We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Gaza is nominated in the documentary category. IFTA
Irish Film

Here is the full list of nominees for this year's (virtual) IFTAs

The online ceremony will be held in September.

THE NOMINATIONS HAVE been announced for the 2020 IFTA Academy Awards which will be held virtually in September.

The IFTAs are Ireland’s most prestigious TV and film awards ceremony and organisers have said there will be no physical ceremony until April 2021 at the earliest.

Instead, a “bespoke virtual 2020 awards ceremony” is being organised for September with full details to be announced at a later date.

In the upcoming IFTAs, the Best Film category has been split into two, Film 2019 and Film 2020, while some other categories expanded from four to six nominees to include nominees over the past two years.

Recent Element Pictures hit Normal People did not make the deadline for this year’s awards and will instead feature next year.

In terms of numbers, including the technical categories, Irish language Great Famine drama Arracht received 11 nominations followed by housing crisis drama Rosie with 9.

Here are the full nominees:

Best Film 2019

Black ’47
Float Like a Butterfly
The Dig
The Hole in the Ground

Best Film 2020

A Bump Along the Way
Calm with Horses
Extra Ordinary
Ordinary Love

Best Director – Film

Paddy Breathnach – Rosie
Nora Twomey – The Breadwinner
Lance Daly – Black ’47
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Mike Ahern & Enda Loughman – Extra Ordinary
Lee Cronin – The Hole in the Ground
Lisa Barros D’Sa & Glenn Leyburn – Ordinary Love

Best Script Film

Roddy Doyle – Rosie
Owen McCafferty – Ordinary Love
Joe Murtagh – Calm with Horses
Mark O’Halloran – Rialto
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Carmel Winters – Float Like a Butterfly

Actress in a Lead Role Film

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Aisling Franciosi – The Nightingale
Bronagh Gallagher – A Bump Along The Way
Sarah Greene – Rosie
Seána Kerslake – The Hole In The Ground
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Actor in a Lead Role Film

Dara Devaney – Finky
Moe Dunford – The Dig
Liam Neeson – Ordinary Love
Dónall Ó Héalaí – Arracht
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Rialto
Barry Ward – Extra Ordinary

Actress in a Supporting Role Film

Niamh Algar – Calm With Horses
Catriona Balfe – Le Mans ’66
Seána Kerslake – Dublin Oldschool
Charlie Murphy – Dark Lies The Island
Emily Taaffe – The Dig
Catherine Walker – We Ourselves

Actor in a Supporting Role Film

Lorcan Cranitch – The Dig
Dara Devaney – Arracht
Barry Keoghan – Calm With Horses
Ian Lloyd-Anderson – Dublin Oldschool
Stephen Rea – Black ’47
David Wilmot – Ordinary Love

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award

The Image you Missed
The Lonely Battle of Thomas Reid
When All is Ruin Once Again

Best Drama

Death and Nightingales
Dublin Murders

Best Director – Drama

Anthony Byrne – Peaky Blinders
John Hayes – Dublin Murders
Lisa Mulcahy – Blood
Hannah Quinn – Blood
Aisling Walsh – Elizabeth is Missing
Dearbhla Walsh – The Handmaid’s Tale

Best Script Drama

Ronan Bennett – Top Boy
Daragh Carville – The Bay
Mark O’Connor – Darklands
Mark O’Rowe – Temple

Actress in a Lead Role Drama

Niamh Algar – The Virtues
Caitriona Balfe – Outlander
Jessie Buckley – The Woman in White
Sarah Greene – Dublin Murders
Ruth Negga – Preacher
Ann Skelly – Death and Nightingales

Actor in a Lead Role Drama

Richard Dormer – Fortitude
Adrian Dunbar – Line Of Duty
Brendan Gleeson – Mr Mercedes
Cillian Murphy – Peaky Blinders
Chris O’Dowd – Get Shorty
Andrew Scott – Black Mirror – Smithereens

Actress in a Supporting Role Drama

Niamh Algar – Pure
Helen Behan – The Virtues
Ruth Bradley – Guilt
Jessie Buckley – Chernobyl
Ingrid Craigie – Blood
Fiona Shaw – Killing Eve

Actor in a Supporting Role Drama

Liam Cunningham – Game of Thrones
Barry Keoghan – Chernobyl
Owen McDonnell – Killing Eve
Cillian O’Gairbhi – Blood
Mark O’Halloran – The Virtues
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Dublin Murders


Ciúnas (Silence)
El Hor
Here’s Looking at you Kid!
Sister This
The Grass Ceiling
The Vasectomy Doctor
Welcome To A Bright White Limbo


Outside the Box
Streets of Fury
The Bird & the Whale
The Dream Report
The Overcoat

Best Cinematography

Tom Comerford – The Hole in the Ground
Andrew McConnel – Gaza
Kate McCullough – Arracht
Piers McGrail – Never Grow Old
Robbie Ryan – Marriage Story
Cathal Watters – Rosie

Best Costume Design

Joan Bergin – The Catcher was a Spy
Clodagh Deegan – Arracht
Triona Lillis – Float Like A Butterfly
Eimear Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh – The Rhythm Section
Susan O’Connor Cave – Vikings
Louise Stanton – Rosie

Best Editing

Colin Campbell – The Hole in The Ground
Dermot Diskin – Never Grow Old
Michael Harte – Three Identical Strangers
Tony Kearns – Black Mirror: Bandersnatch
Mick Mahon – Gaza
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Rosie

Best Original Music

KÍLA – Arracht
Stephen McKeon – The Hole in the Ground
Stephen Rennicks – The Little Stranger
Brian Byrne – Black ’47
Ray Harman – Blood
Stephen Rennicks – Rosie

Best Production Design

Tom Conroy – The Rhythm Section
Damien Creagh – Calm with Horses
Conor Dennison – The Hole in the Ground
John Leslie – Never Grow Old
Padraig O’Neil – Arracht
Anna Rackard – The Trial of Christine Keeler

Best Sound

Brendan Rehill & Alan Scully – Arracht
Fionáin Higgins & Robert Flanagan – Black ’47
Ronan Hill, Danny Crowley & Simon Kerr – Game of Thrones
Aza Hand, Karen O’Mahony and Patrick Drummond – Never Grow Old
Hugh Fox & Niall Brady – Rosie
Steve Fanagan Niall Brady – The Little Stranger

Best Makeup & Hair-

Niamh O’Loan – Arracht
Linda Gannon & Liz Byrne – Black ’47
Louise Myler – Finky
Polly McKay – Ordinary Love
Dee Corcoran & Tom McInerney – Vikings
Eileen Buggy & Jennifer Hegarty – Vita & Virginia

Best VFX

Jim O’Hagan and Ronan Gantly – Game of Thrones
Ed Bruce – The Favourite
Ed Bruce and Jim O’Hagan – The Irishman
Ed Bruce and Nicholas Murphy – We Have Always Lived in the Castle

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel