You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Wire

Bailout exit sees a rise in support for coalition partners

The bailout exit has contributed to a bump in support for the coalition partners according to a new poll.

BOTH GOVERNMENT PARTIES have received a boost in support, according to a new poll printed today.

The Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll shows support for Fine Gael and Labour up by four and three per cent respectively.

This weekend’s exit from the Troika bailout programme has seen support for the parties stabilise, with Fine Gael tightening their grip on their standing as the most supported party in the country, with 30 per cent support.

Labout is up three per cent, but still falls short of ten per cent support, sitting at nine per cent.

Fianna Fáil is unchanged on 22 per cent, while Sinn Féin, which has experienced a torrid month, is down two per cent.

Support for independents and others is down five per cent to 18 per cent.

Approval for how the coalition is running the country is up six per cent to 26 per cent.

Leaders

The good news for Labour leader Eamon Gilmore doesn’t end there, however. His personal satisfaction rating is up four per cent to 19 per cent.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s support is now 33 per cent, up two per cent. Also up two per cent is Kenny’s Fianna Fáil adversary Micheál Martin, who now has a 29 per cent approval rating.

Embattled Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has taken a two per cent hit in his approval rating, down to 27 per cent.

Read: Cabinet meets this morning to consider economic strategy for the next seven years

Read: ‘Give it another push Seán’: All smiles as Christmas tree lights go on at Leinster House

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

122 Comments
    Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Jul 12th 2012, 6:54 PM

Oh my God! Who the hell cares?

Mute Charles Windsor
    Favourite Charles Windsor
    Jul 12th 2012, 6:56 PM

That is what you said before the bust bet you care about politics now!

Mute Dave Looney
    Favourite Dave Looney
    Jul 12th 2012, 6:57 PM

Id say the 17% or so of the electorate who voted for them might care .. Or are you suggesting that a significant proportion of the electorate just be ignored?

Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:01 PM

17% – still can’t belive theres that many Irish people who support this shower. The mess they caused will effect generations of this country and there’s 17% who don’t seem to care and will continue to support them. Boggles the mind.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:17 PM

John McG.

There may by 17% of the electorate that would rob their own mother but 83% would not, for what faults they may have. It is better to look at it that way, too depressing otherwise.

They are really re-arranging deck chairs here. 2 of them don’t even sit in the Dáil and one is not even elected to the Oireachtas.

Like I know I despise FF and all that, but seriously where are u going when you have to give public roles or the likes of Barry Cowen and O’Dea, Browne ot Dimmy Tooley.

The only people that can be considered not overly toxic and some what competent are McGrath, Callery. Troy and McCon. may have a future but nothing proven yet.

A party of tired old greedy men, who have made a fortune out of running the country down and won’t be bothered one bit by what happens to their party now, how can you come back with that.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell

fick·le (f k l). adj.:
    1. Characterized by erratic changeableness or instability, especially with regard to affections or attachments; capricious.
    2. Éamon Ó Cuív.

Mute dominic hoffmeister
    Favourite dominic hoffmeister
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:03 PM

flies will ALWAYS come back to sh*te.

Mute Charles Windsor
    Favourite Charles Windsor

If only all wounds healed as quick as political wounds!

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Jul 12th 2012, 6:57 PM

How is this news?nThe only people who think ff are still relevant are ff?nThey are history for two generations at least!nWe will never forget the destruction they have caused!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:02 PM

Ha! I wouldn’t be too sure about that Niall. I mean look at that crowd of self serving bent bastards we have in power at this time! They’re the mirror image of FF. I can see us voting them back in again pretty soon!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:12 PM

Hate to say it but FG are making FF and SF a more credible option everyday

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:25 PM

Next Govt. will be FG/FF coalition. They are virtually the same politically, both exist to protect the status quo. FG enrich themselves by warping law to suit themselves and friends and are not above corruption, FF do likewise but add on industrial levels of corruption and graft.

Lets face it, if u were a hood on the make in politics, the only party to join was Fianna Fáil, in power more often than not, membership and voters didn’t care what you did.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:34 PM

True Fagan i was just having a bit of a rant.FG are already implimenting FF policy with a lot of help from Labour(pity them come the election.)

