You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Former Sea Sessions festival director Ray O'Donoghue Fennell Photography

Dublin's new Night Mayor wants to turn around the 'negative' narrative

From transport to safety, there are limits to what Nighttime Economy Adviser Ray O’Donoghue can change.

DUBLIN’S NEW ‘NIGHT Mayor’ says he’s wants to change the negative narrative surrounding the capital, as he tries to remedy long-held gripes of residents and visitors.

Ray O’Donoghue was this year appointed the first Nighttime Economy Adviser by Dublin City Council and, six months into the job and an election around the corner, he’s still finding is feet.

The colloquial ‘night mayor’ label caught on in the likes of New York, Berlin and London, where the role has been a mainstay on city councils for years.

Key issues for Dubliners who want a thriving nightlife include later opening hours, improved transport links and safer nights out.

These are all issues O’Donoghue says he’s well-aware of. Originally from Dublin, he spent the 90s as a DJ and musician, playing iconic clubs like Temple Bar’s The Kitchen.

Much of his career since has involved event-planning in the west of Ireland. He says his experience as festival director of Bundoran’s Sea Sessions has him well-placed to take on the ambitious role in the capital.

Everything from 6pm to 6am

O’Donoghue told The Journal about his strategy to revitalise nightlife, which includes making nights out more affordable through free and low-cost events. These would replicate what is seen on Culture Night each year, with art installations, film screenings, and museums and galleries open late. 

Taoiseach Simon Harris said recently that legislation to allow pubs and nightclubs to extend their opening hours would be brought to government this month. While this hasn’t happened, it’s understood that it could still be discussed in one of the last Cabinet meetings before the election is called.

Harris also set up a taskforce aimed at outlining how to improve life in Dublin. The report, published this week, said the number of 24-hour buses needed to be doubled.

It’s not a new revelation, and the skill shortage and recruitment crisis in the transport sector has so far made radical expansion difficult. 

“I can’t go, ‘yeah we’ll put on more buses’, and then with the click of the fingers that happens,” said O’Donoghue.

“My strategy is cultural activity, transport and safety. The only one that I really have actual power to change is the cultural activity.”

On safety, he says the Council is in the beginning stages of developing public transport waiting hubs that are well-lit and monitored by CCTV, so women in particular can get home safely.

On Culture Night this year, the Council piloted a welfare zone on Camden Street with medics, welfare officers and security personnel. It was a place for people to go if they experienced adverse effects to alcohol or drugs, or if they just needed someone to talk to.

Dubliners can expect to see welfare zones more regularly, particularly on weekends, while O’Donoghue is Night Mayor.

Asked how much the zone costs to run for a night, he said: “It will cost less to put in on a semi-permanent basis than it does to put it on in one night.”

What the Council can’t control is the number of gardaí on the streets and wait times at emergency departments.

Nevertheless, he’s hopeful that he can contribute to the rebranding of Dublin.

“I’m excited about the prospect of Dublin city being a city that we’re proud of again, and helping change our narrative,” he said.

“That will be slow change, but I do see shoots of hope.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Oct 26th 2024, 9:52 AM

Jesus’s wept. It’s like that film in the 80s where Richard Pryor had to spend a million a day every day or lose the lot..

Only, it’s our taxes..

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:19 AM

@Sickof thisshit: Do you know how much he is being paid? Have you factored in the additional taxes that may be collected due to increased trade in the city centre? Do you constantly moan about everything, regardless? No, no and yes, respectively

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:08 PM

@Kevin Kerr: It’s so daft. People wouldn’t blink an eye at the idea of ministers or other public servants overseeing or helping out with any other industry. Tech, farming, health etc. It’s so strange that some people still have such an aversion, suspicion and puddle deep understanding of culture. You can be guaranteed they have at least some of it in their lives. But of course it all appears like magic and doesn’t need a bit of guidance and a helping hand like literally every single human endeavour! The fact it’s profitable too like you mentioned, makes it even more ridiculous. Taxes, tourism and a feel-good factor in our cities are all there for the taking too. Win win win for the culture vultures and the people who can’t see beyond euros and cents!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:21 PM

@SerotoninWars: Spot on. My post focussed on the money side as it was a reply to a waste of money post – but the other benefits that you mention are much more important and are worth spending money on, even if a positive financial return isn’t possible

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:30 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Oh I know you get the bigger picture from other posts I’ve read! And yes, finance is important too as it’s fundamental to the world we live in and system we live under. But I absolutely agree that there are things to do with human connection and all the good stuff that makes life worth living that are too important to be reduced to a spreadsheet total. It’s sad that late stage capitalism has blunted so many to the things that make our time here worth it. Costs and benefits aren’t always financial. Ironically the social benefits can end up working out financially too with better mental health, less crime and more social cohesion. And of course the pure joy of expression, learning, human contact, and a bit of respite even if these are viewed with huge suspicion by some!

