You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's the £8 million house that won two Dublin brothers a top UK architecture prize

Finally, SOMETHING to spend our spare £8 million on.

Gary Hoban Gary Hoban

DUBLIN BROTHERS GARY and Brian Hoban have won a prestigious award in the UK for this £7.85 million house in Kingston-upon-Thames.

Architect Gary (31) designed Kylemore House, which won the gong for Best New Home outside London at the London Evening Standard best new homes awards.

Kylemore House
1 / 8
  • Kylemore House

Source: Matthew Davis
  • Kylemore House

The property was developed by his brother Brian, who has worked in the London property market for 24 years. It is currently for sale with Savills.

Gary’s career has gone from strength to strength since he was forced to leave Ireland in search of work.

He told TheJournal.ie “When I came over in 2010, there was no work in Ireland. It was extremely poor for architects at home.”

He worked for three years with a London outfit specialising in high-end luxury accommodation. A year ago he left to set up his own practice.

“It’s a steady market. There’s always demand for high-end residential property in London, and property prices are going up at the moment.”

In addition to winning the category for  best home outside London, the pair’s project came second in the overall luxury home compeition.

The highly sought-after prizes are awarded for new homes completed in the UK during 2013.

Hoban says that he is currently working on another five projects, including a luxury penthouse apartment in Chelsea.

While he’s happy to work in London for the moment, Hoban said that he would consider returning to Ireland to work on projects as he’s encouraged by the uptick in the economy at home.

The people have spoken: These are the 14 best new buildings of the year>

The architects behind London’s Olympic Stadium will build you a personal arena in your back garden for $30m>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

11 Comments
    Mute James O'Donoghue
    Favourite James O'Donoghue
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:01 AM

He’s been missing since Monday. Before this sighting the last time he was seen was at 5.55am on Monday morning in Cobh.

The article is actually a little inaccurate. John is 47 years of age and he’s probably a little taller than 6’2″.

This is totally out of character and he has a lot of friends who are extremely worried about him. Anybody who can be of assistance please dont hesititate in contacting the Gardaí.

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:12 AM

Thanks James – the Gardaí did tell us it was Tuesday morning (i.e. this morning) – I’ll make a note to get a colleague double-check the details in the morning and have it amended if so.

[Edit: The data they supplied to us also included his name as 51, so I'll have that checked aswell.]

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:00 AM

There is no “law” on when the Gardaí can and can not open a case on a missing person……circumstances dictate this

Mute Bridget Hynes Murphy
    Favourite Bridget Hynes Murphy
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:33 AM

I’m sure this mans family are so happy that you are up to speed on the law..how pedantic to query the amount of time :-( He is missing and it is obviously out of character. As someone who has suffered a tragic loss I understand the time factor involved…praying for your safe return to your family x

Mute Kathleen O Toole Tighe
    Favourite Kathleen O Toole Tighe
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:20 AM

A lot goons question every thing here lately they just have no cop on

Hope this man is safe and well and home very soon

Mute Mags Cunney
    Favourite Mags Cunney
    Jan 10th 2012, 10:31 PM

Last seen this morning? Surely a person has to be missing for at least a day to be declared officially a “missing person”…. There’s more to this story than they’re saying.

Mute Dermot D
    Favourite Dermot D
    Jan 10th 2012, 10:48 PM

I’m sure the Gardai know what they’re doing. Hopefully this man will be found alive and well soon.

Mute David Browne
    Favourite David Browne
    Jan 10th 2012, 10:54 PM

Maybe there is more to it but at the moment that’s nobody’s business but the family and Gardai

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jan 10th 2012, 10:57 PM

” Surely a person has to be missing for at least a day to be declared officially a “missing person” ”

It’s actually quite a subjective term.. “missing”. The Gardai and families don’t just go issuing appeals for public help willy nilly. Factors other than ‘time when last seen’ are taken into consideration.

If it’s uncharacteristic for the person to keep their whereabouts unknown to their loved ones, for example.

Mute Cian O'Brien
    Favourite Cian O'Brien
    Jan 10th 2012, 11:25 PM

How negative you are… Hope this man turns up safe and well

Mute olive tierney
    Favourite olive tierney
    Jan 10th 2012, 11:32 PM

Mags I also thought you had to be missing for 24 hour before the Garda could put it down as a missing person case, or has the law changed on that?? I do hope and pray this man is found safe and well!!

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Jan 11th 2012, 2:58 AM

please god will return home safe to his family

Mute Mags Cunney
    Favourite Mags Cunney
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:16 AM

@Olive. That’s all I was saying but obviously not very well. I hope he is found safe and well. There are too many going missing lately and I feel for every one of them and their families and friends. @James. Thank you for correcting this. I hope he comes home safely to you all.

Mute Need A Bagpiper
    Favourite Need A Bagpiper
    Jan 11th 2012, 10:10 AM

A person is missing when that can’t be located. Stop watching American chat shows. Twenty four hours !!! Cop
    On lads they could be dead by then.

Mute Need A Bagpiper
    Favourite Need A Bagpiper
    Jan 11th 2012, 10:12 AM

And i hope he will be found safe and well.

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Jan 11th 2012, 5:31 AM

To men sugary people responding here

Mute James O'Donoghue
    Favourite James O'Donoghue
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:16 PM

Its now been confirmed that he was last seen at Kent Station Cork boarding the Cork-Dublin train at 7.30am on Monday 9th January.

Having checked cameras it’s clear that he didn’t go all the way to Dublin and that he got off the train at either LIMERICK JUNCTION or PORTLAOISE.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Jan 11th 2012, 10:57 PM

Please God John Gilmore is safe and well so John if you are Please get in touch and let someone you are safe

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Jan 14th 2012, 12:10 AM

Hi Gavin Reilly just a note to ask about this gentleman John Gilmore have you any updates on him please