You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Father makes emotional appeal to find son's killer: 'Why did they do that to Mark? He was harmless'

The remains of Mark Burke were found at Thornton’s Recycling facility in July 2014.

MARK BURKE WAS last seen in Dun Laoghaire at 2pm on 28 July 2014, his remains appeared on a skip in a Ballyfermot recycling centre three days later.

His father, Noel Burke, has made an emotional appeal to the public to help find his son’s killers who have not been brought to justice.

Speaking on Liveline, Burke described how, “Mark was a lovely boy, he grew up and never gave me any bother, went to work and everything.

“He was a normal young fellow but he just closed the curtains one day. Mark has seven beautiful children and a partner that would have him back tomorrow.

He suffered from depression, he just closed the curtains and started drinking. We had him in everywhere … he wouldn’t talk to any psychiatrist.

“He became homeless when he was around 30 – he wasn’t the Mark that we knew, that we raised.”

Burke added that his son was “known to gardaí but for nothing bad … for robbing cans or not paying on the Luas”.

Mark wasn’t involved in any criminality, he was a nuisance more than anything else.

Gentle Giant

“[There was] something was in the back of my brain that I hadn’t seen him so I went out to look for him.”

Burke said that it wouldn’t be unusual for Mark to go missing for weeks on end but he became concerned when he heard about the reports.

“It came up on Crimecall, the remains of a man aged between 30-50. It said the normal things to identify Mark, like his hands or his teeth weren’t there.”

Burke said he knew it was Mark when he heard that the man found at Thorntons recycling facility had had brain surgery.

It was the brain thing … because of his height and because Mark had surgery.

“I went down to the gardaí and asked them if they’d check the remains, they took a swab from his mother and it was Mark.”

Mark had received brain surgery after he was badly beaten, Burke said his son was regularly beaten but never spoke about it.

Although Mark was six foot, he wouldn’t be able to defend himself, his mind wasn’t in the right pace.

“He was too afraid to speak out – he was a gentle giant yah know.”

‘It never leaves you’

In an emotional appeal for information about his son’s murder, Noel said:

“It never leaves you … you can’t even get half an hour. ‘What if, why did they do that to Mark? He was harmless’.

Burke described how the killers poured acid like a strong vinegar on Mark to cover up any smell, adding:

This person or persons have to be caught because they will do it again, whoever it is.

“I just plead with anyone around Dun Laoghaire – did they see him or hear of anything?”

RTÉ Radio 1 / SoundCloud

Read: Four-year-old British boy drowns in pool on holiday in Spain>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:17 PM

Imagine PBP and SF in government together? We can only hope they’d fall apart before the place went up in flames.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:44 PM

@honey badger: beyond comedy, not a brain cell between them

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:12 PM

@honey badger: FG promising to help the hospitality sector when they just shafted it in the recent budget. And FF promising to enact the Occupied Territories Bill when they’ve stalled it for the last 5 years. But tell me again how it’s all Sinn Féin’s fault!!!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:36 PM

@Anthony Curran: The hospitality sector shafted itself. They didn’t pass on the reduction in Vat to the customer did they? But they were very quick to pass on in increase when the Vat went back to where it should be. I’ve no sympathy for them.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:47 PM

@Anthony Curran: FG wants us now to believe it FF to blame for not reducing the vat rate to 9%, the mud slinging and the blame game has started interesting 21 days ahead.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:51 PM

@Anthony Curran: SF/PIRA killed the tourist and hospitality sector in NI and the border counties for four decades. That was justified until Adams and McGuinness became MLA and took the Queen’s shilling.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 8:50 PM

@Vincent Alexander: Vincent, that time is long ago, this time is now. Do you need me to explain it again Vincent?

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:43 AM

@Vincent Alexander: nothing turns as quick as a shinner for the queens shilling lol

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:44 AM

@Anthony Curran: why are there so many pedos in SF?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:04 PM
    Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 1:06 AM

@honey badger: truly harrowing. Bring back internment for the shinners. Cage the animals

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:16 PM

Ms McDonald has insulted to Irish electorate by allowing the back room boys from up North to send down Donnelly ( aka O’Donnghaile ) as leader of The Seanad and Hughes ( “The Surgeon” ) from SouthArmagh to revive SF in Laois. She is a front for a Northern Ireland party.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:45 PM

@Vincent Alexander: SF are a British party we all know that, not a single vote or transfer should they get. Vile

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:09 PM

@Vincent Alexander: I think it’s pretty insulting of FFG to be promising lowering the hospitality VAT rate and promising to enact the Occupied Territories Bill when they’ve just f..ked the hospitality sector in the budget a couple of weeks ago and let the Bill gather dust for the last 5 years! Who do they think they’re kidding?!!!

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:01 PM

@Anthony Curran: 30 years of PIRA terrorism killed the hospitality sector in the North and border counties for four decades.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:17 PM

@Vincent Alexander: The Brits killed the Irish for over 800 yrs.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 8:32 PM

@Vincent Alexander: When all you have in reply is but but but….the ra, it’s probably better to say nothing Vinny!

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:45 AM

@Anthony Curran: it’s insulting that SF say they care about child protection while protecting subhuman pedos

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:47 AM

@Anthony Curran: time to bring back internment for the shinner vermin, a cage has always been the best place for a shinner. Would you leave your child alone with a shinner?

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:07 PM

Keeping Ireland on its upward trajectory is best assured by it being in the hands of either FG or FF who have a proven record rather than dangerous leftist experimentation with has proven disastrous outcomes in many countries.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:14 PM

Oh yeah those disastrous lefties in Norway have really up-ended the place. They even had the nerve to use their own natural resources to benefit it’s own people. We CANNOT let the crazy left stand up to the corporate interests that are so dear to the hearts of FFGers like Tom here

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:31 PM

@thomas molloy: thankfully the looney left are for laughing at lol

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:32 PM

@Darth O’Leary: are you suggesting we should have never entered the EU, do you also do stand up lol

Mute David Plant
    Favourite David Plant
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:35 PM

@Darth O’Leary: yea and like Venezuela , oh…….

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:38 PM

@Darth O’Leary: have you been to Norway, the cost of living there is far higher than Ireland

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:45 PM

@thomas molloy: health system – failed. Housing – failed. Transport – failed, protection of children – failed, I could go on and for hours about the Failures of Fg and FF.

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:46 PM

@thomas molloy: ah yeah, did us real well in 2007 and since

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: it did actually, Europe’s bailed us out for silly over borrowing by the underclasses

Mute Emmet Noonan
    Favourite Emmet Noonan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:17 PM

@thomas molloy: Is that you Me Hole? loved your PR stunt the other day especially giving a couple of quid to the homeless immigrant lol

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:25 PM

@Ger Whelan: You must still be dependent on RTÉ for cancelled version of world news. Get a satellite dish and try real news. Also the world is not flat.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:28 PM

@Liam23: Their wages are also far higher than Ireland. The difference between incoming outgoings allow Norwegian workers a far superior lifestyle to Ireland. The cost of a pint shouldn’t be the standard by which you calculate successful economies.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:42 PM

@thomas molloy: Don’t need RTE to tell me anything about what I just said. Care to tell me how anything I said is wrong?. Come on Thomas please correct me in what I said was wrong and give examples?.

Mute Caoimhin O'Connor
    Favourite Caoimhin O'Connor
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:53 PM

@thomas molloy: a proven track of being terrible

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:23 PM

@thomas molloy: ff bankrupted the country in 2008 funny how all you ff followers forget about that,,

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:39 PM

@Ger Whelan: Are you suggesting we vote SF on their record of child protection?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:04 PM

@Vincent Alexander: Where did I say to Vote for SF. But while you’re talking about child protection go look at how many children that were in the care of our government under Tulsa that were missing and how many haven’t been found. So clearly you won’t for Fg or FF or the greens if child protection is all you consider.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:05 PM

@james rowan: Do you not believe Mehole, according to him we never bailed out the banks. Then FF forget a lot of what said, collective amnesia.

Mute Lefty Cries
    Favourite Lefty Cries
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:08 PM

@Darth O’Leary: did you get a plastic toy in your cornflakes? lol

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:09 PM

@thomas molloy: A proven record of what exactly ?

