You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

phone via Shutterstock

GSOC chairman’s position is ‘not in question’, and he won’t be retiring

The head of the AGSI says it’s not acceptable that GSOC suspected a crime may have taken place and that it wasn’t reported to gardaí.

Updated at 9.12pm

GARDA STAFF REPRESENTATIVE bodies have been giving their reaction to the developing controversy at the Garda Ombudsman Commission, following reports that the watchdog organisation’s offices were bugged last year.

The AGSI, which represents middle-ranking gardaí, has called for the chairman of GSOC Simon O’Brien to consider his position.

However, a statement this evening said that O’Brien would not be resigning, and his position was not in question, RTÉ reports.

Kieran Fitzgerald of GSOC is to appear on RTÉ television programme Prime Time tonight.

‘Not acceptable’

General Secretary of the association John Redmond spoke briefly to reporters on his way into a meeting on an unrelated matter at the Department of Justice this morning.

Redmond said it was not acceptable that GSOC suspected a crime may have taken place and that it wasn’t reported to gardaí.

Asked whether he was calling for O’Brien to step down or to consider his position, Redmond replied that the GSOC chairman should “consider his position, most definitely”.

The GRA, which represents rank-and-file gardaí, didn’t go quite as far as that — but General Secretary of the body PJ Stone said an immediate, extensive independent inquiry was needed.

“From listening to pundits on all sides of the debate it seems there is a toxic relationship here between the Garda Síochána and GSOC,” Stone said.

“I don’t believe there is any garda involvement in this — but to remove any suspicion there should be an independent inquiry set up immediately to get to the bottom of this.

“My members are left exposed. Their data could have been syphoned off — if this is not the case then we need further clarification immediately.”

Misplaced emphasis

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has also added his voice to the calls for an independent body to be brought in.

Speaking earlier, Martin said the Government’s approach to the matter to date had placed undue emphasis on secondary issues — like whether the Commission should have reported what happened to the Minister for Justice at an earlier date.

Asked about the issue yesterday, several Cabinet members raised the issue of why the matter wasn’t brought to Shatter’s attention earlier.

However, Martin said that the focus should be on the “key issue” of “was the office bugged?”.

“Emphasis seemed be focusing on the issue of whether or not [The Garda Ombudsman] should have referred this to the Minister,” Martin said.

He said the issue of what had happened “needs to be urgently resolved” adding that it was important the full facts came out in order to maintain public confidence in the agency.

Statements

GSOC was called in to discuss the developing controversy with Minister Shatter yesterday.

In a statement released after that meeting, the agency said that “three technical and electronic anomalies” that could not be “conclusively explained” were found following an investigation which concluded in December.

The agency said it regretted not bringing the matter to the Minister sooner, but that it was satisfied its databases were not compromised.

GSOC also stressed:

There was no evidence of Garda misconduct. The Commission decided to discontinue the investigation on the basis that no further action was necessary or reasonably practicable.

In the wake of that statement, Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan released one of his own, taking issue with GSOC’s reference to the gardaí.

He said he would be seeking clarification from the agency on “issues resulting from its statement”.

It is a cause of grave concern that the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission’s statement contains a clear indication that An Garda Síochána was in some way suspected of complicity in this matter despite GSOC’s overall finding that the existence of technical and electronic anomalies could not be conclusively explained.

Garda Ombudsman Chairman Simon O'Brien leaving  a meeting with Justice Minister Alan Shatter at the Department of Justice yesterday [Niall Carson/PA Wire]

Chairman of the Public Service Oversight Committee Pádraig McLochlainn has also suggested that a third organisation be brought in investigate the matter further.

McLochlainn, who is also Sinn Féin justice spokesperson, said further investigation would be needed if GSOC confirmed it had been bugged.

"We’re in unknown territory, because the Garda Obmudsman — which is meant to watch the watcher — apparently has been spied upon,” the deputy told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

“If they do confirm that ‘yes, we were spied upon’ then the report from the consultancy company would need to be looked at.

“We may have an issue here where we need to find some international body to investigate this.”

