You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here’s What Happened Today: Wednesday

Today everyone’s been talking about the sentencing of Liam Adams, the body found in Kerry and hospital staff top-ups.

Updated 22.54pm

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of today’s news.

The remains of Fr Alec Reid pictured outside Clonard Monastery in West Belfast after his funeral mass today. (Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)

IRISH

WORLD

Silvio Berlusconi is cheered by his supporters during a rally in Rome. (Alessandra Tarantino/PA Images)

#WALES: The lead singer of the band Lostprohets pleaded guilty to baby rape.

#BRAZIL: Two people have died in a stadium accident in Sao Paulo.

#ITALY: Silvio Berlusconi has been expelled from the Italian Parliament.

INNOVATION

• Celebrating Thanksgiving tomorrow? Be thankful that you are not in space as the food isn’t that appetising apparently. [The Atlantic]
  • A detailed image of a supernova explosion caused by the death of a massive star has been taken by the European Southern Observatory’s telescope in Chile. [BBC]

PARTING SHOT

Staff at Brasserie 7 in Dublin are reaching out to the public to help them find a happy couple who left a note for the staff after they got engaged in the restaurant.

Here’s What Happened Yesterday>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:11 PM

Not my bag musically but fair play for shaking a leg and making a big effort on this front.
    No doubt we’ll have the usual eejits along calling it woke zzzzzzzz.
    They’d prefer to be downing pints of petrol as the fire approaches just to stick it to anyone who shows the vaguest amount of concern about wrecking our one and only gaff.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:24 PM

@SerotoninWars: the kinetic dancefloor is probably better for publicity than it is for electricity generation. In 3 hours one of the dance floors is only able to generate enough to power a kettle for 1 hour. I doubt the bikes are much use either, good for raising awareness but not much else. I’d imagine the extra c02 of moving these from venue to venue is probably more than is saved by them.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:26 PM

@SerotoninWars: I’d be kineticing the opposite direction personally, but they’re big into being environmentally aware so let em have at it.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:30 PM

@John K: Way to go picking one aspect and ignoring the rest. Also, read the article. I get why people love to attack and dismiss anyone making an effort. It means they can make lazy excuses for doing nothing themselves. Back to the inertia and status quo which requires zero effort. It’s comforting and easy but ignores the facts. Same as usual.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:33 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Same. Not a fan of their music at all but they’re huge, play to millions and get the press and column inches, so it’s good to see them making an effort. The music touring industry needs as many acts as possible shaking a leg to find ways of making their shows less of a disaster resource-wise and environmentally.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:46 PM

@SerotoninWars: wasn’t meant as an attack. Instead of saying publicity I should have said raising awareness. Their other efforts are laudable. I myself have recently spent a significant amount between air to water heating, mechanical heat recovery and a solar pv system with battery so dont appreciatethe ad hominum attack. My point was that the dance floors and bikes are probably a net negative to the environment and counter productive to their aim.

Mute Clash
    Favourite Clash
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:52 PM

@SerotoninWars:
    People if they want can give the middle finger to anything. If they didn’t the only art we would have would have would be this mediocre pish!

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:20 PM

@John K: Apologies. I was a bit OTT in my reply! You get so used to people replying with the sole aim of undermining any efforts on this front. There’s so much misinformation and commentary with the aim of spurring people to inaction and apathy. It wears you out after a while! But you gotta remember everyone isn’t coming at it from a Trumpian/MAGA/Brit Gutter Press angle! So my bad!

That’s fair enough if you are suspect about that one aspect. I was taking it as one part of a larger effort, and powering one of the smaller stages seemed a decent return, when added to all of the other efforts. Of course more can be done and I’m sure if there’s a will the technology and systems can be streamlined to be even more effective :)

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:24 PM

@Clash: They can indeed! It just feels like good righteous anger, punching up, has been replaced with a lot of silly self-defeating contrarianism! No facts. Just hunches and tantrums based on people’s aversion to change or making even a tiny bit of an effort! I’d much rather see The Clash than Coldplay. Although that might open up another jaded debate about whether they were really punk and we’ve enough cobwebbed arguments already this week with Oasis back!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Aug 29th 2024, 4:43 PM

@SerotoninWars: make a lot of money/worry about it later

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:20 PM

Codswallop.

Mute IMHO
    Favourite IMHO
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:12 PM

So,is everyone going to walk to the concerts?

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:08 PM

@IMHO: You’re thinking of The Proclaimers – I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Aug 29th 2024, 4:09 PM

@IMHO: if you read the full article towards the end they said attendees travel is not included.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:18 PM

What a load of xxxx!!

Mute JB Software
    Favourite JB Software
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:31 PM

@Ooooooooooo: xxxx? I’m guessing either Castlemaine or Hamster.

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:43 PM

Give me strength.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:38 PM

Gimmicks and Tomfoolery.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Aug 29th 2024, 4:09 PM

Apart from the planting of trees, the rest of that is pure spoofery.

If the really wanted to make a direct impact in reducing their carbon footprint, rather than just paying lipservice to it, then they wouldn’t hold the concerts.

But then they wouldn’t get paid, and playing concerts and selling merchandise at those concerts is a major revenue source for bands and artists.

Mute Dogg
    Favourite Dogg
    Aug 29th 2024, 5:11 PM

@Dvsespaña: I think you have nailed it and may I add that if the cut their costs by 50% will their ticket prices also get cut by 50%, I doubt it but they have made enough money to live on for a few lifetimes maybe a lot less concerts is the answer. Maybe multiple hit and run concerts in small venues like Prince did in 2013 is a better solution?

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:39 PM

Well its nice to see some millionaires doing something positive, normally there getting rescued from yachts/powerboats or crashing planes/helicopters. Fair play.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Aug 29th 2024, 9:05 PM

They say that music can move people;
    This is certainly true when it comes to Coldplay.
    I always leave the room when I hear them.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Aug 29th 2024, 3:43 PM

They got the toilets on the upper stands connected to a mini hydro electric power station, so the flow is generating power on the way to the sewer, so drink up and pee

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Aug 29th 2024, 5:00 PM

@P. V. Aglue: pity he broke up with Gwyneth Paltrow, apparently she produces enough BS that the methane harvested from it can power a medium sized town.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Aug 29th 2024, 5:45 PM

And not a word about the poor neighbors and what we have to put up with crowds piling into the area our car parks nicked and people pissing in our gardans all coz of crokers concerts we re locked in our homes 4 the duration of theses concerts croker is now too big for the area and needs to be housed elsewhere preferably where they wanted to build that new super prison laying idol @ taxpayers expence

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 29th 2024, 6:14 PM

@liam ward: Funny .. It’s always the residents over by Croker moaning.. Don’t hear the residents around the Aviva or RDS moaning on like this.. you knew the stadium was there when you bought your house I assume.. or else the estate agent was David Copperfield… ?

Mute Danny Reilly
    Favourite Danny Reilly
    Aug 29th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Brian: A lot of old family homes around Croke Park. Perhaps the poster was born and grew up there.
    Ever think of that before posting what you probably consider a “ witty “ comment ? .

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Aug 29th 2024, 9:06 PM

@Danny Reilly: then he should be used to it?

Mute Danny Reilly
    Favourite Danny Reilly
    Aug 30th 2024, 11:24 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: Speak for yourself but im not sure how long it takes to “ get used to “ watching people pissin in your front garden. Perhaps it’s something you could get used to.

Mute liam hehir
    Favourite liam hehir
    Aug 29th 2024, 7:55 PM

Delusional fools

Mute Dave c
    Favourite Dave c
    Aug 29th 2024, 2:03 PM

Hey hey my my

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 29th 2024, 10:29 PM

@Dave c: Rock and roll is here to sty?

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Aug 29th 2024, 11:58 PM

What a load of nonsense

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Aug 29th 2024, 10:27 PM

They should check out an Irish company called Neg8 while they’re here. If they’re serious.

Mute Paul Hayes
    Favourite Paul Hayes
    Aug 30th 2024, 10:44 AM

Imagine Oasis having a kinetic stage . That kettle for the back stage brew would be leave it decidedly tepid