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:17 PM

@james rowan: The world wide financial crisis nearly wiped out our banking systems but Brian Lenehan FF refinanced the banks and saved our economy. His strategy was admired and copied internationally. It was pressure from the left that encouraged reckless banking practices, lend everyone a million’ don’t be stingy which created the credit bubble.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:21 PM

@Paul M Doe: except it wasn’t the underclasses. If you had even a close to adequate education you’d know this.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Nov 9th 2024, 8:03 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Denmark also a really terrible lefties place…

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Nov 9th 2024, 10:45 PM

@thomas molloy: not sure about that it was ff poor enforcement of banks that caused the crash so don’t think they have the answers

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:35 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: oh it certainly was the underclasses Mary and Pat in the council house off skiing on borrowed money

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:36 AM

@thomas molloy: the haters won’t like facts

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Liam23: true but the people are not struggling to survive like we are. They don’t have to pay banks from all across Europe for the European crash and not just our own! We are paying for 42% of the total losses of banks not just the ones we cost.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:23 PM

@Paul M Doe: Actually we are paying 42% of all the banks losses across Europe and it has nothing to do with the underclasses. But it was the greedy builders and developers and banks that caused the crash!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:24 PM

@Paul Linehan: It should be in you measure your wages in pint equity. How many pin ts does my take home pay buy me.
    Another win for Norway!!!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 14th 2024, 6:27 PM

@thomas molloy: It had nothing to do with the left. We were hung out to dry by the IMF and EU.
    Conor Lenihan was a great politician and a lovely person, but he was never in a million years a Minister for Finance. he was put there to make him struggle and look bad!

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:24 PM

Why are we inflicted with posters of Haircut Harris when he’s not even standing in our area??
    This practice should be banned.
    Also FF & FG posters on ESB poles which is totally illegal!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:33 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: i see Sinn Fein Posters on ESB poles why are you nit picking they all do it

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:39 PM

@Sheila McNulty: Not in my area yet! Too hard for you to comprehend???

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:43 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: he is the wonderful leader of our booming country :)

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Sheila McNulty: seen a few SF posters defaced :)

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Paul M Doe: WAS!!!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:41 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: so if not in your area its not happening Wise up

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:51 PM

@Sheila McNulty: I am just speaking fact!! What I have seen. Not what might happen. Just go back into your FF/FG corner!!

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:36 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: is and will be for the next decade :)

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:16 PM

The Greens, PBP, Labour wiped out. Irish people do not support Communists. Sinn Féin on life support. Was not going to vote but will vote Aontu as the best of a bad lot.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:44 PM

@Dan Murphy: SF are beyond life support, pull the plug lol

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan

@Dan Murphy: Aontu? The party that still thinks it’s the 19th century?

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:53 PM

@Ger Whelan: surely it’s time for a public enquiry into SF and it’s treatment of kids

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Paul M Doe: it sure is buddy. You seem to think I care about the SF party. I do not. But while having an public enquiry into SF can we also have a Public enquiry into the 3 parties who are in government to explain how so many kids went missing from social services under their term in government. Go look at how many kids they lost and more shockingly how many they haven’t actually found. All our political parties should be held accountable don’t you think?

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:24 PM

@Dan Murphy: You haven’t a fkin clue what a communist is if you think Greens, PBP and Labour fall into that category. Eejit.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:12 PM

@Ian:
    It’s trump style dumbing down of the voters, hopefully we are better educated than that.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:02 PM

@Dan Murphy: Their posters are the best, misshapen heads and bucked teeth… “believer” types lmao

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:38 AM

@Ger Whelan: cool story bro

Mute Lefty Cries
    Favourite Lefty Cries
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:03 PM

Sickening to see Fianna Fail posters defaced obviously SF are behind this

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 9th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Lefty Cries: Hilarious listening to Dolittle talking about Democracy, when he trampled all over our Democracy in the Votegate scandal in the Dail.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:04 PM

Serious questions remain from SF, who authorised the moving of that POS from NI to this country, not only move him here but put him in a position in the Seanad, guess what position?

