where beds could go if they existed.

Meanwhile, prison officers are dealing with rising contraband, overcrowding, and back injuries from tripping over mattresses in what’s been dubbed “extreme bunk-bed poverty”.

Officials are said to be considering mattress-sharing rotas and offering floor loyalty schemes. One leaked proposal even suggests naming rights for cell floors. Coming soon: “The Glenisk Floor – sleep clean, sleep dairy.”

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    May 1st 2025, 6:49 AM

@Rafa C: ha brilliant.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    May 1st 2025, 8:57 AM

@Rafa C: the best today,lol

Mute John finn
    Favourite John finn
    May 1st 2025, 6:18 AM

I know 10 Brazilians sharing a 3 bedroom house,they must be a very close family.

Mute Ichabod Crane
    Favourite Ichabod Crane
    May 1st 2025, 6:31 AM

@John finn: It’s called a train.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    May 1st 2025, 12:23 PM

@John finn: I know 37 Irish sharing a caravan, what’s your point?

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    May 1st 2025, 6:41 AM

The fact prisons didn’t have bunk beds initially…

Nevermind the lack of building new prisons to an ever growing population… gross incompetence is what it is. So thanks to that we got violent thugs walking the streets with many convictions having suspended sentencings because prisons are full.

Mute Andy Masterson
    Favourite Andy Masterson
    May 1st 2025, 7:17 AM

@Kieran Menon: they do have bunk beds

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    May 1st 2025, 7:43 AM

It’s bad enough they bring in millions of people to the country but they don’t even build new prisons or hospitals! Only in Ireland.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 7:44 AM

we

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    May 1st 2025, 6:42 AM

No one forced them there! They can blame society, but ultimately it’s their own weak will or brains!
    Prisons should be privatised!!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    May 1st 2025, 7:01 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: Most of them probably didn’t pay their TV licence. Judge Nolan lets the real criminals off with suspended sentences

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    May 1st 2025, 7:22 AM

@Ger Whelan: Agree with you there Ger. Therein lies another problem that should be sorted, Also any non-national convicted and sentenced should be deported immediately!!!

Mute Hulio H
    Favourite Hulio H
    May 1st 2025, 1:21 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: and have a situation like what’s happening at the moment in the British prison system?? Don’t think so.

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    May 1st 2025, 6:46 AM

This is an absolute joke. And answers all your questions about lenient sentences. Unsafe and unworkable conditions for prison staff and unsafe for the public also with 600 prisoners out on TR. As with a lot of government portfolios . When it comes to justice. They have been asleep at the wheel despite all the warnings, increased crime and increased population. They have done nothing about prison space and resources and nothing to increase Garda numbers either but will tell you they are the party that is hard on crime.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    May 1st 2025, 12:52 PM

@Sean Parker: I wouldn’t be too worried about prison staff, well paid. They actually turn a blind eye to the drugs going in! As one officer told me “if they didn’t have their drugs , they’d go mad, at least when their spaced we’re able to control them “! Anything for a quiet life. As for the prisoners? Phuck them, they should have no luxuries! Hard labor a deterrent for the phuckers
    Like the WhatsApp going around during Covid, “put the prisoners in the nursing homes and the old people in the prisons, the old people would get looked after then, doctor on-call 24hr, hospital admission straight away, 3 hot meals a day. Luxurious for them”.
    Let the prisoners fade away in the nursing homes, proper order!!

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    May 1st 2025, 12:59 PM

@den: I wasn’t concerned over prisoners. And personally I wouldn’t generalize over the entirety of staff of a difficult job based on my own anecdotal account of a conversation had with one person.

Mute Hulio H
    Favourite Hulio H
    May 1st 2025, 1:24 PM

@den: 3500ish officers and you believe the 1 “officer”?? you spoke to who says the prisoners can do/say/smoke/inject what they like.? A very well informed source you have there.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    May 1st 2025, 7:59 AM

There’s was a guy running a prison farm in Texas, I believe who made his inmates sleep in tents, they had to wear pink overalls as prison issue clothing. No tv or radio was allowed. They also had to work. They were permitted one book, the bible and had to attend Sunday church services. The prison had zero recidivism.

Mute Kevin Kelly
    Favourite Kevin Kelly
    May 1st 2025, 10:19 AM

@AnthonyK: Sheriff Joe Arpaio in Phoenix, Arizona. Tent City. A quick Google will show you it. Closed down now. Sheriff Joe himself got in a spot of bother with corruption charges and being lenient on s#x offenders.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 1st 2025, 10:37 AM

@Kevin Kelly: 100 per cent. The notorious ” Tent City”. He even bragged it was a concentration camp. He was pardoned by Trump for all his criminal activity.. Quelle Suprise ! Can’t belive someone is holding this up as an example of how to run a prison .. it sure as siht didn’t have zero recidivism either.. it made no difference to the 60 per cent recidivism rate in the prison. Why people just make siht up is beyond me.

