You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE LEGENDARY DESIGNER behind Apple’s iPhone, Jony Ive, has joined OpenAI to create devices tailored for using generative artificial intelligence, according to a video posted Wednesday by the ChatGPT maker.
Ive and his team will take over design at OpenAI as part of an acquisition of his startup named “IO” valued at $6.5 billion.
Sharing no details, OpenAI chief executive Sam Altman said in the video that a prototype Ive shared with him “is the coolest piece of technology that the world will have ever seen.”
The San Francisco-based AI company finished the clip with a message that it looks forward to sharing fruits of the device collaboration next year.
British-born Ive was an Apple employee from 1992 to 2019, during which time he oversaw the development of the brand’s now legendary products, from the iMac and AirPods to the iPod, iPhone and Apple Watch.
Working closely with Apple co-founder Steve Jobs, his designs revitalized Apple, making it the company with the world’s third-largest market capitalization and a global standard for product design.
Altman said a transformational new technology such as AI deserves a revolutionary new way to interact with it.
Comparing AI to “magic intelligence,” Altman said the technology behind ChatGPT “deserves something much better” than having to type questions into a laptop.
Ive began collaborating with Altman two years ago and it “became clear that our ambitions to develop, engineer and manufacture a new family of products demanded an entirely new company,” the pair said in a joint post.
“The products that we’re using to deliver and connect us to unimaginable technology are decades old,” Ive said.
“So it’s just common sense to at least think, surely there’s something beyond these legacy products.”
Dethroning smartphones?
OpenAI putting its hot chatbot into a new kind of gadget could be a threat to Apple, which has struggled with its AI strategy, particularly when it comes to making its Siri digital assistant smarter.
Apple shares were down nearly three percent in after-market trades on Wednesday.
Almost a year after announcing the integration of a host of generative AI functionalities into its new iPhone 16, Apple has been slow to implement them.
The Cupertino, California-based group has also postponed the release of an updated version of its Siri voice assistant until next year, at best.
The race to put generative AI into devices also involves Amazon, which is adding the technology to its Alexa voice assistant, with a rollout of that service currently underway.
Dubbed Alexa+ and boosted with AI, Amazon’s adoption of the technology is intended primarily for connected devices in the home, such as smart speakers or televisions.
Hyped startup Humane in 2024 launched its AI Pin, a square gadget to be worn like a brooch that was theoretically capable of answering spoken questions, taking photos, and making phone calls.
But it quickly failed to catch on due to its high price and poor performance, and was subsequently acquired at a low price by HP.
IDC advertising and marketing technology research director Roger Beharry Lall said that it remains to be seen if a gadget dedicated to using AI can dethrone smartphones that still rule modern lifestyles.
“Right now, the phone is the medium through which you can access these technologies,” Beharry Lall said.
“If anyone can figure out what the next-generation interface is going to look like, it’s probably Mr. Ive.”
OpenAI has become one of the most successful companies in Silicon Valley, propelled to prominence in 2022 with the release of ChatGPT, its generative AI chatbot.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
7 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
We have one of the laziest police force, they can sit on side of 3 lane carriage way with 90% of cars in the wrong lane waiting on the odd car a few kph over the limit.
Speed vans cause motorists to jam on the brakes, even if they are under the limit. On a personal note, when was the last time there was an accident on the N4 Lucan East or West bound? Yet there is always a gatso. I know of two accident Black Spots close to me, and there is never a speed van. Why? Because not enough traffic there to make it profitable.
I know the Cratloe one. It’s 120 just before it and the drops to 100 without any change in road quality and not enough limit signs to make sure you know. Sorry for individual caught there. Probably had no idea he/she hit the 100 zone.
That’s 10kms inside the 100kms zone. If the driver doesn’t know the difference between motorway and dual carriageway road markings
and signage or can’t see the numerous 100km signs maybe they shouldn’t be on the road.
In my view Paul the signage is not great. I do find from time to time I miss a sign & I’m unsure of the speed limit. In Germany it’s a constant barrage of signs. You cannot but see them. I don’t find that in Ireland. I also feel with the technology now in cars we should at least have an indication on our binnacle. That way there’s no excuses.
