You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Let Garth play': GPO protest over Brooks concert fiasco

Hope is fading that a resolution to the debacle can be found, with the parties at an apparent impasse after a compromise deal was rejected on Thursday.

[Sarah Bennett via Twitter]

AROUND 50 PEOPLE have turned out on Dublin’s O’Connell Street for a demonstration calling for Garth Brooks to be allowed play all five nights of his planned ‘comeback event’ in Croke Park.

It follows a week-and-a-half of controversy over the gigs since Dublin City Council announced last week that concerts could only go ahead on three of the five nights originally booked.

It had appeared a resolution might be reached on Thursday, but the day ended with promoters Aiken rejecting a compromise proposal from the Council, that matinee performances could also be held over the three days, allowing all ticket-holders to attend.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio 1 this afternoon, reporter Maura Treasa Ní Cheallaigh, who is at the protest, said those taking part “seemed to be blaming the system”.

Several fans said they should never have been sold tickets if there was a chance of the gigs not going ahead, Ní Cheallaigh said.

[image: Sinead Corcoran]

Brooks himself said in a statement last week that he would “go to the last second” in his efforts to try and get the five scheduled nights back.

He urged the “powers that be” in Ireland to try and find a resolution while his concert gear was still on the way over, and before ticket-holders are given refunds.

Ticketmaster is to begin automatically refunding customers from Tuesday.

First posted at 12.50pm.

Read: Now Enda is trying to get the Garth Brooks concerts back

Read: Sorry, Garth: No sign from government of a new deal to save gigs 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

251 Comments
    Mute Shane Byrne
    Favourite Shane Byrne
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:59 PM

Reeling in the Years 2014 will be an extended special at this rate

Mute Pinel G
    Favourite Pinel G
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:13 PM

It will be called.. Reeling in the money Garth Special 2014, sponsored by Aiken Promotions.

Mute Munchma Quchi
    Favourite Munchma Quchi
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:02 PM

Bleedin culchies shaming the nation. Where were they when the social welfare was being cut?

#bleedindisgrace

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Michelle Mc Loughney
    Favourite Michelle Mc Loughney
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:07 PM

Oi don’t tar all culchies with the same brush! Some of us have a smattering of dignity. It’s buried deep admittedly.

Mute Munchma Quchi
    Favourite Munchma Quchi
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:31 PM

I have a job but that doesn’t mean I can have empathy for those less well off than meself. Typical culchies attitude, only care about pig food and Garth Brooks. Ya don’t hear me complaining about wealth generated in Dublin being used to prop up your one horse towns.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:54 PM

Most of the people who are not working don’t want to. Otherwise how come the East Europeans can come here, barely speaking the language and get work. That’s always been the case. Anyone who wants to work can get a job, if not here then in London. Even if you get a crap job, you can then progress to better jobs if you’re any good. No able bodied man should be allowed draw the dole for more than 3 months.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:17 PM

Garth Brooks ????……Never heard of him !

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jul 12th 2014, 5:28 PM

Journal

could you not have turned the camera around 180 degrees and taken a photo of the protestors who are out there demonstrating about the slaughter of young innocent Palestinian children rather than a bunch of mé féiners who have nothing better to worry about than a cancelled gig. You really have your priorities right today!!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 5:40 PM

Ann, where are the demonstrators demonstrating against the Palestinians kidnapping and murdering 3 teenage Israelis? Where are the demonstrators demonstrating against the Islamic fundamentalists slaughtering thousands in northern Iraq?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:07 PM

I’ll tell you where they are Willy – nowhere, you don’t deserve or get sympathy when you occupy another mans country and slaughter and inter innocent children. You want to talk about Palestine and Israel – move on to that story. The only purpose I had in mentioning it was to point out the ridiculousness and pettiness of those who feel so hard done by when the rest of us have more important things to be worrying about and then fact that the Journal had reported on this demonstration before the more important one.

Mute Sean Baker
    Favourite Sean Baker
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:27 PM

Technically everyone from ireland is classed as a cultchie by people outside ireland. Just sayin

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 12th 2014, 11:31 PM

WOW Ann, that’s some hardcore hatred girl!! I’m almost impressed by the ferocity of it.

Mute Susie lennon
    Favourite Susie lennon
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:10 AM

Ah inbred dubs what more can ya expect as statistics show us culchies end up with more qualifications better jobs and paying your dole so quit because I am really fed up with the unnecessary attacks on the people that worked and built the country ie the culchies

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:44 AM

Where are you living in Connemara maybe

Mute Gabriel Lardner
    Favourite Gabriel Lardner
    Jul 13th 2014, 3:39 AM

g@bshite

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:24 PM

Ann, no one is occupying anyone’s land. The people in that area have been fighting over land since history was first recorded. The Israelis have a legitimate ownership of Israel conferred by the precursor to the UN.

Then the Israelis were invaded by massively overwhelming numbers of Arabs but the Israelis won those wars. Democracies tend to defeat dictatorships. Israel originally kept the land they won from their invaders but later traded most of it for peace.

The terrorists in the Gaza strip, most of whom are refugees from other Muslim countries, so are not “Palestinians”, refuse point blank to negotiate with Israel. That’s the status. They want to destroy Israel. They don’t want peace. They’re are fanatics and Islamic fundamentalists.

