You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Robbie Brady celebrates. Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Robbie Brady strikes late as Ireland fight back to win in Finland

After falling behind in first half, goals from Liam Scales and Brady secured 2-1 victory in the Nations League.

Nations League, Group 2 League B

Finland 1

Republic of Ireland 2

A NIGHT OF glorious firsts for the Republic of Ireland under manager Heimir Hallgrímsson.

Let’s start with the big one: a first win of this Nations League campaign.

Not only that, this 2-1 win over Finland in Helsinki is the first time Ireland have fought back from conceding first to win a competitive game since beating Kazakhstan in October 2013. More than a decade on and the Ireland fans can cherish another fantastic night like this after a thrilling 88th winner from Robbie Brady following a stunning assist from substitute Festy Ebosele.

Yep, you guessed it, his first assist, coming after Liam Scales’ first goal in green cancelled out Joel Pohjanpalo’s opener in the first half when he capitalised on a disastrous Nathan Collins under hit back pass.

So not only do Ireland now have their first win on the board in Group 2 of League B, but this is the first away victory in this competition since it began six years ago.

Read David Sneyd’s full report from Helsinki on The 42 (€)

View 15 comments
15 Comments
    Mute David Field
    Favourite David Field
    Jun 26th 2024, 1:59 PM

God help us all.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:37 PM

@David Field: and the Pride disco cancelled

Mute christine downey
    Favourite christine downey
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:42 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: postponed not cancelled

Jun 26th 2024, 7:04 PM

@christine downey: well it doesn’t coincide with Jacks appointment

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jun 26th 2024, 7:30 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: what has jack got to do with the cancellation of an lgbt disco in wickoow?

Jun 26th 2024, 9:05 PM

@brian madden: really Brian, cmon.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:28 PM

What’s the idea having Ministers, Super Junior Ministers and Junior Ministers. It’s a gravy train that aint stopping any station soon!!

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: have you been living in a cave for decades ? Ministers of States are required as number of cabinet ministers is limited by the 90 year old Constitution

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jun 26th 2024, 8:12 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Rubbish! That’s an FF answer, absolutely no need for all the makie up Ministers and Subs etc. Just rewarding the licks in the government!!!

Mute Dave C
    Favourite Dave C
    Jun 27th 2024, 9:37 AM

@Pat Hazzard: And???

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jun 27th 2024, 11:21 AM

@Pat Hazzard: have you been living in a cave Pat ? There 63 MP’s for the London Metropolitan area , London with 1 if the main financial areas in the world , and all the credentials of G7
    Yet we have this leeching bunch here with political dynasties all too quick to keep the gravy amongst themselves and create posts that are deemed ” crucial ”
    Absolutely sickening

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:44 PM

What happened the last time FF had hold of the nation’s finances? We went from 40 billion in debt to 240 billion. Now FF are only trusting the nation’s finances onto a person WITHOUT financial experience.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:02 PM

@9QRixo8H: They have held it with Mc Grath for 18months, the crash was a global event and we were totally exposed due to cheap money after the dot.com burst we recovered so quick SSIAs we’re introduced to stem domestic inflation the 1990s weren’t to bad, devaluation of the Punt hurt but we recovered again and we got our house in order for joining the Euro, 70s and 80s were a total mess by all parties and of course back handers were plentiful.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:07 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: you trust him?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:09 PM

@9QRixo8H: Additionally, yes, Gross Debt is 240bn but as a % of GDP and GNI is very good in comparison to, say, France.

We run a budgetary surplus and have done for a while now. Again, France runs a deficit, and our economy is doing well financially, but it’s how it get down to the ordinary people is the problem, we have a very progressive tax system that in truth needs to reward the workers more, a 30% tax rate needs to be introduced for those in the 40- 70k bracket…….but overall we are financially well.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:14 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: 13% of the nation earns 60,000 or above. So you’re not going to get down to the ordinary people with that tax bracket. Perhaps stronger workers’ pay and rights would reach more people, but then we’d need a left govt for once. “Financially well” but FG had the portfolio until this year.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:15 PM

@9QRixo8H: I’ve never met him , I know Mc Grath personally and was never a fan but he is a nice person and has helped my mother with stuff in the past, as TD .