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON

I wonder what would alleviate this problem? There’s got to be a solution to overcrowding in the prison system. Maybe they could get one of those over priced taxpayer funded consultation firms to ‘work closely on a remedy to this baffling ongoing situation’. If they start now we might, fingers crossed’ get an answer within the next decade.

Mute peter willekens
    Favourite peter willekens
    May 1st 2025, 6:48 AM

@SOCOMJON: yes badly needed some consult reports mentioning, prisons are overcrowded at a few million cost…..

Mute michael foran
    Favourite michael foran
    May 1st 2025, 7:06 AM

Good enough they should be just on bread and water

Mute peter willekens
    May 1st 2025, 6:44 AM

Never mind funding, a super prison badly needed!

Mute peter willekens
    May 1st 2025, 6:53 AM

@peter willekens: and if they do decide on building “something” it would most likely end up being not anywhere adequate in numbers accommodated.

Mute Trevor Hoyden
    Favourite Trevor Hoyden
    May 1st 2025, 8:35 AM

And why is this an issue?
    Is prison not for punishment?
    They should all be on mattresses, food rations and hard labour, might be a deterrent for committing future crimes.

Mute You Cant Be Serious
    Favourite You Cant Be Serious
    May 1st 2025, 7:40 AM

Maybe take the mattress away

Mute Paul Doheny
    Favourite Paul Doheny
    May 1st 2025, 7:52 AM

At least they are not homeless

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 7:48 AM

Cant build wont build, the most annoying thing in Ireland is that when and if we do eventually start to build infrastructure it wont be to the benefit of the majority of working people.

Mute Dereck
    Favourite Dereck
    May 1st 2025, 8:34 AM

Countries who prioritise rehabilitation over punishment have lower rates of reoffenders. Norway, Finland, Denmark or Morocco focus on education, rehabilitation and reintegration. Countries who take a punitive approach on the other hand have a significant higher rate of reoffenders. El Salvador for example has very high rates of reoffenders, as the overcrowded prisons foster gang membership. After being released these gang members face severe challenges to reintegrate as they find no jobs and are shunned by society. Prisons in the US or South Africa also tend to turn small-time crooks into hardened criminals with SA’s reoffending rate at approx. 90%. This is all well known and documented. Yet people are still calling for Gulags, quarry-work and chain gangs it seems.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    May 1st 2025, 9:09 AM

@Dereck: I’m not convinced on Morocco. Check the crime statistics for The Netherlands and place of origin of offenders.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 9:37 AM

@Dereck: You’re way too zoomed out for this lot. We’re headed for privatisation and will need the amount offenders to multiply, luckily our societal structure is perfectly set to increase that number. It costs 100k a year to lock someone up and Irish people are falling over each other trying to pay it.

Mute Dereck
    Favourite Dereck
    May 1st 2025, 10:18 AM

@Athena: On Morocco please check Harlaman Today, “Half of all offenders return to prison witin a year of their release” 2023.
    Regarding the Netherlands: While it’s true that NL has higher rates of reoffenders than other countries who focus on rehabilitation and reintegration. According to a study by the University of Leiden this is due to lack of access to rehab services, especially for short term sentences and discontinued support services upon release. However, overall prison population in NL is down for the last 20 years. Origin of offenders is irrelevant for this discussion.

Mute Dereck
    Favourite Dereck
    May 1st 2025, 10:22 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: True. The cost-benefit calculation for rehab v. punitive imprisonment systems seems to be beyond most people here.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 1:04 PM

@Dereck: BS
    Countries that get rid off the real criminals dont have to deal with them again

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 1:18 PM

@H Woo: Lmao :)… The Ryanair model

Mute Hulio H
    Favourite Hulio H
    May 1st 2025, 1:28 PM

@H Woo: and watch the safety for everyone who lives/works in the said private prison also go down. Unfortunately, in prisons you get what you pay for in terms of safety.

Mute Ichabod Crane
    Favourite Ichabod Crane
    May 1st 2025, 6:30 AM

Sounds like a job for the house tzar. Quick, light the bonfires or the bat signal. S.O.S. house tzar, we need you.

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    May 1st 2025, 7:14 AM

Waw very healthy style ,same as any Japanese sleeping on the floor,minimalism is very healthy for vertebrae, neck,back pain,disck plunge….lucky

Mute Great Eagle
    Favourite Great Eagle
    May 1st 2025, 1:57 PM

About 900 of the prisoners are foreign.
    Just deport them.
    Their stay here should be a privilege that is automatically withdrawn for exceeding a criminal threshold. Just like losing public service jobs for involvement in crime.