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Favourite Thomas Daniel Foy
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:22 AM

@Fagan FG still play Civil War politics. It will not happen. And speaking of memory, people fail to remember the good things FF did for the country. The weeds have been pulled from the flowerbeds within the party and that means FF is as relevant as ever.

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:10 PM

Doesn’t take long to be rehabilitated in FF. In next week’s news, Bertie Ahern re-admitted to the party and Brian Cowen re-elected as party leader. Who needs comedy or satire, when FF take care of it for us!

Mute Eoin Ó Nialláin
    Favourite Eoin Ó Nialláin
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:04 PM

Good to see Charlie in particular getting a large portfolio. A very capable, committed and charismatic person. Hope he gets on well with the job.

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:40 PM

Good to see Charlie McC moving to education. He’ll do a good job I think.
    Niall Collins in Justice will definitely keep Shatter on his toes too!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 12th 2012, 9:11 PM

Collins is clueles!

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Jul 13th 2012, 1:07 AM

Charlie McCreevy is moving to education! Say it ain’t so ..

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:03 AM

@Dexter: Was attempting to be all “How very dare you…” but that’s pretty effin’ clever… 10points!

Mute Shayno ZO
    Favourite Shayno ZO
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:10 PM

They should have put ” how to destroy” in front of all those titles of positions..

Mute Paul O'Grady
    Favourite Paul O'Grady
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:19 PM

Good one

Mute Husky McTusky
    Favourite Husky McTusky
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:07 PM

Deckchairs….. Titanic….

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:11 AM

These people were elected to represent the people who elected them. Are the people who elected them stupid? I would think not, the only stupid ones are those who did not use their vote. Don’t come to the table with problems unless you have solutions, it is getting tiring at this stage

Mute Popsicle Pete
    Favourite Popsicle Pete
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:54 PM

Oh thejournal.ie you do some scathing photos don’t you!

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:11 AM

Indeed… Wonder would thejournal.ie dare to make fun of a SF Deputy like this?
    (They do like their knee-caps I suppose, so probably not… That & they’re, at this point, unapologetically pro-SF)

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:49 PM

Keep your friends close but your enemies closer

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:33 PM

Also quiet hilarious that the Scobe in Chief Martin, knows that he cannot name a deputy, as his own position is unstable. He is tolerated, rather than respected by his colleagues at this stage.

Give someone a deputy role and he could lay the ground for a heave. Hard to see him make 2014 either way.

Mute Donnacha Maguire
    Favourite Donnacha Maguire
    Jul 13th 2012, 12:52 PM

Fagan, you are delusional! FF historically never had a deputy leader until the mid 1990′s. MM is reverting back to tradition and allowing each of the paarty’s TD’s take part in Leader’s Questions on a Wednesday.

There will be no heave against MM. The PP back him, the Ard Chomhairle back him, the Ard Fheis backed him when he was elected unopposed as Uachtaráin Fhianna Fáil and the party membership back him.

Now Fagan, I know you will dispute all of this but that’s to be expected from a troll like you!

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:01 PM

Fianna Fail – The Men’s Party.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jul 12th 2012, 9:55 PM

Men admit when they got it wrong. Unlike micheal ‘I don’t accept that’ martin, Brian ‘it was the markets fault’ Cowen, and Bertie ‘I’m the victim of a witchhunt’ Ahern.

Mute Donnacha Maguire
    Favourite Donnacha Maguire
    Jul 13th 2012, 12:49 PM

Eh FF have no female TD’s. The people decided that!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:16 PM

What a picture of the man who doesn’t know how to spell his own surname properly!

Mute Paul O'Grady
    Favourite Paul O'Grady
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:18 PM

There really is ‘one for everybody in the audience’!

Whose the spokesman for hopping on the reelection bandwagon (probably Dara Calleary) or the spokesman for hypocritical comments about the government’s handling of the country’s finances???