Chambers seems intelligent and has his degree overall. The job is one of curator the Civil Service do most of the main lifting budget wise, he appears to articulate well and he’s young…..time will tell domestically our economy is strong but global events might change, for example French Banking is under pressure if that wobbles it’s a different game.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:17 PM

@9QRixo8H: Mc Grath delivered the budget last year and was minister since Jan 23….I think.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:22 PM

@9QRixo8H: Well earning 42k and then getting taxed at 40% on anything above that is to steep a jump, €1000 pa per 10000 earned extra isn’t a kings ransom but it’s something and us less than 50% we pay 52% on everything over 70 odd grand which is probably the highest in Europe.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:29 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: would you get the top financial job in a company because you were “a nice person, helped people and seem intelligent” despite having no experience?

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:30 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: that 52% of tax was introduced by FFG.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:33 PM

@9QRixo8H: Yes along with abilities and certain other qualities….Brian Lenihan was a nice guy just got caught up in a global catastrophe.

We learned from that and if it happens again we’ll see what is done.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:35 PM

@9QRixo8H: it’s 40% tax 4% prsi and 8% USC , does it matter who introduced it? The country needed money and still does but it’s how it’s spent is the real issue.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:54 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: if FFG managed the finances well, they wouldn’t be having us paying 52% in tax, which is “the highest in Europe” as you mentioned. Taxes they introduced.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:17 PM

@9QRixo8H: Most countries especially in Europe are between 48 and 50% on average but their governments seem to be able to do things with the money raised properly. We were in Cork this week, it’s my home town and it looks worse than I have ever seen weeds on payments….dirty looking, 50% for high earners seems fair and about 45% sub 80k seems equitable but using the money wisely is the key.

Mute christine downey
    Favourite christine downey
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:44 PM

@9QRixo8H: don’t trust any politician.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:42 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Pure spin & deflection, Fianna Fail drove this country over a cliff edge, destroying many lives for decades. Anyone such as yourself serving up excuses, is just a party hack deflecting on behalf of the Brown Envelope party.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:45 PM

@9QRixo8H:
    Our OAPS pay 40pc on all Income over €18000??..

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 27th 2024, 2:43 AM

@SV3tN8M4: Well, firstly, I’m not a party hack. Secondly, what excuses? Yes, FF was at the wheel when the economy crashed multiple times. However, they were also at the wheel when things were better economically.

I know you like to blow your trumpet no matter how inaccurate your drivel is. My approach is different it deals with facts, and I understand facts aren’t your friends, but remember your personal views are only personal views and of little value just like you worthless.

Mute Dave C
    Favourite Dave C
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:11 PM

I don’t get this, if the TD wants something to do with Europe then become an MEP, to be it comes across a bit cute hoorish, sitting as a TD also. Nothing against Chambers but this is a serious Ministry that needs a serious safe set of hands, he’s been tip away at handy numbers ministry wise. Not sure if I agree with it.

Mute sean callan
    Favourite sean callan
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:35 PM

@Dave C:
    Should have placed Jack Chambers into Health Ministry
    He has all necessary qualifications. Moved Stephen Donnelly into Finance, he is not happy with his portfolio, and it shows,
    A very simple reshuffle . Much stronger government and I feel more acceptable

Jun 26th 2024, 4:39 PM

@sean callan: Stephen donnelly? No, master of talking and no delivery

Mute Ronan M
    Favourite Ronan M
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:41 PM

@sean callan: this is a joke I assume? Donnelly who has never done anything of substance anywhere into finance!? Holy jaysus.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 26th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Ronan M: Donnelly has done more for women’s health in 4 years than previous 4 decades, delivered one of the best Covid vaccine programmes in the world, new consultants contract, reduced waiting lists etc etc

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:24 PM

@sean callan:
    A supreme example of a non functioning government
    Square Plugs placed in Round Tables??

