You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Christian Lutz

How does the EU work?

And why should I care?

MORE AND MORE, decisions made in Europe impact the day-to-day lives of Irish people, but not many know how the system works.

The union represents 500 million people and employs around 37,000 people across the continent, mostly in Brussels, home of the European Commission and Parliament, though the Parliament splits sitting time with Strasbourg.

Many laws and directives passed in Europe affect Irish people. From farmers to consumers, EU rules on imports, trade and law are prevalent across Ireland.

However, the public perception of Europe is generally tinged with some cynicism, despite Irish adults feeling that the country has done well out of membership.

So, what is the EU?

The EU is a union of 28 sovereign member states.

It encompasses a number of agencies and bodies, but decisions are made through four separate bodies.

Its basic principles are around a single European market, with freedom of movement for goods, services, workers and capital.

The free movement of workers has become a contentious issue in the UK in particular, where the Conservative party is pushing for a renegotiation of their obligations to take in other members.

PastedImage-91999

The European Council is seen as the most powerful arm of the EU.

It is where the policy direction of the EU is decided by the heads of state and government of each EU member. The council meets at summits and has its own permanent president, who is this man, Poland’s Donald Tusk:

Poland Prime Minister Alik Keplicz Alik Keplicz

The Council of Ministers is where ministers with the same portfolios meet to discuss issues both in the EU and abroad.

So, when you hear that Charlie Flanagan is meeting EU foreign affairs ministers in Brussels, he’s here.

France EU Christian Lutz Christian Lutz

They share legislative and budgetary power with the European Parliament, employ around 3,500 and has a rotating presidency that changes every six months.

Ireland held the presidency at the start of 2013, Italy holds it now and Latvia will take over in January.

The European Parliament is Europe’s directly-elected body. 11 Irish representatives, elected last May sit with 740 other MEPs from across European states.

The parliament employs 6,000 people and splits sitting time between Brussels and Strasbourg in France.

Its MEPs are aligned in groups, with the European Peoples’ Party, the Social and Democrats (S&D) and Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) in control.

The S&D’s Martin Schulz, a German politician, is the President of the Parliament. Another German, Klaus Welle, is the top civil servant or Secretary General.

European Commission Headquarters Stock Press Association Images Press Association Images

The European Commission is responsible for proposing and enforcing EU laws, monitoring the treaties and overseeing the day-to-day running of the EU.

It is split into 28 Directorates General (DGs), each of which has a Commissioner. Each member state is entitled to nominate a commissioner. Ireland’s Phil Hogan is the Agriculture Commissioner.

Other DGs cover employment, energy, trade and justice among other things.

The Commission is housed in the Berlaymont building in Brussels and former Luxembourg president Jean-Claude Juncker is its president.

Ireland’s Catherine Day is the Commission’s secretary general.

So how do they make laws?

In a complex battle of wills between the various arms, essentially.

Because the proposals come from the Commission and are filtered through the Council before they hit the Parliament, the process can be slow, as the legislation is debated and rewritten.

This is the official path to legislation:

PastedImage-76679

What does the EU do?

Effectively, Europe’s biggest job is governing the single market. This covers customs, monetary policy, conservation of fish, a common commercial policy and setting a budget each year.

For context, the EU budget this year is about €142 billion.

They also have a social mandate, aiming to “correct the most glaring inequalities in European society”. It adheres to its own Charter of Basic Human Rights and uses financial aid and legislation to do this.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 16th 2015, 9:57 PM

In fairness to Cameron at least he answers the questions unlike our so called leader who just deflects and blames everybody else.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:58 PM

I wouldn’t be a fan of Cameron’s, but he makes Corbyn look like he’s a phone-in tv show host addressing a leader.

Hopefully Corbyn can do better in future.

Mute Nick
    Favourite Nick
    Sep 17th 2015, 7:38 AM

And breathes through his nose!