The anti-Semitic left in Ireland have warped your view of history. Ireland have a long history of hating the Jews, like most “Christian” countries.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:32 PM

PS Here’s something I’ve just read. Even their fellow Muslim Arabs want Hamas in Gaza defeated.

Over the past week there are voices coming out of Egypt and some Arab countries — voices that publicly support the Israeli military operation against Hamas in the Gaza Strip. They see the atrocities and massacres committed by Islamists on a daily basis in Iraq and Syria and are beginning to ask themselves if these serve the interests of the Arabs and Muslims.

“Thank you Netanyahu and may God give us more [people] like you to destroy Hamas!” — Azza Sami of the Egyptian newspaper Al-Ahram.

Isolated and under attack, Hamas now realizes that it has lost the sympathy of many Egyptians and Arabs.

An uncomfortable moment during an April 2014 meeting between PA President Abbas and Egyptian President Sisi. (Image source: Video from President Abbas’ Office)
    Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Sisi has thus far turned down appeals from Palestinians and other Arabs to work toward achieving a new ceasefire between Israel and Hamas.
    Palestinian Authority [PA] President Mahmoud Abbas telephoned Sisi and urged him to intervene to achieve an “immediate ceasefire” between Israel and Hamas. Abbas later admitted that his appeal to Sisi and (other Arab leaders) had fallen on deaf ears. Sisi’s decision not to intervene in the current crisis did not come as a surprise. In fact, Sisi and many Egyptians seem to be delighted that Hamas is being badly hurt. Some Egyptians are even openly expressing hope that Israel will completely destroy Hamas, which they regard as the “armed branch of the Muslim Brotherhood terrorist organization.”

Sisi’s Egypt has not forgiven Hamas for its alliance with Muslim Brotherhood and its involvement in terrorist attacks against Egyptian civilians and soldiers over the past year.

Mute Sharon Regan
    Favourite Sharon Regan
    Jul 13th 2014, 1:26 PM

I must agree William. These people have no idea how lucky we are in this country and have nothing else to do with their time apart from make a show of themselves.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jul 13th 2014, 3:06 PM

Were you looking in the mirror when you came up with that word empty larder better name for you.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jul 14th 2014, 3:53 PM

William – you’ll be telling me next that there really was a famine and that the six counties actually belong to the UK.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 14th 2014, 4:00 PM

Ann, I’m afraid your apparent double sarcasm comment went over my head.

Mute William Mannix
    Favourite William Mannix
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:49 PM

We are making an absolute fool out of our selves as a nation…

Mute Paul Bracken
    Favourite Paul Bracken
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:02 PM

Ah Journal will you stop this nonsense.

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:03 PM

50 people making complete fools of themselves. Bringing disgrace on themselves and the country. Sadly, hundreds of thousands of others all over the country who are just as bad.

Mute Alan Davis
    Favourite Alan Davis
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:31 PM

Ok, enough now…

You bought tickets SUBJECT TO LICENCE, the licence wasn’t granted. Grow up & stop throwing your toys out of the pram – judging by the “artist”, you all became adults a long time ago!

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:35 PM

Maybe they’re protesting ironically, in which case it’s genius!

…doubt it though.

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:36 PM

There’s another 50 or so outside the Dáil

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:57 PM

You mean the protesters may be hipster’s?

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:58 PM

50 or so people embarrassing the country ? Are they not inside the Dail ?

Mute Mark K
    Favourite Mark K
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:01 PM

Getting to a stage where john Delaney’s idea of asking FIFA can Ireland be the 33rd team in a 32 team World Cup after Henry’s handball in that play-off was a stroke of genius!!!! Delaney for the top job!!!!!!!!!

Mute Stuart O' Hare
    Favourite Stuart O' Hare
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:01 PM

The protesters probably asked the homeless sleeping around the GPO to move out of the way so they could set up camp. A new low in this debacle!

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:47 PM

That’s a hundred so of they had another 250 people the council would have to listen and maybe overturn their decision…….NOT.!…FFS the party is over!. We all have enough of this debacle. Nothing to see here. Move on.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:22 PM

“we are”? Along with the vast majority of the population I couldn’t give 2 fiddlers farts whether the concerts go ahead or not.

Mute Patrick Lionnain
    Favourite Patrick Lionnain
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:50 PM

There are several causes Ireland could be protesting about….this is way down in priority!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

whatabouthte

Mute James St John Smith
    Favourite James St John Smith
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:44 PM

Let him play? He turned down three gigs then four. He maintains he’s doing it for the money… sorry I mean fans.

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:54 PM

About 50 out of 400,000 wow the people have spoken

Mute Barry O'Sullivan
    Favourite Barry O'Sullivan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:09 PM

0.0125%

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:17 PM

And he’s now got his 5 gigs over 3 days after he initially suggested matinee performances. Now that’s been rejected. Time to move on from this clown.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony

Eh….Garth Brooks concerts are cancelled ? Next thing people will be saying Pat Kenny is gone to Newstalk.

Mute Joan Murphy
    Favourite Joan Murphy
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:41 PM

Paul , that joke is sooo old now it’s not even funny anymore.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:50 PM

So Pat Kenny is gone to Newstalk ? Holy sh#t. I have to get out more.

