You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

phone via Shutterstock

GSOC chairman’s position is ‘not in question’, and he won’t be retiring

The head of the AGSI says it’s not acceptable that GSOC suspected a crime may have taken place and that it wasn’t reported to gardaí.

Updated at 9.12pm

GARDA STAFF REPRESENTATIVE bodies have been giving their reaction to the developing controversy at the Garda Ombudsman Commission, following reports that the watchdog organisation’s offices were bugged last year.

The AGSI, which represents middle-ranking gardaí, has called for the chairman of GSOC Simon O’Brien to consider his position.

However, a statement this evening said that O’Brien would not be resigning, and his position was not in question, RTÉ reports.

Kieran Fitzgerald of GSOC is to appear on RTÉ television programme Prime Time tonight.

‘Not acceptable’

General Secretary of the association John Redmond spoke briefly to reporters on his way into a meeting on an unrelated matter at the Department of Justice this morning.

Redmond said it was not acceptable that GSOC suspected a crime may have taken place and that it wasn’t reported to gardaí.

Asked whether he was calling for O’Brien to step down or to consider his position, Redmond replied that the GSOC chairman should “consider his position, most definitely”.

The GRA, which represents rank-and-file gardaí, didn’t go quite as far as that — but General Secretary of the body PJ Stone said an immediate, extensive independent inquiry was needed.

“From listening to pundits on all sides of the debate it seems there is a toxic relationship here between the Garda Síochána and GSOC,” Stone said.

“I don’t believe there is any garda involvement in this — but to remove any suspicion there should be an independent inquiry set up immediately to get to the bottom of this.

“My members are left exposed. Their data could have been syphoned off — if this is not the case then we need further clarification immediately.”

Misplaced emphasis

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has also added his voice to the calls for an independent body to be brought in.

Speaking earlier, Martin said the Government’s approach to the matter to date had placed undue emphasis on secondary issues — like whether the Commission should have reported what happened to the Minister for Justice at an earlier date.

Asked about the issue yesterday, several Cabinet members raised the issue of why the matter wasn’t brought to Shatter’s attention earlier.

However, Martin said that the focus should be on the “key issue” of “was the office bugged?”.

“Emphasis seemed be focusing on the issue of whether or not [The Garda Ombudsman] should have referred this to the Minister,” Martin said.

He said the issue of what had happened “needs to be urgently resolved” adding that it was important the full facts came out in order to maintain public confidence in the agency.

Statements

GSOC was called in to discuss the developing controversy with Minister Shatter yesterday.

In a statement released after that meeting, the agency said that “three technical and electronic anomalies” that could not be “conclusively explained” were found following an investigation which concluded in December.

The agency said it regretted not bringing the matter to the Minister sooner, but that it was satisfied its databases were not compromised.

GSOC also stressed:

There was no evidence of Garda misconduct. The Commission decided to discontinue the investigation on the basis that no further action was necessary or reasonably practicable.

In the wake of that statement, Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan released one of his own, taking issue with GSOC’s reference to the gardaí.

He said he would be seeking clarification from the agency on “issues resulting from its statement”.

It is a cause of grave concern that the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission’s statement contains a clear indication that An Garda Síochána was in some way suspected of complicity in this matter despite GSOC’s overall finding that the existence of technical and electronic anomalies could not be conclusively explained.

Garda Ombudsman Chairman Simon O'Brien leaving  a meeting with Justice Minister Alan Shatter at the Department of Justice yesterday [Niall Carson/PA Wire]

Chairman of the Public Service Oversight Committee Pádraig McLochlainn has also suggested that a third organisation be brought in investigate the matter further.

McLochlainn, who is also Sinn Féin justice spokesperson, said further investigation would be needed if GSOC confirmed it had been bugged.

"We’re in unknown territory, because the Garda Obmudsman — which is meant to watch the watcher — apparently has been spied upon,” the deputy told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

“If they do confirm that ‘yes, we were spied upon’ then the report from the consultancy company would need to be looked at.

“We may have an issue here where we need to find some international body to investigate this.”

Ministers were briefed on yesterday's meeting with GSOC by Minister Shatter this morning.