Ministers were briefed on yesterday's meeting with GSOC by Minister Shatter this morning.

First posted at 12.30pm

- Additional reporting Aoife Barry

Read: GSOC confirms ‘electronic anomalies’ found, and regrets not disclosing it

Related: “I don’t know what ‘anomalies’ are” — Howlin on GSOC findings

Taoiseach: Details of bugging controversy should be made available for ‘public analysis’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute Daragh McCauley
    Favourite Daragh McCauley
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:43 AM

Waow…. Did their previous study “you get wet in the shower!!”…

Mute SirMr
    Favourite SirMr
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:21 PM

@Daragh McCauley: I could have done the study myself for free asking Ai

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Apr 30th 2025, 1:39 PM

@Daragh McCauley: no, the previous study was that children are much more likely to die if hit by a normal car than a toy pedal powered car drive by a two year old.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:34 PM

@SirMr: Very bright. And where did your AI learn it from?

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:42 PM

@Daragh McCauley: Maybe if people weren’t on roads where cars are supposed to be, and made for, then there wouldn’t be any accidents or deaths.
    I have SUV and it’s battery electric, not a gas guzzler, it’s quieter than a petrol car, and it has sensors that detects pedestrians, and cyclists, they pop up on the dash as icons and the car automatically slows down when the warning triggers.

The SUV couldn’t be safer for me, or for other users using the road.

Biggest issue is that people don’t know how to drive and speed needlessly which is shown every national slow down day.

There’s more to it than it’s bigger so it hurts more so lets ban it. That’s a lazy ideology.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:10 PM

@Rafa C: *Sharron has entered the chat*

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:27 PM

@Daniel Skelton: Funny how pointing out basic road safety tech, the fact my SUV’s electric, and that reckless driving is a bigger issue than vehicle shape gets reduced to a Sharron comment. That’s the level we’re at?

Let me break it down for you:
    My SUV’s not belching out fumes, so the “gas guzzler” line doesn’t apply.

It actively detects pedestrians and cyclists – probably more alert than half the drivers out there.

The problem isn’t just vehicle size. It’s speed, inattention, and poor driving – you know, things that are actually proven to cause accidents.

I didn’t say ignore the data. I said don’t cherry-pick it to push lazy bans instead of looking at the bigger picture.

And while we’re at it:
    You want safer streets? Then campaign for stricter driving tests, real enforcement of speed limits, and proper cycling infrastructure – not headline-friendly bans that sound great until someone needs to carry a buggy, shopping and two kids through a storm in a Fiat Panda.

Not everyone driving an SUV is some road-hogging villain. Some of us made conscious decisions to go electric, to use tech that actually prevents accidents, and to drive responsibly.

Blaming the vehicle alone is like banning paper because someone cut their finger. It’s lazy, and it misses the point.

But hey, carry on with the memes if that’s all you’ve got. Some of us are trying to talk solutions while others are stuck in the comments section looking for cheap laughs.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Apr 30th 2025, 6:39 PM

@Rafa C: Thanks for the essay, Sharron. I’ll grade it once you’ve taken the kids to GAA.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Apr 30th 2025, 6:54 PM

@Daniel Skelton: it’s less than 800 characters, hardly an essay. You clearly have no intention of engaging in a conversation on the topic. Have a nice day.

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:32 PM

@Rafa C: It was not an essay, It was a triggered rant

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:47 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: nope. No rant. Cop on.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:18 PM

So, let the government ministers lead by example and drive smaller cars. Great at telling us all what we should be doing.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:14 AM

If you drive an SUV and never have to go off road then you’re a complete tosser.

Mute jason dawson
    Favourite jason dawson
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:58 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: ain’t no tosser like yourself going to tell me what to drive, my money my choice.
    To many people like you trying to dictate others lives. You should just worry about you.

Mute Aonghus O Flaherty
    Favourite Aonghus O Flaherty
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:10 PM

@Fergus O’Donnell: I’m fine with that!

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:14 PM

@Fergus O’Donnell: an SUV is for big families that need more space, not for off-road, that would be a 4×4 you’re talking about! People can drive what car/SUV/4×4 they choose, not what some hardman keyboard warrior wants, Bleeding clown!