Mute Joe Hunter
    Favourite Joe Hunter
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:21 PM

James he will get paid for the 5 regardless if he plays them or not!

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:27 PM

No he won’t joe would you expect to be paid for not doing your job ? as if aiken have €15m spare to just pay him for not showing up

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:37 PM

Those are the 50 that bought the 400,000 tickets. Uber fans or what

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:51 PM

He will have insurace to cover it so he will get most of it,,,

Mute Keegan Phil
    Favourite Keegan Phil
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:45 PM

Leave it now Paul.

Mute Danny Murray
    Favourite Danny Murray
    Jul 12th 2014, 11:16 PM

Aiken said he has no insurance on The Business on RTE 1 Radio last Sunday!!!

He said it, so it must be true, right??

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:12 AM

Going to cost Aiken 7 figures apparently.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:48 PM

Please go home and stop making fool’s of yourselves.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:10 PM

where were all the protests for the residents of priory hall, the tuam babies, the way our country is being run, the bankers, the people that are being made homeless every day of the week! i am sick to death with garth brooks, the world is in turmoil and this group have nothing better to do on a saturday…..its a pity they would give some of their evident spare time to some of the organisations looking after the homeless…to help them peel spuds or wash dishes for the hundreds of people around the country , …garth brooks is a wealthy man and i am sure he could careless if every preforms in ireland ever again….

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally

Correct ann-nation of wafflers-only when their pocket gets hit,then they might get off the sofa to protest!..

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:55 PM

“to help them peel spuds”

are you being sarky?

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:56 PM

How many protests have the pair of ye organised :)

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:05 PM

The world is in turmoil? You’re watching too much Fox News.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:26 PM

Ann
    In a nutshell, well said

Mute Johnner!
    Favourite Johnner!
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:39 PM

Protesting in 2014 would not help the tuam babies unfortunately.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:52 PM

Who has fox news outside of the US?

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:35 PM

@ paudi onail, certainly not being sarky? do you know what it is like to peel spuds for dinners, these organisations cant afford to get them peeled and chopped the money goes on providing food for people not convenience for the volunteers…..such a pity this is what you found to be the most important thing to comment on!

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:37 PM

@ conor…no not fox news! might be worth your while to watch rte, bbc etc every now and again there is a place called syria and………..

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:46 PM

Arrest them all for stupidity

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:53 PM

They march on the street for a fat cowboy but when the government robs us blind and screws us over, they are nowhere to be seen

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

They’d rather get robbed by a fat cowboy using them as rehearsal fodder for a world tour

Would getting an extra mass help?

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby

Scarlet for them losers. How sad, spend your Saturday with your family.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:11 PM

They think Garth Brooks is their family. He’s told them he loves them.

Mute J
    Favourite J

Brooks spotted in Mickey D’s ordering a royale with cheese and fries. Also, pie minister sold out of steak and Guinness pies.

Mute Richie Aprile
    Favourite Richie Aprile
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:51 PM

These people must live seriously miserable lives.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:01 PM

No one could call that living.

Mute Simon Bevis
    Favourite Simon Bevis

Darwin had a point. We know where to start the cull now.

Mute Barry O'Sullivan
    Favourite Barry O'Sullivan

Saps

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:45 PM

Who were protesting. The ticket touts?

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn

Ticket touts will get paid again if concert is cancelled so they are laughing again

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh

Why the are on a winner have all ready sold tickets and gotten a refund!

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:33 PM

Rednecks

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:55 PM

Anyone that bought from a tout is a fool and I would have no sympathy for them

Mute Blacksod63.
    Favourite Blacksod63.
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:45 PM

They should picket Aiken. He made a total mess of the whole thing

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

This could only happen in Ireland what sort of clown protests about such a pathetic issue? O I forget cowboys get a life.

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:45 PM

It’s Garth Brook’s they should have hung off the stack of pallets up North.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down

Garth Brooks * IS * being let play. He rejected the conditions. Twice. He is subject to Irish laws when he is in Ireland, just like all of the rest of us.

Get over yeerselves and go home. Scarlet for yee.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:19 PM

You know this isn’t the “law”, but the whim of a jumped up civil servant – give licence to all concerts and no law is broken, not give licence and no law is broken… Never lose sight that the elected representatives can overturn anything the county managers decide, and they should talk to their constituents and do this. Not holding council civil service accountable is why planning corruption got out of hand.

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:54 PM

Alien8, the GAA only have a licence based planning laws and on a legal agreement with the local residents to hold THREE concerts in a 12 month period at Croke Park. They used them all up. Tough.

They are in breach of this legal agreement (contract) and no licence can be issued as they have used up all the days. The GAA knew that, Aiken knew that, the residents and Dublin City Council knew that.

“Not holding council civil service accountable is why planning corruption got out of hand.” — This is a civil servant that is actually sticking to the planning laws and people are complaining???

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down

And the Councillors have not chosen to do this, therefore the decision is law and the law stands.

Hate to break it to you, but civil servants draft many decisions at local and national level n this country, and the elected representatives acquiesce. Doesn’t make those decisions any less the law of the land once passed. Garth Brooks is lucky enough to have had enough influence to have the conditions of his licence revisited. He rejected the rules on both occasions. The buck stops with his decision. End of.