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 16th 2015, 9:57 PM

A politician with some principles and unity with the people he represents,our coalition should hang their heads.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:34 PM

Except if you explore his past.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:50 PM

Explain, OTV

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:02 PM

I won’t – I just hope Corbyn isn’t just another Farage – gifted at appealing to a demographic but ultimately a fake.

I genuinely would like to see a strong, intelligent left of centre opposition in the UK. It would likely inspire Ireland to aspire to a similar standard, as we generally always do.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:55 PM

OTV, how is Farage a fake? Are you referring to the man in person, or the unfortunate amount of dross that he attracts?

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 17th 2015, 12:42 AM

I think we can categorically conclude that he is not like Farage

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:13 AM

So OTV, you are basically throwing mud hoping something will stick and are afraid to out and out state anything concrete?

Mute Jack f
    Favourite Jack f
    Sep 16th 2015, 9:55 PM

Class act,break from the usual $hite

Mute Magnus
    Favourite Magnus
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:29 PM

He made a big mistake by not signing the anthem imo. It was unnecessarily divisive and not a good omen as it showed he doesn’t know how to pick his battles. It’s fine to be a republican, anti war, anti EU, but it’s not fine to be anti monarchy on anything WW2 related as the royal family, including the current Queen (who’ll could easily die soon, and he’ll be easy pickings if so) were central, comforting figures throughout that period.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:42 PM

Signing.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:58 PM

The words of the British national anthem speak of victory and glory, perhaps it is time to put the past into context and concentrate on the here and now for a change.

Mute Sinister Dissident
    Favourite Sinister Dissident
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:05 PM

Gerry Adams regularly tweets asking people for their Leaders Questions to be put to Enda.

RTE were letting on today its a new concept.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:37 PM

Ironic, from the leader who cannot be questioned.

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:40 PM

So does Enda.

One day, a man, with TWO pints in ONE hand, asked him how he’s going to pay for water?

Mute Richard Winston
    Favourite Richard Winston
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:11 PM

Seeing as Corbyn has an interest in mental health eg skipped appearance on Andrew Marr show to attend a mental health fundraiser and also created a new dedicated Minister for Mental Heatlh in his shadow cabinet, hoping he can address some of the serious issues in that field, raised by Danish Dr Peter Gøtzsche (co-founder of the respected Cochrane Collaboration).

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-3234334/Prescription-pills-Britain-s-biggest-killer-effects-drugs-taken-insomnia-anxiety-kill-thousands-doctors-hand-like-Smarties.html

Sep 16th 2015, 10:00 PM

Ah iphone Joan what’s your position on this?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:05 PM

well kerry, this is all the fault of those people. those people that want to do do something great, but they have nothing, so we are going to give them nothing and its great, because those people appreciate getting nothing. and in the meantime we are going to enhance the middle class by taking more off them, because thats how they thrive and they want to give it to us. so yes we are a winning party

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:10 PM

I’m afraid the sarcasm went over some peoples heads jenni.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:11 PM

joans answer…you can see corbyns below

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:17 PM

‘Can i just say, i think its interesting that……….’

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:18 PM

I just read that in my head in joans voice

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

thats to be expected al..it comes with the territory. I feel for them

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2015, 8:38 AM

I read it Joan’s voice first, and then Cameron’s. Practically indistinguishable!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2015, 8:38 AM

*in Joan’s *

Mute Hung So Gud
    Favourite Hung So Gud
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:36 PM

Whether you agree with his politics or not I think he seems to be a politician committed to his beliefs rather than in it for the paycheque, which is refreshing. However if and when the hard decisions come we will see if its all talk or not.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Sep 17th 2015, 7:47 AM

Hung so
    Obviously didn’t se the report on his accepting pay rise to 125k and a new luxury car. He’s got his nose in the trough like most of politicians nowadays

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:15 PM

Watched it earlier. Absolute unbridalled brilliance in motion. We should clone him.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:23 PM

What do you love most about him? Is it just the beard or it there more to it?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:33 PM

Jammin has a penchant for men in beards apparently

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:43 PM

Silver-tongued men with beards, to be fair.

