You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Justin Timberlake Paul Drinkwater/AP/Press Association Images

Justin Timberlake part of MySpace takeover

The Social Network star is part of the takeover that is worth a small fraction of what the struggling website was sold for six years ago.

MUSIC STAR JUSTIN Timberlake has teamed up with a US advertising firm to buy MySpace for just 6 per cent of the amount it cost Rupert Murdoch’s News Corp when it bought the now floundering social network in 2005.

The star of the Facebook inspired movie The Social Network will take a stake in one of its rivals and shape its strategy alongside the US advertising agency Specific Media, the Telegraph reports.

Timberlake played the Napster founder Sean Parker in the hit movie The Social Network which told the story of the founding of Facebook, the social network which has enjoyed extraordinary success to the detriment of MySpace, a site originally founded for users to share their musical interests.

The $35 million (€24m) deal is a small fraction of the $580 million that Murdoch’s News Corporation paid for MySpace in 2005 when it was the dominant force in social networking after it was founded in 2003.

Only three years it was still the world’s biggest social networking site but since Mark Zuckerberg founded Facebook, the site has been in decline and is predicted to go out of existence by 2012.

NewsCorp wanted $100 million for the company, but had to settle for significantly less, the Guardian reports.

The deal is expected to see MySpace shed more than half of its 500 jobs. This follows a 30 per cent cut of staff in April 2010 and a further cut of nearly 50 per cent in January of this year. Two years ago, the company employed 1,400 people.

Report: MySpace founder says he cringes at his own page >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute James Dunne
    Favourite James Dunne
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:28 PM

It’s understandable that she would be upset, she loved her father and no doubt misses him. It would be natural for any child to wish to protect the memory and reputation of their parents but the facts do speak for themselves

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:34 PM

Did Doherty not repent of his misdeeds in politics and become a “born again” Christian before he died.?

Mute Marguerite Hoiby
    Favourite Marguerite Hoiby
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:35 PM

He was a ‘yes’ man and that explains how he became Minister of Justice. She can live in denial but he was caught and later admitted what he did, so what’s her problem with the truth???

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:39 PM

What’s most politicians’ problem with the truth, Marguerite?!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:40 PM

As my memory serves Doherty had a lot of work done in and around his Rosscommon home at the taxpayers expense.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:21 PM

I thought the portrayal of Doherty was spot on.

Jan 12th 2015, 12:31 PM

“She said that nothing about that period in Irish politics was portrayed accurately in the programme and said there was no attempt to show the climate of the time.”
    Unfortunate the climate has not changed one little bit since then,my girl.!
    Cronyism and stroke politics is alive and well in Ireland,to this day.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:32 PM

Isn’t it funny how Haughey fell over illegal Garda tapes and Enda is still holding firm – it’s almost like living through life as if Charlie had gotten an overall majority if you think of it that way !
    And if it you look at it that way it makes Labour and Joan Burton et al. look very poor indeed , which I am sure they are not – Optics is very important in politics.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jan 12th 2015, 10:01 PM

Dermot are you seriously suggesting that Kenny is comparable to Haughey?

Mute Gambon
    Favourite Gambon
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:17 PM

The truth always hurts.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:23 PM

He comes across like a Pat Shortt character from Killinaskully..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:25 PM

The law of Ireland says that Sean Doherty facilitated illegal spying on Ireland ….

On a separate point all together what do ye think of people who can give it but can’t take it …..

Mute Gambon
    Favourite Gambon
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:25 PM

They don’t do Brian Lenahan snr. any favours either !!

Mute Gambon
    Favourite Gambon
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:26 PM

They shouldn’t give it Dermot .

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:28 PM

Agreed Gambon – It can open a can of worms – isn’t that what happened to One Pee one time – gave it out and then bang !

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:38 PM

And the truth ishe broke the law and in places would have gone to jail. Sometimes filial piety should be kept to oneself.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:55 PM

Sometimes its traded for reputation that doesn’t exist – but not in Ireland of course !

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:43 PM

Flynn even bragged about it on the Late Late……

Mute Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Favourite Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:47 PM

Do the offspring of Ministers in this country ever end up doing an honest days work in their lives. I see this one is leeching away quite nicely in a council

Mute joanne
    Favourite joanne
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:09 PM

Someone votes for them, she wouldn’t be there if the public in roscommon didn’t vote for her

Mute Marguerite Hoiby
    Favourite Marguerite Hoiby
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:00 PM

you are so right joanne.

Mute Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Favourite Hugh Gordon-Rection
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:33 PM

did she fix your footpath or something?