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Favourite Patrick Bateman

Wish I knew someone from that picture so I could never let them forget it

Mute Don Jimmy Chipocludo Tormey
    Favourite Don Jimmy Chipocludo Tormey
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:44 PM

I do know someone who’s there… ;-)

Mute kevin connolly
    Favourite kevin connolly

This Brooks craic is painful now…

Mute Raymond Connolly
    Favourite Raymond Connolly

Love to baton charge that crowd

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:18 PM

Baton Rouge.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:22 PM

Baton Rouge?

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:24 PM

Spray them with raw slurry

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:27 PM

Doesnt matter what the colour is.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:59 PM

‘Put on your shit-kickers and kick some shit’

Mute Aine Foley
    Favourite Aine Foley

Whilst I feel some sympathy for Brooks’ fans, this is just taking the p**s. We are being subjugated to austerity policies on a daily basis in this country, high tax rates, no real sign of job creation, water tax (double taxation), property tax (yet many spent thousands on stamp duty), high cost of food, expensive education (note it is not free, no matter what they tell you), a broken health care system due to the ineptitude of the HSE management (its saving grace are the fantastic medical staff), lack of social housing, outrageously priced childcare, which alienates women from the work force, politicians who seem to enter politics not on ideological reasons but as money hungry leeches etc etc. And then we have these clowns, to put it nicely, protesting. Have these fools protested against the unforgivable rate of homelessness in our cities and towns. Have they protested at the throng of our young having to leave to find work. Have they protested at the injustice of the Palestinians, or the asylum seekers effectively imprisoned in appalling conditions here. Have the protested at the continuing divide between rich and poor in Ireland. Have they taken their backsides to the street to protest for the rights of women???? Something tells me they haven’t, that the majority of these people are clowns. Not only are we a laughing stock world wide, these people are making us look like complete idiots. Maybe it’s true…maybe the idiots have finally taken over the world.

Mute Patrick Hickey
    Favourite Patrick Hickey
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:11 PM

Facepalm – to go the GPO! Connolly and Pearce spinning!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:56 PM

Yes Aine and they could have protested against the “Palestinians” kidnapping and murdering three Israeli teenagers and then launching 500 rockets at Israel.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:01 PM

Shinner II

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:54 PM

You can’t get people out to protest the daily dose of dick-in-the-arse we’re subjected to by our fearless leaders but for this they’ll give up a summer Saturday?

Mute Fergal O'Halloran
    Favourite Fergal O'Halloran
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:16 PM

Anyone want to meet me outside the GPO with a dozen eggs?

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:21 PM

@ fergal….ha ha ha

Mute Laura Mc Guinness
    Favourite Laura Mc Guinness
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:15 PM

All the sh*t this country has gone through in recent years and it takes a poxy concert to get people protesting.

Mute James St John Smith
    Favourite James St John Smith

Let him play…with the traffic.

Mute Matelkat
    Favourite Matelkat
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:58 PM

This protest was clearly organised by the same people who tried to organise the gigs… shambles

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

Next week they will be out supporting Sean Quinn. The week after Pro Life. Great summer ahead!

Mute Ger O Connor
    Favourite Ger O Connor

PLEASE STOP!!!!

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:52 PM

__
    .’` `. __
    / | ,-’` `’.
    ; ‘-’ )
    | _,.-’
    _ |_.–., (_
    .’` `’-'__ \ ””‘-.
    / .-”-/` `\ ;_ \
    | / ; ; | `. (`’.__.’
    | o| o | __ \ `.
    _,.—’\___.\.__.’ `’. |_ )
    _.-’ _.-”"-. ‘-.’-’
    ,’ | \`. `.
    / ; | |
    (_.-’”"”—.. / | /
    `’-..___.-’ ; ,.-’
    \ 7 ‘ / |
    |/_ _ ; / ‘
    .- /’ /` j/ ‘ |
    | \| ‘ / |
    ‘ `.___.’ ; ‘
    ; / |
    \ / |
    `.,__,.’ ‘
    | |
    ; ‘
    / |mx
    ‘ ___________ …-’

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:53 PM

Well that didn’t work out too well…….

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:59 PM

Try again and use dots to force the spaces to the left.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:14 PM

::facepalm::?

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:02 PM

Its canceled get over it

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy

Why aren’t they protesting about water charges, property taxes, homelessness and poverty on the streets of every county in Ireland instead they are protesting for an overweight singer millionaire that has made his money along time ago.

Mute Tonzst Corbett
    Favourite Tonzst Corbett

Have people nothing better to do, 800 bodies of babies were found in a septic tank, babies that may have been experimented on, This allowed by the Catholic Church !!!!!! And nothing, One country western singer acting the p***k and there’s a protest?? Disgusted, No wonder out country I’d f*****

Mute Carmina Kearney
    Favourite Carmina Kearney

What a pity these people din’t come out and protest when the government decided to plunge the people of Ireland into poverty, or protest about house repossessions, house tax, water tax, need I go on. What a sorry excuse of a nation we are if people think this is even important.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:00 PM

Another shinner!