Mute Lefty Cries
    Favourite Lefty Cries
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:20 PM

FG are awesome

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:09 PM

Its unbelievable how try can lie with a straight face

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:42 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: that’s lefties for you

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:09 PM

@Paul M Doe:
    That’s ALL politicians for you, it’s an essential part of the job

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:24 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: Do you want to try that again in English?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:03 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: When there is no definition of what the ‘truth’ is then everything’s a lie.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:16 PM

@Paul M Doe: No, just politicians. The GP are even more affected because they were spoilt by getting their own way the whole time due to the fear that FF and FG have of SF. But once the election was called anyway and the Dail dissolved, FF and FG have no further need of them, and they are now throwing the rattler out of the pram.

Mute Kush OMeara
    Favourite Kush OMeara
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:53 PM

I don’t even have to sleep anymore – dreams and promises flying thick and fast from every direction

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:05 PM

Still looking for civilized political party who doesn’t support Palestinian and Hezbollah terrorists. Supporting Islamists will invite them into Ireland in huge numbers – you like and support us – so here we are! With such madness around there is no question wether Ireland will become an islamic country it’s about after how many years! Politicians who supporting this often have no children due to sexual orientation so they don’t really care about fundamental things – just to stay in power for some time in order to grab enormous salary/pension.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:27 PM

@Sergej Simonov: You should probably fk off to the airport and find somewhere else to live. Decent Irish people don’t support Hamas or Hezbollah or any of those terrorists but support the ordinary Palestinian people and their right to exist withiut being slaughtered and to have a homeland of their own.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:36 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Oh do one you apologist for genocide. Ireland suffered from ethnic cleansing and genocide. That’s why we side with the Palestinian people. It’s nothing to do with religion. It’s everything to do with Zionist white supremacism. Free Palestine x

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely

@Ian: well said comrade.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:14 PM

@Ian: Ordinary Palestinian teaching their children hatred and terrorism/jihad in crèches. 99.9% of Palestinians support terrorists – otherwise they will be murdered on the spot!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:55 PM

@Sergej Simonov: The Israelis have literally been teaching their kids that Palestinians are less than human and to be exterminated. See the last 76 years of Palestinian extermination.

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:28 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Go away little man.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Do one we don’t need any of your crap

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:28 PM

@Ian: Just Google birth rate in Gaza! They breed faster than any other nation getting everything for free from Israel and other countries! Better tell wat Palestinians produce except born terrorists, hostage takers, tunnel diggers…?! That is why they go to work in Israel because there is nothing at home but conveyer producing terrorists.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 9:01 PM

@Sergej Simonov: That’s what Paisley used to say about Catholics

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:51 AM

@Anthony Curran: SF/IRA have a long history of genocide. Absolute subhumans

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:52 AM

@Anthony Curran: he was on about subhuman provos and he was right :)

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:13 PM

FG FF GP have shown nothing but contempt and arrogance to the Irish people during the term of the outgoing Government . They’ve been concerned only with looking after Ukrainian refugees and asylum seekers . I wish we had a Government that put Irish people first in their own country .

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:24 PM

@Jim Ryan: jaysus you’re full of if.

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:01 PM

@Ian: Point out what I wrote that isn’t true .

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:22 PM

@Jim Ryan: put the Irish people first in their own country. Yet you’ll be the first to discriminate against the Irish LGBTQ community. Sure no double standards from you is there?

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:48 AM

@Jim Ryan: your first mistake is alway breathing lol

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:09 PM

So MM thinks the Occupied Territories Bill is important and should be prioritised by the next government. Fair enough. Remind me again who has consistently used a money message technicality to block the enactment of this Bill that has already passed both houses? Same fella! You’d have to be stupid to believe him again this time

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:31 PM

@Darth O’Leary: maybe go check facts before u comment, its a big deal from an Irish Government but it has to be exactly right (which most Irish people want) or we will end up like France where it was rejected, it can’t be pushed through on a whim,

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Sheila McNulty: They’ve had 6 years Sheila. 6 years. They’re more afraid of upsetting the American genocide enablers. If they cared about the Palestinian people who have been slaughtered like animals in an abattoir, then this Bill would have been law a long time ago. F… Zionism. Free Palestine.