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:31 PM

@Sean Callan: Sean Callan
    Oops ,, Square plugs pushed into Round Holes???

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:19 PM

Any politician should be able to handle the finance gig. Most know how to hide assets before they reach puberty.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:27 PM

@bruce banner: Wow, that has to be the silliest post here for a long time.

Finance isn’t about hiding assets it’s about setting budgets and getting the budget holders to comply with their respective plans.

Why you think it’s about assets or are you just trying to be cool?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:16 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I’d imagine it was a joke, albeit not a very good one. And btw, the role is a lot more wide ranging than just budget related: the holder heads up the dept of finance and is responsible for the achievement of the governments economic, fiscal and financial policy goals. The minister for public expenditure is more directly involved in budget setting and monitoring than the minister for finance.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:20 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Those budgets keep swelling on the back of the tax payer who are struggling with the COL.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:30 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Yes, but the main job is budgetary discipline, setting, most of the operational stuff mentioned are done be the Civil service and others . Minsters of Finance are doing Debits and Credits or reconciliations of Bank Accounts.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:37 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Well, things have to be paid for are the government is doing a good job with taxpayers’ money, NO, and no government does. It’s a fact of life.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:46 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I’m not talking about operational stuff like bank reconciliations ffs. It’s a wide ranging strategic role covering as you say department budgets, but also tax, international finance, EU, investments, governance, banking, to name but a few. And as I said, the minister for public expenditure has a much more hands on role with the budgeting process

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:49 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: *aren’t doing

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:23 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: He’ll have all the specialist civil service at his disposal who will advise him……he won’t be making many decisions with them or the EU.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:36 PM

He looks like he’s still getting his pocket money.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:50 PM

@Bryan: Might be an advantage and he might keep some of ours for a rainy day.

Mute John Manahan
    Favourite John Manahan
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:35 PM

This isn’t democracy. 2 Party leaders in the govt gone (or soon to be gone) in 2024, a Finance Minister changing today, and 4 current unoccupied TD positions in Clare, Offaly, Kilkenny and Dublin. General Election now !!

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:10 PM

@John Manahan:
    Back room of a pub in South Armagh is not exactly the best way of picking a leader to run a party in a modern western democracy.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jun 26th 2024, 7:15 PM

@John Manahan: Actually a government picking who’s a minister is exactly how democracy works. Whatever party or parties have most Tds get to be in government. That’s how it works

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Jun 26th 2024, 11:45 PM

@John Manahan: maybe not but it’s how a representative democracy works, which is what we have.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:23 PM

Where in his CV has he the qualification to become Minister of Finance?? Filling up these positions with lackies who have not been educated in their remit, is like making Joe the Blacksmith down the road… Minister for Education!!!

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:34 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: Or filling the post of President with someone that got their second level education in an abattoir.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:20 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: He has a degree in political science which is more that Doherty who wasn’t a civil engineer eventhough he said he was….in 2010

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:36 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: The 12 advisors will be the minister of education, hell just be the face of it.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: He did a Bertie on his qualifications alright.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:01 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: He may need to do a post grad course in unemployed West Belfast barmanology to bring him up to speed.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:34 PM

It really inspires confidence in the government seeing someone who brings such a vast wealth of financial inexperience with him being appointed to such an important position…

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jun 26th 2024, 8:01 PM

@William Tallon: none of the other parties economics briefs are held by people qualified in economics. Or, in the case of p. Doherty anything at all, as we discovered despite his lying about his qualification

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:40 PM

@Alan: Doherty lied that he was a Civil Engineer but quit the course to be a traffic controller ( lollipop man).