Mute Laura
    Favourite Laura

Another significant moment in Irish history for the GPO. I hear they’re marching to the Dail now. Make it stop.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow

@ laura, actually thats what makes me sick, people fought and died for our country in the GPO and this crowd us it to protest over garth brooks

Mute Pat Conway
    Favourite Pat Conway
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:05 PM

Garth Brooks. Enough already. Those people should get a life.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:39 PM

Let Garth Play?
    The only person standing in the way of Garth playing is Garth.

We don’t live life on Garth’s terms. When I die, Garth Brooks life won’t flash before my eyes.

Mute Johnner!
    Favourite Johnner!
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:44 PM

They’re not Garths terms 5 gigs was the original contract

Mute camada
    Favourite camada
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:51 PM

He’ll play three gigs, but will add 40% to price of merchandise!
    Pure GREED

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:06 PM

These people should be euthanised or at least sterilised

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:55 PM

This comment is in poor taste.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:03 PM

One does not simply say that.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 13th 2014, 2:01 PM

What one does not simply do is advocate the euthanasia or sterilisation of a group of people because they hold an opposing view to one’s own.

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority

I can smell the manure from that picture alone.

Mute Aaron D
    Favourite Aaron D
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:44 PM

Careful now.

Mute Cliodhna
    Favourite Cliodhna
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:08 PM

Hangsangwhiches at dawn…..

Extremist line dancers have been identified in the crowd…public order vans are on stand by….

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:08 PM

Are we sure this wasn’t an undercover Orange Order march…
    The eyes on those protesters look very close together.

Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:43 PM

His fans are embarrassing themselves and Ireland in front if the world by pandering to his ego. Cop on and get in with your lives. The amount of important stories which have gone un noticed because of the coverage given by the journal and every other Irish publications is bewildering and but lets you know the state of the Irish media.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:57 PM

Very 80s looking pictures

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:12 PM

Well it is Dublin. What do you expect?? A modren 21st century city ???

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:22 PM

What pictures are you looking at? Cant see much of Dublin in those pictures.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:24 PM

Ohh Paddy from Cork, should have known. How original…..

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 12th 2014, 6:13 PM

@bobby. TBH I red thumbed myself for that one.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:56 PM

Probably boggers up in the city for the day!!

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:51 PM

Someone told them it was 8th December. Heard Galway Girl chorus floating on the wind out in the burbs.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:59 PM

yea probably, hopefully they get home safe.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:03 PM

Everyone is entitled to protest,whatever the cause,at least there not mouthing off behind a laptop and whining to joe Duffy today-great nation of yappers and no action…snobbery and there are more ppl outside Dublin that matter as well,Ireland is 26 counties,not the m50!!..

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

‘mouthing off behind a laptop’?

very odd image lol

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:17 PM

I think you’re spot on here Shane.

A lot of the comments here are asking why people are willing to get out and protest about this, but not about austerity, the bank guarantee, the Tuam babies, etc. Well I don’t see any evidence that this legion of keyboard warriors has exactly been mobbing the GPO protesting about those things or anything at all for that matter.

Here we have a handful of people who are willing to voice their opinion publicly about something they care about; and it’s something that can still be brought to a satisfactory outcome. If you want to protest about other “more important” things, get out and do it; don’t waste your breath criticising people because they’re voicing their own opinion rather than yours.

Also, as I see it, anyone who thinks this is somehow damaging our national reputation (whatever that even means) has a poor understanding of how people form lasting opinions about other countries.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:40 PM

Groan. Mouthing off behind a keyboard about mouthing off behind a keyboard about a man who couldn’t care less about people here mouthing off behind their keyboards (as long as he gets paid in full)

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 13th 2014, 2:04 PM

Endless recursion ensues.

Mute Niall Condren
    Favourite Niall Condren
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:30 PM

It’s a good indicator as to how sick society is when people are prepared to protest over something like this but not Palestinians getting blown to pieces or any other worthwhile cause. Protest over lack off entertainment versus Protest over destruction of human life. Compartmentalisation at its best

Mute davey p
    Favourite davey p
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:32 PM

For christ sake, the world is goin to sh*t, other countries are protesting ACTUAL problems all over the world and all we have is a protest for a poxy country and western concert. Im embarrassed for this country

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:25 PM

In front of the GPO are they being serious? Do they not know how those bullet holes got into those pillars and who they were aimed at?

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:53 PM

Countess markervich gave his life for them!

Mute A.Heary
    Favourite A.Heary
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:36 PM

I would hate to see if the country needed a bail out ,or if we had over 400,000 unemployed or our health service was on the point of collapse ….WOW what would happen then??

Mute Lynn Kelly
    Favourite Lynn Kelly
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:26 PM

Theese people turned out for protest today for something so trivial where they on monday night when workers were marching for their terms& conditions (greyhound staff)

Mute Fergal O'Halloran
    Favourite Fergal O'Halloran
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:14 PM

Get over it Ireland!

Mute Jeni Brennan
    Favourite Jeni Brennan
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:50 PM

And yet nobody protests when a Deafness support agency is shut down in Ireland.

Mute Aine Deeney
    Favourite Aine Deeney
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:21 PM

Is it true the band “Simple Minds” are playing at the protest?

