You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The 13 new apprentices, alongside Irish Rail CEO David Franks and Transport Minister Paschal Donohoe. Naoise Culhane
Naoise Culhane
IRISH RAIL HAS hired its first new apprentices in 20 years, following a two-step recruitment process that including an aptitude test and a round of interviews.
Almost 1,900 people applied for 13 positions as trainee electricians, mechanics, fitters and welders.
Over 1,400 took the aptitude tests, and 66 were called for interview before the final few were selected.
The final 13 included one woman. However, only 9 of the total number of applicants were women.
“At one point we had 7,000 employees, but reductions in the workforce mean there are just around 3,700 staff currently,” spokesperson for Irish Rail Jane Cregan said.
“We also had a recruitment ban in place for a long time.”
While the company has recruited fully-trained workers for similar roles more recently — particularly during the Transport 21 phase of station construction — this is the first time apprentices have been hired since the 1990s.
The new recruits will undertake a four-year course, in conjunction with Solas, and will spend blocks of time studying at institutes of technology as part of the programme.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Look at the price quoted per unit €100.000 . someone is going to make a killing . roankabin aka dob. Proper houses could be built , enough builders unemployed. Make the investment and get it sorted.
If these are built they will think the problem is solved. We are in “temporary cabins” in work. They were for 3-4 years. That was 15+ years ago and now they are falling to pieces. This is what will happen. We need houses!!
It the quick buck and parish pump politics mentality again. We need to investing houses and other infrastructure now. Once build they will serve the economy for hundreds of years. This will create jobs and enhance the economy.
Creating the slums of the future is NOT a good idea!!!
people are mixing up “prefab” with modular. They are not the same. I’m standing on a stand in London right now at a show called the Offsite Construction Show, and the quality and breadth of modern modular buildings on show here is as far away from the ‘prefabs’ people on here are thinking of. Right now some of these are higher quality than site – built houses, not lower, and ate equally long – lived and durable. Ireland needs to catch up.
Ireland is the guinea pig experiment country for globalism.
How to make a servile mixed race populace, with no loyalty to family, nation and race, just part of a worldwide populace of interchangeable cheap labour,……work and debt slaves. All living in boxes called hab units, and taking their docile inducing fluoride water, which they pay for.
When did you last see a shipping container falling to pieces Deborah? 4 of them joined together (using common sense) could make a very comfortable home IF you use your imagination.
And be bigger than a lot of luxury “studio” flats where you can’t swing the proverbial cat.
The vested interests in the building industry will fight this tooth and nail.
The quoted price of 100k each is an even bigger rip off than a pair of Nike runners though.
@Pete – that is possible of course, and I have a 20′ container out the back so know what’s involved to get it to meet building regs etc. However it’s cheaper to build a compliant one from scratch.
All houses deteriorate if they are not maintained and there are plenty of empty properties around the country if the councils had a mind to buy them cheaply and do them up., I wouldn’t fault these prefabs either if the site development work is done properly beforehand, otherwise it just becomes another halting site for Irelands cast offs.
Some of the post-war prefabs in the UK Midlands lasted well into the 70′s and were only bulldozed to make way for larger housing estates. I knew an elderly lady who raised her adopted children in one and it broke her heart to leave it and I must say that it was a very pleasant place to live , perhaps it was the community spirit that kept the gardens neat and the homes maintained and given modern materials and insulation, not to mention the array of safety features, I would live in one myself should the need arise. Getting the right neighbours would be an essential for the success of any pre-fab village.
Pretend all you want, most of the ‘houses’ in this country, even in D6-South County Dublin and all the way to each corner of this country, are much worse than sheds, and light years worse than prefabs. Houses are not supposed to be cold and moldy by design!
There isn’t really anything wrong with modular design on its own. The biggest potential problem is who is put in them and if they are happy there.
Ballymun towers were not badly designed but the selection process fell apart. Tenants could insist on moving or refuse to move in so they started putting in people with huge social issues. This increased the exit by stable tenants and it turned into a downward spiral
Such a pity that Ballymun failed, I worked on the first of the houses [not the towers] and they were of a higher standard than my parents house, warmer and very neat.
@ Kal Ipers,reading the comments here one can see why projects that work world-wide fail in Ireland as most seem to be venom directed at some businessman who has upset the sans-culottes and not at all about the topic of prefabbed buildings some of which offer spectacular possibilities.
Chini, so true. We are obsessed with “traditional” housing in Ireland by which we mean concrete blocks and brick built by hand on site. If we designed and built cars this way we’d still be hand cranking them in the morning. Most so-called Irish traditionally built houses are poorly insulated and often poorly constructed and finished. The way forward in mass production terms is factory precision built using modular construction techniques. The key factor as the author points out is good design, well chosen sites and community buy in. All of this is possible.