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Oct 26th 2024, 9:05 PM

@William Slevin: I never said this should be the sole outlet in people’s lives. I do think it’s more important than you make it out to be, though. Do you know how many people met their lifelong friends and found their tribe via music, bars, gigs, theatre, performances and clubs? Not everyone finds their lifelong friends in their teens. School can be a total chore for people who are a bit different in whatever way that manifests itself. Finding people you have things in common with isn’t always straightforward and while family is important, not everyone has this, and besides, we’re all individuals. There are many things I have a deep passion for that mean nothing to most of my family. That’s perfectly healthy. I would hope they have the same too. It’s important to have other contact and social outlets outside the family. When it comes to friends you don’t seem to acknowledge that nightlife and culture might be a big part of why they’re friends. It’s a big part of what they have in common and a focal point and outlet for all of it.

There’s also the communal experience of live performance. Many things might dull a bit with age, but there’s still nothing quite like being at a band or act you love playing really loud to a big audience. Life would be so empty without all of this stuff for many people.

Mute Robert Byrne
    Favourite Robert Byrne
    Oct 26th 2024, 9:50 AM

If he is given the resources to make a difference, this would be a good thing. Especially in the area of taking the fear out of going out and being safe for women, that is to be lauded. Maybe it could expand into more proactive programs in helping the homeless on the streets at night, too? Hopefully, it is successful, and I wish the initiative all the best.We will have to wait and see, though.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:15 AM

@Robert Byrne: ah here, stop being so positive, it’s not allowed round these here parts.

Mute Jockey Jim
    Favourite Jockey Jim
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:49 AM

@Dermot Blaine: are you here because I can cause you humiliation again?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:54 AM

@Jockey Jim: what?

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:16 PM

@Robert Byrne: Great post and a really good point about it expanding and crossing over into caring for the homeless too. Not all, but many night owls who are into all the various subcultures can be very caring people with a social conscience. As Dermot said it’s nice to see some positivity. It’s so much easier to see the worst in everything. We can all do that. Getting up and doing something positive requires far more effort.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:10 AM

Night time in Dublin .. the only issue is rats from the flats on their scooters causing havoc with crime. Move methadone centres away from tourist areas and get rid of the flats and put in apartments for law abiding citizens. Who wants to go on a night out around O Connell street ? Nobody. Completely run down.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:12 PM

@Ciaran: O’Connell St was packed last night anyway so some people obviously want to go down it, including me, in order to get home!

Mute Peter James Carroll
    Favourite Peter James Carroll
    Oct 26th 2024, 3:26 PM

@Ciaran: that’s a bit one sided ,, just because people live in Social housing they can’t all be “ Rsts From Flats”,,,, more damage was done to people & the whole country by people wearing suits & sitting in boardrooms,,,don’t you understand the divide & conquer mentality ,,,, or do gentlemen take off their shoes before they kick you in the no££#x ???

Mute Peter James Carroll
    Favourite Peter James Carroll
    Oct 26th 2024, 3:26 PM

@Ciaran: that’s a bit one sided ,, just because people live in Social housing they can’t all be “ Rats From Flats”,,,, more damage was done to people & the whole country by people wearing suits & sitting in boardrooms,,,don’t you understand the divide & conquer mentality ,,,, or do gentlemen take off their shoes before they kick you in the no££#x ???

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Oct 26th 2024, 11:09 AM

Additional random patrols by Gardaí – that’s what is needed. Every European capital I’ve been to has armed policing or at the very least, a much stronger visible police presence. Ireland needs to cop on and accept that the soft approach does not work in the modern world and a stronger presence is no biggie – a bit like high-rise housing being needed to make city and urban areas viable.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Oct 26th 2024, 1:37 PM

@Helen Farrell: that will be down to nothing as long as judge aren’t tough…

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Oct 26th 2024, 2:35 PM

@Dominic Leleu: Case in point just today hearing about detention centres being full.