Mute Lefty Cries
    Favourite Lefty Cries
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:45 PM

@Darth O’Leary: not bread and butter issues, you are obviously well off and nothing to pay for

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:38 PM

@Lefty Cries: Some leap you’re making there. All the same rich or poor we’re all able to care about more than one thing…

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:41 AM

@Anthony Curran: Israel are doing a wonderful job, I couldn’t be happier, long may it continue :)

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:04 PM

If a party has been in power for four years (or more) and is making promises on the eve of an election which they’ve already had ample time to implement it really gives the impression of a snake oil salesman.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:31 PM

FG are the runation of this beautiful country imported freeloaders exported educated talented youth, who will never buy a house in Ireland and sold off all our assets for no return and there business buddies getting fatter by the day, I plead with the people do not vote for a shower who think a bike shed at 360k plus vat is value for money please cop on at the ballot box

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:48 AM

@N D K: FG are the best thing to ever happen this wonderful country :)

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Nov 10th 2024, 3:28 PM

@N D K: I tried google Translate,but it still made no sense , possi lyrics a smattering of commas and full stops might help

Mute Finn Swift
    Favourite Finn Swift
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:38 PM

FG just completed the budget, why did they not do it then? Unless……. it’s electioneering and they’re not actually going to do it.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Finn Swift: Oh my God Finn, you mean to say you think FG are telling porkies? Well…I for one am shocked. Shocked I tells ya, shocked!!

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:49 AM

@Anthony Curran: are SF telling porkies about their reasons for covering up for pedos?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:43 PM

Paul Murphy demanding other parties commit to a left wing government. That gave me a chuckle

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe

@Ger Whelan: he thinks he leads a political party lol

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:57 PM

@Paul M Doe: can’t wait for his programme for government :D

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:47 PM

They had their chance to reduce hospitality vat rate to 9% in Budget 2025 but they didn’t, So how come they are able to drop it to 11% in an election bluff to get back in and ride the taxpayer further.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:02 PM

Paul Murphy is right on this occasion… MLM has missed a trick here. The best chance SF has for a successful election here is to offer the electorate an alternative to FFG with a left coalition. The amount of apathy and the sense of resignation around this election already is staggering. In the past people flip flopped between FF and FG, believing they were voting for change or giving the government of the day a kick up the backside. Since they’ve essentially amalgamated this is no longer possible.. SF can’t afford to be stuck in no man’s land here, it’s a weak position to hold and will be read as such by the electorate. And sure just like MM before the last election.. she can always lie about it… doesn’t seem to have him any harm with the electorate.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:05 PM

@Brian: you lost the room with… Paul Murphy’s is right lol

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:11 PM

@Paul M Doe: you lost the room a long, long time ago. In fact, you have never had the room

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:31 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Bit harsh Kevin. Dodo head has a room. It’s just Sinn Féin are in it with him.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:45 PM

@Kevin Kerr: The mute button is a wonderful thing Kevin.. I count 8 different iterations of DumbDoes accounts I’ve muted now.. he just keeps following me around like a little puppy desperate for my attention.. The only thing you can do with these trolls is deny them the thing they crave the most.. attention.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:51 PM

@Kevin Kerr: is because of the housing shortage, maybe he could use a tent.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr

@Brian: sound advice

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 1:04 AM

@Anthony Curran: I don’t associate with pedos unlike you

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 1:05 AM

@Brian: exposing SF vermin is gods work, only god can judge me

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:23 PM

If only he was in government now,he could have implemented these brilliant plans…Ooh hold on..

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Nov 9th 2024, 4:17 PM

Why is it not in the public domain that I Gorman was caught on video breaking the law been helped by the guards to break same law by sticking up his unwanted posters well before it was called bet he ll get away with it

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 10th 2024, 1:06 AM

@liam ward: who says they are unwanted?

Mute Alan Boyd
    Favourite Alan Boyd
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:19 PM

And their off the promises the sun moon and star! Im bored already! ho hum!!!