Modular houses can last every bit as long as other types of homes and are usually built to higher specification and higher standards. Most people seem to confuse them with old fashioned prefabs or cheap prefabs designed to have short lifespan. They are not prefabs in the sense used by other posters.The key factor is design and proper siting. This obsession with traditional housing is farcical. Only in Ireland would we extol the use of concrete block construction in a country with one of the most damp and most windy climates in the world. I grew up in a traditional house. So did most of us. It was cold and damp but modern buildings are better insulated. The key word being “modern”. Modular housing is modern as well and constructed to a very high specification. And if you gear up you can produce it very fast in an assembly line fashion to a very high specification and more speedily than so-called traditional housing. It can also look very well. It’s called good design.
Of course, what interest would a construction company have in portocabins, eh? Tough question. Seriously though, can we please get over this DOB nonsense. It’s like we’re afraid to do anything in case DOB somehow, somewhere has a company that might benefit. Or maybe we prefer to have families shacked up in hotels rather than risk a few quid finding its way to a DOB company. Maybe DOB should buy a few hotels and hostels.
First tell me this, how come SireServ bought that company less than a week before the government announced these were the solution to the housing crisis?
Inside? – Dublin councils desperately short of accomadation -about 1 year ago they said they were investigating their use – a month ago they had demonstrations of modular houses- that’s very slow council progress (all reported in media) nothing remotely inside about it .
Most of my secondry school classes were held in cold damp out of date prefabs. The government loved supplying them. Replacing them was a different story. Can’t imagine living in the damn things.
Right now , I would LOVE to have shares in NAMA and Roankabin , These guys are going to make a killing in housing the poor and unfortunate, and good ol DOB gets to pocket some MORE loot from the humble taxpayer. Just when you think NAMA are surrounded in controversy and whispers , it appears they build houses too ??? ,Well I didn’t know they could also build houses, sure arn’t they a great bunch of lads ????
Declan, so your objection is that someone might make money? And you think that if we build “traditional” houses someone won’t make money? Ever hear of the Celtic Tiger and the property bubble? Isn’t that the point of a capitalist economy? Isn’t that why builders build homes – to make money? Your cynicism attracts green thumbs but you offer no new solutions at all. Traditional houses are not going to be magicked up in short order. We need a range of solutions. Modular housing i.e. factory constructed homes, is one solution as part of a mix. Would you insist that your car be built by hand or are you happy with cars that are precision made in factories? Modular homes can work extremely well and last every but as long as traditional homes.
the irish obsession with concrete and houses built to survive a nuclear fallout is numerous. It really does make you laugh. you can have a house for a third of the cost but people are too snobby
Thomas Clarke / james connolly/ Diarmuid/ Kenneth – your support for such ‘housing’ presumably hasn’t anything to do with your constant support for Denis O’Brien / FG / Siteserv , constantly on these threads , with your multiple Troll names ?
As you are no doubt aware , Siteserv / Portakabin , are huge providers to the market of such Temporary ‘houses’ !
Presumably, Alan Kelly , as Enda’s Puppy has been sent in that direction – to sort out the Accommodation crisis – by FG / Lab. ?
I think people’s mentality is that houses must be made from concrete blocks . people need to open their minds more . there is all different types of home from timber frames to beautiful barn conversions to log cabins .. if I had a choice of being homeless or having one of these homes I’d gladly take one .
Your forgetting the cold wet damp climate we have here in Ireland. Timber/cardboard/flat roof buildings don’t work or last very long. Concrete houses are strong and don’t decay. They stand the test of time. Not to mention the natural fireproofing they provide. It’s the crappy stud partition buildings that don’t meet fire regulations that are in the media lately. A properly built house will last for 3-4 generations not 10 years like the crap modular house. It will also create badly needed employment in the construction sector.
Modern modular housing is much better than the prefabs built in the past. Flat roof construction is much better now and you can get 30 year guarantees now versus 10 years in the past and not lasting that long. Insulation is much better too and 10% of the width but higher standard.
Don’t confuse old prefab school rooms that were used past their use with a modern prefab. You wouldn’t compare a 40 year old car with a modern car.
I think most homeless would run past your placards complaining about prefabs into somewhere better than a hotel room or old bedsit they live in now. Even if these go ahead, it will be 9 months before they’re ready. As for real social houses, that’s a minimum if two years if they got approval today. In the meantime the list hits 100k. It’s emergency level now. What’s the alternative?. Who has the funds apart from nama to build, who has the skills to build in scale apart from most of the failed nama dependent builders still living here. There is no magic bullet. Freezing rents does not solve the list crisis, it just stops it getting worse. Increasing the rent allowance will work for a few months then rents will rise to swallow it whole, especially in Dublin where most of the demand is. No government can just magic up new houses. Even with the current massive demand and low credit costs there is no builders meeting this requirement and that’s excluding any social building work.