Mute Richard Powell
    Favourite Richard Powell
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:28 PM

Lol very good

Mute Patrick Meehan
    Favourite Patrick Meehan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:29 PM

A bunch of hillbillies! Should be ashamed of themselves protesting over a night out.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail

don’t worry, you’ve got the usual o’connell street protests to look forward to tonight. enjoy now! hee haw!

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:26 PM

Peter Aiken has made some serious mistakes. He should have not sold tickets for 5 concerts if he only had licence for 3. People who have lost out financially such as ticket purchasers, hotels, restaurants, pubs etc may have grounds to sue Peter Aitken, Garth Brooks and the GAA for damages.

Mute David Cady
    Favourite David Cady
    Jul 13th 2014, 9:34 AM

He had a license for none when he sold the tickets.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 13th 2014, 10:52 AM

David, now don’t be coming on here spouting facts. Very bad form.

Mute Mick O Donovan
    Favourite Mick O Donovan
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:32 PM

Any new interesting news stories out there
    This has become monotonous

Mute Will Too
    Favourite Will Too
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:16 PM

Garth this country doesn’t have a stadium big enough for your ego , I’d say five more nights just for your ego , no backing band no million inch screen nothing but your ego .
    I feel great now !

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:38 PM

Maybe they could put Brooks’ ego in a glass case (if they could find one big enough) and put it on display in the GPO. ‘Fans’ could file past and pay their tributes, sign a book of condolences and then collect their complimentary cassettes on the way out?

Mute Ray rogers
    Favourite Ray rogers
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:22 PM

Was it for this the wild geese spread

Mute Marie Corcoran
    Favourite Marie Corcoran
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:27 PM

This is what people protest about, I fear for the future of Irish society…

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jul 12th 2014, 12:58 PM

Boo boo boo Brooks

Mute John Joyce
    Favourite John Joyce
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:00 PM

50 simpletons..thank god it was such a small number..their is hope afterall

Mute Ciara Harrison
    Favourite Ciara Harrison
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:41 PM

This is the definition of a first world problem….

Mute Brian Johnson
    Favourite Brian Johnson
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:31 PM

Very astute Clara and most likely the most cruel but true depiction of the so called first world society we live in..well said.

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:50 PM

Stop commenting on these articles..You’re all breathing life into this sham by doing so. Sick to death of it. Who gives a flying firetruck about that this. Country is making a show of itself. Bury the hatchet Journal.

Mute J
    Favourite J

Cool irony bro.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:05 PM

50 people in their own little stupid, ignorant bubble.

All the nonsense this country is currently in and was in, and these people travel to Dublin to protest over a music event?

These are the very people that wouldn’t protest about real matters, but will for a poxy gig?

Why not march to Dublin City Council Offices or Croke Park? The GPO, seriously?
    Ah. Yes. That’ll get the sados even more attention?

I’m delighted the gigs are off with a#$eholes like this about, they dont deserve nothing, in the words of Father Damien (Oasis or Blur!) from Father Ted,
    “Its only a bleedin concert!”

Mute Joe Tone
    Favourite Joe Tone
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:37 PM

Can we just forget about this clown

Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:37 PM

An article about a protest of 50 people..The journal is just taking the piss now..Enough ffs

Mute J
    Favourite J

It’s gone viral! Over 20 hits on YouTube!

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:35 PM

High res photos of their faces to shame them further down the line. These same people will sit on their arses when something serious happens but Garth Brooks can’t have 5 shows? Out looking like a fool

Mute Mary O Mahony
    Favourite Mary O Mahony
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:17 PM

There is no point mocking these people about protesting for something they want to happen, and as for serious protests in this country nobody is bothered cause there is always a list of excuses on why not to attend a rally, complaining on social media is about as good as it gets with the nation of ireland. So keep complaining.. And keep paying ur bills and taxes

Mute Stevie Leslie
    Favourite Stevie Leslie
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:00 PM

Get a life

Mute Gavin Lawler
    Favourite Gavin Lawler

Get over it! At this stage I’m glad he’s not playing would be THE most over rated show!

Mute colm greene
    Favourite colm greene
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:00 PM

Ooh a protest. Cue krusties with British accents rolling in to take over the scene. ‘Down with the authorities and blah blah’

Jul 12th 2014, 1:33 PM

50 people who are obviously headcases!

Mute zebedee
    Favourite zebedee
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:31 PM

At least one of these muppets had the sense to cover their face!

Mute Leanne Nic An Ghaill
    Favourite Leanne Nic An Ghaill

This whole debacle is Reeling In The Years GOLD.

Jul 12th 2014, 1:38 PM

Are all country music fans as soft in the head as this load of failed human experiments ?

Mute Phil Mannion
    Favourite Phil Mannion
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:40 PM

50 people protesting ??????? all must be ticket touts with nothing better to do……….Time to get over it.

Mute Sean Lankstead
    Favourite Sean Lankstead
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:48 PM

Garth Brooks should come to Ireland even if it was just 100 fans, and one gig; he does not because he is greedy, shame!

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:19 PM

More turn up to protest against austerity, homelessness, inequality etc but ain’t viewed newsworthy.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:01 PM

Shinner III

Mute Who?
    Favourite Who?