Mute Ekumbe Adesiyan
    Favourite Ekumbe Adesiyan
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:35 PM

@John Doe: These authoritarian Karen types just can’t fathom that other people don’t share their views. They feel a constant need to tell people what they “need” or don’t need. “Want” doesn’t even enter in to it for these freaks.

Mute Gavin Power
    Favourite Gavin Power
    Apr 30th 2025, 5:37 PM

@Fergus O’Donnell: If its a vehicle involved in bringing your Amazon delivery,twice the height of an Suv, or a van, higher than an Suv “Tosser Less” or a truck or bus

Mute Patrick Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgibbon
    May 1st 2025, 1:47 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: yeah I often wondered about that …is it the ability to turn around in a soggy field gives the complex

Mute Shane Gallagher
    Favourite Shane Gallagher
    May 1st 2025, 11:45 AM

@jason dawson: Exactly, snobbery and extravagance comes before children’s safety.

Mute james dooley
    Favourite james dooley
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:45 AM

Don’t need to waste money on a study to know that . It’s all in the kinetics of weight and speed .

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:55 AM

@james dooley: No: ‘a key reason for the increased risk from SUVs is that they have a taller front end, which means a person is struck higher on their body’.

Mute Fishlord “Fishlord_Username” Username
    Favourite Fishlord “Fishlord_Username” Username
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:59 AM

@james dooley: studies that prove the obvious are a way of fighting against dolts who refuse to listen to common sense when you try to impose any kind new policy.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:50 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: There’s also an issue regarding field of vision and blind spots, though I guess cameras and sensors are much more common on newer models.
    They tested the driver view of the larger american types, by having kids lie down in front of them, and it wasn’t until the thirteenth kid that the driver could see one. They weren’t lengthwise, but still.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:22 PM

@james dooley: And if they said this without study you be shouting ‘where’s the proof?’

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:39 PM

@ben wu: so 12 little children had to perish for this survey?

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:59 PM

@Buster Lawless: Well, no. It was just a test of how many could be in front of a vehicle, before the driver could actually see one.

Mute james dooley
    Favourite james dooley
    Apr 30th 2025, 1:16 PM

@Ronan Mc: unfortunately I would not as I have delta with many such incidents I’m my 25 plus years working frontline ambulance in Ireland and UK. Some fatal some were not

Mute KO
    Favourite KO
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:45 PM

@james dooley: I’d say it’s unimaginable what you have seen ..thank you

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:15 AM

Have they done a practical test yet?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:58 AM

and people get well paid to come up with that…

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:28 AM

@Dominic Leleu: Research found that the personality type that purchase and drive aggressive styled vehicles are the problem.

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Apr 30th 2025, 1:43 PM

@thomas molloy: I remember a documentary from the noughties when an SUV driver in California boasted that his car would save him from an Earthquake while people driving small cars would get killed.

Imagine being toxic enough to tell the whole world something so heinous…that’s the mentality of many of them though.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:12 AM

Cars 4 low IQ

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:47 AM

@Max Power: Not necessarily, if you need to pull a heavy trailer with s heavy load, you need a car of a certain weight. Cheat sheet glued into doorframes like tyre charts.

Considering most new evs on the road are considerably heavier than their combustion engine counterparts and have SUV or crossover bodies does that mean they should be scrapped?
    I certainly hope so, seeing 70-80% of such cars I encounter are driven by people who appear to be unable to stay within a car lane and are over the middle line on roads.

Mute Anto64w
    Favourite Anto64w
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:38 AM

@Athena: Bollocks, I’ve seen plenty 3 series BMW’s, Insignias, Octavias etc. pulling caravans, horse boxes and trailers, unless you’re carrying heavy machinery you don’t need an SUV which probably 90% of people aren’t.

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:16 PM

@Anto64w: wouldnt ye love you be buying your second hand shight boxes after that abuse , how many clutches have ye changed lol

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:20 PM

@Anto64w: Doesn’t mean these cars are legally allowed to tow these loads. Caravans aren’t what I would call a heavy load…

Mute 2ofus06
    Favourite 2ofus06
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:56 PM

@Max Power: or maybe just the bus for a better option!

