You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

The Bank of Ireland is moving in the right direction on mortgages

The bank has made cuts to its fixed-rate mortgages.

AFTER WEEKS OF protracted discussions between the Irish banking sector and the government, the Bank of Ireland has announced that it will be cutting its fixed mortgage interest rate by 0.3%.

This will impact on both new and existing customers and will see fixed rates offered from 3.60%. The bank has said that this reduction is down to the reduced cost of term debt.

While the move will no doubt be welcome, the bank’s Standard Variable Rate (SVR) remains the same.

Ongoing dispute 

This follows on from Finance Minister Michael Noonan stating last week that the country’s six main banks could face a penal levy if they continued to refuse to cut their mortgage rates.

They had been heavily criticised for maintaining mortgage rates that were out of step with the record low eurozone borrowing costs currently available.

The Minister said that he had secured an agreement from the banks to review their variable rates and come back with options and products to assist home owners by the beginning of July.

The current SVR in Ireland is around 4.2% – almost twice as high as the European average.

How will customers be affected? 

The new fixed-rate mortgage packages will see cuts made across a variety of products for customers.

The bank has said that 50% of its new customers are now taking out fixed-rate mortgages.

table of fixed rate cuts How the mortgage rate cuts will impact on customers

Speaking about the cuts in the rates, Head of Mortgages with the Bank of Ireland, Aine McCleary, said, “this is the second mortgage rate cut from Bank of Ireland this year. In January we communicated with our variable rate customers advising them of our new rate offers, and we will be doing so again.”

We are building on the significant momentum underway in meeting the needs of Bank of Ireland’s existing and new mortgage customers. Our €2 billion mortgage fund that we launched last year is now fully subscribed and earlier this year we launched a further €2.5 billion fund to meet customer demand for new mortgages.

Read: The Central Bank’s new mortgage rules are slowing lending to house-buyers in a MAJOR way

Also: What happens to you if your landlord doesn’t pay their mortgage?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

56 Comments
    Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    May 29th 2015, 7:58 PM

Comments are closed on 3 or your last 8 articles.

Not trying to be rude, but the reason I read the Journal is the comments section. I enjoy the banter and diversity of opinion and very often I learn more from reading the comments than the article itself. Without interaction between your readers you become an average (at best) news site.

Readers comments are what make the Journal. You however, appear to be doing a damn good job of trying to make sure that’s no longer the case :-(

cp
    Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    May 29th 2015, 8:07 PM

Couldn’t agree more!!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    May 29th 2015, 8:11 PM

editorial bias in the journal never haa haaa haaa
    don’t forget the political editor hugh is a card carrying member of fg, take a look at his reporting from the last fg ard fheis, lets just say 1 direction were embarassed

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 29th 2015, 9:08 PM

I could not agree more also. The comments section IS the Journal.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    May 29th 2015, 9:32 PM

Agreed

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 7:54 PM

Thanks Catherine Murphy !

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 29th 2015, 9:11 PM

Catherine Murphy, one of about 3 or 4 TDs worth their salt.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 9:39 PM

Catherine the Great …. Ivan – sorry I got your name wrong last evening – no insult intended I hold you both in equal high esteem !

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 29th 2015, 10:07 PM

That’s terrible.
    Denis the Menace!

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    May 29th 2015, 7:58 PM

Will drink to Catherine Murphy’s good health tonight.

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    May 29th 2015, 8:09 PM

Journal staff are having to work overtime this weekend to delete all the DOB comments lol

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 9:08 PM

Judge Donald Binchy – he gave the injunction ….

DONALD BINCHY – Must remember that name !

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    May 30th 2015, 12:34 AM

Inchy Binchy sciver……sorted!!

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 29th 2015, 8:04 PM

Might as well just close comments lads… It’s not going to stop. People are getting p!ssed off at this absolute tripe in the country now at this stage..

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 29th 2015, 9:09 PM

Beyond p!ssed off.

As for my taxes paying for Dinnys loans…… SICK!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 29th 2015, 10:06 PM

Bloody Denis O’Brien!

cp
    Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    May 30th 2015, 1:07 AM

Blood boiling stuff!!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    May 29th 2015, 8:05 PM

The journal gagged their own readers.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 29th 2015, 8:07 PM

Oh and Catherine Murphy is the most refreshing aspect of politics in this country since I don’t even know when. Cannot praise her dedication enough.

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 29th 2015, 8:10 PM

She is truly the peoples hero

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 8:17 PM

Wait till Ming comes back from Europe …that’s when the craic will start !
    110,000 turf-cutters and their friends and relation marching on Dublin with sleans is not something that would keep a Public Order Unit Cop’s underpants clean – and that is a fact !

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    May 29th 2015, 8:09 PM

Q: What’s the Journal without comments?

A: Mostly bad opinion pieces, lazy written stories with mistakes quite a lot of the time and copypasta from other, well written news sites.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 8:20 PM

I’ve had many a battle with the Journal but in fairness without it where would we be – it was vital in the Irish Water campaign and for that it has my blessing …

Simple people fear the law because of our History – those days are gone now …

I wonder how many meters went in in Tuam today – there’s a right battle going on down there I hear – last weekend at any rate -
    !
    Go on the Tuam – You owe Eire for what you buried in Tuam !