Wish this whole saga would just f¥ck off.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:29 PM

Hop back on your horse Garth and head west. We don’t love you any more

Mute Damien Wallace
    Favourite Damien Wallace

pathetic

Mute Joe Duffy
    Favourite Joe Duffy
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:57 PM

Gobshits wouldn’t march for more important things

Mute Brian Kennedy
    Favourite Brian Kennedy
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:00 PM

i’m awaiting duelling banjo’s to break out any minute up there.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne

Enough. Just let it go on in the backgroung. There is no longer any need to report on it.

Mute STEVE
    Favourite STEVE
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:28 PM

What a pack of f#cktards. I guarantee not all of them had tickets.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:53 PM

You didn’t get a ticket?

Mute Maria Keating
    Favourite Maria Keating
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:42 PM

Hayseeds! They are the ones who sit around and bitch and moan about everything wrong the country, but protest over a hillbilly, redneck, hayseed concert!

Mute Emily Smith
    Favourite Emily Smith
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:08 PM

not a fan of him and didnt have a ticket but what i joke all this is!! the whole subject to licence thing is bull! i cant count have many times ive got concert tickets and to bigger gigs and this has never happened! no body has the right to sell 400.000 tickets and leaving it a few weeks before the gig is on to try get a licence for it ( knowing well one direction took the 3 days that were aloud play in croke park). only in ireland would this happen! and then to try fit 5 gigs into 3 days! thats the best thing they could come up with!! oh what a laughing stock this country is!

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:36 PM

I agree and it is Aiken these people should be annoying.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:36 PM

Hopefully if the concerts go ahead (and I give a sh!$) There might be a larger turnout. Seriously though these idiots could find something a lot more productive to do on a Saturday afternoon, god almighty is there any end to this nonsense! glad all the same the rain came out for this ridiculous carry on.

Mute Brian Kennedy
    Favourite Brian Kennedy

All that’s missing is some hicks & a rendition of Duelling Banjos. Why not get TR Dallas & Big Tom as support for the fat cowboy. If he does get the gigs he should open up with one song, and one song only – Shameless.

Mute J
    Favourite J

Bet none of them know what a tracker mortgage is.

Mute Sean Lankstead
    Favourite Sean Lankstead
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:50 PM

Garth Brooks being greedy, shame

Mute Noble Gas
    Favourite Noble Gas

Please spin off a separate app for these stories. Considering removing journal from my phone.

Mute P os
    Favourite P os
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:42 PM

You protest outside a place synonymous with our fight for independence and desecrate the national flag by writing on it. While some other idiot carries the American flag aloft. I would love to see how you would be treated by the public if you walked near any national monument in America carrying the Irish flag aloft and dragging an American flag with writing on it. Your stupidity makes me sick

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:28 PM

This just gets more cringe worthy every single day!!

Mute Shadowman
    Favourite Shadowman
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:11 PM

GB is a businessman. But he’s a genuine guy…he doesn’t want to disappoint some fans with a half-assed show. Remember this is 400,000 people, bigger population than Iceland. Everything he has said has been correct, the problem is here. With the tsunami of austerity imposed on us OUR Politico’s should get it sorted, and give the people WHAT THEY GODDAMNED PAID FOR.

Mute Stíofán Ó HÍomhair
    Favourite Stíofán Ó HÍomhair
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:40 PM

Joke of a country were was they when the pay cuts was going on shows they all have money there probley all farmers

Mute Anna Higgins
    Favourite Anna Higgins
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:02 PM

There’s 1500 people marching about Gaza where’s that article

Mute Jennifer Brady
    Favourite Jennifer Brady
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:13 PM

Is there anything to be said for another mass ?

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:31 PM

Cowboys Ted!! cowboys!!

Mute Sean Newberry
    Favourite Sean Newberry
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:48 PM

Culchies eh?

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:53 PM

with respect, where’s the article about the Palestinian protest?

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:58 PM
    Mute Mick Joyce
    Favourite Mick Joyce
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:09 PM

The drive for five

Mute RICHARD Paul
    Favourite RICHARD Paul
    Jul 12th 2014, 7:16 PM

Sad…Stick on a cd, preferably at low volume and get over it !

Jul 12th 2014, 11:22 PM

Its not over till the Fat Cowboy sings……hope the bugger never comes near Ireland again the muppet!

Mute Rav
    Favourite Rav
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:30 PM

Will somebody please think of the children

Mute Christopher Clerkin
    Favourite Christopher Clerkin
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:20 PM

This type of embarrassing shīte makes me glad I emigrated

Mute Ciarán O'Brien
    Favourite Ciarán O'Brien
    Jul 12th 2014, 7:41 PM

Damn it Ireland, this is why we can’t have nice things.

Mute marty dot
    Favourite marty dot
    Jul 12th 2014, 5:53 PM

Tickets touts protest too much I think

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Jul 12th 2014, 3:15 PM

Garth brooks has discovered there’s a flaw in the system(ie Dublin city council pen pushers) and suddenly he’s the fall guy-the greed lays with Aiken,residents originally,one chap with a ding dong about the gaa,and countless hotels in Dublin jacking up their prices,so who’s to blame and who loses out?..this farce could happen again,until the planning system gets an overhaul or just stop doing gigs in croke park,full stop and let them all have there beauty sleep!!..