Mute Anto64w
    Favourite Anto64w
    Apr 30th 2025, 7:18 PM

@Athena: Cars can legally tow anything as long as the weight doesn’t pass a certain amount, and if you do pass a certain amount you need a different license category anyway so an SUV still wouldn’t help in that case. Caravans not being a heavy load to you is mental they can be anywhere between 800kg and two tonnes. If we’re talking heavier, say a mini excavator you’d still have a hard time pulling that with an SUV anyway.

Mute Anto64w
    Favourite Anto64w
    Apr 30th 2025, 7:26 PM

@DC: Zero clutches changed thankfully, as I don’t buy something if it’s got signs of a bad clutch or excess wear.

Also new cars aren’t immune from their problems, I drove the M50 daily for over a year and a half and the majority of cars I seen on the side of the road were no older than 2017. It was rare enough to see something older broke down.

Mute Rob Lloyd
    Favourite Rob Lloyd
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:21 AM

Shame they had to do a survey to find this out, common sense really for road safety, a bit like ultra bright LED headlights, great for the user, not so much for everyone one else on the road

Mute You Cant Be Serious
    Favourite You Cant Be Serious
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:41 PM

Of course it is Paul Murphy trying to stay relevant

Mute RC247
    Favourite RC247
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:57 AM

The governments and road safety quangos are responsible for the ballooning of car sizes over the years….. they have to be bigger generally across all size classes to conform to new safety standards and batteries for hybrids make the available internal space smaller again. I drive a small SUV but there’s no way you’d fit 5 (2 adult and 3 kids) and luggage in it…. people buy cars based on their needs, they’re likely taxed to the hilt for buying a bigger car so why not direct some of this at road safety…..instead of paying down EU debt…… rant over.

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:02 AM

@RC247: totally agree.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:43 AM

@RC247: and if an EV hit them, they’d be 100% more likely to die!! Serious weight in the old EV, which have an extortionate carbon footprint compared to a diesel car, but the government keep pushing this bull scutter for some reason……….. MONEY!!!

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:29 PM

@den: how is it for money? for years they were subsidised with grants, they don’t collect excise duty from fuel, they give grants for the chargers.

Mute Dennis L
    Favourite Dennis L
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:39 PM

@den: the reason SUVs are dangerous is because of the height of the grill as much as anything else. It is the car style and size not the weight that is doing the most of the damage.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Apr 30th 2025, 5:19 PM

@Dermot Blaine: well can you explain why the government are pushing for everyone to buy electric cars? With the carbon footprint of these cars there is now way they are protecting the environment.
    Same as the carbon footprint for the giant wind turbines, the amount of concrete and steel that goes into just the foundations and base is unbelievable, it’s production of green energy will never cancel its carbon footprint. EV’s are the same, never cancel their carbon footprint. Everyone with common sense knows this, so why are the government pushing EV’s so much. Please answer the question with a relevant answer, not PR government 5h1te!!! Thank you in advance

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:49 PM

The Dublin TD needs to study why people get killed by e-scooters be it users or pedestrians.

Mute Ichabod Crane
    Favourite Ichabod Crane
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:43 AM

I’m sure if you get hit by any type of car you could die.

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:15 AM

@Ichabod Crane: Maybe you should publish the results of this study.

Mute Ichabod Crane
    Favourite Ichabod Crane
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:42 AM

@Seamus Enright: I just did.

Mute Hector turtlehead
    Favourite Hector turtlehead
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:32 AM

Most cars now are SUV shaped, even new EV models. So what are buyers supposed to do ?

