You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mike Richards, file photo. Willy Sanjuan

New Jeopardy! host steps down after controversies resurface

The emergence of “past incidents and comments” has brought Mike Richards brief Jeopardy! run to an end.

US QUIZ SHOW Jeopardy! is on the hunt for another new host today after Mike Richards resigned just nine days after getting the job.

Richards had been lined up to replace Alex Trebek, who died of cancer last year, but was a controversial choice because of his past involvement in employment discrimination lawsuits filed by women.

Days after he was appointed, reports emerged of disparaging comments about women that he made on a podcast eight years ago, heaping pressure on the 46-year-old and his bosses at Sony Pictures Television.

“It pains me that these past incidents and comments have cast such a shadow on Jeopardy! as we look to start a new chapter,” Richards said in a note to staff, seen by AFP.

“Over the last several days it has become clear that moving forward as host would be too much of a distraction for our fans and not the right move for the show.

“As such, I will be stepping down as host effective immediately. As a result, we will be canceling production today.”

Sports and pop culture website theringer.com reported this week that it had trawled through episodes of “The Randumb Show,” a podcast Richards hosted in 2013-14, finding a number of comments relating to women and nudity.

A Sony Pictures Television spokesperson said today the company supported Richards’ decision to step down.

“We were surprised this week to learn of Mike’s 2013/2014 podcast and the offensive language he used in the past. We have spoken with him about our concerns and our expectations moving forward,” the spokesperson said.

“Mike has been with us for the last two years and has led the Jeopardy! team through the most challenging time the show has ever experienced. It is our hope that as (executive producer) he will continue to do so with professionalism and respect.”

Richards had been due to share hosting duties with “The Big Bang Theory” alum Mayim Bialik.

She was appointed to front the primetime events and special spin-offs while he was given the regular syndicated shows.

Their appointments had apparently ended a long hunt for a host after Trebek’s much-mourned death, which saw producers scroll through a Who’s Who of American celebrity life that included top journalists and sport stars.

That search was back on today, Richards said, with details of the roster of guest hosts to be announced next week.

© – AFP, 2021 

View 30 comments
30 Comments
    Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:02 PM

Cancel Culture strikes again.

Mute El Grogan
    Favourite El Grogan
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:06 PM

@Martin O Connell: *consequences for one’s actions

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:22 PM

@Martin O Connell: He seems to have taken it on the chin. Maybe you should too.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:00 AM

@Martin O Connell: don’t know what that means huh?

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Favourite Drunk in Dublin
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:52 AM

@Martin O Connell: I came here for the comments and was not disappointed. It’s cute how you use the term “cancel culture” like that’s an actual thing. Fox News in the USA made up that phrase. It’s propaganda. You’ve been sheepled.

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:10 PM

They’ll just have to replace all these pesky hosts with robots. Fecking humans do too many things wrong when they’re not at work.

Is there anyone good enough for a public facing role these days? Even if you found the perfect host/politician/actor I’m sure they would have done something in primary or secondary school that would justify their downfall

Mute Graham O'Brien
    Favourite Graham O'Brien
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:46 PM

@Quiet Goer: Well, if you host a podcast that is publicly available and make disparaging comments about people, then that’s being at work and being an a/r/s/ehole. That should justify your downfall.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    Aug 21st 2021, 10:36 AM

@Graham O’Brien: 8 years ago

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:14 AM

@Graham O’Brien: get over it. This cancel culture needs to stop

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:53 AM

@Hugh Morris: lol, “cancel culture”. Adorbs.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Aug 21st 2021, 12:10 AM

Tis funny really that as certain cohorts of societies will tell us that the world is embracing the most liberal of eras in our human history that the reality tends to demonstrate an even more subtle and worrying revert to a Puritan based society.
    There must be a new word for this which I’ll happily throw out to the more intelligent readers.
    The whole thing is upside down and inside out with no central ground that one can measure their position on either side of the scale they would traditionally place themselves on.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:07 AM

@Gavin Linden: there is no agreed-upon standard of truth, right, wrong etc. happening at the moment, so while it may look Puritan in its approach, it is a morally relativistic “religion” which means that whatever someone happens to think is wrong at the moment will be disparaged.

It was probably actually easier when the Bible was the agreed upon standard of truth because we knew what the rules were, and if you went against it you actually knew what you were going against.

What central ground do you propose we measure ourselves against?

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Aug 21st 2021, 10:40 AM

@Gavin Linden: yeah that’s true the “liberal” left has now gone so far around the circle in terms of dogma it is now almost joined the old far right right in terms of fascist dogma and dictatorship.

You cannot say that.
    Do as I say
    You cannot do that
    You cannot have that opinion
    Do not express it
    If you do it will have consequences
    We will Cancel you
    You must think and do like we do
    You must conform

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:54 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke:

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:54 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke:

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 21st 2021, 2:25 PM

@UK Hurling Bloke: Are you trying to defend an unpopular US show host? If he went out of his way to mock subscribers, they lose viewers. That’s showbiz.

Mute Pateen Johncruck
    Favourite Pateen Johncruck
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:14 PM

Clue for 1000 Fired from hosting Jeopardy..
    “what are the consequences of making disparaging comments about women”

Mute Ross Cleary
    Favourite Ross Cleary
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:52 AM

@Pateen Johncruck: a sore jaw after a swift jab from your wife?

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:40 PM

LeVar Burton

Mute David Keohane
    Favourite David Keohane
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:46 PM

@Sheila Larkin: Mr La Forge

Mute John Costello
    Favourite John Costello
    Aug 21st 2021, 1:50 AM

I nominate Ryan Tubridy for the job. Ha Ha Ho Ho Hee Hee, what a brilliant show we have for you tonight folks…

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:14 PM

Ye got to love the Americans for their due diligence. Appoint someone that has more baggage than the bloke being sacked.

Mute Ixtrix Net
    Favourite Ixtrix Net
    Aug 21st 2021, 4:22 AM

@Paul Gorry:
    Who do you mean? Trebek died, Richards gave himself the job of presenting,and retains his Exec Producer job, and Mayim Bialik only has the baggage of a phd in neuroscience and some books and a bit of television shows

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Aug 21st 2021, 11:16 AM

@Paul Gorry: id1ot

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:05 PM

And there he was …. gone.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:24 AM

Author has left out half the story. The other half is that he was the executive producer in charge of finding a replacement and after auditioning a load of people he chose himself at the 11th hour despite having no experience and the fans of the show have been complaining constantly claiming conflict of interest. Also, Trebek apparently chose Ken Jennings before he died who is definitely the fan favorite.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Aug 20th 2021, 11:06 PM

Give it to Ken Jennings.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:08 AM

@Edmund Murphy: ha ha yes. Perfect. He would not even need the right responses in front of him ha ha ha he would know them all!

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Aug 21st 2021, 8:59 AM

Right decision but apparently Bialik being anti-vax is just fine???

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Aug 21st 2021, 9:42 AM

@Graham Manning: she isn’t she had a concern about one particular vaccine and vaccinated her children with other shots instead

Mute Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Favourite Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Aug 22nd 2021, 1:52 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Oh, well that’s OK so.