Bedsits are now illegal to rent while I am sure some are still rented the majority are gone. This is a huge contributory factor into why there is a crisis.
They reduced the rent allowance and then removed a portion of rental accommodation for the lower end of the market. This was certain to effect those on lower incomes.
People were happy with this being done and dismissed the warnings which have now happened.
C Mc Gyver, do you even bother to read up on modular housing before you comment. Ten years life span you say? of course you could design it like that if you wished I suppose. The cold damp climate here in Ireland is precisely why concrete block construction is actually unsuitable. The only thing that makes such homes livable is modern central heating and modern insulation. But some homes are actually inherently more efficient and modular is one of them. They are precision built to be energy and space efficient. They can be designed any way you wish and to any standard you wish. Building homes on site the way we continue to do in Ireland is something we extol in no other sphere. You are lauding the usse of 19th century construction techniques when we have 21st century techniques available to us i.e. factory built precision engineered homes. Risible. Go and buy a car built the way you want our homes to be built.
@C McGyver – nonsense. Timber buildings built properly (note, properly) will last as long as any block house. It’s not the fact it’s timber/other – it’s the quality of erecting of them.
I have worked on modular housing projects. I have seen and experienced first hand,modular construction. There is no comparison to a modular home and a traditionally constructed home. Yes they are quick to order and install.
The problems I see is :
1. Fire ratings.
2. Sound pollution (both inside and from
Outside)
3. Try selling one if you want to move.
4. The general appearance of one.
These are for social housing so selling on will not be a major issue. Some of the best houses in Grand Designs for new builds were modular. In most cases modular will be the only way to speed up even traditional social house builds. We know that sound pollution ranks low in most home owners top10, it never did even in the early stages of the boom. As to insulation, we have much more advanced materials now and regulations are far advanced.
@C McGyver – glad you have experience, let me address. 1. Fire. Modular can meet & exceed conventional building fire performance. Btdt, have the Agrément Cert to prove…. 2. Sound. Quality materials and assembly make them quieter, not noisier than conventional. Again, and because it’s a requirement for UK, have the Agrément cert to prove…. 3. I sell them for a living, to the UK mostly, where regulation and oversight is far more onerous than Ireland . All are not equal. 4. I challenge anyone to identify what a house is built from, from the outside appearance. I’m staying in Docklands this eve, and as many ‘conventional’ look ‘modular’ …..doesn’t mean anything. Planning dictates appearance, not what it’s made from…so take that up with planners. We can make them look like anything you like… And no, I don’t work for any of the Co’s bandied about in this thread, esp vis a vis That Project… Next ?
C Mc Gyver: Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark. Iceland, Faroe Islands, Svalbard, Canada, Alaska. What do they all have in common? Harsher climates than us, and a tendency towards wooden houses, maybe? Also, “traditional” is very subjective – wattle and thatch is traditional, if you go back far enough – concrete built is pretty much a post WWII phenomenon for housing. (Also I live in a concrete-block semi-D, and let me tell you, I can hear most of what my neighbours do, and all of what happens on the street outside)
Seems to me we just bounce from crisis to crisis in this country, the press TV online and radio spent 6 yrs talking about recession, banking inquiry, nama. Pre that, in a pseudo buoyant economy it was climate change and we’re all doomed factor. Economy is on the swing so it’s housing and homelessness. All we want is the truth
There is an old saying people seem to have forgotten beggars can’t be choosers it’s all grand and lovely saying they should get this or that because their homeless blah blah blah, but in reality it’s working people tax payer money that’s funding this (no it’s not being pulled out of thin air), and while I think everyone should have a roof over their head if your getting it for nothing you should take what you get once it’s not hazardous to your health, what would you think of a homeless person on the street demanding a minimum of €5 off everyone who passes it wouldn’t really wash, and what do you say when friends or family are buying a home (out of their own money) and they turn down them all for some stupid reason, “oh their just being too fussy” yet the attitude is whit people getting them for nothing is they should get aras an uachtarain built for they a dose of reality is badly needed here.
Is this a joke? Would anyone in government live in one of these? Would anyone reading this article like to live in one of these, seriously were are we living when this is an excitable living space.
Should be a pre condition of their existence, all politicians should co-habit these cabins, think of all the travel expenses saved. Wonder if it would still happen given such a scenario.
@Keith. I like your thinking. Erect a prefab village on the grounds of Leinster house and enforce all TDs to stay there when they have to come to Dublin. No more expensive hotel room. Modular accommodation on site. Perfect!
Where or how can I find out who or whom get the council houses in the Dublin area? That is , between Irish indigenous nationals , EU immigrants, Non eu immigrants, Asylum seekers , Medical preference ,Etc.
I just want to investigate that the housing placement is fair. I have just left DCC , I am 7 years on the housing list due to illness and I am told another 10 to 13 years more for me and my family to be housed. I will be pushing up daisy’s well before then, so I am concerned for my wife and kids.