Mute Niall Cassidy
    Favourite Niall Cassidy
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:41 PM

33 years of age. Ridiculous.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Niall Cassidy: why ?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jun 27th 2024, 11:38 AM

@Pat Hazzard: name me a post that he would have ascertained like this in the private sector without ZERO FINANCIAL EXPERIENCE ?

You’ll be searching a very long time Pat

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:24 PM

Anyone unhappy at Garda Ryan’s predicament ?

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:00 PM

Would you look at at the head on that blue shirt.lol Now there’s a man of the people.omg

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:16 PM

@Wayne Shoes: omg Wayne he’s not Fine Gael, he’s Fianna Fáil, so he’s not a Blueshirt

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:18 PM

@Wayne Shoes: This is the silliest post .

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:16 PM

Does his Mam know?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:58 PM

May aswel let him at it,what’s in there at the min couldn’t run a bath let alone a country.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 26th 2024, 4:59 PM

@Paddy C: can’t do much worse it’s already arseways

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jun 26th 2024, 2:29 PM

That gig should be given to Helen McEntee.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:16 PM

I would live to see all those than comment negatively or make snark comments would run in the next general election seeing as the are all so clever with their comments and obviously know all the answers. Of course that actually means doing something other than typing into a keyboard . Everyone knows next Government will be FF FG with probably the Green Party

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Jun 26th 2024, 7:55 PM

@Peter Byrne: Constant moaning and whining from you.. why don’t you put your money where your mouth is and run yourself, instead of making snide remarks about those you disagree with and complaining about others.
    In fact you’d fit right into FG, always crying about when others do what you do.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:12 PM

@Michale Kane: actually I wasn’t moaning about anything and as it stands I am involved in my local community. Far as I am concerned Government is doing a fine job in what has been a difficult few years.
    Every country in Europe has problems with housing , education, health care and crime.
    You only have to read or watching programmes on the British Election. France , Germany, The Netherlands and Spain all have issues with immigrants camping on the streets and similar issues with homelessness.
    I was only remarking how not one original idea is put forward to solve any issues or how to fund it

Mute Danny Reilly
    Favourite Danny Reilly
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:51 PM

Well giving a minister to someone with an in depth knowledge of that particular subject doesn’t always work out. James’s Reilly is a shining example of that.
    Department of finance is really the boss.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:36 PM

How many more will run to the hills with their massive pensions or into some other lucrative role like Mc Grath’s €443K in Europe. There will be another plethora of Ministries handed out between now & the election in October, it’s destroying trust in politics, it’s become a farce worthy of Ballymagash Town Council. I would bet Micheal Martin is next up, having landed some role outside the country. They have no moral authority to continue Governing & Michael D should stand up & call it, if he had any respect for the people. What are these people signing off on or legislation before they are thrown out of office.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 27th 2024, 2:47 AM

@SV3tN8M4: They are signing off on legislation as they are the Government it’s not difficult to understand.

As the local and EU elections have shown who exactly is going to put them out of office.

You really don’t understand very much do you.

Mute TheLightFantastic
    Favourite TheLightFantastic
    Jun 26th 2024, 5:40 PM

Hints at a frugal personality if the elders are trusting this young buck with the purse strings!

Mute Paddy Rooney
    Favourite Paddy Rooney
    Jun 27th 2024, 2:04 AM

I’m not sure a more vapid politician exists. He was canvassing with his mother when I lived in Castleknock. He stands for nothing other than being a politician.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:50 PM

Don’t care they turned blue

Mute mark duggan
    Favourite mark duggan
    Jun 26th 2024, 11:42 PM

Plz there has to be strong irish men left

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Jun 26th 2024, 10:23 PM

I see the Shinners still have no European cop-on.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jun 27th 2024, 11:36 AM

Imagine ringing up your doctor or mechanic and then saying.your.now my accountant !
    It really is this ludicrous