Mute Roland D Hay
    Favourite Roland D Hay
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:03 PM

Joe Duffy will be worried

Mute p
    Favourite p
    Sep 16th 2015, 9:55 PM

David Cameron will be loving this. Instead of having a proper debate all he has to do now is answer a couple of easy questions and wait for labour to start tearing itself apart.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 9:59 PM

Read the half article, or go to the media websites just to see how happy Cameron was about his approach. Unsettlet conservative party tonight..but they’re only 6 months in..they can learn a lot about filthy politics if they study our own gov carry on over the last 4 years.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:36 PM

P I think the point is, Cameron is usually smug and scornful at question time, but because these questions came from the public he couldn’t be seen to be his usual sarcastic, dismissive self. Great tactic by Corbyn

Mute paul compton
    Favourite paul compton
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:04 PM

He is an impressive speaker and performer but he’s badly in need of a suit that fits him.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:45 PM

His history is also a poor fit with his rhetoric; he can always buy a new suit.

Mute Paul Shannon
    Favourite Paul Shannon
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:02 PM

Corbyn won’t even see a general election as leader, he will be ousted before it – if labour had any sense they would of Elected David Milliband instead of his brother and they would be in power now.

Corbyn had hardly no women on his shadow cabinet and the one he has for rural affairs is an mp from North London who is a vegan. Really in touch with the country folk Jeremy.

Boris Johnson must be laughing know he will be PM after the next election!

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:08 PM

George Osborne I think.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

corbyn will definitely see the next election..he’s not putting up with any crap. I’d say he would even have words with our own so called makey uppy labour party. At the very least he’d tell the labour party to rebrand!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:13 PM

Is this the same Corbyn that invited Raed Salah to the parliament, they guy who has now been banned from the UK for his anti semitism, for saying that homosexuality is a great crime and for blaming Jews for 9/11?

The same Corbyn that contributed funds to Paul Eisen, holocaust denier?

The same Corbyn that calls himself a “good friend” of Ibrahim Hewitt, who has likened homosexuality to paedophilia?

The same Corbyn who spoke along side Dyab Abou Jahjah in the UK parliament, Abou, who called the 9/11 attacks “sweet revenge”, and called gays “aids spreading fa***ts? Abou is also banned from the UK.

The same Corbyn who is anti monarchy but now serves on the privy council?

Britain has a great future leader head of them, if that’s the case.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

Is any of that actually true?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:20 PM

All true and verifiable.

Mute Aine Nibhern
    Favourite Aine Nibhern
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:27 PM

“During a call-in with listeners on BBC Radio 4′s World At One programme, he said: “The idea that I’m some kind of racist or anti-Semitic person is beyond appalling, disgusting and deeply offensive”

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/jeremy-corbyn-disgusted-claims-anti-6281250

Tony Blair could face trial over ‘illegal’ Iraq war, says Jeremy Corbyn ~
    http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/aug/05/tony-blair-could-face-trial-illegal-iraq-war-jeremy-corbyn

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:28 PM

He may have said that Aine, but his actions show very differently.

Mute Aine Nibhern
    Favourite Aine Nibhern
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:38 PM

He mentions Ibraham Hewitt when he talks about Interpal (on a youtube video). He is hardly responsible for all his views and beliefs eg the one you mentioned above.

Interpal ~
    From female-led exchange visits in the West Bank, to supporting the Russell Tribunal on human rights abuses against Palestinians, Interpal continues its advocacy projects to raise awareness of the worsening situation for Palestinians. Interpal’s aim is to continue to build a durable foundation for Palestinian human rights.

http://www.interpal.org/what-we-do/advocacy-awareness/

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:41 PM

I never said he was responsible for the views of others, but he did describe Hewitt as a “good friend” – you judge a man by the company he keeps. Corbyn doesn’t bode well for a Britain that is changing daily.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

Looking at the first article I think the whole anti Jew thing doesn’t really stand up. Anyone of us that believe Israel are wrong in their treatment of Palestinians could be called anti Semitic if it suited a particular agenda.
    The other one is harder to explain away. He doesn’t sound like the kinda lad you’d forget too easily especially after he was banned from the UK. Then again so many meetings, so many lunches who knows.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

Everybody, meet Jason, a tabloids wet dream.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 17th 2015, 6:54 AM

Hi Jason I think you will fit in well here

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:08 PM

The wild Left, who think they’ve just discovered the answer to all the world’s problems, seem to be catching up to reality.