Mute Feargal Sammon
    Favourite Feargal Sammon
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:52 PM

The two Asian lads in the second pic came some distance for the protest …ll#committed

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 12th 2014, 5:00 PM

People of Asian descent aren’t born in Ireland?

Mute Rob Downey
    Favourite Rob Downey
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:55 PM

Saps!!

Mute Rosanne Donovan
    Favourite Rosanne Donovan
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:56 PM

They should all be put into the garden shed … Along with all the other tools !

Mute Mark O'Brien
    Favourite Mark O'Brien
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:35 PM

What’s all this about?

Mute Samuel Sapp
    Favourite Samuel Sapp
    Jul 12th 2014, 2:47 PM

From the US : will gladly trade you Garth for Bono . Bono could run Nashville and Garth
    could run for Lord Mayor of Dublin .

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:06 PM

It’s fast becoming embarrassing too be Irish. I hope the rest of the world is looking the other way today. ..

Mute Pádraig Turley
    Favourite Pádraig Turley
    Jul 12th 2014, 6:05 PM

Surely we could suspend the constitution to allow this event take place. The Writ of Habeas Corpus should also be put in abeyance, lest there are protesters.

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Jul 12th 2014, 8:02 PM

Well done ladies…..

Mute David Cady
    Favourite David Cady
    Jul 12th 2014, 4:27 PM

MelBrooks to stage updated, open-air version of “The Producers” at Croke Park at the end of the month.

Well played Mr Brooks.

Mute Gary Quigley
    Favourite Gary Quigley
    Jul 12th 2014, 9:04 PM

People protest about a concert when there is so many other things that they could of come out to protest about like the other protest about the killings of children in Gaza….But no Ireland shows the world that ya can take our money ya can push us around but ya can not take our Garth Brooks concerts away or they will be hell to pay ….I HAVE TO LAUGH ….Protest for Garth Brooks sad sad sad…

Mute Dave O Halloran
    Favourite Dave O Halloran
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:28 PM

It’s embarrassing to be Irish once again. Once again only a screw up like this could happen in good old Ireland , course we don’t need the 30-50 million it could bring to the country , shur we only live in white thatched cottages watching the horses go by

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt
    Jul 12th 2014, 10:30 PM

Turned on the TV earlier and I thought I was watching embarrassing bodies because I felt sorry for them then I realised they were just the garth brooks fan club marching today !

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Jul 12th 2014, 11:24 PM

It’s the silly season! This story would be put to rest any other time of the year. Of all the things that have happened here over the past few years this is what gets the middle class out on the streets with banners. A fat yank who wants to maximise his profits!

Mute Dave Sharp
    Favourite Dave Sharp
    Jul 13th 2014, 1:19 AM

Ireland is literally the laughing stock of the world!! Brooks is a scuummmmbag for his handling of this. The council is a joke, the fans are rednecks, the agent is a dimwit for doing what he did. Worst of all is our head of government who intervened in such a petty mess. What a twaaattttt!!!

Mute Clint Bronson
    Favourite Clint Bronson
    Jul 12th 2014, 1:28 PM
    Mute Mairead Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mairead Mc Carthy
    Jul 13th 2014, 7:33 PM

It’s the name calling that’s the worst thing of all .So what 50 people protested what harm did they do ???if everyone that commented here including myself got out and stood for what we are passionate about we would be a far more united nation . Instead the comment very nastily on people we don’t even know .

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:43 AM

Give kenny and co their answer the next election, he could have intervened if he wanted to

Mute jack hammer
    Favourite jack hammer
    Jul 13th 2014, 7:06 AM

Cake.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Jul 12th 2014, 6:00 PM

Systemic failure, an irish problem to an irish solution.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Jul 13th 2014, 1:08 PM

How about a final compromise, four nights, and one matinee?

Mute Audrey K Petticrew
    Favourite Audrey K Petticrew
    Jul 13th 2014, 12:56 PM
    Mute Tomas O Beag
    Favourite Tomas O Beag
    Jul 13th 2014, 5:51 PM

Father ted springs to mind !!! Pity we didn’t kick up such a fuss over economic policies the last few years !!!

Mute Shinnerbot
    Favourite Shinnerbot
    Jul 13th 2014, 4:30 PM

Up Garth

Mute jack hammer
    Favourite jack hammer
    Jul 13th 2014, 6:39 AM

I like cake..

Mute Lorna Jennings
    Favourite Lorna Jennings
    Jul 12th 2014, 11:49 PM

Phoneix park should hold everyone!!!!

Mute G-man G-man G-man
    Favourite G-man G-man G-man
    Jul 13th 2014, 8:11 AM

Meanwhile in Gaza.

Mute Maebh Mahon
    Favourite Maebh Mahon
    Jul 13th 2014, 11:28 AM

Protesting about a concert ??? Ah here Ireland cop on !!! No wonder the country is in a mess !!! Stupid idiotic people

Mute Yellow Buzzinfly
    Favourite Yellow Buzzinfly
    Jul 13th 2014, 8:55 AM

Those protesters are barking at the wrong tree ! Please respect our law. Take the three concerts legally provided as take it or leave it