Speed enforcement will never get public support because it is by nature and implementation a crude tool which results in substantial collateral damage, namely the wrong categories of drivers being convicted while serious offenders get off regularly. What makes this all the more galling are the penalty points for three years on so many folk who are largely law abiding except for these rare occassions when they are often ‘trapped’ in a sneaky way which undermines law enforcement and the judiciary.
I once had a supervisor who told of getting a speeding ticket on the way to work. I would have been more supportive of him had it been when he was going away from work.
Anyway he challenged the ticket, on the basis was the radar device calibrated? It had not been and the traffic court judge dismissed the charges and all those who were ticketed that day.
The selection of the zones, “safety zones” choosen, is problematic and often for dubious reasoning. The only van I spotted yesterday was on a very short stretch of 60km/hr squeezed into a long 80 km/hr…an obvious trap in my books.
Is this a PR stunt like all the arrests the Gardai make? The Gardai must be sick carrying out their duty simply to make their superiors appear to doing their jobs.
With speeders their be no revenue,look at the history the main reason the were introduced was for revenue not safety, safety was use to sell it. Our roads death pay have gone and it is not because we have stopped speeding, the factors are better roads, more motor ways, less Irish people heading down the country on bank holidays, and with ones that do go they travel on better and much safer road than what there once with less congestion.
The media always plaster headline speeding car kills… What is speeding the road into Baldoyle use to be 50 now it 60, If a driver crash before at 58 the be speeding reckless driver etc… Now the be driving safely.
We need an over haul of our speed limited , but they wont they rather us believe speeding is the main cause but it not.
If the told the truth half the people would get back in car ever, our roads death may have gone down but those with life changeling injures is just as bad if not worst.
I was stopped for doing 68kph in a 60 kph zone. I asked the nice Garda could I see for myself the speed on the camera and she refused saying she was not obliged to show me. I told her I wanted to see the date of the last calibration and the again she refused but looked puzzled. I would have thought if I am going to be prosecuted I have the right to verify my speed and that the equipment is working and calibrated.
More BS
There is a bad bend coming from Waterford into Cork over the Youghal bridge crossing the Blackwater.
Someone not in their right mind put a 100kph sign just before the bad bend…
I wonder what the lowest speed offender caught was doing speed wise? what speed do you have to be going before your technically prosecuted as there has to be a margin of error as the instruments they are using are not 100% as they have to be calibrated.
For all the people giving out, suggesting it’s only a money making exercise, what do you suggest as an alternative? No speed limits, with zero enforcement? I can’t see that improving Road safety statistics……
Go to court, tell the judge you are not happy about handing money to an organisation that is rife with corruption allegations, but you will take the points and make the donation to Pieta house or another charity (providing you are guilty of course)
How many tickets were issued for those breaking the 100/120 kph limits & how many were issued for those breaking the 50/60 kph limits….I dare say the split is probably 80% to 20%…like shooting fish in a barrel with the lower limits, this despite the Garda top brass coming out during the week claiming..”speed kills”!!..
If all those caught respond and cough up within the first time limitation that is a grand total of €25760, that’s some money to be putting in to an organisation that’s rife with corruption allegations
my name is Geraldine Patricia from Ireland an Eireannach/irish nationality i am here to share my glory and happiness in life with you all on how this woman of integrity full of wonders Called Dr Maria Rosa of Cherish House Of Loans Company, help me in obtaining a loan after searching all the way for a loan and after the stress of getting a loan i finally stumble into a post by some one who still on the internet share her own testimony on how she had helped her so i said to myself if this is it i will give it a trial i applied as directed by the person all due process were followed and to my surprise i got the loan in my bank account a loan of $149,000USD because i was looking for it to buy a house until now i never knew there are still geniue people like her but now i believe so much so my good people of the world i am using this opportunity to direct you to her too as she is the real loan lender i have seen this is the company emails cherishhouseofloans@gmail.com contact her now and see or yourself thanks and may God continue to bless you madam as i now own a house of my own. email cherishhouseofloans@gmail.com
'I almost lost hundreds of euro': Fans warned as ticket scams rise ahead of Oasis gigs
Andrew Walsh
4 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: Can you name these extinct animals?
6 hrs ago
Downpatrick
Priest seriously injured after attack with a glass bottle in church named as Fr John Murray
Updated
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say