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:11 PM

@Hector turtlehead: all vendors still have standard and compact options. It’s still a choice to buy suv or not

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:22 PM

@Hector turtlehead: But vintage, no hassle with turbo chargers or computer units …

Mute John Lee
    Favourite John Lee
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:44 AM

If a Range Rover hits you at 5km an hour you’ll survive. If a mini hits you at 80km you’re dust. Stupid research. SUV’s are the best. I love my bentayga

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:54 AM

@John Lee: But the research is comparing car type, not speed. And getting hit by an SUV is more dangerous.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:13 AM

@John Lee: you don’t have a Bentayga you delusional phuck whit

Mute John Lee
    Favourite John Lee
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:34 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: I do? You can get them in the UK for less than 50k and then fleece the VRT system by making them think my normal residence is outside Ireland by using a relatives address! Just because you don’t know how to get around things don’t assume I can’t. Don’t be jealous Fergus

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:15 AM

@John Lee: Your insurance may be invalid if you are giving a false address.

Mute Jordan Clarke
    Favourite Jordan Clarke
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:33 PM

@Fergus O’Donnell: buy yourself an SUV Fergus instead of being so bitter towards everyone else. Why cry in a Yaris when you can cry in a Range Rover

Mute Jordan Clarke
    Favourite Jordan Clarke
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:34 PM

@John Lee: maybe you should bring Fergus for a spin for his birthday

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:34 PM

Grab a headline …any headline Murphy.

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:06 PM

I lost my father in a car accident, I was there. People will always die, the only way there can be 0 road dead is by eliminating all vehicles from the road, all of them. Back then, children died by horse and carriage accidents. The solution to reduce it to a minimum is not to penalise car owners but to build better roads and watch over your kids, accept personal responsibility too. If any, we should be driving faster, cars are safer, we can’t slow down but to connect bout infrastructure faster, hence the need for fast trains, metro and better road infrastructure to enable faster drive. The rest is on the parents’ responsibility.

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:53 AM

Survey re statistics for telling us a truck hitting a small car has higher fatalities than a suv coming soon.

Mute declan benson
    Favourite declan benson
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:57 AM

This required a study ??!

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:15 PM

@declan benson: it’s intuitive and widely understood but still should be studied. Local/national governments should (not that they do a lot of the time) base their policy on data. If say they decided to increase vrt on suv profile vehicles due to their higher emissions and safety, there is one more data source to back up the decision

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Apr 30th 2025, 9:30 AM

Loike ermagerd, they should toughen up children a bit, play rugby or something loike. Loike rheallly. Rolls eyes.

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:13 PM

Rag reporting again, how many children were killed in Ireland buy an SUV versus every other vehicle on the roads , stop now

Mute Steve McGarrett
    Favourite Steve McGarrett
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:04 AM

Stating the bleeding obvious I would have thought? Presumably, someone got paid handsomely to come up with this nugget…

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:32 AM

It’s common sense and not rocket science and in the middle of the article we find advertising for a SUV..!!.

Mute 2ofus06
    Favourite 2ofus06
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:58 PM

We need a study to see if pencils are better than crayons for staying inside the lines when colouring in. I am all for useful studies that cost a lot of money.

Mute Keith Butler
    Favourite Keith Butler
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:11 PM

Anything Paul Murphy says needs to be taken with a pinch of salt, he doesn’t even know if his child is a girl or a boy ffs.

Mute J Cronin
    Favourite J Cronin
    Apr 30th 2025, 1:55 PM

So this is what people in academia are getting up to……..

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:08 AM

Yip. A white van or truck will kill you quicker than your average car . . .

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Apr 30th 2025, 5:02 PM

This is the type of idea our top politicians come up with over their cornflakes or coco pops.
    It is completely unworkable.
    Do not blame the innocent breakfast cereals. Blame the copius amounts of sugar covering the already sweetened cereals.
    It is something akin to a cocaine hit.
    Incidently , Banning the sugar would probably save more lives than attempting to restrict SUV’s.

Mute SirMr
    Favourite SirMr
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:20 PM

What an utter waste of a study

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:57 PM

The London school of tropical medicine doing studies on suv’s. They not got anything more important to do?