Mute Owen Mc
    Favourite Owen Mc
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:30 PM

This is ridiculous, these Parties are just playing around with Policies and Politics to grab headlines. FG have been in Power and despite the calls to lower the VAT Rate, they did nothing by claiming it would create too much of a loss for the Exchequer, what’s changed over 24 hours. As well as that, lowering the VAT Rate will do nothing to help the Finances of the hard pressed Buisness, as it will save them nothing, it just means Businesses will take less VAT from their Customers to pass on to the Exchequer. Instead why not give the help where it counts, give a VAT Exemption on say the first €100K of Turnover, Reduce Employers PRSI, take the VAT charged on Electricity, Gas and Heating Fuel down to 5%, and cut Rates by 50%. Measures such as these would give real savings to Businesses.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Owen Mc: U must be in Buisness so

Mute Balloon Boy
    Favourite Balloon Boy
    Nov 9th 2024, 7:55 PM

Would prefer a left alliance, and FFFG out of the picture. But push comes to shove, I would be happy with whatever puts O Broin in charge of housing.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 9:20 PM

@Balloon Boy: Hear hear.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 9th 2024, 5:16 PM

I despise the Greens & ROG, but as much as I do, I have to admit they are correct about Fianna Fail, a party & a leader who would get into bed with Idi Amin, just to be in power. I believe in Retrofitting, Environment, Recycling, Biodiversity but lost all belief in this Green Party who forgot all that, did fuk all to help & incentivize working families & lost the people with their concentration on their Woke agenda. Ideally both parties would be wiped out in this election. But unfortunately people vote FF because their father & grandfather did, even with Thicks like Mr. Votegate going for election.

Mute Spanky McShart
    Favourite Spanky McShart
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:12 PM

Fool.me once……

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:25 PM

@Spanky McShart: fool me every time for 100 years

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Nov 9th 2024, 1:59 PM

The nonsense continues. How does reducing a tax paid by consumers benefit suppliers. Is what they really mean that suppliers keep the prices they have that includes a higher rate ov VAT but that they pocket the difference by not passing on the reduction?
    I’d call that cheating!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: Same way it did the last time. Prices remain the same just less tax paid for by the Hospitality industry.

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 10th 2024, 12:26 AM

The 100 years of ff and fg have given us half written laws that fail people, made medical needs of citizens worse than they were when the nuns ran them, they made housing a scandal of crisis levels because non citizens can bulk buy houses thanks to fg. Disabled services are so deficient nothing changed since the 1979’s.

However the carbon tax is being paid by the citizen because other countries around the globe pollute and do not pay any tax. Following the ideology of the carbon experiment cannot be blamed on the greens but on the individual in the Norway and Finland experimental centres.

What do we want for our country. I want better services for the disabled, a better health system and house purchase potential for our youth. I cannot see ff and fg delivering on those after eight years working together

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Nov 9th 2024, 8:37 PM

All left wing parties with your woke ideologies, and economic airy fairy mandates can go fall off a cliff hopefully. Take your ZERO science climate cult with you

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 9th 2024, 9:22 PM

@Des Daly: Did you do your research on Facebook Des?

Mute Maurice Whelan
    Favourite Maurice Whelan
    Nov 9th 2024, 11:37 PM

Ryan has destroyed the country, ff& fg should be ashamed to include him in the Govt last time out just to have a majority, Greens will get No seat’s this time around, they will dissapere like the PD’s years ago.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Nov 9th 2024, 6:24 PM

Two vomit inducing individuals

Mute Dermot Clancy
    Favourite Dermot Clancy
    Nov 9th 2024, 3:52 PM

I’m sure the hospitality industry won’t be suckered by this FFG fake promises, Holly Cairns talk a lot of sense.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Nov 9th 2024, 2:34 PM

I’ll vote for whoever is the most fiscally responsible. We have seen who the US have voted for and what his plans are and yet not one party is even hinting that our tax take may be decimated over the coming years if the US reduce their CT to 15%.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 9th 2024, 12:35 PM

Imagine all the people… Nah!!!

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Nov 10th 2024, 4:13 AM

are these muppets winding us up. they told us the last time they wouldnt go into government together but when they didn’t get enough votes all of a sudden they would from a collation. now there is a general election called they are slattin each other again and we all know they will do the same again to remain in power. bunch of hypocrites

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Nov 10th 2024, 9:24 AM

Sutka spruce forests in Ireland lock up massive amounts of carbon. The Green destruction of the Forest industry has effectively stopped the planting of spruce. 90% of the land we once could plant is now blocked. So ireland won’t meet carbon targets and will be fined.
    The damage these ideologues have caused is staggering. Common sense and compromise is not on their lexicon
    Please don’t vote Green.