So do I seek FOI from DCC or CSO or will they have some restriction that I will not be afforded any information.
Fred, FOI is one way but it largely precludes the issuance of personal information/data so I don’t think you will get the level of granular detail you require to see if you are being unfairly treated. I think you would firstly need to seek the relevant information from DCC and if you fail to get the information you need you could appeal internally. Failing that you then go to the Ombudsman/Information Commissioner. Your main problem is that there is not enough housing to meet demand either in the public or private spheres. Sincere sympathies on your plight and best of luck to you and your family.
I still find it hard to believe that this is what is on offer for people! It’s shocking! Also a couple of these burned down in that Halton site midweek, more of a reason not to use them. And it’s a Denis o brien company that is supplying them. THIS GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE ASHAMED 5 YEARS IN POWER AND THIS IS THE BEST THEY CAN DO FOR HOMELESS AND PEOPLE WITHOUT A HOME, ASK YOURSELF WOULD THEY LIVE IN THIS TYPE OF HOME NO! THIS SHOWER OF BAST**DS DON’T CARE ITS AS SIMPLE AS THAT.
Your a gobsh*te yourself with your fake account! Would you live in this? I certainly would not and anyone who says they would are liars! This government don’t care about homeless people they just care about there own bank accounts!
Joe drop the shouting. You can’t magic homes out of thin air. What is being proposed here are modular homes – you know – the same way we build all modern products like cars, aeroplanes, railway carriages and yes, even homes (as they do in many countries). People here are fixated on building concrete block homes the traditional way. You know, like we did 100 years ago. The only reason we can live in these homes now is central heating and better insulation which are modern solutions retrofitted at great expense to most of our housing stock. Traditional homes are still largely built in a way which is very inefficient, expensive and designed to give rise to problems. Even if your modern home has a B energy rating construction I would lay odds that if you did an infra-red test and airtightness tests it would not pass. And this is because we are using old fashioned techniques in lieu of precision. Properly designed and constructed modular housing is very well insulated and equipped and long lasting. It is designed to be put together on site very precisely with everything already installed, again precisely. They are not prefabs. They are merely prefabricated homes using modern industrial techniques based on precision engineering. They are quite common abroad in backward places like Germany and Sweden; places renowned for their terrible industrial standards (I’m being facetious here of course).
Why did they knock down ballymun surely some of it could be saved for emergency house after what happened in carragmines these will endup the same in 10 year
mcNAMAra removed the hoarding from dob’s site on stephens green over the weekend which could be taken as a major embarressment to DOB or maybe it was removed to be used to temporary enclose the proposed shanty towns for roankabin
Could all the state and council bodies(even schools) identify small areas where they could site 2 or 3 of these cabins at a time – to try keep people in the areas they’re from- otherwise yr taking people away from their local support – kids changing schools – and not making ghetto villages-
Check out britains post war prefabs they were there until they fell down. We need proper local authority houses, decent accommodation for people to live in like crumlin drimnagh ballyfermot
My great aunt lived in one post war -fantastic comfortable homes – only taken down 30 years later because the site was wanted for higher density housing -
Bob, what is being discussed are not portacabins or indeed the type of “temporary” accommodation used to house the poor Travellers. What is being discussed is modern modular homes which are fully fire compliant and indeed compliant with all building regulations and standards. This can be ensured (unlike most traditional builds) because they are built in factories to a high level of precision using the techniques of mass production in a factory environment.
@Bob. More propoganda…..A modular house must meet the same fire performance as any method of build. There is no lower spec just cos it’s modular. I’ve done enough fire tests to know.
Y-Cube housing units by Richard Rogers cost £30,000 each in London (circa €42,000)
Good design is the solution – its already being done in London by YMCA.
We must avoid “Portacabin” type units
These “sheds” are NOT the answer to the homeless crisis.
How long before they turn into shanty towns ?
How long before the residents are know as “trailer thrash” ?
Like it or not, it’s all about DOB making even more money off the backs of the most vulnerable in our society.
These “sheds” cost 100k each and another 60k for services and labour = €160k
There are houses for sale on the open market for less. Not to mention the amount of voids in every estate, which could easily be opened up and renovated quickly. The new residents would then have a proper secure home in a settled estate with all services on hand.
This is all about money and brown envelopes. The government don’t give a dam about the people. That’s as clear as the nose on your face. We need to get them OUT !!!
Trump says US will be 'involved' in security for Ukraine as he meets Zelenskyy at White House
Updated
19 mins ago
The Daily Poll
Poll: Heather Humphreys or Sean Kelly - who would you like to see as the FG presidential candidate?
24 mins ago
The Faythe
Archeological expert criticises Wexford council over destruction of 'historic' homes
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say