Mute Rico
    Favourite Rico
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:01 PM

This effin weasel whines at everything, why don’t they have standards for purchasing such vehicles. People that are 4 or 5 foot nothing should only be allowed buy compact cars, the amount of midgies that can barely see over the wheel of larger vehicles is astounding, scrunched up faces with a fag stuck in the middle of the mouth, on the phone, slurping some sort of tasty beverage is where the problem lies…. Many have absolutely no spacial awareness and jam on the brakes with every oncoming car, truck etc….. Start with where the problem exists… Murph is anti everything & i personally can’t listen to a yoke that can’t even recognise gender & tries to ram THAT crap at you….. if i ever see him, i’ll park my suv on his tongue

Mute Oweke 68
    Favourite Oweke 68
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:02 PM

Does he even know that electric cars are now bigger and heavier than any SUV. The whole problem is the standard of driving has dropped . Too many people that don’t know the rules are even care.
    People cross streets looking at their phones. Don’t care about traffic stopping. Cross roads are now diagonal walk ways . Which if you do you can’t see the lights. Common sense seems to be gone . And this fool is on about SUVs hitting people. Have a look at tallaght buddy .

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:56 PM

Cars don’t kill .It’s the drivers that can’t control themselves nor the cars.

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:55 AM

Bigger mass kills? No way!

Mute Stephen Wallis
    Favourite Stephen Wallis
    Apr 30th 2025, 10:19 AM

Have a look on YouTube for the video These Stupid Trucks are Literally Killing Us – the reason they even exist is a tax-dodge due to tariffs, they’re more dangerous for the occupants (despite what owners think), and for other road-users, and they’re less efficient than other vehicles. There is no reason for them to exist (outside of some farming/towing applications).

Mute No
    Favourite No
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:13 PM

Funny the government what to force more traffic on us in Celbridge ruining our only amenity for us

SAVE CASTLETOWN

Mute No
    Favourite No
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:23 PM

@H Woo: nobody’s blocking anyone walk around no bother . We want out park left alone . Your just a govern me harder daddy types

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:21 PM

That’s the funniest headline I’ve ever read. The obviousness of it!!

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:42 PM

It’s crazy sc um that’ll kill you in the city quicker..

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Apr 30th 2025, 4:10 PM

Let’s ban cutlery in areas where there’s knife crime.
    These people are effing ridiculous

Mute Denis Murphy
    Favourite Denis Murphy
    Apr 30th 2025, 6:06 PM

If Paul Murphy TD had his way he’d ban all cars in Ireland and we’d go back to riding on donkeys and bicycles.

Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    Apr 30th 2025, 3:33 PM

Simple solution to safeguard children is for car dealers to stop selling SUV’s….

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Apr 30th 2025, 5:55 PM

Paul Murphy……..stopped reading at that point.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Apr 30th 2025, 7:14 PM

An often overlooked fact is that pedestrian behaviour is a major contributing factor in accidents involving pedestrians and all types of vehicles on the roads.

If you drive or operate any type of vehicle on the roads, then you know that many pedestrians act like their safety is everyone else’s responsibility, and that they seem to believe themselves to be immune to the danger that they put themselves in, when it is obvious that in any collision with any type of vehicle on the road and in a collision at any speed, that they are going to come out of it worst.

Mute Nora Cummins
    Favourite Nora Cummins
    May 1st 2025, 7:35 AM

Complete nonsense; electricity kills ;what next he will want us to go back to the dark ages.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Apr 30th 2025, 2:51 PM

Thank you, Captain Obvious.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Apr 30th 2025, 6:49 PM

Avoid, divert and make up… Build some transport infrastructure you lazy shower of visionless swine!!

Mute Laney Sinc
    Favourite Laney Sinc
    Apr 30th 2025, 8:18 PM

So you choose to enter a non SUV zone at your own risk? Sucks for us who live down the country!

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Apr 30th 2025, 6:58 PM

Absolute horsecrap

Mute Dramafree 2023
    Favourite Dramafree 2023
    Apr 30th 2025, 11:52 AM

I would love to know the stats which I am sure are available, how the vehicle type and passenger outcomes are linked also.

Mute SirMr
    Favourite SirMr
    Apr 30th 2025, 12:21 PM

@Dramafree 2023: you can ask Ai