You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí set up checkpoints as Kenneth O'Brien murder investigation intensifies

They are also appealing for members of the public to check their premises.

17/1/2016. Body in Canal Kildare Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

GARDAÍ HAVE SET up in a series of checkpoints as the investigation into the death of Kenneth O’Brien intensifies.

A renewed appeal for information has been issued this evening, and in particular for members of the public living in the area close to where the man’s body was discovered to check for unusual activity.

The body of the 33-year-old Dublin man was discovered in the Grand Canal in the Ardclough area on Saturday, 16 January.

download-322 Garda Press Office Garda Press Office

A statement from gardaí asked those living in the area to check if a room or equipment on their premises was disturbed or in anyway different than when they left.

“Did you as an employee or employer notice anything different in your premises?” the statement read.

It added:

A series of check points will be carried out this evening in the Ardclough area as part of our ongoing investigations where an opportunity will be provided for persons who visit or use the area to meet gardaí and provide information if they so wish.

20/1/2016. Body in Case Murder Gardaí at the home of Kenneth O'Brien. Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Anyone with information is asked to contact the incident room at Leixlip Garda Station 01 666 7800.

Read: Gardaí search for motive in Kenneth O’Brien murder >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:33 PM

Hardly the best idea to tell everyone there will be checkpoints

Mute IrishStoner
    Favourite IrishStoner
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:35 PM

Ye well done Luka Modric telling everybody.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:51 PM

The only reason I would think would be to flush out the rats

Mute Jamie O'Brien
    Favourite Jamie O'Brien
    Jan 22nd 2016, 7:31 PM

Some of the comments here are a bit ill thought out no? The guy died in the worst way possible and the way he was found. Awful. Have a bit of respect. Certainly wouldn’t like it if I was a member of his family or one of his friends and seeing certain comments.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Jan 22nd 2016, 7:51 PM

In fairness,the Garda have a good rate of murder detection..the sheer callousness of the murder and the treatment of the corpse must shock even the most hardened officer..hope they find those responsible..

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jan 22nd 2016, 8:29 PM

Quick question, why is theJournal allowing comments on a high profile ongoing national murder investigation….yet disables same comments in similar murder investigations in other far flung places???? Mad policies it would seem.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:39 PM

Phone records solve most of these modern day murders

Mute Daithi English
    Favourite Daithi English
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:59 PM

I smell a Paul Williams book coming.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:42 PM

Who is Luka modric irishstoner??

Mute Gareth Wogan
    Favourite Gareth Wogan
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:49 PM

Only the best sheriff in all the land

Mute IrishStoner
    Favourite IrishStoner
    Jan 22nd 2016, 7:21 PM

Plays for Real Madrid looks like Gayle Platt and the guy who wrote this article

Jan 22nd 2016, 9:52 PM

lol

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jan 22nd 2016, 6:53 PM

I hope the Garda do have leads and are just keeping them under wraps because this is starting to get embarrassing

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Jan 22nd 2016, 7:28 PM

How embarrassing? I think they have done very good will so little evidence or information so far. Give our gardai some credit.

Jan 22nd 2016, 8:22 PM

It’s only been a week ! Give the gardai a chance .

Mute Stephen McElvaney
    Favourite Stephen McElvaney
    Jan 22nd 2016, 8:04 PM

Manitowoc police dept would have this solved long ago !!

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Jan 22nd 2016, 7:39 PM

A checkpoint!?? Things must be getting really serious if they’re setting up a checkpoint.

Mute Anne Kelly
    Favourite Anne Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2016, 8:12 PM

There seems to be absolute determination to solve this horrendous crime. They HAVE to have info that’s not out in the public domain, but it does’nt appear that it’s any nearer to any real break through.

Mute Jamie O'Brien
    Favourite Jamie O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2016, 12:03 AM

Comments are disabled when it’s going through criminal proceedings i.e. court case I reckon but as it’s not at that stage yet I guess that’s why comments are still open.

Mute Frev Dertt
    Favourite Frev Dertt
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:28 AM

Putin PROBABLY APPROVED this murder.