Mute maura
    Favourite maura
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:29 PM

Oh that has to be Michael himself. Sure he was not there the night of the guarantee or was he!!!. Maybe he was in Europe not that he went there often. Possible he dreamt of the whole think I often wonder what with his comments in the Dail.

Mute Derry Obrien
    Favourite Derry Obrien
    Jul 12th 2012, 11:35 PM

Did anyone think of the progress we made under f f look at the trans ,port system we have looked after me an old pensioner eaten bread is soon forgetten

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Jul 12th 2012, 9:28 PM

Their front bench is, err, everyone. O’ Cuiv, what a spoofer, talking like a left-winger during the treaty campaign, now he’s back in the fold for another slice of the pie. Sickening anyone could vote for this joker.

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Jul 12th 2012, 10:33 PM

Pathetic! They’re a joke! Same old tired boring failed politicians.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Jul 12th 2012, 8:50 PM

Who really cares when they had power they failed to rein in those who abused there positions to line their own pockets at the expense of the rest of us so the sooner ff disappear into oblivion the better

Mute James Lawless
    Favourite James Lawless
    Jul 13th 2012, 6:41 AM

@Fagans I see your account is suspended on Twitter. Why is that then?!

Mute Ciaran Bolger
    Favourite Ciaran Bolger
    Jul 13th 2012, 8:34 AM

Normally when a twitter account is suspended on twitter is because it is a fake account ?

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:05 PM

Comparing the Orange Order to the KKK and having it RT’d by a East Belfast Loyalist gets the job done very quickly.

Mute Páid Ó Donnchú
    Favourite Páid Ó Donnchú
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:08 PM

Ah Lads, lads, lads, lads, lads….

Mute Mark Salmon
    Favourite Mark Salmon
    Jul 12th 2012, 10:08 PM

That one picture sums up perfectly all that is wrong with Irish politics.

Mute Darren Delaney
    Favourite Darren Delaney
    Jul 12th 2012, 7:00 PM

Meh!!!!

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Jul 12th 2012, 10:44 PM

Agriculture, oh I bet we’ll be seeing LOADS of O’Cuív now…..

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Jul 13th 2012, 1:09 AM

Please no!

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:25 AM

Emma. You have to understand it from the FF mindset, that is one vote, they couldn’t give a toss what he had done. It’s a vote, that is all that matters to them.

Mute Austin Tiernan
    Favourite Austin Tiernan
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:22 AM

He must be the only man that can get caught sleeping on the job and not get the sack. Joke

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:25 AM

Who? The front bench is obviously acceptable to the people because if they weren’t, they actually would have been sacked. That, my friend, is the concept of democracy

Mute Emma-Jane Dempsey
    Favourite Emma-Jane Dempsey
    Jul 13th 2012, 9:53 AM

@Thomas Daniel Foy god that’s a terrible attitude so if I know something bad is happening but I’m not strong enough to solve the issue because I’m too personally involved, then I shouldn’t have the rift to highlight it??? That is just stupid, what are whistle blowers then? People don’t look to them for solutions. That being said my solution is to inform people of a pedophile protector in our midst and what that pedophile did was not fun at all I can bloody tell you. I was there. I am saying it in interviews and everything. Spreading the word if you will.

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Jul 13th 2012, 2:16 PM

what attitude is that now? i made no mention to your problem with o feaghriall. the people trusted the man, i assume this was in the public domain in 2011. i am not saying that makes it right, but he got the approval of the people to sit in the dail, and the people are the only performance rating our td’s get.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jul 13th 2012, 1:59 PM

Thanks be to God. It’s a miracle. I was praying for him. :)

Mute Emma-Jane Dempsey
    Favourite Emma-Jane Dempsey
    Jul 14th 2012, 9:57 AM

Dude you’re an idiot. So pedophile protects should be gov? Obviously bot enough people know and unlike certain people on here I’m not just sitting on my ass and letting it happen. I wrote a book to show people what child molestation is really like and how evil it is, in the Pr I’m mentioning the S o’f thing so people will realise he protected a man who rapes children. At least maybe now people will figure this out and run him. Chief whip my ass. Thanks for the support you &@&/6:)2@-63?/7