Mute joanne
    Favourite joanne
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:19 PM

Don’t understand your question? Every public rep whether at council or government level are voted for by the people of this country – that’s a fact she didn’t walk into it without someone voting for her – your comment implied otherwise and is simple nonsense. And I doubt she went out with a shovel and fixed anyone’s footpath.

Mute Mel Healy
    Favourite Mel Healy
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:24 PM

Portraying Doherty was always going to be a bit of a bugger.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:27 PM

Should have learnt from Mary O’Rourke and paid out for a whitewashed biography of PR spin.
    You can’t polish a turd but can probably stick a few sparklers on it as a distraction…

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:38 PM

Yeah, but the stink is always there, Marko!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:22 PM

They’ll be claiming he tapped phones while he was minister for justice next!
    Worst documentary ever!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:26 PM

But sure isn’t it fiction – a drama ..
    I miss Scrap Saturday and I haven’t seen Irish Pictorial Weekly in a while ?
    They say Charlie got rid of Scrap Saturday – and look how Charlie turned out ….

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:00 PM

It’s entertainment based on fact.

Mute Kate Bandia Garry
    Favourite Kate Bandia Garry
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:31 PM

Loosely…read interviews with writer….based on true events but artistic licence used for dramatic effect…so not fact….infacta

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:39 PM

Anything to get on the radio for a bit of PR and maybe now announce she will contest the next election. The truth always hurts.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:29 PM

All a shower of gangsters

Jan 12th 2015, 12:35 PM

Too true, and more of them in Mayo and Roscommon than most places. (Kerry and Tipperary for third and fourth place.?)

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:17 PM

She’s just defending the good name of her dad , however he didn’t have a good name in first place. That’s politics for ya !!!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:29 PM

If any of ye accuse me of anything again I’ll get my young lad to deny I am a bad guy !

Mute Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Favourite Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:24 PM

A serious, bright, intelligent mind…….corrupt as they come

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Favourite Dingle Photographer
    Jan 12th 2015, 3:25 PM

He got a guy arrested by the RUC in Northern Ireland to help out he brother in law ..
    Good God

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:21 PM

An emotive rather than factual response

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:07 PM

Parallels between Doherty’s time and now. Shatter had to resign as Minister for Justice over the Martin Callinhan affair….but do any of us know the real reason ? so let me see who would be Charlies equivalent of deniable culpability……hmmmm

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:26 PM

O’Rourke pointed out that the programme covered factual events from Irish politics in 1982, but Councillor Doherty said, “Regarding events my father was allegedly involved in, first of all I have to say I was 12 years of age and the youngest girl in the house was two and I have no information or any wish to comment on those particular events in my father’s career.”

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:45 PM

You have to be a bit of a gangster to be a politician. I honestly don’t think a 100% straight nice man or woman would get nowhere in politics. Not a member of any party and don’t like any of them but just saying.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:01 AM

Well John as a Politician, I wouldn’t consider myself a gangster but a public servant.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:47 PM

How was an ex Garda allowed to become Minister for Justice?

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:13 PM

I must have missed something but the Dowra incident and the tapping of journalists phones have been established as facts at this stage.

Mute Patrick Lenehan
    Favourite Patrick Lenehan
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:44 PM

Having actually met the man a few times as he was a friend of my fathers, I would not be happy if I was his daughter/son at the portrayal and I feel that the portrayal of him was inaccurate on the whole…….only my opinion !! but I will say one thing…You wouldn’t get too many people in North County Roscommon talking bad of him

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Jan 12th 2015, 4:05 PM

RTE are just as corrupt and devious as any politician.
    Look at what they did to Sean Gallagher on the Presidential election debate, a few years ago. They derailed his campaign live on air with a fake tweet.
    Not a fan of Gallagher by any means or did not vote for him – but very suspect broadcasting standards from RTE.
    They ensured that the presidential candidate they wanted got elected.

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:55 PM

I think they did the country a massive favour in that instance.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:35 PM

Seán is Shawn ,Séan is Shane , why can Irish people, even journalists not get this right ?

not one but two Seán’s got screwed here

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:22 PM

She’s right to be annoyed at the caricaturisation of her father in the series. He comes across as a bumbling bumpkin; he was nothing of the sort.
    Sean Doherty was no angel, but he wasn’t the decision-maker. My abiding memory of him is his courageous outing of haughey on nighthawks, a move that ended haughey’s career and showed him up as a liar.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:14 PM

It’s drama folks!!!