First posted at 12.30pm

- Additional reporting Aoife Barry

Read: GSOC confirms ‘electronic anomalies’ found, and regrets not disclosing it

Related: “I don’t know what ‘anomalies’ are” — Howlin on GSOC findings

Taoiseach: Details of bugging controversy should be made available for ‘public analysis’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute Laura Doherty
    Favourite Laura Doherty
    May 20th 2014, 1:11 PM

He’s an absolute eejit if he thinks people will vote him Taoiseach

Mute IrishGreens87
    Favourite IrishGreens87
    May 20th 2014, 1:27 PM

Knowing this country. We probably will and we’ll complain about again.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    May 20th 2014, 1:41 PM

its like asking me do I still want to be Batman.
    There was a time that I really did and then realised that ship had sailed so the best i could hope for his sidekick robin.
    Hes already been robin and in more ways than one.

Mute Pasceasy
    Favourite Pasceasy
    May 20th 2014, 2:30 PM

He doesn’t giv a flying shite bout being the next Taioseach or losing the election.. The lifetime pension is ready for him..

Mute eamonn boylan
    Favourite eamonn boylan
    May 20th 2014, 1:21 PM

The man has completely lost the plot!!

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    May 21st 2014, 11:12 AM

What an Ars#hole

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    May 20th 2014, 1:08 PM

Hahaha, there’s just no stopping this lad

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    May 20th 2014, 1:32 PM

Can I have some of whatever he’s on? Make the world look totally different!

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    May 20th 2014, 1:37 PM

Well that gave me a laugh .
    Bye bye Labour
    Bye bye Gilmore

Mute PaulM1878
    Favourite PaulM1878
    May 20th 2014, 1:10 PM

He’s deluded.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 20th 2014, 1:12 PM

“Gilmore in bullish mood”?
    Is that a typo for bullshit!

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 20th 2014, 1:12 PM

Eamon; please do the country a favour and take a long walk in a quicksand pit. You’d be of much more use to us there.

Mute the flying picket
    Favourite the flying picket
    May 20th 2014, 1:15 PM

“The madness of king Eamon”.

Mute Mert Lawwill
    Favourite Mert Lawwill
    May 20th 2014, 1:25 PM

The only thing that Gilmore ever looked after was himself.

He’s a two faced liar who sold the ordinary working class people promises that he knew he would never fulfil.

All in the name of lining his pockets.

Mute Mark L'ingarde
    Favourite Mark L'ingarde
    May 20th 2014, 1:20 PM

When I was 10 I wanted to be godzilla. Looks like we will both be disappointed

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    May 20th 2014, 1:13 PM

Gilmore? Taoiseach? What is this ‘Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There’ ?

May 20th 2014, 1:28 PM

I really think this man has lost the plot,….he had a bad couple of months?…..Irish people have had a bad few years!

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 20th 2014, 1:30 PM

Eamon Gilmore has made a lot if empty promises, one more recently was his promise to the family of Matthew Fitzpatrick, to , on their behalf investigate his suspicious death in Germany. He told the family, he would take a ” personal interest ” in their case, but that was , the last they heard from him. This is decent Irish family , who in their hour of need turned to the people who’s job , in my humble opinion is the welfare of it’s citizens , for help, and received nothing. Now breaking promice over water charges is one thing, but playing politics , and giving lip service, to a grieving family, is entirely another. Will someone ask Mr Gilmore, what if anything he has done, if nothing, will he honour his promise, to these citizens of the state, he is honour bound by his high office to protect. The sooner the better before a rumour, that he is afraid to upset our new landlord Ms Angela Merkel, by questioning the work of her police.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 20th 2014, 2:06 PM

What a fool, what a sad deluded fool.
    Do the country a favour Gilmore, f**k off and take your party of failure with you.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    May 20th 2014, 1:34 PM

After this weekend he’ll be lucky if hes still a politician

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    May 20th 2014, 1:54 PM

At this stage a Physiatric Assessment is required as this man has totaly lost his mind

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    May 20th 2014, 2:05 PM

Ah come on, he is surely having a laugh. The most useless, incompetent gombeen ever to enter the Dail. Get rid of him quickly before he destroys what’s left of our country.

Mute Allan O'Shea
    Favourite Allan O'Shea
    May 20th 2014, 2:01 PM

I don’t know why the bailout is referred to as such. It’s a massive loan which had been forced upon our nation. There’s a big difference. It makes the rich richer and the poor poorer. And FG Ff and labour don’t care.

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    May 20th 2014, 1:31 PM

The drugs dont work eamon, or maybe they do.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    May 20th 2014, 1:33 PM

Deludedville is a place after all!