Mute micheal duff
    Favourite micheal duff
    May 1st 2025, 7:38 AM

Why are they there?

Mute c6g12c6
    Favourite c6g12c6
    May 1st 2025, 8:51 AM

Here’s a good idea. Build another prison.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    May 1st 2025, 1:20 PM

Bring in chain gangs…so much could be done as recompence and for the good of the society they damaged.

Mute Hulio H
    Favourite Hulio H
    May 1st 2025, 1:31 PM

@Ben dover: not sure it would work but I’d love to see it get a trial run

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    May 1st 2025, 6:22 AM

All prisons should be closed and refurbished into low cost social housing apartment blocks. All current inmates should be granted freedom under a new “Second Chance” legislation — where we as a people look at what can be, unburdened by what has been.

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON
    May 1st 2025, 6:39 AM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: You mean the ‘Nolan Act’

Mute higgy636
    Favourite higgy636
    May 1st 2025, 7:40 AM

Great news.

Mute Frank Foley
    Favourite Frank Foley
    May 1st 2025, 7:26 AM

The problem can be solved if they let out the non violent offenders and get them to report to the Garda station every day.

Mute Seriously Really
    Favourite Seriously Really
    May 1st 2025, 12:57 PM

@Frank Foley: Why reward law breakers. A crime is a crime… Signing on is not much of a punishment.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    May 1st 2025, 12:58 PM

They’re to have a mattress. Prisoners don’t deserve luxury, they’re in prison, not a holiday camp.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    May 1st 2025, 1:46 PM

Prison should be a place no-one wants to go back to.

Mute Keith Butler
    Favourite Keith Butler
    May 1st 2025, 9:01 AM

T0ugh sh!t, who cares. They should be doing hard labour.

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    May 1st 2025, 1:11 PM

As a taxpayer, I’ve no issue with this.

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    May 1st 2025, 1:20 PM

Built that new Prison they have been talking about for 20 years at Thrornhall.

Mute Patricia Cautley
    Favourite Patricia Cautley
    May 1st 2025, 10:20 AM

The amount of self-righteous, sneering comments here are sickening. It’s a totally inhumane and filthy way to confine prisoners and contributes to the spread of disease and mental instability. Prison officers have to try and keep control of a powder-keg. Think about their position.

Mute Hulio H
    Favourite Hulio H
    May 1st 2025, 1:30 PM

@H Woo: I’d love to see your specific hard data on that.

Mute Denis Hourihane
    Favourite Denis Hourihane
    May 1st 2025, 3:47 PM

Boo Hoo, well, they could be at home sleeping in their own beds if they didn’t commit a crime worthy of being sent to prison. Also, they wouldn’t be costing the tax payer €80k+ each per year to accomodate. Moral of the story: If you don’t like a hotel, don’t go there, it’s you’re choice ! Make the right choice, for all our benefits, including their own.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    May 1st 2025, 1:44 PM

There is anecdotal evidence of some people getting sent to prison deliberately for the winter months….a bit of work / earn your keep would free up those mattresses.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    May 1st 2025, 3:24 PM

How many people have a piece of cardboard to sleep on, on a street or in a doorway? In prison there is food, medical care, dental care. And the criminals sleeping on a mattress is the problem??

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    May 1st 2025, 3:46 PM

@Enda: Easter is the whingefest season – last week teachers, this week gardai and prison staff.
    The media lop it up with free drink and dinners for their reports.

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Favourite Pelagius Asturias
    May 1st 2025, 2:02 PM

Bring back chain gangs, get them working for the taxpayer.

Mute Okiec 666
    Favourite Okiec 666
    May 1st 2025, 3:42 PM

Pity about them. You commit a crime, you do the time. Simple.

Mute Michael Cummins
    Favourite Michael Cummins
    May 1st 2025, 3:57 PM

Bed of nails would be what most of them deserve.

Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    May 1st 2025, 1:55 PM

fffg Keeping the voters distracted while country gets milked by rich and poor greeting busy installing garden home living SHEDS

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    May 1st 2025, 10:54 AM

Replace the word person with prisoner….
    It’s like referring to victims as person.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    May 1st 2025, 1:48 PM

Hire prisons in other countries if they are free.

Mute Paddy Up
    Favourite Paddy Up
    May 1st 2025, 2:52 PM

Put more in there

Mute Peter D
    Favourite Peter D
    May 1st 2025, 1:55 PM

Who’s fault is that ????

Mute Conor Bradley
    Favourite Conor Bradley
    May 1st 2025, 3:34 PM

God help em

Mute Alan d
    Favourite Alan d
    May 1st 2025, 6:32 PM

Good