Sort of like kids who want sweets and Xbox ll the time, when they come to realise sweets might not be good for you, parents have to pay for them, their ill sister needs the money or dad needs a bus pass to get to work and you can’t always have what you want.

Protest parties are generally built on ignorance and caricaturing their opponents as evil megalomaniacs.

Once put in a position of responsibility the protest party inevitably realises the simplicity they thought they were arguing about doesn’t exist and they need to think a little harder.

That said, no doubt AAA, SF/Eirigi and PBP are well qualified and experienced and have a grasp on reality.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

And here’s the right-wing of the most powerful country in the world! I’ll take my chances on the Left thanks, enjoy the company of dumb hicks https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tm9m7zZPEl8

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:34 PM

Hnging my flag on Bernie Sanders, he’s by far the best option.

Mute Adrian Versey
    Favourite Adrian Versey
    Sep 17th 2015, 12:38 AM

He will be an interesting politician to watch. He will make or break the Labour Party. I fear it may be the latter.
    It harks back to an interesting time in British politics when you had a clearly defined division between left and right.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice

Surprised For Connolly isn’t on here, again, gushing and wooing over Corbyn.

Perhaps he is overcome in shivering raptures of adoration and can’t bring himself to type for the trembling.

How easily he is led.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:15 PM

He’ll be along soon, no doubt.

Sep 16th 2015, 10:24 PM

Amazed you had time to remove yourself from the alter to Enda OTV and look elsewhere. Does this mean Enda’s mantra is running thin?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:25 PM

I’m apolitical. I just focus on what is best for Ireland.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

You’re surprised that people have stuff to do in the evenings like put their kids to bed? Whoa, adult life is going to be a real eye opener for you.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:31 PM

Its always amazing that you have to wait for one commentor to say his piece before you can make your argument. why don’t you just say what you want to say? #fetishforforconnolly

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:31 PM
    Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:34 PM

hope i didnt step on your toes there mate..

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 10:35 PM

that was for fc…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:38 PM

@ Jenni: Yer grand. Real socialists don’t have toes.

@ Richard: Tried it myself once with a dead arm. The other mourners were furious!

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Sep 17th 2015, 12:03 AM

Ha!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2015, 8:41 AM

Well it certainly isn’t Fine Gael/Labour or Fianna Fáil, with their grubby politics of the last fifty years or so.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 17th 2015, 8:42 AM

That was for OneTrueVoice.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:00 PM

They are all committed to their beliefs – which are easy to uphold in opposition, Different kettle of fish if elected.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 16th 2015, 11:16 PM

Yous lot are a gas bunch, gotta love the right, right lot.
    The left vote is growing more and more, not hugely, but steadily, and why? Simple really, we want everyone to be treated the same.
    Now the conservatives about us want us all to be treated the same.. But differently…That’s the same as our government. The rich should be given more, and the poorest should be giving more.
    Well enough is enough.
    I’m worn out, exhausted and tired of trying to make everyday profitable. And when we get a gov rep like Corbyn, we’ll be doing ok.

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:00 AM

Corbyns direct approach is undeniably refreshing in an era of spin but the reality is that the British electorate rejected a milder version of his politics in May. If Cameron is such an evil fascist stooge, why did people back him? Did the entire British electorate attend Eton? Or are a majority of British people really stupid? Or did they perhaps see him and his party as a safe pair of hands? No, it couldn’t possibly be that. There must be a right wing conspiracy involved.