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    May 20th 2014, 1:29 PM

Imagine my surprise when I went to the Circus at the weekend.
    Their head clown was called Eam*n Gilm*re…..

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    May 20th 2014, 2:09 PM

Does Gilmore watch that film
    Happy Gilmore before he goes to bed every night , as all he’s doing is same as the film happy Gilmore making a mochary out of himself . Gilmore for Taoiseach keep dreaming eamon not even your mep last night backed u wen asked does she think ul be gone if labour perform badly on fri , coarse u will & likewise with traitor Costello & rest of labour liars & Fine Gael traitors .

Mute mick dornan
    Favourite mick dornan
    May 20th 2014, 1:53 PM

Not a hope fool

Mute Al Picino
    Favourite Al Picino
    May 20th 2014, 1:55 PM

Fool

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    May 20th 2014, 2:52 PM

we want Eamon we want Eamon……NOT

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    May 20th 2014, 11:11 PM

He’s got as much chance of becoming Taoiseach as I have of becoming Pope. It’s so delusional at this stage that I’m beginning to think he exists in an alternate reality and actually believes the rubbish he spouts.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    May 20th 2014, 4:34 PM

He’s some man to waffle in fairness to him, can’t even answer simple questions. Absolute vermin that’s all I can say.

Mute Frank Doyle
    Favourite Frank Doyle
    May 20th 2014, 5:50 PM

What an awful man.

Mute Seon Kelly
    Favourite Seon Kelly
    May 20th 2014, 2:38 PM

To the people in the journal that are so happy with there amazing exclusive. labour are low so they offer you an interview, you snap it up and promote labour as a result. Will you have all politicians interviewed election week? You make me want to delete my app.

Mute BPA Free Paper Rolls
    Favourite BPA Free Paper Rolls
    May 20th 2014, 2:48 PM

Beginning to think O’Brien has his editors in the journal , renaming independent journal :-)

Mute mecanicalrat
    Favourite mecanicalrat
    May 21st 2014, 12:01 AM

Agreed been getting a lot of labour pop ups on this site recently…

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 20th 2014, 8:08 PM

should explain why shatter is in line for €74000 serverance pay for resiging as justice minister as reported on other media sites today……..

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 20th 2014, 11:54 PM

Ground control to Eamo Gilmore.

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    May 20th 2014, 1:10 PM

An impressive showing. History will judge him well.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 20th 2014, 1:13 PM

Huh??!!

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    May 20th 2014, 1:16 PM

Drunk?

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    May 20th 2014, 1:47 PM

He’ll be thrown down a well

Mute susanna smyth
    Favourite susanna smyth
    May 20th 2014, 2:42 PM

If he’s thinks he’s in with a chance he’s even more out of touch than we thought

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 20th 2014, 11:30 PM

Brendan – Are you a delusional Stickie Labour person too ?
    Presumably Eamonn knows a good bit about printing ?
    He was part of the Organisation in Gardiner Place in Dublin , that had its own $50 bogus Printing Plates and Machine !
    He may well go into something like that in the future , to supplement his Big Fat Ministerial Pension , when he too loses , or does not contest his seat , in the final moments of the existence of The Labour Party ?

Mute Frank Reynolds
    Favourite Frank Reynolds
    May 21st 2014, 8:20 AM

Eamonn has told us,long time ago,that he did NOT know that printer was there. Pat and P De R did not know,nor did Kathleen Lynch or her husband—so there

Mute Viking
    Favourite Viking
    May 21st 2014, 3:02 AM

Didn’t Hitler talk the same sh*te in his bunker as the Russians rolled in?

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    May 21st 2014, 8:25 AM

T-shark! He won’t even be in the Labour Party as its doubtful it will exist after the next general erection – pun intended as all elections are f&@#-ups by the general populace.

Mute walter white
    Favourite walter white
    May 21st 2014, 4:22 AM

Hey Eamon i know a guy who knows a guy that can sort this out for you..

Mute walter white
    Favourite walter white
    May 21st 2014, 4:21 AM

il give you a job Eamon me and soul goodman are looking for a few corrupt people in power

Mute walter white
    Favourite walter white
    May 21st 2014, 4:25 AM

hi Eamon i know a good man called soul goodman he can get you out if you need out..

Mute Johnny
    Favourite Johnny
    May 21st 2014, 10:05 AM

3 times now you’ve attempted pretty much the same joke. Just let it go…