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:06 PM

@Dominic Leleu: much stronger policing would pre-empt things getting to court.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Oct 26th 2024, 9:44 AM

Changing the mindset of the small number of people who enjoy being bousies and even enjoy being given attention needs psychological treatment/warfare and actual consequences.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:29 AM

Nightclubs open till 6am prices will go up and even every 1hr afterwards people will miss work because of drinking later and trouble on our streets all for more money

Mute Mike Dunne
    Favourite Mike Dunne
    Oct 26th 2024, 11:54 AM

Dublin has become an absolute *hithole. It was such a lovely city back in the seventies and eighties.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:35 PM

@Mike Dunne: no it wasn’t. even in the 90s parts of the quays and around parnell st looked like the luftwaffe were just in town.
    the regeneration of much of the city centre has been huge.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 26th 2024, 4:36 PM

@Mike Dunne: in the 70s or maybe early 80s an American girlfriend of one of my mates remarked how it was such a shame about all the bombed out buildings in Dublin. She thought it was a result of the ‘troubles’!

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Oct 26th 2024, 2:55 PM

No Garda presence in any city, town or village in Ireland anymore. Crime gangs running riot in communities, when you travel you see how badly policied we are, was in a major city recently & felt very safe, police on the beat everywhere & the minute something happened they swamped the place. Judicial system in other States works & Criminals fear it, here there is no fear of it, it suits Criminality here with free legal aid & suspended sentences. Ireland is fast heading towards a complete breakdown of law & order, yet the emphasis is on Hate Speech / removal of freedom of expression.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 26th 2024, 3:17 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Nothing to say about the article in question, no? And town is safe – just take the usual precautions that you would take in any city, live a little and enjoy it

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:29 PM

Harris, with his big mouth full of empty promises, this won’t be tolerated that won’t be tolerated. Hopefully, we won’t have to tolerate him after the election if the people cop on

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Oct 26th 2024, 1:36 PM

Having more police on the streets might actually make a difference, not some “night mayor”.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:53 AM

Too many stabbings and attacks everyday then the homo beatings as well. What a mess, a no go zone

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:13 PM

@Buster Lawless: where are the no go zones? are you, i assume a grown man, afraid to walk around dublin city centre?

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 26th 2024, 12:48 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: definitely not safe at night.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Oct 26th 2024, 1:47 PM

@Buster Lawless: if it isn’t safe why is it so busy at night all the time?

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:03 PM

@Buster Lawless: lots. Areas around Talbot Street have been threatening for decades, and that includes during the day. Parts of the quays are extremely dodgy.

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Oct 26th 2024, 4:28 PM

Im sorry when an inmate is cleared of freely admitting to what harm and made threats to do so to both an fellow inmate and prison officer, no chance of nighttime ireland been a safe space # barbie kardashin

Mute Keith Butler
    Favourite Keith Butler
    Oct 26th 2024, 10:22 PM

More night buses with security would be a sensible and welcome addition.

Mute Fred North
    Favourite Fred North
    Oct 26th 2024, 1:26 PM

Nightmare LOL

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Oct 26th 2024, 11:14 AM

Day mayor (ah!)
    Fighter of the Night Mayor (ah!)
    Champion of the sun!

Mute Dahveed
    Favourite Dahveed
    Oct 26th 2024, 11:53 AM

@Hayagriva: Brilliant! Love that scene. I think that they should open nightclubs at 5pm as my body clock doesn’t care what day it is, by 12:00 I’m going to be yawning.

Mute Pat B
    Favourite Pat B
    Oct 26th 2024, 2:22 PM

Thank God Dublin doesn’t appeal to me in any shape or form.

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Oct 26th 2024, 3:38 PM

The northside is a dump, and he won’t make a blind bit of difference

Mute Liam Walsh
    Favourite Liam Walsh
    Oct 26th 2024, 3:28 PM

He would want to start with the crap infrastructure and drugs dealing on every street, dirty slummy look of the buildings to drag the city into the 21 century

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:42 AM

The simplest things that could be done without requiring any task force or reports are extend opening hours (it’s a no brainer and only brings us in line with the rest of Europe, people from abroad can’t believe things close when they do here),put on more public transport namely 24 buses and have a few more Gardaí visible in the city centre.Those measures alone would do wonders.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Oct 26th 2024, 9:58 PM

Any yokes?

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:06 AM

Was quoted 170 for a cab (20km) recently- could fly to Spain cheaper. Alternative is hours on dreary buses that don’t show. Why bother. One thought – can he ban all TDs from using cars, cabs for a year and see how they get about at night. Whatever, good luck to him, he’ll need it.

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Oct 26th 2024, 4:32 PM

Night mayor. How pathetic can you get?
    Pmsl