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    May 29th 2015, 8:18 PM

Denis O Brien’s injunction won’t stop us commenting, all of this intimidation will make people more determined not to pay water charges.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 29th 2015, 9:10 PM

I will never pay….. these crook will not profit when I shower my children.

FG you are some shower of betraying yes men.

Mute Lezlie Ferguson
    Favourite Lezlie Ferguson
    May 30th 2015, 3:34 AM

Here what O Brian dose not what u to here.

https://www.facebook.com/IrishMediaAlliance/videos/488082461338945/

Mute Lezlie Ferguson
    Favourite Lezlie Ferguson
    May 30th 2015, 3:37 AM
    May 29th 2015, 9:22 PM

An the gov is moving in the same direction as FIFA.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 29th 2015, 9:48 PM

Indeed…with just as much blatter.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    May 29th 2015, 8:49 PM

Rumour has it BoI delisted from NYSE and are preparing for euro collapse?….

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 8:52 PM

Slalry collapse at any rate – can’t draw a salary in jail …

And don’t run lads – if ye run there will be no jail and ye know it – your dreams are building I hear !

Mute Pearse Connolly Ireland
    Favourite Pearse Connolly Ireland
    May 29th 2015, 8:59 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 29th 2015, 9:19 PM

Holy crap! Pearse.

May 29th 2015, 9:35 PM

There’s something very strange going on Al Ca, if the MSM in this country wasn’t controlled by Bilderberg O’Brien, they would be all over this.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 9:45 PM

Michael D. signed it on Christmas Eve – and it was he who was Minister who signed the Bog closures …….

This law seems open to constitutional challenge as it seems discriminatory by naming one company – according to want is contained in the link above ..

May 29th 2015, 9:58 PM

Legislation relating to IW signed off by the same parasite on Christmas day!! Bogs, water etc etc, it’s all down to the implementation of UN agenda 21, scary stuff and worth farther research… http://news-beacon-ireland.info/?p=15675

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 29th 2015, 10:10 PM

Christmas is a time for doing sneaky stuff when the media have pre-organised their print run for the holidays.
    Like burning €500 million of taxpayers money for a bond sold that day(23rd Dec) and have no one report it…or like you say sign IW into being on Christmas day…and lots of other stuff that would usually create a newsworthy piece.
    You could even use the wall to wall coverage of the SSM Yes vote to burn another €500 million of taxpayers money when no one was looking.
    In fact, you can burn/delete about €2 billion a year of taxpayers money for the next 40 years and it won’t get a single headline in any of the media…….because it might upset the hard pressed taxpayer…and you wouldn’t want to upset hard pressed taxpayers….so I suppose the Government think of it as mercy deletion when it’s done on the quiet.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 10:10 PM

Michael D. – and he refused to recognise God when he took the Oath !
    He kept his trap shut on Shannon as well /…

Eire is finished with him !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 10:27 PM

Al
    I have always what they were up to when they filled the papers with that story about the drug Mules – one Girl from Northern Ireland and the other from Scotland ….
    while at the same time we heard that two Irish Citizens were walking around A\thlone having “escaped” from such a prison ….
    Talk about a non-story making headlines !

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    May 29th 2015, 10:56 PM

It’s not a rumour.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    May 29th 2015, 9:43 PM

Boycott O’Brien and FG because between them there’ll soon be no freedom of choice as well as no freedom of speech.

Mute Chris Bruton
    Favourite Chris Bruton
    May 29th 2015, 8:19 PM

It’s just ‘Bank of Ireland’ – not The… I hate when people add in a ‘The’ for no reason. The Family Guy. The Pink Floyd.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    May 29th 2015, 8:25 PM

There is tablets for that.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 29th 2015, 8:26 PM

Weren’t a fan of The The then.

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    May 29th 2015, 9:01 PM

How does said court injunction work. if people bad mouth me in the pub, can i get an injunction against them to not publish conversation?

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 29th 2015, 9:04 PM

Barney, that’s conjecture. Can you prove there was badmouthing?

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    May 29th 2015, 9:46 PM

Does it matter whether their opinion is conjecture or based on solid information?, it will damage my reputation so i tell the judge that. Presume judge has to take my word for it until other party presents evidence to prove otherwise.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 29th 2015, 9:51 PM

Or perhaps the Judge will take your word because your buddy gave him the job.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    May 29th 2015, 8:25 PM

the chris me too.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    May 29th 2015, 10:57 PM

Catherine the Great

Mute Chris Bruton
    Favourite Chris Bruton
    May 29th 2015, 11:02 PM

Give it a rest, Popeye.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 30th 2015, 12:56 AM

What’s Popeye doing to you Chris ?

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 29th 2015, 10:28 PM

It’s like the Fourth Reich has gone full-blown !

Mute Paul McCann
    Favourite Paul McCann
    May 30th 2015, 11:40 AM